Hooked on School Days, February 12 to 16, 2018

A Léger survey on school perseverance shows that a multitude of actions, taken from early childhood to adulthood, can make a real difference in educational success.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

MONTREAL, Feb. 2018 / CNW Telbec / - A Léger survey shows that the conditions that lead to dropping out can be created very early in a young person's life and that a multitude of actions, from early childhood to adulthood, can make a real difference in educational success.

Commissioned by the IRC Network with the financial support of the Desjardins Foundation, the survey was conducted among 1,009 Quebecers aged 18 to 34 who had had a problematic experience related to school perseverance (people who dropped out, thought to pick up or hanging up).

“The people who spoke in this survey have a very clear message: each path is unique and all the actions that can be taken to encourage and support young people, from the start of their life to adulthood, are a plus for their success ”, specifies Audrey McKinnon, director of the 2018 Hooked on School Days national campaign.

Dropout prevention: every action counts

The survey was unveiled on the occasion of the Journées de la persévérance scolaire 2018, an initiative of the Network of Regional Consultations (IRC) with the support of the Government of Quebec and the Lucie and André Chagnon Foundation. It not only indicates that almost a third of young people vulnerable to dropping out (29 %) started to think about it relatively early, i.e. before the age of 14, but also that school failure is rarely the only factor involved, only 13 % reporting that they had “bad” or “very bad” grades. Rather, the survey points to a combination of factors that also touch on the more general question of interest in school, taste for reading, bullying, the presence of a learning disability, alcohol or drug use, etc.

However, one result is particularly pleasing: those who have thought of dropping out, but who did not, are twice as likely to report having been helped or encouraged by significant people in their entourage, compared to dropouts and dropouts. "This shows that we must continue the collective efforts we are making to support and accompany young people, because this has a real impact," adds Audrey McKinnon.

A collective commitment to school perseverance

“The success of young Quebecers is a fundamental social project that requires a shared will and the commitment of the greatest number. The results of this survey remind us of the important role we all have to play with them, ”stressed Jean-Marc Chouinard, president of the Lucie and André Chagnon Foundation.

On the side of the Desjardins Foundation, which financially supported the IRC network for the conduct of this survey, the director Nancy lee believes that we can all benefit from the results of this survey, no matter what role we play, as a teacher, organization, employer or parent.

Some highlights of the survey

  • 29 % of young people who are more vulnerable to dropping out indicate that they started to think about it at the age of 13 or 14, or even younger.
  • 47 % mention that they had "fair" marks and 41 %, "good" or "very good" marks; only 13 % report having failed at school.
  • 25 % report that they read regularly in their spare time.
  • 75 % say they were bored at school.
  • 66 % indicate that their parents regularly monitored their situation at school and 93 % mention that their parents valued school.
  • 32 % of “perseverants” (those who thought about dropping out, but didn't) say that the encouragement they received made a difference in their decision to stay in school.
  • 34 % of dropouts say that a work experience made a difference in their decision to return to school.
  • 75 % had access to recreational facilities in their municipality, but only 59 % among dropouts.
  • 69 % believe that Quebec society should do more to support school perseverance among young people.
  • 82 % affirm that this is a collective responsibility that concerns schools, government, municipalities, school daycare services, early childhood education services, community groups, the network of health, employers and the media.

To view the full survey results: 
http://www.journeesperseverancescolaire.com/sondage

About Hooked on School Days
Present in Quebec for 12 years, the Journées de la persévérance scolaire (JPS) mark a time of the year when partners from all walks of life come together and celebrate the actions taken daily by the community around young people, to talk about solar perseverance. , the benefits of qualifying training and the importance of pursuing your dreams. They are also an opportunity to promote the effort. The JPS are clearly part of the third line of intervention which targets "actors and partners mobilized around success" proposed by the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sport, Sébastien Proulx, within the framework of the large consultation "Education: let's talk about the future".

About the regional consultation bodies on school perseverance and educational success (IRC)
The regional consultation bodies on school perseverance and educational success in Quebec (IRC) are at the crossroads of actors working for the educational success of Quebec students. Their role consists, among other things, in ensuring a plural and active regional mobilization and in developing local partnerships in the promotion of the conditions for educational success. They also have a mandate to support community practices that promote awareness and interest in reading among 0-20 year olds and their parents. Each IRC's mission and activity structure is unique, allowing each to adapt to the specific challenges of the region it serves.

 

SOURCE Network of regional consultation bodies on school perseverance and educational success in Quebec

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les Journées de la persévérance scolaire, du 12 au 16 février 2018

0
Les Journées de la persévérance scolaire, du 12 au 16 février 2018 (Groupe CNW/Réseau des Instances régionales de concertation sur la persévérance scolaire et la réussite éducative du Québec)

MONTRÉAL, le 12 févr. 2018 /CNW Telbec/ – Un sondage Léger démontre que les conditions qui mènent au décrochage peuvent se créer très tôt dans la vie d’un jeune et qu’une multitude de gestes, posés dès la petite enfance jusqu’à l’âge adulte, peuvent faire une réelle différence dans la réussite éducative.

Commandé par le Réseau des IRC avec le soutien financier de la Fondation Desjardins, le sondage a été réalisé auprès de 1 009 Québécois et Québécoises de 18 à 34 ans ayant connu une expérience problématique en lien avec la persévérance scolaire (personnes ayant décroché, ayant pensé à décrocher ou ayant raccroché).

« Les personnes qui se sont exprimées dans ce sondage ont un message très clair : chaque parcours est unique et tous les gestes que l’on peut poser pour encourager et soutenir les jeunes, du début de leur vie jusqu’à l’âge adulte, sont un plus pour leur réussite », précise Audrey McKinnon, directrice de la campagne nationale des Journées de la persévérance scolaire 2018.

Prévention du décrochage : chaque geste compte

Le sondage est dévoilé à l’occasion des Journées de la persévérance scolaire 2018, une initiative du Réseau des Instances régionales de consultations (IRC) avec le soutien du gouvernement du Québec et de la Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon. Il indique non seulement que près du tiers des jeunes vulnérables au décrochage (29 %) ont commencé à y penser relativement tôt, soit avant l’âge de 14 ans, mais également que l’échec scolaire est rarement le seul facteur en cause, seuls 13 % rapportant qu’ils avaient de « mauvaises » ou de « très mauvaises » notes. Le sondage pointe plutôt vers une combinaison de facteurs qui touchent aussi à la question plus globale de l’intérêt pour l’école, au goût de la lecture, à l’intimidation, à la présence d’un trouble d’apprentissage, à la consommation d’alcool ou de drogues, etc.

Un résultat est toutefois particulièrement réjouissant : ceux qui ont pensé à décrocher, mais qui ne l’ont pas fait, sont deux fois plus nombreux à rapporter avoir été aidés ou encouragés par des personnes significatives de leur entourage, comparativement aux décrocheurs et aux raccrocheurs. « Cela démontre qu’il faut poursuivre les efforts collectifs que nous faisons pour soutenir et accompagner les jeunes, parce que cela a un réel impact », ajoute Audrey McKinnon.

Un engagement collectif envers la persévérance scolaire

« La réussite des jeunes Québécois est un projet de société fondamental qui nécessite une volonté partagée et l’engagement du plus grand nombre. Les résultats de ce sondage nous rappellent le rôle important que nous avons tous à jouer auprès d’eux, » a souligné Jean-Marc Chouinard, président de la Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon.

Du côté de la Fondation Desjardins, qui a soutenu financièrement le réseau des IRC pour la réalisation de ce sondage, la directrice Nancy Lee est d’avis que nous pouvons tous bénéficier des résultats de ce sondage, peu importe le rôle que nous jouons, en tant qu’enseignant, organisme, employeur ou parent.

Quelques faits saillants du sondage

  • 29 % des jeunes plus vulnérables au décrochage indiquent avoir commencé à y penser dès l’âge de 13 ou 14 ans, voire plus jeune.
  • 47 % mentionnent qu’ils avaient des notes « passables » et 41 %, de « bonnes » ou « très bonnes » notes ; seuls 13 % rapportent avoir été en situation d’échec scolaire.
  • 25 % affirment qu’ils lisaient régulièrement dans leurs temps libres.
  • 75 % disent qu’ils s’ennuyaient à l’école.
  • 66 % indiquent que leurs parents faisaient un suivi régulier de leur situation à l’école et 93 % mentionnent que leurs parents valorisaient l’école.
  • 32 % des « persévérants » (ceux qui ont pensé à décrocher, mais qui ne l’ont pas fait) disent que les encouragements qu’ils ont reçus ont fait la différence dans leur décision de rester à l’école.
  • 34 % des raccrocheurs disent qu’une expérience de travail a fait la différence dans leur décision de retourner à l’école.
  • 75 % ont eu accès à des installations de loisirs dans leur municipalité, mais seulement 59 % chez les décrocheurs.
  • 69 % estiment que la société québécoise devrait en faire plus pour soutenir la persévérance scolaire chez les jeunes.
  • 82 % affirment qu’il s’agit d’une responsabilité collective qui concerne autant les écoles, le gouvernement, les municipalités, les services de garde en milieu scolaire, les services éducatifs à la petite enfance, les groupes communautaires, le réseau de la santé, les employeurs et les médias.

Pour consulter les résultats complets du sondage : 
http://www.journeesperseverancescolaire.com/sondage

À propos des Journées de la persévérance scolaire
Présentes au Québec depuis 12 ans, les Journées de la persévérance scolaire (JPS) marquent un moment de l’année où les partenaires de tous les horizons se rassemblent et célèbrent les gestes posés quotidiennement par la communauté autour des jeunes, pour parler de persévérance solaire, des avantages d’une formation qualifiante et de l’importance de poursuivre ses rêves. Elles sont aussi une opportunité de valoriser l’effort. Les JPS s’inscrivent clairement dans le 3e axe d’intervention qui cible « des acteurs et des partenaires mobilisés autour de la réussite » proposé par le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport, Sébastien Proulx, dans le cadre de la grande consultation « L’éducation : parlons avenir ».

À propos des Instances régionales de concertation sur la persévérance scolaire et la réussite éducative (IRC)
Les Instances régionales de concertation sur la persévérance scolaire et la réussite éducative du Québec (IRC) sont au carrefour des acteurs œuvrant à la réussite éducative des élèves québécois. Leur rôle consiste, entre autres, à assurer une mobilisation régionale plurielle et active et à développer des partenariats locaux dans la promotion des conditions de réussite éducative. Elles ont aussi un mandat de soutenir des pratiques communautaires favorisant l’éveil et l’intérêt à la lecture chez les 0-20 ans et leurs parents. Chaque mission et structure d’activités des IRC est unique, ce qui permet à chacune d’entre elles de s’adapter aux défis spécifiques de la région qu’elle dessert.

 

SOURCE Réseau des Instances régionales de concertation sur la persévérance scolaire et la réussite éducative du Québec

Commentaires