ADVERTISEMENT

Proposals for the Minister of Education of Quebec in a video message

In a video that has obtained more than 5,000 views since its publication on December 30, our collaborator Marc-André Girad proposed 6 recommendations to the Minister. As of this writing, some of them have been announced.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Marc-André Girard, director of a public primary school and author of the column " In the eye of the director »At the École branchée, proposed 6 recommendations to be explored for the promotion of education in a video which has obtained more than 5,000 views since its publication on December 30. Moreover, some of these ideas are part of the new measures announced this morning, including the cancellation of ministerial exams.

The recommendations

1- Declare education as the national priority in Quebec. Education is the solution to many “evils” surrounding situations such as the one we are experiencing at the moment, he believes. If Prime Minister François Legault repeats it often in his press briefings, Mr. Girard's vision of it goes much further.

2- Tackling things head on and say the real things, especially in connection with the pandemic. Are masks safe? Is Airborne Transmission of COVID-19 a Problem in Schools? We must rebuild the bond of trust between the ministry and the network on these subjects. Some information about this has been made public this morning.

3- Review communication strategies during official announcements. They are made on TV at a press briefing, but to the entire population at the same time. When parents then turn to schools and teachers and demand clarification on the spot, the latter have no more answers for them. 

4- The shortage of teachers, especially during a pandemic, is a problem that must be addressed. We want to free them so that they can be formed, of course, but no one is there to replace them. Marc-André Girard therefore suggests some short-term avenues, including accelerated training for part-time staff already present in schools, the creation of a pedagogical technique (at the college level) to support teachers in certain tasks, return of teacher training colleges (which work in partnership with universities for teacher training) and incentives to encourage the return of teachers who have dropped out in recent years. 

5- Cancel the 2021 ministerial reviews. They are simply incompatible with the current year, he believes. Catching up from last year, preparing young people for this year's tests in addition to seeing to their mental well-being in the current context is an incredible stress for teachers. Marc-André Girard suggests instead that teachers be given full latitude to exercise their professional judgment.

6- Immediately focus on what you want to keep in the "post-covid". He recalls that there are all the same very beautiful things that are happening, in particular the development of solidarity in school teams, the incredible learning curve for teachers in terms of the use of digital technology, etc. Above all, we should not give up everything as soon as the sanitary measures are over, he believes. 

The full video:

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Des propositions pour le ministre de l’Éducation du Québec dans un message vidéo

Publié le :

Dans une vidéo qui a obtenu plus de 5000 vues depuis sa parution, le 30 décembre dernier, notre collaborateur Marc-André Girad proposait 6 recommandations au Ministre. Au moment d'écrire ces lignes, certaines d'entre elles ont d'ailleurs été annoncées.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Marc-André Girard, directeur d’une école primaire publique et auteur de la chronique « Dans l’œil du directeur » à l’École branchée, proposait 6 recommandations à explorer pour la valorisation de l’éducation dans une vidéo qui a obtenu plus de 5000 vues depuis sa parution, le 30 décembre dernier. D’ailleurs, certaines de ces idées énoncées font partie des nouvelles mesures annoncées ce matin, dont l’annulation des épreuves ministérielles.

Les recommandations

1- Déclarer l’éducation comme étant la priorité nationale au Québec. L’éducation est la solution à de nombreux « maux » autour de situations telles que celle que l’on vit en ce moment, estime-t-il. Si le premier ministre François Legault le répète souvent dans ses points de presse, la vision qu’en a M. Girard va toutefois beaucoup plus loin.

2- Aborder les choses de front et dire les vraies choses, notamment en lien avec la pandémie. Les masques sont-ils sécuritaires? La transmission aérienne de la COVID-19 est-elle un problème dans les écoles? Il faut rebâtir le lien de confiance entre le ministère et le réseau sur ces sujets. Quelques informations à ce sujet ont été rendues publiques ce matin.

3- Revoir les stratégies de communication lors des annonces officielles. Elles sont faites à la télé en point de presse, mais à toute la population en même temps. Lorsque les parents se tournent ensuite vers les écoles et les enseignants et exigent des précisions sur-le-champ, ces derniers n’ont pas plus de réponses à leur fournir. 

4- La pénurie d’enseignants, particulièrement en temps de pandémie, est un problème qu’il faut résoudre. On veut les libérer pour qu’ils se forment certes, mais personne n’est là pour les remplacer. Marc-André Girard suggère donc quelques pistes à court terme, dont des formations accélérées pour le personnel à temps partiel déjà présent dans les écoles, la création d’une technique en pédagogie (de niveau collégial) pour appuyer les enseignants dans certaines tâches, le retour des écoles normales (qui fonctionnent en partenariat avec les universités pour la formation des enseignants) et des incitatifs pour favoriser le retour des enseignants ayant décroché ces dernières années. 

5- Annuler les examens ministériels de 2021. Ils sont tout simplement incompatibles avec l’année actuelle, estime-t-il. Faire du rattrapage de l’an dernier, préparer les jeunes aux épreuves de cette année en plus de voir à leur bien-être mental dans le contexte actuel est un stress incroyable pour les enseignants. Marc-André Girard propose plutôt de donner la pleine latitude aux enseignants afin qu’ils exercent leur jugement professionnel.

6- Se pencher immédiatement sur ce qu’on voudra garder dans « l’après-covid ». Il rappelle qu’il y a tout de même de très belles choses qui se produisent, notamment le développement de la solidarité dans les équipes-écoles, la courbe d’apprentissage incroyable des enseignants en ce qui a trait à l’usage du numérique, etc. Il ne faudrait surtout pas tout abandonner dès la fin des mesures sanitaires, estime-t-il. 

La vidéo complète :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'AQUOPS, Edteq et en tant que membre du comité #Francosphère de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!