Teaching remotely in a case of force majeure? Ideas and Resources

Here are some resources that could inspire distance learning teachers.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

by Audrey Miller and Maryline Barrette Dubé

Here are some ideas that could inspire distance education teachers. This is the theme of our spring 2021 issue of our magazine École branchée.

The experience of Sainte-Anne

Sainte-Anne College has developed a model of good practice in distance learning. This stems from the experience of more than five years of organizing a “Carbon Neutral Day”, during which its students learn from home. The model relies on the use of different platforms and tools to allow teachers to optimize distance learning time. While a full shutdown for several days doesn't compare to a well-planned day, there are some ideas that we hope will inspire you.

In college, who says "home lessons" does not say leave. Students can follow their course by logging into platforms such as the Pluriportail (or Mozaik Portal which is more widespread in the public sector), Didacti, Moodle and Youtube. For example, teachers can provide exercises to complete or videos to watch.

For kindergarten students, a drawing workshop, learning exercises on YouTube, and a dance or yoga class may be on the menu.

Concretely, as the director Ugo Cavenaghi explains, the carbon neutral day respects the usual class schedule, but the lessons are given in a different way (the teaching tasks are announced in advance, portions of the lessons are given in line, it is necessary to submit a job, etc.).

To learn more about the approach of Saint-Anne College, watch the youtube video. See also the tweets of the establishment.

Technopedagogical advisor Jean Desjardins explains the Sainte-Anne model.

Free training for teachers

To train now in certain digital tools, teachers are invited in particular to discover the online training courses of the STORY Campus. And to become an expert in new pedagogical approaches, do not miss those of the CADRE21. Social media, collaborative writing, flipped classroom, augmented languages, learner feedback and more will be great topics!

Different approaches to evaluate

What works best for your school? What about you as a teacher? Take the time to assess your own style when teaching at a distance.

  • Record a video theory presentation and make it available on YouTube?
  • Create interactive homework?
  • Teach at specific times in webinar format?
  • Etc.

How to quickly start distance education

Here are some ideas taken from the guide " A quick-start Guide to Distance learning ". There you will find a host of resources that can help you teach from a distance in a relatively easy way. Most of the tools offered are also offered free of charge during the coronavirus pandemic. 

Keep in touch on a daily basis thanks to video

Make short videos of a lecture by yourself using your cell phone, Screencastify or FlipGrip. Ideally the video should not exceed 5 minutes to be effective. Students can then be invited to discuss the subject in interactive periods, for example using Google Hangouts or Meet. 

Create a virtual collaboration space 

Facilitate the sharing of ideas and the exchange between you and your students by creating your online learning space with Padlet, Google Classroom or Parlay.

Use the Internet in the best way

You will probably have the reflex to take your cards, exercises and / or other printed materials and transcribe them into an online tool. Resist the temptation, avoid leading the student to search for answers by typing the question on Google. Instead, develop critical thinking skills and problem-solving skills using learning techniques that the student has to create. Here are some interesting tools in this regard: Choice Boards, Book Creator, Google Slides Activities.

Move in front of the screen 

The time spent in front of the computer obviously increases when teaching at a distance. Why not incorporate movement into your virtual classroom? To try! GoNoodle, Yoga Classroom, Music and Movement Time.

Concrete ideas with certain applications

Using the app GoFormative, for example, allows teachers to reinforce, consolidate or put into practice knowledge and develop competence. This platform allows students to see their task and provide feedback to support their learning.

If a new concept is on the program, the teacher could use software Screencast-O-Matic or VideoAnt to ensure that the concept is understood. These video tools give students the opportunity to pose their questions within the video, interacting with their classmates and teachers. We can, for similar objectives, consider the application EdPuzzle.

To diagnose difficulties and needs, the teacher can turn to a quiz. Moodle learning environments or Didacti This works well, as does the combination of Google Classroom and Forms. Other more fun tools offer great possibilities, such as WooClap, Kahoot, Quiz and Mentimeter.

To generate ideas in groups or collect productions, Padlet is interesting.

Students and their teachers can overcome the challenges of learning the programming language Scratch. These contents are accessible free of charge in the environment Didacti.

Good practices inspired by academia

The University of Quebec offers various resources for distance education in order to support university teachers who wish to make a rapid shift towards this modality. Many ideas could inspire those in the youth sector.

Please feel free to share your ideas and best practices with us so that we can spread them! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE
L'École branchée, un organisme à but non lucratif
ANNONCE

Enseigner à distance dans un cas de force majeure? Idées et ressources

Voici des ressources qui pourraient inspirer les enseignants en situation d'enseignement à distance.

Publié le :

Classé dans :

Attention! Ce contenu a été mis à jour il y a plus de 3 ans. Il pourrait contenir des liens qui ne fonctionnent plus. Vous aimeriez que notre équipe le révise? N'hésitez pas à nous écrire!

Array

par Audrey Miller et Maryline Barrette Dubé

Voici certaines idées qui pourraient inspirer les enseignants en situation d’enseignement à distance. C’est d’ailleurs le thème de notre numéro du printemps 2021 de notre magazine École branchée.

L’expérience de Sainte-Anne

Le Collège Sainte-Anne a élaboré un modèle de bonnes pratiques en apprentissage à distance. Celui-ci découle de l’expérience de plus de cinq années d’organisation d’une « Journée carboneutre », pendant laquelle ses élèves apprennent de la maison. Le modèle mise sur l’utilisation de différentes plateformes et outils pour permettre aux enseignants d’optimiser le temps d’apprentissage à distance. Bien qu’une fermeture complète pendant plusieurs jours ne se compare pas à une journée bien planifiée, certaines idées pourraient, nous le souhaitons, vous inspirer.

Au Collège, qui dit « cours à la maison » ne dit pas congé. Les élèves peuvent suivre leur cours en se branchant sur des plateformes comme le Pluriportail (ou Mozaik Portail qui est plus répandu dans le secteur public), Didacti, Moodle et YouTube. Les enseignants peuvent par exemple donner des exercices à compléter ou des vidéos à visionner.

Pour les élèves de maternelle, un atelier de dessin, des exercices d’apprentissage sur YouTube et un cours de danse ou de yoga peuvent être au menu.

Concrètement, comme l’explique le directeur Ugo Cavenaghi, la journée carboneutre respecte l’horaire de classe habituel, mais les cours se donnent d’une façon différente (les tâches pédagogiques sont annoncées à l’avance, des portions de cours se donnent en ligne, la remise d’un travail est nécessaire, etc.).

Pour en savoir plus sur l’approche du Collège Saint-Anne, visionnez la vidéo YouTube. Voyez aussi les tweets de l’établissement.

Le conseiller technopédagogique Jean Desjardins explique le modèle de Sainte-Anne.

Des formations gratuites pour les enseignants

Pour se former maintenant à certains outils numériques, les enseignants sont notamment invités à découvrir les formations en ligne du Campus RÉCIT. Et pour devenir expert dans les nouvelles approches pédagogiques, ne manquez pas celles du CADRE21. Médias sociaux, écriture collaborative, classe inversée, langages augmentés, rétroaction aux apprenants et plus seront tout à fait indiqués comme sujets!

Différentes approches à évaluer

Qu’est-ce qui fonctionne le mieux pour votre école? Et pour vous en tant qu’enseignant? Prenez le temps d’évaluer votre propre style en cas d’enseignement à distance.

  • Enregistrer une présentation théorique vidéo et la rendre disponible sur YouTube?
  • Créer des devoirs interactifs?
  • Enseigner à des heures spécifiques en format webinaire?
  • Etc.

Comment démarrer rapidement l’enseignement à distance

Voici quelques pistes tirées du guide « A quick-start Guide to Distance learning ». Vous y trouverez une foule de ressources qui peuvent vous permettre d’enseigner à distance de façon relativement simple. La plupart des outils proposés sont d’ailleurs offerts gratuitement durant la pandémie de coronavirus. 

Garder contact au quotidien grâce à la vidéo

Réalisez de courtes vidéos d’exposé magistral par vous-même en utilisant votre cellulaire, Screencastify ou FlipGrip. Idéalement la vidéo ne devrait pas dépasser 5 minutes pour être efficace. On peut ensuite inviter les élèves à échanger sur le sujet en périodes interactives en utilisant par exemple Google Hangouts ou Meet. 

Créer un espace de collaboration virtuel 

Facilitez le partage d’idées et l’échange entre vous et vos élèves en créant votre espace d’apprentissage en ligne avec Padlet, Google Classroom ou Parlay.

