ADVERTISEMENT

A professional recommendation on how to best respond to bullying between students

Ontario's regulatory body for the teaching profession issues recommendation on how to best respond to bullying among students.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

TORONTO, the Oct 3, 2017 / CNW / - The regulatory body for the teaching profession in Ontario publishes a professional recommendation on how to best respond to bullying between students. This is intended for its 238,000 members.

Research shows that bullying is a widespread phenomenon:

  • 30 % students bully others;
  • 78 % witnessed bullying behavior, but less than half of them intervened;
  • 12 % report being bullied at least once a week.

"Empathetic teachers recognize the signs of bullying, step in to prevent conflict from escalating, and break the vicious cycle," says Michael salvatori, EAO, Chief Executive Officer and Registrar of the Order. Bullying is a chronic and growing problem in education; educators therefore need strategies and tools to respond to and prevent bullying incidents. "

Recognize the symptoms

Students who are bullied feel devalued, crippled and humiliated. Often they live in fear and anxiety, and feel isolated. They lose sleep and appetite, and they sink into depression. Their behavior changes. Their absenteeism rate at school is increasing. They have lower self-esteem and their learning suffers.

The College Council approved the professional recommendation to help the teaching staff of theOntario to examine the causes of bullying and to encourage discussion on how to respond collectively to bullying among students.

Maintaining that awareness is essential, the authors of the recommendation encourage members to reflect on their knowledge and practice. Are they aware of their employer's protocols? Do they intervene early? How do they support the students? Who can they turn to when they need help?

Finding solutions through discussion

To spark discussion, the Order has planned to give presentations and organize focus groups in six cities across theOntario, whose TorontoOttawa, North Bay, Thunder Bay, Peterborough and Windsor. Representatives from school boards and regional police services, as well as experts from the Canadian Center for Child Protection and the Canadian Safe School Network will be part of the focus groups.

The professional recommendation and the information document are available on the Order's website at oeeo.ca.

Related links

http://www.oct.ca 

The College of Teachers ofOntario has a mandate to govern and regulate the teaching profession in the public interest. It sets standards of practice and ethics, conducts disciplinary hearings, and accredits teacher education programs for its more than 238 000 members working withinschools andfinancial institutionsés by the public funds of the province.

SOURCE The College of Teachers of theOntario

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Une recommandation professionnelle sur la façon de mieux réagir à l’intimidation entre élèves

L'organisme de réglementation de la profession enseignante en Ontario publie une recommandation sur la façon de mieux réagir à l'intimidation entre élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

TORONTO, le 3 oct. 2017 /CNW/ – L’organisme de réglementation de la profession enseignante en Ontario publie une recommandation professionnelle sur la façon de mieux réagir à l’intimidation entre élèves. Celle-ci est destinée à ses 238 000 membres.

La recherche démontre que l’intimidation est un phénomène répandu :

  • 30 % des élèves en intimident d’autres ;
  • 78 % ont été témoin de comportements d’intimidation, mais moins de la moitié d’entre eux sont intervenus ;
  • 12 % affirment être victimes d’intimidation au moins une fois par semaine.

« Les enseignants empathiques reconnaissent les signes d’intimidation, interviennent pour empêcher l’escalade du conflit et brisent le cycle vicieux, déclare Michael Salvatori, EAO, chef de la direction et registraire de l’Ordre. L’intimidation est un problème chronique et grandissant dans le domaine de l’éducation; les pédagogues ont donc besoin de stratégies et d’outils pour réagir aux incidents d’intimidation et les prévenir. »

Reconnaître les symptômes

Les élèves victimes d’intimidation se sentent dévalorisés, paralysés et humiliés. Souvent, ils vivent dans la peur et l’anxiété, et se sentent isolés. Ils en perdent le sommeil et l’appétit, et ils sombrent dans la déprime. Leur comportement change. Leur taux d’absentéisme à l’école augmente. Ils ont une plus faible estime d’eux-mêmes et leur apprentissage en souffre.

Le conseil de l’Ordre a approuvé la recommandation professionnelle afin d’aider le personnel enseignant de l’Ontario à examiner les causes de l’intimidation et de favoriser la discussion sur la façon de réagir collectivement à l’intimidation entre élèves.

Soutenant que la prise de conscience est indispensable, les auteurs de la recommandation encouragent les membres à réfléchir sur leurs connaissances et leur pratique. Sont-ils au courant des protocoles de leur employeur ? Interviennent-ils tôt ? Comment appuient-ils les élèves ? À qui peuvent-ils s’adresser quand ils ont besoin d’aide ?

Trouver des solutions par la discussion

Pour susciter la discussion, l’Ordre a prévu de donner des présentations et d’organiser des groupes de discussion dans six villes de l’Ontario, dont TorontoOttawa, North Bay, Thunder Bay, Peterborough et Windsor. Des représentants des conseils scolaires et des services de police régionaux, ainsi que des experts du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance et du Canadian Safe School Network feront partie des groupes de discussion.

La recommandation professionnelle et le document d’information sont disponibles sur le site web de l’Ordre à oeeo.ca.

Liens connexes

http://www.oct.ca 

L’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario a pour mandat de régir et de réglementer la profession enseignante dans l’intérêt du public. Elle fixe des normes d’exercice et de déontologie, mène des audiences disciplinaires et agrée des programmes de formation à l’enseignement pour ses quelque 238 000 membres travaillant au sein d‘écoles et d‘établissements financés par les fonds publics de la province.

SOURCE L’Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l’Ontario

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :