Innovation and digital: find out what measure 15081 allows you to deploy in your communities

As part of the PAN, measure 15081 has been improved in order to stimulate the development of innovative teaching practices. The form for submitting innovation projects linked to digital technologies has been available since May 27 for school administrators on the CollecteInfo portal. In this article, François Lake shares with you the experience of his school team in connection with measurement.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

As part of the Digital Education Action Plan, measure 15081 of the budgetary rules has been improved in order to stimulate the development of innovative teaching practices. The form for submitting innovation projects linked to digital technologies has been available since May 27 for school administrators on the CollecteInfo portal. In this article, François Lake shares with you the experience of his school team in relation to measurement.

By François Lake
Teacher of 5e year at L'Arpège school in Sainte-Julie
Twitter: @Francois_Lake

Few people and establishments know the measure "Innovation projects linked to digital technologies" from the Ministry of Education and yet it is a real gold mine. Indeed, our school has benefited from it for two years now and I take this article to inform you on the subject. Here are the different ways in which we have used the amounts of this measure, the undeniable advantages it has brought us and the concrete results it has generated for our school.

Foster the professional development of the team

For two years, our school has enjoyed significant amounts of money thanks to measure 15081. In the first year we received a grant worth 20,000$ and this year the amount was 26,000$. Thanks to these amounts, the school team was able to participate in several training sessions and seminars such as Clair in New Brunswick (3 teachers), REFER in Montreal and Quebec (6 teachers), AQUOPS (18 teachers out of two). years) and the Digital Summit (8 teachers over two years). These are, of course, major events which promote the use of digital technology in schools and which are very interesting. We know many teachers who have envied us to be able to participate in all these conferences and congresses. Indeed, participating in these congresses is expensive. Usually a school cannot allow so many teachers to go on training, even if the whole thing was spread over two years. We also met several times regulars in these events who paid out of their own pockets the amounts necessary to go there. When you talk to these people, they are often surprised to learn how fortunate we are, and all of you, to be able to take advantage of this measure. 

Another very interesting aspect is that we were able to take advantage of free time for the teachers in the school in the form of training, mentoring and peer modeling. Indeed, teachers more comfortable with technology were able to accompany their colleagues in various fields such as the use of iPad carts in an educational way, robotics, programming and the creative laboratory. As teachers, we would all like to have more time to improve ourselves in these areas and it is often that same time that we lack. Measure 15081 comes to overcome this difficulty. The often heavy tasks, the appropriation of a new level, the integration of digital technology and all the other elements of the teacher's life mean that we abandon certain aspects of his continuing education over the years. Thanks to these releases, teachers were able to continue to improve their skills without feeling overwhelmed by the reality of the teaching world.

Considerable benefits

What are the benefits of all this? Let's say it right away, they are huge. Firstly, the teachers were very grateful to be able to take the time to appropriate the use of digital in an educational way. Thanks to these seminars, conferences and in-house training, many have realized that digital technology is not an addition to the task, but rather a way of doing better and / or differently what we are already doing.

What they saw as a mountain turned out to be a small hillock.

We made sure to start from the needs and capacities of each one in order to support them in their feeling of professional competence and allow them to evolve at their own pace. All staff members were consulted and received training, development and support tailored to their needs. 

No one was left out.

The members of the school team appreciated developing a feeling of competence in digital technology before accompanying their students to their class. Obviously, as Margarida Romero said so well to Clair, in 2018, one must have a tolerance for ambiguity as a teacher. We can always be unsettled by a student who knows more about the subject than we do, but a feeling of basic competence is helpful in order to take the first steps in class. This is what we gave to the teachers at the school.

For teachers who are less comfortable, I have, for example, done modeling in their class in robotics. This allowed them to better understand the thinking behind robotics, the links with science, mathematics, programming and even French. The goal is not to do everything for them, however. Following this modeling, they gained confidence and are now doing robotics on their own, all with a smile! Concern has given way to pleasure. The teachers in question have become autonomous and that is the beauty of it. 

In my opinion, it would not have been possible without this measure.

What about the students?

It is also important to note that no student is forgotten in this adventure. We talk more and more about the skills of the 21e century and we are convinced, at our school, that it is important to equip students at this level. The measure has enabled us to equip teachers to support their students. Thus, they continue to work on the elements of the PFEQ while allowing the students to develop these skills. From computational thinking, collaboration and problem solving, students develop skills that will be useful to them throughout their lives. With the new digital competence framework, which has just been presented at the Digital Summit, we realize that all of our efforts over the past five years (and particularly in the last two years) have enabled our students to flourish. and to develop these so-called skills. 

To finish…

The positive results of measure 15081 are huge for our school. Firstly, teachers are extremely enthusiastic about having had the time to develop their digital skills. They are happy to better understand its usefulness and now know how to use it to take students further while still sticking to the training program. Then, the teachers who were more comfortable at the base are, for their part, motivated to discover new approaches and to help their colleagues. Finally, the students benefit from support more suited to today's reality and carry out absolutely incredible projects. Whether it is the creation of a remote-controlled racing car with Micro: Bits, green screen video projects, the programming of an application or any other project, students are motivated and develop skills that will be useful to them all their life. life.

In summary, I believe it is important to remember that the measurement "Innovation projects linked to digital technologies" allowed the members of our school to be better equipped to deal with the use of digital technology and to allow students to go further than we could have imagined. I therefore invite you to take this opportunity to educate a generation that will be ready to face the world of the future.

  • Do you want to submit an innovation project related to digital technologies? Talk to your principal (school, teaching center or educational services) who has access to the deposit form on the CollecteInfo Portal.
  • To see other examples of projects funded by measure 15081, it's this way.
  • To find out more about the possibilities of this measure in higher education, it's this way.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Innovation et numérique : découvrez ce que la mesure 15081 vous permet de déployer dans vos milieux

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation, la mesure 15081 des règles budgétaires a été bonifiée afin de stimuler le développement de pratiques pédagogiques innovantes. Le formulaire pour déposer des projets d’innovation liés aux technologies numériques est disponible depuis le 27 mai pour les gestionnaires scolaires sur le Portail CollecteInfo. Dans cet article, François Lake vous partage l’expérience de son équipe-école en lien avec la mesure.

Par François Lake
Enseignant de 5e année à l’école L’Arpège de Sainte-Julie
Twitter : @Francois_Lake

Peu de personnes et d’établissements connaissent la mesure « Projets d’innovation liés aux technologies numériques » du ministère de l’Éducation et pourtant, c’est une vraie petite mine d’or. En effet, notre école en bénéficie depuis maintenant deux ans et je profite de cet article pour vous informer sur le sujet. Voici donc différentes façons dont nous avons utilisé les montants de cette mesure, des avantages indéniables qu’elle nous a apportés et des résultats concrets qu’elle a engendrés pour notre école.

Favoriser le développement professionnel de l’équipe

Depuis deux ans, notre école jouit d’importants montants d’argent grâce à la mesure 15081. La première année, nous avons reçu une subvention d’une valeur de 20 000$ et cette année, le montant s’élevait à 26 000$. Grâce à ces montants, l’équipe-école a pu participer à plusieurs formations et colloques tels que Clair au Nouveau-Brunswick (3 enseignants), le REFER à Montréal et à Québec (6 enseignants), l’AQUOPS (18 enseignants sur deux ans) et le Sommet du numérique (8 enseignants sur deux ans). Il s’agit là, bien évidemment, de grands événements qui font la promotion de l’utilisation du numérique dans le milieu scolaire et qui sont très intéressants. On connait beaucoup d’enseignants qui nous ont enviés de pouvoir participer à tous ces colloques et congrès. En effet, participer à ces congrès coûte cher. Une école ne peut habituellement pas permettre à autant d’enseignants d’aller en formation, même si le tout s’est échelonné sur deux ans.  On a aussi croisé plusieurs fois des habitués dans ces événements qui ont payé de leur poche les montants nécessaires pour y aller. Lorsqu’on parle à ces personnes, elles sont souvent surprises d’apprendre la chance que nous avons, et que vous avez tous d’ailleurs, de pouvoir profiter de cette mesure. 

Un autre aspect très intéressant est que nous avons pu profiter de libérations pour les enseignants de l’école sous forme de formation, mentorat et modélisation par les pairs. En effet, les enseignants plus à l’aise avec la technologie ont pu accompagner leurs collègues dans divers domaines tels que l’utilisation des chariots d’iPad de façon pédagogique, la robotique, la programmation et le laboratoire créatif. En tant qu’enseignants, nous aimerions tous avoir plus de temps afin de nous perfectionner dans ces domaines et c’est souvent ce même temps qui nous manque. La mesure 15081 vient pallier cette difficulté. Les tâches souvent lourdes, l’appropriation d’un nouveau niveau, l’intégration du numérique et tous les autres éléments de la vie d’enseignant signifient qu’on délaisse certains aspects de sa formation continue au fil des ans. Grâce à ces libérations, les enseignants ont pu continuer à se perfectionner sans se sentir submergés par la réalité du monde enseignant.

