March: month of the Francophonie

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Over 270 million people speak French in the world. March is an opportunity to promote this rich language .
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

After English, Mandarin, Spanish, Arabic and Hindi, French is the sixth most popular language on the planet. Although approximately 80 % of Quebecers declare French as their mother tongue, it is less than 25 % of the Canadian population who speak it fluently. When you live in Quebec, you are more or less aware that several French-speaking minorities fight every day across the country to have their language respected. The month of la Francophonie is an opportunity to show solidarity with these communities in Alberta, British Columbia, Ontario, Manitoba or New Brunswick, for example, who want to continue to live in French in provinces strong Anglophone majority.

“FRENCH IS DROPING DOWN AT A SPEED EVER SEEN, WHILE ENGLISH IS DRAWING ITS HARD FROM THE GAME AND MANAGING TO INCREASE SLIGHTLY FROM THE POINT OF VIEW OF THE MOST SPOKEN LANGUAGE AT HOME [IN QUEBEC]”, SUPPORTS THE RETIRED MATHEMATICS TEACHER FROM THE UNIVERSITY OF OTTAWA AND RESEARCH STATISTICIAN CHARLES CASTONGUAY, AUTHOR OF THE BOOK FRENCH IN FREEFALL: THE NEW DYNAMICS OF LANGUAGES IN QUEBEC.

Source: Le Journal de Québec, February 18, 2021

“Insisting on the Francophonie may seem to resign itself to a withdrawal of Francophones into themselves or to favor what some call“ the two solitudes ”which would isolate Francophones from Anglophones. But there are openings on both sides. "

Source: Radio-Canada, March 16, 2019

Language is at the heart of our human relationships and is a vehicle for learning at the service of all disciplines. It represents an essential tool for creating, for coming together, for building a vision of the world, with French as a common base.

“French has the potential to bring people together, but are we aware of it enough? It is tempting to withdraw into oneself, especially in the event of a dispute. But these difficulties could also represent opportunities to surpass ourselves by seeking solutions that will restore and strengthen our solidarity. Speaking the same language should also reflect a requirement for solidarity and living together. "

Source: Radio-Canada, March 16, 2019

It is for all these reasons that we take a whole month to celebrate the Francophonie around the world. In 2022, it is under the theme "Ҫa (d)étonne!" that the celebrations of the Francophonie will take place. 

Confettis Icons gratuit

The National Francophonie Week (which lasts the whole month of March) is an opportunity to discover or rediscover the treasures of the French language: authors, actors, influencers, musicians, etc. 

This year, the activities revolve around 10 honored words. They are all inspired by the theme of astonishment: quirky, divulge, dumbfounded, breathtaking, stuff, Kai, astonished, pinch me, saperlipopette and uproar

For each of the words, the Francofête site has set up several activities, each more surprising than the next, to deepen our knowledge of the French language around these words. You can also find them here!

 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

- French

  • Write a variety of texts
    • Use your knowledge and experience
    • Use writing for various purposes
  • Read various texts
    • Respond to a variety of read texts
    • Constructing meaning using one's background of knowledge and experience
  • Communicate orally
    • Sharing what you say during an interactive situation
    • React to comments heard during an oral communication situation

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Communicate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Blogger or Wix
  • Canva, Google Slides or PowerPoint
  • Anchor
  • Mentimeter

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to express their understanding of the Francophonie, to relate to others and to appropriate the wealth of Francophone culture.

Objectives of the activities

  • Exercise critical thinking in the analysis of French-language songs.
  • Create an “urban dictionary” that lists expressions used by young Francophones.
  • Create a podcast dealing with an issue affecting the Francophonie.
  • Watch a documentary on the place of French among young people and react to it.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!

With the collaboration of Laurie Couture.

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Mars : mois de la francophonie

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Plus de 270 millions de personnes parlent français dans le monde. Le mois de mars est l'occasion de faire rayonner et de réaffirmer la langue qui nous unit.
Classification des activités :

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Après l’anglais, le mandarin, l’espagnol, l’arabe et le hindi, le français est la sixième langue la plus populaire sur la planète. Bien qu’environ 80 % des Québécois déclarent le français comme langue maternelle, c’est moins de 25 % de la population canadienne qui le parle couramment. Lorsqu’on vit au Québec, on est plus ou moins conscient que plusieurs minorités francophones se battent tous les jours à travers le pays pour faire respecter leur langue. Le mois de la Francophonie est une occasion de se montrer solidaires envers ces communautés d’Alberta, de Colombie-Britannique, d’Ontario, du Manitoba ou du Nouveau-Brunswick, par exemple, qui veulent continuer à vivre en français dans des provinces à forte majorité anglophone.

« LE FRANÇAIS DÉGRINGOLE À UNE VITESSE JAMAIS VUE, ALORS QUE L’ANGLAIS TIRE SON ÉPINGLE DU JEU ET RÉUSSIT À AUGMENTER LÉGÈREMENT DU POINT DE VUE DE LA LANGUE LA PLUS PARLÉE À LA MAISON [AU QUÉBEC] », SOUTIENT LE PROFESSEUR DE MATHÉMATIQUES RETRAITÉ DE L’UNIVERSITÉ D’OTTAWA ET CHERCHEUR STATISTICIEN CHARLES CASTONGUAY, AUTEUR DU LIVRE LE FRANÇAIS EN CHUTE LIBRE : LA NOUVELLE DYNAMIQUE DES LANGUES AU QUÉBEC.

Source : Le Journal de Québec, 18 février 2021

« Insister sur la francophonie peut sembler se résigner à un repli des francophones sur eux-mêmes ou favoriser ce que certains appellent  “les deux solitudes” qui isoleraient les francophones des anglophones. Mais des ouvertures existent de part et d’autre. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 16 mars 2019

La langue se situe au cœur de nos relations humaines et constitue un véhicule d’apprentissage au service de toutes les disciplines. Elle représente un outil indispensable pour créer, pour se rassembler, pour se construire une vision du monde, avec le français comme base commune.

« Le français a le potentiel de rassembler, mais en sommes-nous suffisamment conscients? Le repli sur soi est tentant, particulièrement en cas de différends. Mais ces difficultés pourraient aussi représenter des opportunités pour se dépasser en recherchant des solutions qui referont et renforceront notre solidarité. Parler une même langue devrait également traduire une exigence de solidarité et d’un vivre ensemble. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 16 mars 2019

C’est pour toutes ces raisons que nous prenons un mois entier pour célébrer la francophonie à travers le monde. En 2022, c’est sous le thème « Ҫa (d)étonne! » que les célébrations de la francophonie se dérouleront. 

Confettis Icons gratuit

La semaine nationale de la Francophonie (qui dure tout le mois de mars) est l’occasion de découvrir ou redécouvrir les trésors de la langue française : auteurs, comédiens, influenceurs, musiciens, etc. 

Cette année, c’est autour de 10 mots mis à l’honneur que s’articulent les activités. Ils sont d’ailleurs tous inspirés du thème de l’étonnement : décalé, divulgâcher, ébaubi, époustouflant, farcer, kaï, médusé, pince-moi, saperlipopette et tintamarre

Pour chacun des mots, le site de Francofête a mis sur pied plusieurs activités plus étonnantes les unes que les autres pour approfondir nos connaissances sur la langue française autour de ces mots. Vous pouvez d’ailleurs les retrouver ici!

 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Disciplines et niveaux visés

– Français

  • Écrire des textes variés
    • Recourir à son bagage de connaissances et d’expériences
    • Exploiter l’écriture à diverses fins
  • Lire des textes variés
    • Réagir à une variété de textes lus
    • Construire du sens à l’aide de son bagage de connaissances et d’expériences
  • Communiquer oralement
    • Partager ses propos durant une situation d’interaction
    • Réagir aux propos entendus au cours d’une situation de communication orale

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
  • Communiquer avec le numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Blogger ou Wix
  • Canva, Google Slides ou PowerPoint
  • Anchor
  • Mentimeter

Intention pédagogique du guide

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves d’exprimer leur compréhension de la francophonie, d’entrer en relation avec les autres et de s’approprier les richesses de la culture francophone.

Objectifs des activités

  • Exercer sa pensée critique relativement à l’analyse de chansons francophones.
  • Créer un « dictionnaire urbain » qui recense des expressions utilisées par les jeunes francophones.
  • Créer une baladodiffusion traitant d’un enjeu touchant la francophonie.
  • Visionner un documentaire sur la place du français chez les jeunes et y réagir.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!

Avec la collaboration de Laurie Couture.

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir