The large-water river: developing the feeling of belonging to the St.Lawrence

When teachers from Saguenay work together to develop a sense of belonging to the majestic St. Lawrence River, this results in an extraordinary educational project supported by the École en Réseau (ÉER).

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

When teachers from Saguenay work together to develop a sense of belonging to the majestic St. Lawrence River, this results in an extraordinary educational project supported by the École en Réseau (ÉER).

Networked School supports the development of various projects. This was the case with The river of the great waters, from the title of the famous animated film by Frédéric Back. Nearly half a dozen teachers from the Commission scolaire des Rives-du-Saguenay joined forces with Marie-Claude Boily last January in the preparation of this project. "A first joint work on the Saguenay River took place in January 2019," says the teacher of 5e and 6e years to Fréchette school of Anse Saint-Jean. “We wanted to go further. We wanted to make the river known to young people across Quebec. "

To better tame "this great artery", Ms. Boily took care to contact Sonia Normandin, education officer at the Saguenay-Saint-Laurent Marine Park. “We are working in the same direction with a project like this one. People come to see the whales. If the whales are there, it is because there are ecosystems to be discovered. So, to make known to young people.

Presentation of the capsule by Ms. Sonia Normandin, education officer at the Saguenay-Saint-Laurent Marine Park. Photo: courtesy of Marie-Claude Boily

Thanks to the funding given by the ERA to her school board, the Saguenay teacher was able to be freed three days a week to move the project forward. Started in January, The river of the great waters produced four capsules of approximately 45 minutes (COVID-19 requires, the 5e it is on standby!). We meet there in particular Mr. Jean Cloutier, pilot on the St. Lawrence, and we discover more of the Marine Park and its various marine mammals thanks to Ms. Normandin. In addition to the production of a capsule every two weeks or so, there was also the interactive reading of the scientific tale. The browning of white whales by Boucar Diouf. There will also be the viewing, of course, of Frédéric Back's short film, a computer rally, an ethical debate around the question: how can we continue the economic development of the St. Lawrence River while respecting the environment? In the project schedule, Marie-Claude Boily and her collaborators also give suggestions for other activities related to the subject, including the discovery of the educational resource My river and me of the Monique Fitz-Back Foundation.

The pilot Jean Cloutier recounting his job in this capsule. Photo: courtesy of Marie-Claude Boily

Support from Boucar Diouf

To underline his appreciation for the project, Boucar Diouf himself sent the EER a video of his own during the launch. Marie-Claude Boily is also grateful to Vincent Gagnon, EER coordinator, for having managed to approach the comedian-biologist's team for this very special request. It is also one of the roles of the EER to provide support to teachers. Very often, “it's technical support,” explains Mr. Gagnon. We are there to take note of the teachers' needs. We are also there to compile emails, to send them to participants. For the presenters, "it's also reassuring," according to Ms. Normandin, since it allows them to think of something other than technique.

So, did this belonging to the St. Lawrence and its knowledge developed in children? Why not give them the last word on this!

It was interesting, because I discovered a lot of things on the river. It makes me proud to live here! 

- Charlie-Rose Capistran, 10 years old, in connection with the capsules of Mrs. Sonia Normandin

It was really fun, I learned what the Saguenay-Saint-Laurent Marine Park is for and why it exists.

I got to know the profession of pilot better on the St. Lawrence with Mr. Jean Cloutier. "

- Gabrielle Gagnon, 11 years old, in connection with the capsules of Ms. Sonia Normandin and Mr. Jean Cloutier

I found the profession of pilot impressive. There are things that we did not expect, especially the all icy boat which was not made for the winter, because it came from another country! 

- Mattéo Lévesque, 11 years old, in connection with the capsule of Mr. Jean Cloutier
Some students' drawings illustrating this large-water river that is the St. Lawrence. Photo: courtesy of Marie-Claude Boily

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le fleuve aux grandes eaux : développer le sentiment d’appartenance au St-Laurent

Photo : Audrey Miller

mis à jour le :

Quand des enseignantes du Saguenay travaillent ensemble pour développer le sentiment d’appartenance au majestueux fleuve Saint-Laurent, cela donne un projet pédagogique hors du commun soutenu par l’École en réseau (ÉER).

L’École en réseau soutient le développement de divers projets. Ce fut le cas avec Le fleuve aux grandes eaux, du titre du célèbre film d’animation de Frédéric Back. Près d’une demi-douzaine d’enseignantes de la Commission scolaire des Rives-du-Saguenay se sont associées à Marie-Claude Boily en janvier dernier dans la préparation de ce projet. « Un premier travail conjoint sur la rivière Saguenay avait eu lieu en janvier 2019 », raconte l’enseignante de 5e et 6e années à l’école Fréchette de l’Anse Saint-Jean. « On voulait aller plus loin. On voulait faire connaître le fleuve aux jeunes, à travers le Québec. »

Pour mieux apprivoiser « cette grande artère », Mme Boily a pris soin de contacter Sonia Normandin, agente à l’éducation au Parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent. « On travaille dans le même sens avec un projet comme celui-là. Des gens viennent voir les baleines. Si les baleines sont là, c’est qu’il y a des écosystèmes à faire découvrir. » Donc, à faire connaître aux jeunes.

Présentation de la capsule de Mme Sonia Normandin, agente à l’éducation au Parc marin du Saguenay-Saint-Laurent. Photo : gracieuseté de Marie-Claude Boily

Grâce au financement donné par l’ÉER à sa commission scolaire, l’enseignante saguenayenne a pu être libérée trois jours/semaine pour faire avancer le projet. Débuté en janvier, Le fleuve aux grandes eaux a produit quatre capsules d’environ 45 minutes (COVID-19 oblige, la 5e est en attente!). On y fait notamment la connaissance de M. Jean Cloutier, pilote sur le Saint-Laurent, et on découvre davantage le Parc marin ainsi que ses différents mammifères marins grâce à Mme Normandin. En plus de la production d’une capsule à toutes les deux semaines environ, il y a eu aussi la lecture interactive du conte scientifique Le brunissement des baleines blanches de Boucar Diouf. Viendront aussi se greffer le visionnement, bien sûr, du court métrage de Frédéric Back, un rallye informatique, un débat éthique autour de la question : comment pouvons-nous poursuivre le développement économique du fleuve Saint-Laurent tout en respectant l’environnement? Dans l’échéancier du projet, Marie-Claude Boily et ses collaboratrices donnent également des suggestions pour d’autres activités en lien avec le sujet, dont la découverte de la ressource pédagogique Mon fleuve et moi de la fondation Monique Fitz-Back.

Le pilote Jean Cloutier racontant son métier dans cette capsule. Photo : gracieuseté de Marie-Claude Boily

Un soutien de Boucar Diouf

Pour souligner son appréciation face au projet, Boucar Diouf lui-même a envoyé à l’ÉER une vidéo de son cru lors du lancement. Marie-Claude Boily est d’ailleurs reconnaissante à Vincent Gagnon, coordonnateur à l’ÉER, d’avoir réussi à approcher l’équipe de l’humoriste-biologiste pour cette demande toute spéciale. C’est d’ailleurs l’un des rôles de l’ÉER d’apporter son soutien aux profs. Très souvent, « c’est du soutien technique, précise M. Gagnon. On est là pour prendre en note les besoins des profs. On est là aussi pour compiler des courriels, pour en envoyer aux participants. » Pour les présentateurs, « c’est aussi rassurant », selon Mme Normandin, puisque ça leur permet de penser à autre chose que la technique.

Alors, cette appartenance au Saint-Laurent et sa connaissance, elle s’est développée chez les enfants? Pourquoi ne pas leur laisser le mot de la fin à ce sujet!

C’était intéressant, parce que j’ai découvert plein de choses sur le fleuve. Ça me rend fière d’habiter ici! 

– Charlie-Rose Capistran, 10 ans, en lien avec les capsules de Mme Sonia Normandin

C’était vraiment le fun, j’ai appris à quoi sert le Parc marin Saguenay-Saint-Laurent et pourquoi il existe.

J’ai mieux connu le métier de pilote sur le Saint-Laurent avec M. Jean Cloutier. »

– Gabrielle Gagnon, 11 ans, en lien avec les capsules de Mme Sonia Normandin et de M. Jean Cloutier

J’ai trouvé ça impressionnant le métier de pilote. Il y a des trucs auxquels on s’attendait pas, surtout le bateau tout glacé qui n’était pas fait pour l’hiver, car il venait d’un autre pays! 

– Mattéo Lévesque, 11 ans, en lien avec la capsule de M. Jean Cloutier
Quelques dessins d’élèves illustrant ce fleuve aux grandes eaux qu’est le Saint-Laurent. Photo : gracieuseté de Marie-Claude Boily


Recevez gratuitement chaque semaine l'École branchée Hebdo pour ne rien manquer de l’actualité pédagogique!



🤩 Vous avez envie de publier vous aussi à l'École branchée? N'hésitez surtout pas! Découvrez ici comment faire!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!
Avatar
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.