Des bénéfices considérables

Quels sont les bénéfices de tout ça? Disons-le tout de suite, ils sont énormes. Premièrement, les enseignants ont été très reconnaissants de pouvoir prendre du temps pour s’approprier l’utilisation du numérique de façon pédagogique. Grâce à ces colloques, congrès et formations à l’interne, plusieurs ont réalisé que le numérique, ce n’est pas un ajout à la tâche, mais plutôt une façon de faire mieux et/ou différemment ce que l’on fait déjà.

Ce qu’ils voyaient comme une montagne s’est avéré être une petite butte.

Nous nous sommes assurés de partir des besoins et capacités de chacun afin de les accompagner dans leur sentiment de compétence professionnelle et leur permettre d’évoluer à leur rythme. Tous les membres du personnel ont été consultés, ont eu des formations, des perfectionnements et de l’accompagnement adaptés à leurs besoins. 

Personne n’a été laissé de côté.

Les membres de l’équipe-école ont apprécié développer un sentiment de compétence envers le numérique avant d’accompagner leurs élèves dans leur classe. Bien évidemment, comme l’a si bien dit Margarida Romero à Clair, en 2018, on doit avoir une tolérance à l’ambiguïté en tant qu’enseignant. Nous pourrons toujours être déstabilisés par un élève qui en connait plus que nous sur le sujet, mais un sentiment de compétence de base est aidant afin de faire les premiers pas en classe. C’est ce que nous avons donné aux enseignants de l’école.

Pour les enseignants moins à l’aise, j’ai, par exemple, fait de la modélisation dans leur classe en robotique. Ceci leur a permis de mieux comprendre la pensée derrière la robotique, les liens avec les sciences, les mathématiques, la programmation et même le français. Le but n’est pas de tout faire à leur place par contre. Suite à cette modélisation, ils ont pris de l’assurance et font maintenant de la robotique par eux-mêmes, le tout avec le sourire! L’inquiétude a laissé sa place au plaisir. Les enseignants en question sont devenus autonomes et c’est la beauté de la chose. 

Selon moi, ça n’aurait pas été possible sans cette mesure.

Et les élèves dans tout ça?

Il est aussi important de noter qu’aucun élève n’est oublié dans cette aventure. Nous parlons de plus en plus des compétences du 21e siècle et nous avons la conviction, à notre école, qu’il est important d’outiller les élèves à ce niveau. La mesure nous a permis d’outiller les enseignants pour accompagner leurs élèves. Ainsi, ils continuent à travailler les éléments du PFEQ tout en permettant aux élèves de développer ces compétences. De la pensée informatique, en passant par la collaboration et la résolution de problèmes, les élèves développent des capacités qui leur seront utiles tout au long de leur vie. Avec le nouveau cadre de référence de la compétence numérique, qui vient tout juste d’être présenté au Sommet du numérique, nous réalisons que toutes nos démarches depuis cinq ans (et particulièrement dans les deux dernières années) permettent à nos élèves de s’épanouir et de développer ces dites compétences. 

Pour terminer…

Les résultats positifs de la mesure 15081 sont énormes pour notre école. Premièrement, les enseignants sont extrêmement enthousiastes d’avoir eu du temps pour développer leur compétence face au numérique. Ils sont heureux de mieux comprendre son utilité et savent maintenant comment l’utiliser pour amener les élèves plus loin tout en continuant à respecter le programme de formation. Ensuite, les enseignants qui étaient plus à l’aise à la base sont, quant à eux, motivés de découvrir de nouvelles approches et d’aider leurs collègues. Finalement, les élèves bénéficient d’un accompagnement plus adapté à la réalité d’aujourd’hui et réalisent des projets absolument incroyables. Que ce soit la création d’une voiture de course téléguidée avec des Micro:Bit, des projets vidéos sur écran vert, la programmation d’une application ou tout autre projet, les élèves sont motivés et développent des compétences qui leur seront utiles toute leur vie.

En résumé, je crois qu’il est important de retenir que la mesure « Projets d’innovation liés aux technologies numériques » a permis aux membres de notre école d’être mieux outillés face à l’utilisation du numérique et aux élèves d’aller plus loin que ce que nous aurions pu imaginer. Je vous invite donc à profiter de cette opportunité afin d’éduquer une génération qui sera prête à affronter le monde du futur.

  • Vous voulez déposer un projet d’innovation lié aux technologies numériques? Parlez-en à votre directeur (d’école, de centre d’enseignement ou des services éducatifs) qui a accès au formulaire de dépôt sur le Portail CollecteInfo.
  • Pour voir d’autres exemples de projets financés par la mesure 15081, c’est par ici.
  • Pour en savoir davantage sur les possibilités de cette mesure en enseignement supérieur, c’est par ici.


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :