ADVERTISEMENT

The basics of a project

(Previous page) White space just large enough to enter 140 characters. Spaces included. Yet it seems easy, even banal. How can a text of about twenty words give […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

(Previous page)

White space just large enough to enter 140 characters. Spaces included. Yet it seems easy, even banal. How can a text of about twenty words make students want to write? The most innovative educators see great potential in this.

At the Commission scolaire des Laurentides, students in the Brigitte Leonard are in first year. Like all the other 6 and 7 year olds, they experience writing situations to develop their skills. They learn to handle the pencil and write texts of varying lengths. They, however, tweet.

What exactly are they writing? “Our class subscribes to about twenty others,” explains the teacher. We write about our daily lives, we compose sentences around different themes. We respond to tweets from other classes and sometimes even to parents who ask us questions. It's a great way to open up to other realities ”. If pupils in a class in Belgium mention that they will be on leave on the 1ster May because of Labor Day, those of Brigitte take the opportunity to describe their future profession. If their friends from Gabon mention that the rainy season is underway, the teacher collects this information in a social environment. “Human contact is often more interesting than reading information in books,” she says.

Ms. Léonard did not embark on the adventure overnight. Such a project is being prepared. She took some time to familiarize herself with the tool and make it personal. “At first, I didn't understand anything about Twitter at all,” she says. Then by observing the pioneering work of other classes, such as that of Mr. Masson, I saw interesting educational avenues for children. I defined my project at the end of the school year to present it to parents at the start of the school year. "

Annie side, for his part, teaches French in Secondary V at the Premier-Seigneuries school board. She not only used Twitter as a writing aid, but she was one of the first to have her students tweet. His idea of giving a weekly homework in 140 characters (stack!) got up quickly. “Because it's a game,” she says. Because it's fun ". Indeed, his students let themselves be taken. After four weeks of homework on Twitter, his students asked him to continue the exercise. “We're just starting to have fun,” they told him.

Is it easy? Not necessarily, since the teacher does not accept any compromise. No abbreviations, no smileys, no popular language. “Everything must be written in good French,” she adds. It happens that some students, by chance, get it right the first time, but some others work for up to two hours on their 140 characters ”.

To read more

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie Beaupré
Julie beaupre
Julie is a primary ICT educational advisor and RÉCIT resource person at the Commission scolaire des Affluents. Also, blogger here and the.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Le B.A-ba d’un projet

(Page précédente) Un espace blanc juste assez grand pour saisir 140 caractères. Espaces compris. Cela semble pourtant facile, voire banal. En quoi un texte d’une vingtaine de mots peut-il donner […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

(Page précédente)

Un espace blanc juste assez grand pour saisir 140 caractères. Espaces compris. Cela semble pourtant facile, voire banal. En quoi un texte d’une vingtaine de mots peut-il donner le goût d’écrire aux élèves? Les pédagogues les plus innovateurs y voient là un grand potentiel.

À la Commission scolaire des Laurentides, les élèves de la classe de Brigitte Léonard sont en première année. Comme tous les autres élèves de 6 et 7 ans, ils vivent des situations d’écriture pour développer leurs compétences. Ils apprennent à manier le crayon et rédigent des textes de longueurs variées. Eux, toutefois, tweetent.

Qu’écrivent-ils exactement? « Notre classe est abonnée à une vingtaine d’autres, explique l’enseignante. Nous écrivons sur notre quotidien, nous composons des phrases autour de différents thèmes. Nous répondons aux tweets des autres classes et parfois même aux parents qui nous posent des questions. C’est une belle façon de s’ouvrir à d’autres réalités  ». Si des élèves d’une classe de Belgique mentionnent qu’ils seront en congé le 1er mai en raison de la fête du Travail, ceux de Brigitte en profitent pour décrire leur futur métier. Si leurs copains du Gabon mentionnent que la saison des pluies est en cours, l’enseignante récupère ces informations en univers social. « Les contacts humains sont souvent plus intéressants que de lire des informations dans des livres », précise-t-elle.

Mme Léonard ne s’est pas lancée dans l’aventure du jour au lendemain. Un tel projet, cela se prépare. Elle a pris un certain temps à se familiariser avec l’outil et à en faire une appropriation personnelle. « Au début, je ne comprenais absolument rien à Twitter, confie-t-elle. Puis en observant les travaux précurseurs d’autres classes, comme celle de M. Masson, j’ai entrevu des avenues pédagogiques intéressantes pour les petits. J’ai défini mon projet en fin d’année scolaire pour bien le présenter aux parents à la rentrée. »

Annie Côté, pour sa part, enseigne le français en 5e secondaire à la commission scolaire des Premières-Seigneuries. Elle a non seulement utilisé Twitter comme outil d’aide à l’écriture, mais elle est l’une des premières à avoir fait faire de la twittérature à ses élèves. Son idée de donner un devoir hebdomadaire en 140 caractères (pile!) a levé rapidement. « Parce que c’est un jeu, affirme-t-elle. Parce que c’est amusant ». Effectivement, ses élèves se sont laissé prendre. Après quatre semaines de devoirs sur Twitter, ses élèves lui ont demandé de poursuivre l’exercice. « On commence juste à s’amuser », lui ont-ils dit.

Est-ce facile? Pas nécessairement, puisque l’enseignante n’accepte aucun compromis. Pas d’abréviation, pas de binettes, pas de langage populaire. « Tout doit être écrit en bon français, ajoute-t-elle. Il arrive que certains élèves, par hasard, y parviennent du premier coup, mais certains autres travaillent jusqu’à deux heures sur leurs 140 caractères ».

Pour lire la suite

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Julie Beaupré
Julie Beaupré
Julie est conseillère pédagogique TIC au primaire et personne-ressource RÉCIT à la Commission scolaire des Affluents. Aussi, blogueuse ici et .

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :