ADVERTISEMENT

2021: 7 issues to watch in education

For a third consecutive year, the Federation of Private Educational Institutions (FEEP) took on the task of determining seven educational issues to watch. Here they are.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Reinvent yourself, be creative, see the light at the end of the tunnel, so many expressions that you can no longer bear? 🙂 For the third consecutive year, the Federation of Private Educational Institutions (FEEP) took on the task of identifying seven education issues to watch this year. This reflection could serve as guidelines for the months to come.

Here are 7 education issues to watch for in 2021:

1. A crisis rich in pedagogical learning

2. Professional development: doing better what you do well

3. Priority for students with difficulties

4. The establishment of the new preschool cycle

5. The personalization of human resources services to attract and retain education personnel

6. Youth mental health before and after the pandemic: school and adults as protective factors

7. Address implicit bias in schools

Findings

First observation: the pandemic will have made it possible to acquire new educational skills. FEEP underlines in particular that the school situation linked to COVID-19 will have made it possible to refocus on skills development, as recommended in the Quebec school training program (PFEQ). In addition, we had to question the role of evaluation with students. Why and what to evaluate? The objective is much more to evaluate to learn and not to learn to evaluate. Finally, technologies will have been at the heart of distance education. Innovation, whether technological or educational will remain at the center of education, even after the pandemic according to the document.

Pandemic or not, professional development must remain a priority whether you are a teacher, director or educational advisor. Professional development is not only essential for the various players in the world of education in terms of personal growth, but it will also have an impact on improving student learning.

Since the start of the school year, students with special difficulties have often been at the center of concerns. As resources have not always been there, FEEP considers it a priority for schools to quickly identify those who have lacked regular monitoring in order to assess the situation. 

Kindergarten 4 years old

The establishment of a new preschool cycle obviously remains a major challenge. The deployment of the 4-year-old kindergarten in the midst of the pandemic will bring significant challenges: ensuring that children can socialize despite everything and ensure intervention mechanisms for toddlers showing signs of delay in their cognitive development. Indeed, it is one of the main objectives of this new cycle: to ensure that all young Quebecers are better equipped for their entry into elementary school. 

The issues proposed by FEEP are not addressed exclusively to teachers, but also to the entire world of education. To attract and retain education personnel, it is important, according to the Federation, for school organizations to take into account the requirements of those working in the education system. Offer more flexible hours in order to reconcile work and family, or offer social benefits geared towards the well-being of people. Also ensure that a proposed position matches the skills of the employee. In short, human resources management will have to adapt to the current context.

Mental Health

Indices of feelings of isolation, demotivation, sleep deprivation and irritability appear to be on the rise, according to figures from National Institute of Excellence in Health and Social Services (INESS). According to FEEP, school and adults are protective factors. They will have to demonstrate, among other things, sensitivity, compassion, flexibility and creativity in their interventions. But it is still necessary that these adults, also affected by the pandemic, be helped in the event of distress or anxiety.

See or review the forecast as well for 2019 and those for 2020.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

2021 : 7 enjeux à surveiller en éducation

Pour une troisième année consécutive, la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés (FEEP) s’est prêtée à l’exercice de déterminer sept enjeux à surveiller en matière d’éducation. Les voici.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Se réinventer, faire preuve de créativité, voir la lumière au bout du tunnel, autant d’expressions que vous ne pouvez plus supporter? 🙂 Pour la troisième année consécutive, la Fédération des établissements d’enseignement privés (FEEP) s’est prêtée à l’exercice de déterminer sept enjeux en matière d’éducation à surveiller cette année. Cette réflexion pourrait servir de balises pour les mois à venir.

Voici donc 7 enjeux en éducation à surveiller en 2021 :

1.      Une crise riche en apprentissages pédagogiques

2.      Le développement professionnel : faire mieux ce qu’on fait bien

3.      La priorité aux élèves en difficulté

4.      La mise en place du nouveau cycle préscolaire

5.      La personnalisation des services de ressources humaines pour attirer et retenir le personnel en éducation

6.      La santé mentale des jeunes avant et après la pandémie : l’école et les adultes comme facteurs de protection

7.      S’attaquer aux biais implicites en milieu scolaire

Constats

Première constatation : la pandémie aura permis d’acquérir de nouveaux apprentissages pédagogiques. La FEEP souligne notamment que la situation scolaire liée à la COVID-19 aura fait en sorte de se recentrer sur le développement des compétences, tel que préconisé dans le Programme de formation de l’école québécoise (PFEQ). De plus, il a fallu se questionner sur le rôle de l’évaluation auprès des élèves. Pourquoi et quoi évaluer? L’objectif étant bien plus d’évaluer pour apprendre et non apprendre pour évaluer. Enfin, les technologies auront été au cœur de l’enseignement à distance. L’innovation, qu’elle soit technologique ou pédagogique demeurera au centre de l’enseignement, même après la pandémie selon le document.

Pandémie ou pas, le développement professionnel doit demeurer un élément à privilégier qu’on soit enseignant, directeur ou conseiller pédagogique. Le développement professionnel est, non seulement primordial pour les différents acteurs du monde de l’enseignement en matière de croissance personnelle, mais il aura également un impact sur l’amélioration de l’apprentissage des élèves.

Depuis le début de l’année scolaire, les élèves ayant des difficultés particulières ont souvent été au centre des préoccupations. Comme les ressources n’ont pas toujours été au rendez-vous, la FEEP considère qu’il est prioritaire que les écoles identifient rapidement ceux et celles qui ont manqué de suivi régulier afin d’évaluer la situation. 

Maternelle 4 ans

La mise en place d’un nouveau cycle préscolaire reste évidemment un enjeu de taille. Le déploiement de la maternelle 4 ans en pleine pandémie apportera des défis importants : faire en sorte que les enfants puissent socialiser malgré tout et veiller à des mécanismes d’intervention auprès des tout-petits montrant des signes de retard au niveau de leur développement cognitif. Car c’est d’ailleurs l’un des grands objectifs de ce nouveau cycle : s’assurer que tous les petits Québécois soient mieux outillés pour leur entrée au primaire. 

Les enjeux proposés par la FEEP ne s’adressent pas exclusivement aux enseignants et enseignantes, mais également à l’ensemble du monde de l’éducation. Pour attirer et retenir le personnel en éducation, il importe, selon la Fédération, que les organisations scolaires tiennent compte des exigences de ceux et celles œuvrant dans le système éducatif. Proposer des horaires plus flexibles dans le but de concilier travail et famille, ou encore offrir des avantages sociaux orientés vers le bien-être des gens. Faire en sorte également qu’un poste proposé corresponde bien aux compétences de l’employé(e). Bref, la gestion des ressources humaines devra s’adapter au contexte actuel.

Santé mentale

Les indices de sentiment d’isolement, de démotivation, de manque de sommeil et d’irritabilité semblent être à la hausse selon des chiffres de l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESS). Selon la FEEP, l’école et les adultes sont des facteurs de protection. Ils devront faire preuve, entre autres, de sensibilité, de compassion, de souplesse, de créativité dans leurs interventions. Mais encore faut-il que ces adultes, eux aussi affectés par la pandémie, soient aidés en cas de détresse ou d’anxiété.

Voyez ou revoyez aussi les prévisions pour 2019 et celles pour 2020.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct