ADVERTISEMENT

Distance learning: Co-educating is when school and family communicate two-way

As online teaching and learning continues for longer than expected, it is important to remember the importance of knowing how to communicate your observations in order to make the necessary adjustments for student well-being and success.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

When online teaching and learning goes on for longer than expected, school-family / family-school communication is amplified so that things get better and better.

Teachers in several regions of Quebec and elsewhere are currently teaching online and the period is getting longer. The article The school-family relationship - A condition for success for distance learning, to read in this special free issue of École Branché magazine for parents, reminds us of the importance of knowing how to communicate your observations to both sides in order to make the necessary adjustments to the well-being and success of the students. 

Through all of this, we must not forget that learning online is learning in itself. Several teachers are also taking their first steps with this method of teaching. The learning experience is lived both by teachers and students, but also by parents. Continuous adjustments are necessary. 

  • How to host a videoconference and teach new concepts effectively;
  • How to adjust the online teaching schedule taking into account the reality of the students' families;
  • How to adapt students' independent work plan to keep them engaged;
  • How to educate students in the new code of online living;
  • How to learn the technical basics of videoconferencing and the applications to use with your students (open / close microphone and camera - share your screen - etc.); 
  • And so many other things.

Kindness and flexibility are required to meet the challenges of the current situation. Whether the use of technology is going well or not, it generates stress and discomfort for everyone. Teaming up with students and their parents for a positive and effective online learning experience becomes a priority. Tell yourself that parents are your eyes at home! They see what the teacher cannot see when the cameras are off and they can share their observations.

Encourage parents to share their observations

Parents have not only the right, but the responsibility to communicate with teachers to share their observations to contribute to the well-being and success of their children.

Parents are responsible for supporting their children in the context of online learning. They are essential allies for teachers. Invite them to communicate with you in a structured way (take for example these Google forms created by Mrs. Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, elementary school teacher, which you can gracefully copy and personalize) or spontaneously.

Students are the main actors in their success, they can document their progress and their challenges to share with their teacher and their parents. It will be even simpler and more efficient to support them based on their own observations. The following learning report model is inspired by the coaching report used each week by Ms. Julie Chandonnet, grade 6 teacher.

  • Learning assessment : Report to be completed by the students, the teacher and the parents (to be sent weekly)

Request co-education

The relationship of coeducation implies that we take the time to tell each other things. In the current situation, taking the time to tell parents what information to communicate and when to do so is highly relevant. Taking the time to open a dialogue with them to obtain information that will be useful in order to make the e-learning experience optimal will help to gain confidence and save precious time in the future.

When and what to communicate with you?

Parents can report different situations related to their child's organization. For example, "my child does not know how to organize himself with his work plan or how to carry out his work". The parent may notice that he does not seem to understand the material, but does not dare to ask questions. It is also possible that it detects that a child is demotivated, anxious or depressed. It is essential to take the time to tell parents that they are welcome to communicate with you when they observe changes in behavior or motivation or even incomprehension or difficulty related to the workload. This information will allow the teacher to set up strategic interventions.

Invite parents to ask questions related to how the online learning experience unfolded. Students benefit from their teachers and parents working together to ensure their well-being and success.

Developing a trusting school-family relationship necessarily involves communication and the establishment of continuous and concerted actions. You should never hesitate to communicate on both sides, keeping in mind that each communication must aim at the well-being and success of young people above all. Together, school-family, it is possible to positively influence their life, even in such a new and destabilizing context. 

Download the special magazine for parents to read the full article: The school-family relationship - A condition for success for distance learning.

Photo credit: Photo by August de Richelieu sure Pexels

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Stéphanie Dionne
Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Enseignement à distance : Coéduquer, c’est quand école et famille communiquent de manière bidirectionnelle

Alors que l’enseignement et l’apprentissage en ligne se poursuivent plus longtemps que prévu, il faut se rappeler l’importance de savoir communiquer ses observations afin d’apporter les ajustements nécessaires au bien-être et à la réussite des élèves.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quand l’enseignement et l’apprentissage en ligne se poursuivent plus longtemps que prévu, on amplifie la communication école-famille/famille-école pour que ça se passe de mieux en mieux.

Les enseignants de plusieurs régions du Québec et d’ailleurs sont actuellement en enseignement en ligne et la période se prolonge. L’article La relation école-famille – Une condition de succès pour l’apprentissage à distance, à lire dans ce numéro spécial gratuit du magazine École branché destiné aux parents, nous rappelle l’importance de savoir communiquer ses observations de part et d’autre afin d’apporter les ajustements nécessaires au bien-être et à la réussite des élèves. 

À travers tout ça, il ne faut pas oublier qu’apprendre en ligne est un apprentissage en soi. Plusieurs enseignants font aussi leurs premiers pas avec ce mode d’enseignement. L’expérience d’apprentissage se vit à la fois par les enseignants et les élèves, mais aussi par les parents. Des ajustements en continu sont nécessaires. 

  • Comment animer une visioconférence et enseigner de nouvelles notions efficacement;
  • Comment ajuster l’horaire d’enseignement en ligne en prenant en compte la réalité des familles des élèves;
  • Comment adapter le plan de travail autonome des élèves pour les garder engagés;
  • Comment éduquer les élèves au nouveau code de vie en ligne;
  • Comment apprendre les bases techniques de la visioconférence et des applications à utiliser avec ses élèves (ouvrir/fermer micro et caméra – partager son écran – etc.); 
  • Et tant d’autres choses.

Bienveillance et flexibilité sont de mise pour relever les défis liés à la situation actuelle. Que l’utilisation des technologies se passe bien ou non, elle génère du stress et de l’inconfort pour tout le monde. Faire équipe avec les élèves et leurs parents pour que l’expérience d’apprentissage en ligne soit positive et efficace devient une priorité. Dites-vous que les parents sont vos yeux à la maison! Ils voient ce que l’enseignant ne peut pas voir quand les caméras sont fermées et ils peuvent partager leurs observations.

Encourager les parents à communiquer leurs observations

Les parents ont non seulement le droit, mais la responsabilité de communiquer avec les enseignants pour partager leurs observations pour contribuer au bien-être et à la réussite de leurs enfants.

Les parents sont responsables d’accompagner leurs enfants dans le contexte d’apprentissage en ligne. Ils sont des alliés incontournables pour les enseignants. Invitez-les à communiquer avec vous de manière structurée (prenez par exemple ce formulaire Google créé par Mme Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante, que vous pouvez gracieusement copier et personnaliser) ou de manière spontanée.

Solliciter la coéducation

La relation de coéducation implique qu’on prenne le temps de se dire les choses. Dans la situation actuelle, prendre le temps de dire aux parents quelles informations communiquer et quand le faire est tout à fait pertinent. Prendre le temps d’ouvrir le dialogue avec eux pour obtenir des informations qui seront utiles afin de rendre l’expérience d’apprentissage en ligne optimale permettra de gagner en confiance et de sauver un temps précieux pour la suite.

Quand et quoi communiquer avec vous?

Les parents peuvent signaler différentes situations liées à l’organisation de leur enfant. Par exemple, « mon enfant ne sait pas comment s’organiser avec son plan de travail ou encore comment réaliser ses travaux ». Il est possible que le parent remarque qu’il ne semble pas comprendre la matière, mais qu’il n’ose pas poser des questions. Il est également possible qu’il détecte qu’un enfant est démotivé, anxieux ou déprimé. Il est essentiel de prendre le temps de dire aux parents qu’ils sont invités à communiquer avec vous lorsqu’ils observent des changements de comportement ou de motivation ou encore d’incompréhension ou de difficulté liés à la charge de travail. Ces informations permettront à l’enseignant de mettre en place des interventions stratégiques.

Invitez les parents à poser des questions liées au déroulement de l’expérience d’apprentissage en ligne. Les élèves gagnent à ce que leurs enseignants et leurs parents travaillent de concert pour assurer leur bien-être et leur réussite.

Développer une relation de confiance école-famille passe nécessairement par la

communication et l’établissement d’actions continues et concertées. Il ne faut jamais hésiter à communiquer de part et d’autre en gardant en tête que chaque communication doit viser le bien-être et la réussite des jeunes avant tout. Ensemble, école-famille, il est possible d’influencer positivement leur vie, même dans un contexte aussi nouveau et déstabilisant. 

Téléchargez le magazine spécial destiné aux parents pour lire l’article complet : La relation école-famille – Une condition de succès pour l’apprentissage à distance.

Crédit photo: Photo de August de Richelieu sur Pexels

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
Stéphanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!