ADVERTISEMENT

Microbes for all: Microbiology made easy for young people

The Microbes for All initiative to popularize microbiology to high school students (12-17 years old) is being developed by a group from Laval University and was presented at the Association pour l'enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ) conference on October 21. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The Microbes for All initiative to popularize microbiology to high school students (12-17 years old) is being developed by a group from Laval University and was presented at the Association pour l'enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ) conference on October 21. 

Professor Steve Charrette of Department of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Bioinformatics of Laval Universitywho initiated the Microbes for All project. He has been joined by others in the department since the project began.

"Microbiology is one of the sciences that has advanced the most in the last 15 years; it is what allowed the development of RNA vaccines at the heart of the pandemic and there is currently a multiplication of microbiological possibilities," said Professor Charrette during his lecture. He reminds us that microbes are present and active in all aspects of our lives. "While they are perceived as a problem, they have a role to play in the existence of life. There are good microbes...and not so good ones."

Reaching out to teens

In fact, it all started with a few activities to popularize microbiology on the campus of Laval University in Quebec City. The Microbes and You course (MCB-1909) is accessible to all students of the institution. Given the growing popularity of the course, Professor Charrette wanted to reach a wider audience. He chose to focus on teenagers first.

"The idea is to offer them information that is interesting, relevant, reliable and popularized. In French, because there is little information available on the subject to date in this language. On social networks, young people have access to all sorts of scientific publications that are more or less reliable. We want to counterbalance this by giving teachers tools that will allow them to transmit valid information," explained the professor.

He admits that he is not "an expert on teenagers". In order to better reach them and serve their teachers, he has established a collaboration with the École en réseau (ÉER) to hold a community of practice. About 15 teachers took part last year. The community of practice helped to establish priorities in terms of content development and themes. The teachers want turnkey protocols that touch on the areas of food, health and that highlight the diversity of microbes.

A website under development

A first version of the website Microbes for all is now online. It includes presentation cards of certain microbes (about 60 records should be added soon), of texts of popularization and videos (e.g. the role of cold in fighting microbes, probiotics), as well as laboratory protocols (e.g., food preservation, simulation of an outbreak, effects of disinfection). A network of experts who could answer questions from youth and facilitate classroom activities is also being developed.

"This is a volunteer and group project. We didn't want to wait until it was perfect to launch something. We are now in listening mode to gather feedback from teachers and continue to develop the content to meet their needs as much as possible," concluded Steve Charrette.

A presentation of the Microbes for All initiative was also made at the most recent ERA conference. It is possible to review the recording. 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Microbes pour tous : La microbiologie vulgarisée pour les jeunes

L’initiative Microbes pour tous visant à vulgariser la microbiologie aux élèves du secondaire (12-17 ans) est en cours de développement par un groupe de l’Université Laval et a été présentée lors du congrès de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ), le 21 octobre dernier. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

L’initiative Microbes pour tous visant à vulgariser la microbiologie aux élèves du secondaire (12-17 ans) est en cours de développement par un groupe de l’Université Laval et a été présentée lors du congrès de l’Association pour l’enseignement de la science et de la technologie au Québec (AESTQ), le 21 octobre dernier. 

C’est le professeur Steve Charrette, du Département de biochimie, de microbiologie et de bio-informatique de l’Université Laval, qui est à l’origine du projet Microbes pour tous. Il a été rejoint par d’autres personnes du département depuis le début du projet.

« La microbiologie est l’une des sciences qui a le plus avancé au cours des 15 dernières années; c’est ce qui a permis le développement des vaccins ARN au cœur de la pandémie et il y a en ce moment une multiplication des possibilités microbiologiques », a souligné le professeur Charrette lors de sa conférence. Il rappelle que les microbes sont présents et actifs dans tous les aspects de notre vie. « Alors qu’ils sont perçus comme un problème, ils ont un rôle à jouer dans l’existence de la vie. Il y a de bons microbes… et de moins bons. »

Rejoindre les adolescents

En fait, tout a débuté par quelques activités de vulgarisation de la microbiologie sur le campus de l’Université Laval à Québec. Le cours Microbes et vous (MCB-1909) est accessible à l’ensemble des étudiants de l’institution. Devant la popularité croissante de la formation, le professeur Charrette a voulu rejoindre un public plus large. Il a choisi de s’attarder aux adolescents en premier.

« L’idée est de leur offrir une information qui soit intéressante, pertinente, fiable et vulgarisée. En français, car il y a peu d’information disponible sur le sujet à ce jour dans cette langue. Sur les réseaux sociaux, les jeunes ont accès à toutes sortes de publications scientifiques plus ou moins fiables. Nous voulons faire contrepoids en donnant des outils aux enseignants qui pourront leur transmettre des informations valides », a expliqué le professeur.

Il reconnaît lui-même qu’il n’est pas « un spécialiste des adolescents ». Afin de mieux les rejoindre et de bien servir leurs enseignants, il a établi une collaboration avec l’École en réseau (ÉER) pour tenir une communauté de pratique. Une quinzaine d’enseignants y ont pris part l’an dernier. Celle-ci a permis d’établir des priorités en termes de développement de contenu et de thématiques. Les enseignants souhaitent des protocoles clés en main qui touchent aux domaines de l’alimentation, de la santé et qui mettent en valeur la diversité de microbes.

Un site Web en développement

Une première version du site Web Microbes pour tous est maintenant en ligne. On y retrouve des fiches de présentation de certains microbes (une soixantaine de fiches devraient être ajoutées sous peu), des textes de vulgarisation et des vidéos (ex. le rôle du froid pour combattre les microbes, les probiotiques), ainsi que des protocoles de laboratoire (ex. conservation des aliments, simulation d’une épidémie, effets de la désinfection). Un réseau d’experts qui pourrait répondre aux questions des jeunes et animer des activités en classe est aussi en préparation.

« C’est un projet bénévole et collectif. Nous ne voulions pas attendre que ce soit parfait pour lancer quelque chose. Nous sommes maintenant en mode écoute pour recueillir les commentaires des enseignants et poursuivre le développement du contenu afin de répondre le plus possible à leurs besoins », a conclu Steve Charrette.

Une présentation de l’initiative Microbes pour tous a aussi été faite lors du plus récent colloque de l’ÉER. Il est d’ailleurs possible de revoir l’enregistrement. 

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :