A podcast in which young people express what they like and dislike about distance education

Julie Belisle, teacher, and Sylvie Perron, educational advisor at École Le Sommet (First Seigneuries School Service Center) recently posted a podcast. Beyond the project itself, it is the content of the sound recording that commands attention.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Julie Belisle, teacher, and Sylvie Perron, educational advisor at École Le Sommet (First Seigneuries School Service Center) recently posted a podcast. Beyond the project itself, it is the content of the sound recording that commands attention.

Julie and Sylvie wanted to create a stimulating project for the students of the Tac-TIC Squad at their school, a group of students who are experts in technology who lend a hand to teachers. Initially, they wanted to make a video, but eventually, the students wanted to experience the podcast. They said they felt more comfortable speaking since the audience wouldn't see them.

“The aim of the project was to give students a voice. We wanted to give them the floor to express themselves on how they experience distance education. We wanted it to be them who testify openly ”, indicate the two women. They specify that they also want the words of young people to inspire teachers and lead them to adapt their practices to promote their motivation in the current context.

Thus, they recruited some volunteers from the Tac-TIC Squad and offered them questions. Then, they gathered them into two groups (1er cycle and 2e cycle) in the school's multimedia studio in order to record the audio sequence. All sanitary measures were of course respected at this time.

A participating student composed the soundtrack for the podcast and Julie Bélisle did the editing. Recording is now available on different platforms like Anchor and Spotify.

Not all negative

Listening to the words of Marie-Ève and Jérémy, students of 3e and 5e secondary, then Lucas, Logan and Charles, in 2e secondary school, it is quickly understood that distance education does not only have drawbacks for them. They appreciate being able to get up later and feel less pressure to have to look their best at school. Academically, some feel they can move more at their own pace and feel less peer pressure.

On the other hand, certain conditions must be put in place in order to promote their learning. They admit that it is easier to lose focus in the home environment and that it can be awkward to ask questions in a large group. In addition, they are sometimes afraid of arriving late for class since they no longer have the school bell to remind them (a tip: set alarms at key times of the day).

Regardless of their grade level, students appreciate the interactive activities (Kahoots and quizzes of all kinds are popular) and the periods when they have choices (activities or subjects). They deplore, however, that some teachers try to convey concepts in a masterly way online. This makes it more difficult for them to listen to the teacher and take relevant notes at the same time (especially for those who write on an iPad).

Human contact above all

Above all, it is human contact that allows students to maintain their motivation in distance learning. They especially like the times when they can get together in small groups to collaborate with fellow students, whether officially during class or at other times to complete teamwork. They admit that almost all of them have side-of-class chats with their friends on social media to help each other out.

They also appreciate the moments when they can interact in private with their teachers (by videoconference or by simple chat). They find it less awkward to ask questions and feel that the teacher is really listening to their needs at these times. In addition, they express the wish that their teachers take the time to chat informally at the beginning of the lessons, that they do not concentrate only on the subject to be transmitted.

45 minutes in length, the podcast is definitely worth listening to by educators who wish to contribute to the well-being of young people. Listening to their needs will certainly help them get through the crisis.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Un balado dans lequel des jeunes expriment ce qu’ils aiment ou non de l’enseignement à distance

Julie Belisle, enseignante, et Sylvie Perron, conseillère pédagogique à l’École Le Sommet (Centre de services scolaire des Premières-Seigneuries) ont récemment mis en ligne un balado. Au-delà du projet lui-même, c’est le contenu de l’enregistrement sonore qui retient l’attention.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Julie Belisle, enseignante, et Sylvie Perron, conseillère pédagogique à l’École Le Sommet (Centre de services scolaire des Premières-Seigneuries) ont récemment mis en ligne un balado. Au-delà du projet lui-même, c’est le contenu de l’enregistrement sonore qui retient l’attention.

Julie et Sylvie ont voulu créer un projet stimulant pour les élèves de l’Escouade Tac-TIC de leur école, un groupe d’élèves experts en technologie qui donnent un coup de main aux enseignants. Au départ, elles voulaient faire une vidéo, mais finalement, les élèves désiraient expérimenter le balado. Ils disaient se sentir plus à l’aise pour parler puisque le public ne les verrait pas.

« L’objectif du projet était de donner une voix aux élèves. Nous voulions leur laisser la parole pour qu’ils s’expriment sur la façon dont ils vivent l’enseignement à distance.  Nous voulions que ce soit eux qui témoignent ouvertement », indiquent les deux femmes. Elles précisent qu’elles souhaitent également que les propos des jeunes inspirent les enseignants et les amènent à adapter leurs pratiques pour favoriser leur motivation dans le contexte actuel.

Ainsi, elles ont recruté quelques volontaires de l’Escouade Tac-TIC et leur ont proposé des questions. Puis, elles les ont rassemblés en deux groupes (1er cycle et 2e cycle) dans le studio multimédia de l’école afin d’enregistrer la séquence audio. Toutes les mesures sanitaires ont bien sûr été respectées à ce moment.

Une élève participante a composé la trame sonore du balado et Julie Bélisle a fait le montage. L’enregistrement est maintenant disponible sur différentes plateformes comme Anchor et Spotify.

Pas que du négatif

En écoutant les propos de Marie-Ève et Jérémy, élèves de 3e et 5e secondaire, puis de Lucas, Logan et Charles, en 2e secondaire, on comprend rapidement que l’enseignement à distance n’a pas que des inconvénients pour eux. Ils apprécient pouvoir se lever plus tard et ressentent moins la pression de devoir se présenter sous leur meilleur jour à l’école. D’un point de vue académique, certains ont l’impression de pouvoir avancer davantage à leur rythme et moins sentir la pression des pairs.

Par contre, certaines conditions doivent être mises en place afin de favoriser leurs apprentissages. Ils admettent qu’il est plus facile de perdre sa concentration dans l’environnement familial et qu’il peut être gênant de poser des questions en grand groupe. De plus, ils ont parfois peur d’arriver en retard aux cours puisqu’ils n’ont plus la cloche de l’école pour leur rappeler (un truc : programmer des alarmes aux moments clés de la journée).

Peu importe leur niveau scolaire, les élèves apprécient les activités interactives (les Kahoot et quiz en tout genre ont la cote) et les périodes où ils ont des choix (d’activités ou de sujets). Ils déplorent cependant que certains enseignants tentent de transmettre des notions de façon magistrale en ligne. Il est alors plus difficile pour eux d’écouter l’enseignant et de prendre des notes pertinentes en même temps (surtout pour ceux qui écrivent sur un iPad).

Le contact humain avant tout

Par-dessus tout, c’est le contact humain qui permet aux élèves de conserver leur motivation en enseignement à distance. Ils aiment particulièrement les moments où ils peuvent se retrouver en sous-groupes pour collaborer avec des camarades, que ce soit officiellement pendant les cours ou à d’autres moments pour compléter des travaux d’équipe. Ils admettent qu’ils ont pratiquement tous des discussions en parallèle du cours avec leurs amis sur les réseaux sociaux afin de s’entraider.

Ils apprécient également les moments où ils peuvent échanger en privé avec leurs enseignants (en vidéoconférence ou par simple clavardage). Ils trouvent cela moins gênant pour poser des questions et ont l’impression que l’enseignant est vraiment à l’écoute de leurs besoins dans ces moments. De plus, ils expriment le souhait que leurs enseignants prennent le temps de jaser de façon informelle aux débuts des cours, qu’ils ne se concentrent pas uniquement sur la matière à transmettre.

D’une durée de 45 minutes, le balado mérite définitivement d’être écouté par les éducateurs qui souhaitent contribuer au bien-être des jeunes. Être à l’écoute de leur besoin permettra certainement de les aider à traverser la crise.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!