ADVERTISEMENT

Digital at the service of our brain

Two years ago, Steve Masson presented a Webinar that offered study techniques based on the reproduction of assessment situations in a review context. In 2019, how can digital technology support and motivate our students in their revision? There are several great apps to help them out, here are a few.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Two years ago, Steve Masson presented a Webinar that offered study techniques based on the reproduction of assessment situations in a review context. He explained that in order to perform a review and an effective study, we must train our brain to do what it will be confronted with in an evaluation context: remembering.

By Laurie Couture, teacher at Horizon high school

He therefore proposed to make the effort to seek information when studying by asking questions, by redoing an exercise that we have already done, by studying in teams, etc. That being said, in concrete terms, in 2019, how can digital technology support and motivate our students in their revision? There are several great apps to help them out, here are a few:

Concept diagrams

Several online applications or in web download shops allow you to make concept diagrams from our own ideas. Thus, a student can use his memory to relate concepts under study and make connections between the different concepts seen. Why do it on an application and not on paper? Because the student can add color, images and video links (a great advantage for photographic memories).

Platform proposals:

  • Inspiration (application shown in the image above)
  • Popplet
  • Microsoft Word (see in SmartArt insertion).

Collaborative platforms

Who said the study had to be done alone? The collaborative tools offered by the Google suite or by the Office 365 online suite allow students to work on the same document while each being on a different device. So, why not share the themes under study so that everyone can do their part? Why not include questions in our tool so that our collaborator can answer them for their part? It is also possible to fetch images and videos to support everything.

Social networks

These little beasts don't just have flaws! On the contrary, they allow our students to communicate. Why not suggest that they use Facetime or Skype to study as a team? Asking questions, sharing explanations of concepts, discussing the subject… these are practices that promote memorization and can be carried out remotely using a microphone and a camera. If you don't have Classroom, why not create a class Facebook page for students to talk to with each other? In addition to promoting probative study methods, students learn to use the social network wisely.

Now, to your computers, tablets, cell phones, and good discovery!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Le numérique au service de notre cerveau

Il y a deux ans, Steve Masson présentait un Webinaire qui proposait des techniques d’étude basées sur la reproduction des situations d’évaluation en contexte de révision. En 2019, comment le numérique peut-il soutenir et motiver nos élèves dans leur révision? Il existe plusieurs applications intéressantes pour les aider, en voici quelques-unes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Il y a deux ans, Steve Masson présentait un Webinaire qui proposait des techniques d’étude basées sur la reproduction des situations d’évaluation en contexte de révision. Il y expliquait que pour effectuer une révision et une étude efficace, il faut entraîner notre cerveau à faire ce à quoi il sera confronté en contexte d’évaluation : se souvenir.

Par Laurie Couture, enseignante à l’École secondaire l’Horizon

Il proposait donc de faire l’effort de chercher l’information lorsqu’on étudiait en se posant des questions, en refaisant un exercice que l’on a déjà fait, en étudiant en équipes, etc. Ceci étant dit, concrètement, en 2019, comment le numérique peut-il soutenir et motiver nos élèves dans leur révision?  Il existe plusieurs applications intéressantes pour les aider, en voici quelques-unes :

Les schémas de concepts

Plusieurs applications en ligne ou dans les boutiques de téléchargement web permettent de faire des schémas de concepts à partir de nos propres idées. Ainsi, un élève peut faire appel à sa mémoire pour mettre en relation des concepts à l’étude et faire des liens entre les différentes notions vues. Pourquoi le faire sur une application et non sur papier? Parce que l’élève peut rajouter de la couleur, des images et des liens vidéos (un bel avantage pour les mémoires photographiques).

Propositions de plateformes :

  • Inspiration (application présentée sur l’image ci-dessus)
  • Popplet
  • Microsoft Word (voir dans insertion SmartArt).

Les plateformes collaboratives

Qui a dit que l’étude devait se faire seul(e)? Les outils collaboratifs proposés par la suite Google ou par la suite Office 365 en ligne permettent aux élèves de travailler sur le même document en étant chacun sur un appareil différent. Ainsi, pourquoi ne pas se partager les thèmes à l’étude afin que chacun effectue sa partie? Pourquoi ne pas inclure des questions dans notre outil afin que notre collaborateur puisse y répondre de son côté? Il est également possible d’aller chercher images et vidéos pour appuyer le tout.

Les réseaux sociaux

Ces petites bêtes-là n’ont pas que des défauts! Au contraire, ils permettent à nos élèves de communiquer. Pourquoi ne pas leur proposer d’utiliser Facetime ou Skype afin d’étudier en équipe? Poser des questions, partager des explications de concepts, échanger au sujet de la matière… il s’agit là de pratiques favorisant la mémorisation et pouvant être réalisées à distance à l’aide d’un micro et d’une caméra. Si vous n’avez pas Classroom, pourquoi ne pas créer une page Facebook de classe pour que les élèves puissent échanger entre eux? En plus de favoriser les méthodes d’études probantes, les élèves apprennent à utiliser le réseau social à bon escient.

Maintenant, à vos ordis, tablettes, cellulaires, et bonne découverte!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :