The cutting edge of Silicon Valley at Collège Mont Notre-Dame

The Collège Mont Notre-Dame unveiled its new learning space entirely dedicated to zSpace technology, which combines virtual and augmented reality.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Sherbrooke, Monday, April 9 - The Collège Mont Notre-Dame unveiled, this Monday morning, its new learning space entirely dedicated to zSpace technology, which combines virtual and augmented reality. The Collège Mont Notre-Dame is the first school in Eastern Canada to have zSpace technology and the first school in Canada to obtain the title of District of distinction (flagship school).

The company zSpace, based in Silicon Valley and specializing in educational content, awarded Collège Mont Notre-Dame the title of District of distinction for his leadership and innovation in the implementation of this technology for the development of mathematics and science among students.

This is an investment of 180,000 $, made possible thanks to the generous donation of 150,000 $ from the Congregation of Notre-Dame, made by the Collège Mont Notre-Dame with the acquisition of 15 zSpace computers. In this largest zSpace lab in Canada, students are encouraged to develop their understanding through applications that include science, math and technology design.

Recognized worldwide, zSpace technology offers an interactive and collaborative environment. The stations can accommodate up to three people. By wearing glasses, all students can make the same observations, but only one student directs and manipulates the virtual objects using a magnetic pen.

This technology promotes the activation of knowledge through its interactive environment which requires the student to make choices and take actions to progress in the various activities offered. Learning by error is put forward; the student can do reversible manipulations. Not only is zSpace intuitive and easy to use technology, it also encourages the development of creative thinking. Students' thinking is taken to a higher level and the knowledge acquired is more transferable.

ZSpace technology aligns with the College's mission, which recognizes the potential of technology to provide a learning experience tailored to the needs of each student. Thanks to his new title of District of Distinction, the Collège Mont Notre-Dame becomes the flagship school for all establishments wishing to acquire zSpace technology.

About Collège Mont Notre-Dame

The Collège Mont Notre-Dame is a private educational institution for girls, located in Sherbrooke since 1857, and which offers all students the International Education Program (MYP) of the International Baccalaureate Organization.

For more information, visit www.mont-notre-dame.qc.ca

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

La fine pointe de Silicon Valley au Collège Mont Notre-Dame

Le Collège Mont Notre-Dame a dévoilé son nouvel espace d’apprentissage entièrement dédiée à la technologie zSpace, qui combine la réalité virtuelle et augmentée.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Sherbrooke, lundi 9 avril – Le Collège Mont Notre-Dame a dévoilé, ce lundi matin, son nouvel espace d’apprentissage entièrement dédiée à la technologie zSpace, qui combine la réalité virtuelle et augmentée. Le Collège Mont Notre-Dame est la première école de l’Est du Canada à posséder la technologie zSpace et la première école du Canada à obtenir le titre de District of distinction (école phare).

L’entreprise zSpace, basée à Silicon Valley et spécialisée en contenus éducatifs, a remis au Collège Mont Notre-Dame le titre de District of distinction pour son leadership et son innovation à l’implantation de cette technologie au développement des mathématiques et des sciences chez les élèves.

C’est un investissement de 180 000 $, rendu possible grâce au généreux don de 150 000 $ de la Congrégation de Notre-Dame, qu’a réalisé le Collège Mont Notre-Dame avec l’acquisition de 15 ordinateurs zSpace. Dans ce plus grand laboratoire zSpace au Canada, les élèves sont amenés à développer leur compréhension à l’aide d’applications qui traitent notamment des sciences, des mathématiques et de conception technologique.

Reconnue mondialement, la technologie zSpace propose un environnement interactif et collaboratif. Les stations peuvent accueillir jusqu’à trois personnes. Grâce au port des lunettes, tous les élèves peuvent faire les mêmes observations, mais un seul élève dirige et manipule les objets virtuels à l’aide d’un stylo magnétique.

Cette technologie favorise l’activation des connaissances par son environnement interactif qui demande à l’élève de faire des choix et de poser des gestes pour progresser dans les différentes activités proposées. L’apprentissage par l’erreur est mis de l’avant; l’élève peut faire des manipulations réversibles. Non seulement zSpace est une technologie intuitive et facile d’utilisation, elle encourage également le développement de la pensée créatrice. La réflexion des élèves est amenée à un niveau supérieur et les connaissances acquises sont davantage transférables.

La technologie zSpace s’harmonise avec la mission du Collège qui reconnaît le potentiel de la technologie pour proposer une expérience d’apprentissage adaptée aux besoins de chaque élève. Grâce à son nouveau titre de District of Distinction, le Collège Mont Notre-Dame devient l’école phare pour tous les établissements qui désirent se procurer la technologie zSpace.

À propos du Collège Mont Notre-Dame

Le Collège Mont Notre-Dame est un établissement d’enseignement privé pour filles, situé à Sherbrooke depuis 1857, et qui offre à toutes les élèves le programme d’éducation internationale (PEI) de l’Organisation du Baccalauréat International.

Pour plus d’information, visitez le www.mont-notre-dame.qc.ca

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct