Portable classes in Quebec

Montreal - Researchers and teachers are ready to take stock, ten years after the arrival of portable classes in Quebec schools. On May 11, around thirty of them gathered during the Odyssey of portable classes… colloquium from elementary to post-secondary organized as part of the 78th ACFAS congress which took place at the University of Montreal.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Montreal - Researchers and teachers are ready to take stock, ten years after the arrival of portable classes in Quebec schools. On May 11, around thirty of them gathered during the Odyssey of portable classes… colloquium from elementary to post-secondary organized as part of the 78th ACFAS congress which took place at the University of Montreal.

The morning of this conference was devoted to the Quebec perspective of portable classes. Several of the presentations were linked to research projects by professors from the University of Montreal. The experience of the Perce-Neige elementary school in Pierrefonds attracted particular attention.

Marc Dubois, principal of the school, came to share his experience of portable classes, which have existed in his school for two years, thanks to a project of the University of Montreal.

He notes that the challenges are primarily technical, setting up a wireless Internet network, learning to use the laptop cart, but also human. To perform the experiment, teachers had to teach at least 70 % of the time using ICT.

It was a real challenge for them and they felt a significant loss of competence at the start. "A project of this kind requires a lot of reorganization on the part of the teachers and the adaptation time is long", explains the director.

Mr. Dubois believes that a lot of time should be spent thinking about the integration of ICT in the classroom when implementing a project like this one. Teachers should not be left to fend for themselves, especially in the first year. According to him, however, the results are stimulating; children are more engaged in their studies, more motivated and above all very proud.

Sophie Goyer, from the University of Montreal, came to present the results of her study of the logbook of one of the teachers who participated in the project. If the start of the school year seems to have been more laborious, the teacher nevertheless noted that the parents were impressed by the students' work. The teacher's biggest challenge was to keep records in order to facilitate the assessment.

The Perce-Neige experience also enabled Simon Collin, a doctoral student at the University of Montreal, to study the impact of ICTs on students' results in French. His longitudinal study compares handwritten written texts with texts written in word processing.

The results show that children perform better in spelling and using all caps when using the computer. However, the handwritten texts had fewer syntax and conjugation errors.

According to Simon Collin, the use of ICT is efficient if it is accompanied by student reflection. For example, automatic correctors are useful for students who are thinking about different propositions and who do not automatically choose the first answer.

The last part of the morning was devoted to a round table in the company of several experts and educators. The participants wondered, among other things, if the laptop was the best tool for Quebec classrooms, since we noticed that computers are often underused.

In the age of the iPad, iPod touch and interactive whiteboard, some believe that it is better to wait a few years before equipping classrooms with laptops, while teachers gradually integrate ICT with simpler tools.

To visit the conference website and consult the speakers' presentations: http://acfas2010.crifpe.ca/.

To know more : http://www.crifpe.ca/

By Marie-Philippe Gagnon-Hamelin

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les classes portables au Québec

Montréal - Les chercheurs et les enseignants sont prêts à dresser un premier bilan, dix ans après l’arrivée des classes portables dans les écoles du Québec. Le 11 mai dernier, une trentaine d’entre eux se sont rassemblés lors du colloque Odyssée des classes portables… du primaire au postsecondaire organisé dans le cadre du 78e congrès de l’ACFAS qui se déroulait à l’Université de Montréal.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Montréal – Les chercheurs et les enseignants sont prêts à dresser un premier bilan, dix ans après l’arrivée des classes portables dans les écoles du Québec. Le 11 mai dernier, une trentaine d’entre eux se sont rassemblés lors du colloque Odyssée des classes portables… du primaire au postsecondaire organisé dans le cadre du 78e congrès de l’ACFAS qui se déroulait à l’Université de Montréal.

L’avant-midi de ce colloque était consacré à la perspective québécoise des classes portables. Plusieurs des présentations étaient liées à des projets de recherche de professeurs de l’Université de Montréal. L’expérience de l’école primaire Perce-Neige à Pierrefonds a particulièrement retenu l’attention.

Marc Dubois, directeur de l’école, est venu partager son expérience de classes portables, qui existent dans son école depuis deux ans, grâce à un projet de l’Université de Montréal.

Il constate que les défis sont d’abord techniques, installer un réseau Internet sans fil, apprendre à utiliser le chariot de portable, mais aussi humains. Pour réaliser l’expérience, les enseignants devaient enseigner au moins 70 % du temps en utilisant les TIC.

Ce fut pour eux un véritable défi et ils ont ressenti un sentiment de perte de compétence important au départ. « Un projet de ce genre nécessite beaucoup de réorganisation de la part des enseignants et le temps d’adaptation est long », explique le directeur.

M. Dubois estime qu’il faut passer beaucoup de temps à réfléchir à l’intégration des TIC dans la classe lors de l’implantation d’un projet comme celui-là. Les enseignants ne doivent pas être laissés à eux-mêmes, surtout la première année. Selon lui, les résultats sont toutefois stimulants; les enfants sont plus engagés dans leurs études, plus motivés et surtout très fiers.

Sophie Goyer, de l’Université de Montréal, est venue présenter les résultats de son étude du journal de bord d’une des enseignantes qui ont participé au projet. Si le début de l’année scolaire semble avoir été plus laborieux, l’enseignante a toutefois constaté que les parents étaient impressionnés par les travaux des élèves. Le plus grand défi de l’enseignante a été de garder des traces, afin de faciliter l’évaluation.

L’expérience de l’école Perce-Neige a aussi permis à Simon Collin, doctorant à l’Université de Montréal, d’étudier l’impact des TIC sur les résultats en français des élèves. Son étude longitudinale compare des textes écrits manuscrits avec des textes rédigés au traitement de texte.

Les résultats montrent que les enfants ont de meilleurs résultats en orthographe et pour l’utilisation de majuscules lorsqu’ils utilisent l’ordinateur. Toutefois, les textes écrits à la main comportaient moins d’erreurs de syntaxe et de conjugaison.

Selon Simon Collin, l’utilisation des TIC est efficiente si elle s’accompagne d’une réflexion de l’élève. Par exemple, les correcteurs automatiques sont utiles aux élèves qui réfléchissent aux différentes propositions et qui ne choisissent pas automatiquement la première réponse.

La dernière partie de l’avant-midi était consacrée à une table ronde en compagnie de plusieurs experts et éducateurs. Les participants se sont entre autres demandés si l’ordinateur portable était le meilleur outil pour les classes québécoises, puisqu’on remarque que les ordinateurs sont souvent sous-utilisés.

À l’ère du iPad, du iPod touch et du tableau blanc interactif, certains croient qu’il vaut mieux attendre quelques années avant d’équiper les classes de portables, le temps que les enseignants intègrent graduellement les TIC avec des outils plus simples.

Pour visiter le site internet du colloque et consulter les présentations des conférenciers : http://acfas2010.crifpe.ca/.

Pour en savoir plus : http://www.crifpe.ca/

Par Marie-Philippe Gagnon-Hamelin

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :