Closure of elementary and secondary schools in Montreal until the fall: reactions

Here are the various reactions we received in a press release following the announcement of the closure of elementary and secondary schools in the Montreal region until the fall.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

article in development

COVID-19: closure of schools in the Montreal metropolitan community - The government will have to rely on the expertise of teachers who will continue to support their students

MONTREAL, May 14, 2020 / CNW Telbec / - Following the announcement made by Premier François Legault to close, until August 2020, primary and secondary schools in the Montreal metropolitan community ( CMM), the Autonomous Federation of Education (FAE) asks the government to put in place support resources for vulnerable student populations who are experiencing the health crisis even harder. The FAE also believes that the government must work with the representatives of teachers as part of the operations that must be carried out not only by the end of this school year, but also for the start of the fall 2020 school year. According to the FAE, the next school year should, among other things, allow students to perform a major upgrade in order to make up for the delays caused by the situation.

In addition, the error made by the Minister of Education Jean-François Roberge, when he unveiled the plan for the gradual reopening of schools, must not be repeated, since he deprived himself of the expertise of thousands of teachers. The AWF has also conducted an online consultation with its members over the past few weeks. Nearly 5,000 of them responded to a questionnaire which covered, among other things, the conditions to be put in place during the next school year.

"The teachers targeted by this announcement are sad not to be able to find their students, but the COVID-19 pandemic which is raging in the greater Montreal area required that this decision be made," said the president of the the FAE, Sylvain Mallette. However, this situation raises many concerns that the Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, will have to manage with great attention and in collaboration with the representatives of the teachers. The Montreal Metropolitan Community has nearly half of the population of Quebec and is its economic heart. The impacts are therefore major for parents, who will not only have to continue to support their children, along with teachers, in their schooling, but also who will have to continue working. We are very united with the challenges posed by this work-family balance. "

Priority to the safety of teachers and their students outside the Montreal region

The FAE also wishes to recall that it will be necessary to remain very vigilant as to the respect of the sanitary rules in the elementary schools which reopened this week outside the greater Montreal area. “We are in close contact with the local representatives of the teachers in order to rigorously ensure that the instructions are followed and that the teachers feel safe. We are also continuing to inform our members of their rights, ”said Mr. Mallette. It is for this reason that the FAE obtained masks made in Quebec that it will provide to its members. This initiative allows it not only to contribute to their feeling of security, but also to support a Quebec company.

Finally, the AWF recalls that the platform Is that wrong? Tell us! continues to document and list the observations of teachers regarding non-compliance with directives issued by the government within the framework of the reopening of schools in the Outaouais, Quebec City and Granby regions. To date, 294 reports have been made and have enabled local unions to make the necessary representations to school boards.

The FAE is made up of nine unions representing more than 45,000 preschool, elementary, secondary, prison education, vocational training, adult education and school staff at Peter Hall schools. and the Fournier Academic Center, as well as nearly 1,700 members of the FAE Retired Persons Association (APRFAE). It is present in seven regions: Montreal, Laval, Quebec and the Outaouais, in which the four largest urban centers of Quebec are located, as well as in the Laurentians, Estrie and Montérégie.

SOURCE Autonomous Federation of Education (FAE)


Closure of schools in Montreal until September - No question of abandoning students to their fate, insists Quebec solidaire

MONTREAL, May 14, 2020 / CNW Telbec / - Québec solidaire spokesperson Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois and responsible education officer Christine Labrie welcome the government's decision to extend the closure of Montreal schools until September, and ask the Minister of Education, Jean-François Roberge, to immediately put in place support measures for students to allow them to continue their studies at a distance.

“It was the only responsible decision, since the situation in Montreal is not under control. But from now on, the government must change its approach and stop announcing blind deconfinement dates. It must be transparent and announce in advance which objective criteria will be used to plan deconfinement in the metropolis, ”says Nadeau-Dubois.

The responsible for education, Christine Labrie, is now calling on her government counterpart, Jean-François Roberge, to very quickly put in place measures to support students in distance education.

“There is no question of abandoning Montreal students to their fate. Minister Roberge must offer distance educational support worthy of the name as soon as possible so that no student is penalized. The tablets promised more than two weeks ago have not yet arrived everywhere, and it is a delay that penalizes the most vulnerable students. If no student returns to class in Montreal, it will take more electronic equipment than expected, and the Minister must ensure that all students have the necessary equipment very quickly, especially the most vulnerable, ”argues Ms. Labrie.

In order to allow students to continue their school curriculum at a distance, the Solidarity MP calls on the Legault government to give primary and secondary school teachers access to emergency childcare services so that they can provide distance education to their students.

SOURCE Parliamentary wing of Québec solidaire


Postponement of the opening of schools in September: a relief for families and school staff

MONTREAL, May 14, 2020 / CNW Telbec / - In response to the Quebec government's announcement on the postponement of the reopening of elementary schools in September, the Centrale des unions du Québec (CSQ) is issuing a public statement of its president, Sonia Ethier:

“The postponement of the opening of elementary schools in Greater Montreal to September is a relief for thousands of families and school staff. From the start, the Prime Minister has mentioned that the reopening of schools would only take place "if and only if the security conditions allow it." For our part, while offering our collaboration in the fight against the spread of the virus, our central called on the importance of having flexibility to avoid a wall to wall that would serve the objectives of public health as well as protection of personnel. Obviously, the opening of elementary schools in Greater Montreal was incompatible with the desire to ensure the health and protection of school personnel and families. We therefore welcome the government's decision. »- Sonia Ethier, President of the CSQ

Furthermore, concerning the carry forward to 1er June of the opening of school and educational daycare services in Greater Montreal, the president of the CSQ reiterates the importance of ensuring occupational health and safety for school support staff and for childcare workers. childhood: “The postponement of the opening of primary schools to September reminds us that it is essential for staff to work in conditions that meet the highest standards in terms of health and safety at work. If these basic criteria cannot be met, we invite the government to show the same flexibility as with schools by postponing the opening of school and educational daycare services, quite simply, ”concludes Sonia Ethier.

CSQ Profile

The CSQ represents more than 200,000 members, of which approximately 125,000 are education personnel. The CSQ has 11 federations which bring together some 240 affiliated unions; There is also the AREQ (CSQ), the Association of retirees and retirees from education and other public services of Quebec. The CSQ is also present in the health and social services, early childhood educational services, municipal, recreation, culture, community and communications sectors.

SOURCE CSQ


Greater Montreal schools closed until September - Distance support for all must be a priority

QUEBEC, May 14, 2020 / CNW Telbec / - The Federation of Quebec Parents' Committees (FCPQ) welcomes the postponement of the opening of schools in the Montreal Metropolitan Community, since the health situation is not under control in the region. The FCPQ of course respects public health decisions and wants this postponement to become an opportunity to improve distance support for students and their parents and to prepare for the 2020-2021 school year.

“There are a lot of young people who will not be going back to school this year. If we include high school, Greater Montreal and children who stay at home by choice of their parents, the percentage of students sitting on school benches is minimal. Now is the time to seriously put in place the educational and professional support that students at home are entitled to receive. Their academic success and well-being are major concerns at the moment, ”says Kévin Roy, president of the FCPQ.

The FCPQ is also concerned about the heavy burden that parents whose children continue to learn at home have to bear. Vulnerable students and students with special needs must be able to benefit from more help from teachers and professionals, and all students must have access to the tools necessary to carry out their assignments. Without it, demotivation and dropping out threaten them. In addition, it is imperative to clarify the message regarding evaluations and bulletins.

“Don't leave parents in the dark, help us help our young people,” asks Kévin Roy.

Profile of the Federation of Quebec Parents' Committees (FCPQ)

For 45 years, the FCPQ has brought together the parents' committees of Quebec school boards and supports volunteer parents concerned about parental participation in public elementary and secondary schools in order to ensure the quality of the education offered to children. .

SOURCE Federation of Parents' Committees of Quebec

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Fermeture des écoles primaires et secondaires de Montréal jusqu’à l’automne : réactions

mis à jour le :

article en développement

COVID-19 : fermeture des établissements scolaires dans la communauté métropolitaine de Montréal – Le gouvernement devra s’appuyer sur l’expertise des profs qui continueront de soutenir leurs élèves

MONTRÉAL, le 14 mai 2020 /CNW Telbec/ – À la suite de l’annonce faite par le premier ministre François Legault de fermer, jusqu’au mois d’août 2020, les établissements scolaires primaires et secondaires de la communauté métropolitaine de Montréal (CMM), la Fédération autonome de l’enseignement (FAE) demande au gouvernement qu’il mette en place des ressources de soutien pour les populations d’élèves vulnérables qui vivent encore plus durement la crise sanitaire. La FAE estime aussi que le gouvernement doit travailler avec les représentantes et représentants des profs dans le cadre des opérations qui doivent être menées non seulement d’ici la fin de la présente année scolaire, mais aussi pour la rentrée scolaire de l’automne 2020. Selon la FAE, la prochaine rentrée scolaire devra, entre autres, permettre aux élèves d’effectuer une importante mise à niveau afin de rattraper les retards provoqués par la situation.

De plus, l’erreur commise par le ministre de l’Éducation Jean-François Roberge, au moment où il a dévoilé le plan de réouverture graduelle des établissements scolaires, ne doit pas se reproduire, puisqu’il s’est privé de l’expertise des milliers d’enseignantes et enseignants. La FAE a d’ailleurs mené, au cours des dernières semaines, une consultation en ligne auprès de ses membres. Près de 5 000 d’entre eux ont répondu à un questionnaire qui portait, entre autres, sur les conditions à mettre en place lors de la prochaine rentrée scolaire.

« Les enseignantes et les enseignants visés par cette annonce sont tristes de ne pouvoir retrouver leurs élèves, mais la pandémie de COVID-19 qui sévit dans la grande région de Montréal nécessitait que cette décision soit prise », a précisé d’emblée le président de la FAE, Sylvain Mallette. Toutefois, cette situation soulève de nombreuses préoccupations que le ministre de l’Éducation, Jean-François Roberge, devra gérer avec beaucoup d’attention et en collaboration avec les représentantes et représentants des profs. La Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal compte près de la moitié de la population du Québec et constitue son cœur économique. Les impacts sont donc majeurs pour les parents, qui devront non seulement continuer d’accompagner, avec les profs, leurs enfants dans leur cheminement scolaire, mais aussi qui devront continuer à travailler. Nous sommes très solidaires des défis que pose cette conciliation travail-famille. »

Priorité à la sécurité des profs et de leurs élèves à l’extérieur de la région de Montréal

La FAE tient aussi à rappeler qu’il faudra demeurer très vigilants quant au respect des règles sanitaires dans les écoles primaires qui ont rouvert cette semaine à l’extérieur de la grande région de Montréal. « Nous sommes en étroit contact avec les représentantes et représentants locaux des profs afin de veiller rigoureusement à ce que les consignes soient respectées et à ce que les enseignantes et enseignants se sentent en sécurité. Nous continuons aussi d’informer nos membres quant à leurs droits », a souligné M. Mallette. C’est d’ailleurs pour cette raison que la FAE s’est procuré des masques faits au Québec qu’elle fournira à ses membres. Cette initiative lui permet non seulement de contribuer au sentiment de sécurité de ceux-ci, mais aussi de soutenir une entreprise québécoise.

Enfin, la FAE rappelle que la plateforme Ça cloche ? Dites-le-nous! continue de documenter et de recenser les observations des enseignantes et enseignants quant au non-respect des directives émises par le gouvernement dans le cadre de la réouverture des établissements scolaires dans les régions de l’Outaouais, de Québec et de Granby. À ce jour, 294 signalements ont été faits et ont permis aux syndicats locaux de faire les représentations nécessaires auprès des commissions scolaires.

La FAE regroupe neuf syndicats qui représentent plus de 45 000 enseignantes et enseignants du préscolaire, du primaire, du secondaire, de l’enseignement en milieu carcéral, de la formation professionnelle, de l’éducation des adultes et le personnel scolaire des écoles Peter Hall et du Centre académique Fournier, ainsi que près de 1 700 membres de l’Association de personnes retraitées de la FAE (APRFAE). Elle est présente dans sept régions : Montréal, Laval, Québec et l’Outaouais, dans lesquelles se trouvent les quatre plus grands pôles urbains du Québec, ainsi que dans les Laurentides, l’Estrie et la Montérégie.

SOURCE Fédération autonome de l’enseignement (FAE)


Fermeture des écoles de Montréal jusqu’en septembre – Pas question d’abandonner les élèves à leur sort, martèle Québec solidaire

MONTRÉAL, le 14 mai 2020 /CNW Telbec/ – Le porte-parole de Québec solidaire, Gabriel Nadeau-Dubois, et la responsable solidaire en matière d’éducation, Christine Labrie, saluent la décision du gouvernement de prolonger la fermeture des écoles de Montréal jusqu’en septembre, et demandent au ministre de l’Éducation, Jean-François Roberge, de mettre en place dès à présent des mesures de soutien aux élèves afin de leur permettre de poursuivre leur cursus à distance.

« C’était la seule décision responsable, puisque la situation à Montréal n’est aucunement sous contrôle. Mais à partir de maintenant, le gouvernement doit changer son approche et cesser d’annoncer des dates de déconfinement à l’aveugle. Il doit faire preuve de transparence et annoncer à l’avance quels critères objectifs seront utilisés pour planifier le déconfinement dans la métropole », déclare M. Nadeau-Dubois.

La responsable solidaire en matière d’éducation, Christine Labrie, appelle maintenant son homologue au gouvernement, Jean-François Roberge, à mettre en place très rapidement des mesures pour accompagner les élèves dans l’enseignement à distance.

« Il n’est pas question qu’on abandonne les élèves montréalais à leur sort. Le ministre Roberge doit offrir le plus tôt possible un encadrement pédagogique à distance digne de ce nom pour qu’aucun élève ne soit pénalisé. Les tablettes promises il y a plus de deux semaines ne sont pas encore arrivées partout, et c’est un délai qui pénalise les élèves les plus vulnérables. Si aucun élève ne retourne en classe à Montréal, ça va prendre plus de matériel électronique que prévu, et le ministre doit s’assurer que tous les élèves ont très rapidement le matériel nécessaire, surtout les plus vulnérables », fait valoir Mme Labrie.

Afin de permettre aux élèves de poursuivre leur cursus scolaire à distance, la députée solidaire appelle le gouvernement Legault à donner aux professeurs du primaire et du secondaire l’accès aux services de garde d’urgence afin qu’ils puissent dispenser l’enseignement à distance à leurs élèves.

SOURCE Aile parlementaire de Québec solidaire


Report de l’ouverture des écoles en septembre : un soulagement pour les familles et le personnel scolaire

MONTRÉAL, le 14 mai 2020 /CNW Telbec/ – En réaction à l’annonce du gouvernement du Québec sur le report, en septembre, de la réouverture des écoles primaires, la Centrale des syndicats du Québec (CSQ) diffuse une déclaration publique de sa présidente, Sonia Ethier :

« Le report, en septembre, de l’ouverture des écoles primaires dans le Grand Montréal est un soulagement pour des milliers de familles et membres du personnel scolaire. Depuis le début, le premier ministre mentionne que la réouverture des écoles ne s’effectuerait que « si et seulement siˮ les conditions sécuritaires le permettent. De notre côté, tout en offrant notre collaboration dans la lutte contre la propagation du virus, notre centrale a fait appel à l’importance d’avoir de la flexibilité pour éviter un mur à mur qui desservirait les objectifs de la santé publique ainsi que de la protection du personnel. Manifestement, l’ouverture des écoles primaires dans le Grand Montréal était incompatible avec la volonté d’assurer la santé et la protection du personnel scolaire et des familles. Nous saluons donc la décision du gouvernement. » – Sonia Ethier, présidente de la CSQ

Par ailleurs, concernant le report au 1er juin de l’ouverture des services de garde scolaires et éducatifs dans le Grand Montréal, la présidente de la CSQ réitère l’importance d’assurer la santé et la sécurité au travail pour le personnel de soutien scolaire et ainsi que pour les intervenantes en petite enfance : « Le report de l’ouverture des écoles primaires en septembre nous rappelle qu’il est essentiel pour le personnel d’œuvrer dans des conditions respectant les plus hauts standards en matière de santé et de sécurité au travail. Si ces critères élémentaires ne peuvent être atteints, nous invitons le gouvernement à faire preuve de la même souplesse qu’envers les écoles en reportant l’ouverture des services de garde scolaires et éducatifs, tout simplement », conclut Sonia Ethier.

Profil de la CSQ

La CSQ représente plus de 200 000 membres, dont environ 125 000 font partie du personnel de l’éducation. La CSQ compte 11 fédérations qui regroupent quelque 240 syndicats affiliés; s’ajoute également l’AREQ (CSQ), l’Association des retraitées et retraités de l’éducation et des autres services publics du Québec. La CSQ est également présente dans les secteurs de la santé et des services sociaux, des services éducatifs à la petite enfance, du municipal, des loisirs, de la culture, du communautaire et des communications.

SOURCE CSQ


Les écoles du Grand Montréal fermées jusqu’en septembre – Le soutien à distance pour tous doit être une priorité

QUÉBEC, le 14 mai 2020 /CNW Telbec/ – La Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ) accueille le report de l’ouverture des écoles dans la Communauté métropolitaine de Montréal, puisque la situation sanitaire n’est pas sous contrôle dans la région. La FCPQ respecte bien sûr les décisions de la santé publique et souhaite que ce report devienne une occasion de bonifier le soutien à distance pour les élèves et leurs parents et de préparer la rentrée 2020-2021.

« Il y a beaucoup de jeunes qui ne retourneront pas à l’école cette année. Si on inclut le secondaire, le Grand Montréal et les enfants qui restent à la maison par choix de leurs parents, le pourcentage d’élèves assis sur les bancs d’école est minime. C’est maintenant le temps de mettre en place sérieusement un soutien pédagogique et professionnel que les élèves à la maison sont en droit de recevoir. Leur réussite scolaire et leur bien-être sont des préoccupations majeures en ce moment », confie Kévin Roy, président de la FCPQ.

La FCPQ s’inquiète aussi de la lourde charge que doivent porter les parents dont les enfants poursuivent leurs apprentissages à la maison. Les élèves vulnérables et à besoins particuliers doivent pouvoir bénéficier d’une aide accrue d’enseignants et de professionnels et tous les élèves doivent avoir accès aux outils nécessaires pour réaliser leurs travaux. Sans cela, la démotivation et le décrochage les guettent. Par ailleurs, il est impératif de clarifier le message concernant les évaluations et les bulletins.

« Ne laissez pas les parents dans le flou, aidez-nous à aider nos jeunes », demande Kévin Roy.

Profil de la Fédération des comités de parents du Québec (FCPQ)

La FCPQ regroupe, depuis 45 ans, les comités de parents des commissions scolaires du Québec et soutient les parents bénévoles soucieux de la participation parentale au sein des écoles publiques primaires et secondaires dans le but d’assurer la qualité de l’éducation offerte aux enfants.

SOURCE Fédération des comités de parents du Québec



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!