Utiliser Internet de la meilleure façon

Vous aurez probablement le réflexe de prendre vos fiches, exercices et/ou autres documents imprimés et de les transcrire dans un outil en ligne. Résistez à la tentation, évitez d’amener l’élève à chercher des réponses en tapant la question sur Google.  Développez plutôt son sens critique et sa capacité à résoudre des problèmes en utilisant des techniques d’apprentissage où l’élève doit créer. Voici des outils intéressants en ce sens : Choice Boards, Book Creator, Google Slides Activities.

Bouger devant l’écran 

Le temps passé devant l’ordinateur augmente bien entendu lorsqu’on enseigne à distance. Pourquoi ne pas incorporer le mouvement dans votre classe virtuelle? À essayer! GoNoodle, Classroom Yoga, Music and Movement Time.

Des idées concrètes avec certaines applications

L’utilisation de l’application GoFormative, par exemple, permet aux enseignants de renforcer, consolider ou mettre en pratique une connaissance et de développer une compétence. Cette plateforme permet de voir les élèves à la tâche et de rétroagir pour soutenir leurs apprentissages.

Si une nouvelle notion est au programme, l’enseignant pourrait avoir recours aux logiciels Screencast-O-Matic ou VideoAnt pour s’assurer que la notion est bien comprise. Ces outils vidéo offrent aux élèves la possibilité de poser leurs questions à même la vidéo, en interaction avec leurs collègues de classe et leurs enseignants. On peut, pour des objectifs semblables, considérer l’application EdPuzzle.

Pour diagnostiquer les difficultés et les besoins, l’enseignant peut se tourner vers un quiz. Les environnements d’apprentissage Moodle ou Didacti s’y prêtent bien, tout comme la combinaison de Google Classroom et Forms. D’autres outils plus ludiques offrent de belles possibilités, tels que WooClap, Kahoot, Quizizz et Mentimeter.

Pour générer des idées en groupe ou colliger des productions, Padlet est intéressante.

Les élèves ainsi que leurs enseignants peuvent relever les défis d’apprentissage du langage de programmation Scratch. Ces contenus sont accessibles gratuitement dans l’environnement Didacti.

Les bonnes pratiques inspirées du milieu universitaire

L’Université du Québec propose diverses ressources pour l’enseignement à distance afin de soutenir les enseignants universitaires qui souhaitent faire un virage rapide vers cette modalité. De nombreuses idées pourront inspirer ceux du secteur jeunes.

N’hésitez pas à nous partager vos idées et meilleures pratiques pour que nous puissions les diffuser! Écrivez-nous à info@ecolebranchee.com.

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!


Vos commentaires

Pour commenter un article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter, Instagram ou LinkedIn.

Reproduction de textes

Toute demande de reproduction des articles de l'École branchée doit être adressée à l'organisme de gestion des droits Copibec.

Faites briller vos projets d'école et pratiques gagnantes!

L'École branchée fait circuler l'information dans le milieu scolaire afin d'alimenter la veille professionnelle et valoriser les initiatives émanant du terrain. Allez-y, proposez-nous un texte! >

À lire aussi

Des discussions humaines et des bonnes pratiques au coeur de la Semaine de la FAD

La Semaine de la FAD, qui s’est tenue à la fin février, aura été l’occasion de s’inspirer et de découvrir que les défis de la formation à distance (FAD) sont somme toute assez similaires à tous les ordres d’enseignement (primaire, secondaire, collégial et universitaire). Notre compte rendu éclair!

Un succès sur toute la ligne pour la 5e édition de la Semaine de la formation à distance

Communiqué - Les établissements d’enseignement de l’Est-du-Québec, formant le regroupement de Formation À Distance Interordres (FADIO), dressent un bilan positif de leur cinquième édition de la Semaine de la formation à distance (FAD), qui s’est tenue du 21 au 25 février derniers.

Semaine de la FAD – L’équipe de l’École branchée sera présente

Lorsqu’il est question de mettre en lumière des pratiques gagnantes en enseignement à distance et de mise en valeur de l'innovation pédagogique à l’ère du numérique, l’équipe de l’École branchée n’est jamais très loin. C'est ainsi que certains membres de l'équipe feront partie de la programmation de la Semaine de la formation à distance (FAD) qui se tiendra du 21 au 25 février 2022.