ADVERTISEMENT

3 recommendations for the pedagogical use of computer programming in Quebec

The report resulting from the retreat on the pedagogical use of computer programming in elementary and secondary schools in Quebec was published at the beginning of the summer. We present the three main recommendations.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Over the past year, more than 70 stakeholders from the school community participated in four half-day reflection sessions on the pedagogical use of programming. Together, they discussed best practices and winning conditions for integrating it into Quebec's elementary and secondary schools. Their report proposes three concrete recommendations.

Approach leading up to these four half-day retreats began when Sylvie BarmaThe Quebec Ministry of Education asked the professor of education, Dr. J.-P. D. D., to reflect on the issue. She decided to bring together researchers, educational consultants, elementary and secondary school teachers, school principals, members of community organizations (including the director of École branchée) and ministry representatives to discuss the subject and come to a consensus on the issue.

"Considering the divergent visions of the different school actors regarding the integration of computer programming, it is necessary to deploy favorable conditions to engage in a constructive dialogue on computer programming in the classroom," reads the mandate statement.

Our REPORT Days of reflection on the pedagogical use of computer programming: Findings on the integration of digital literacy was published last June.

A common definition

The 70 or so participants first had to discuss what computer programming means to them. They came up with a common definition.

"Programming is about developing students' algorithmic thinking, computational creativity and digital skills. It should be there to solve problems creatively, methodologically and cooperatively. This keeps students motivated and valued. To be effective, it must be at the service of learning, it must be transversal and concrete. In addition, a change of posture on the part of teachers must take place. They must develop a greater tolerance for risk and error. Teachers therefore need ongoing training, materials and collaboration in their community to make this vision of programming possible."

The work

Afterwards, they had the opportunity to hear from international researchers about studies conducted on the integration of programming in schools elsewhere in the world, and they attended presentations on projects underway in Quebec schools.

Finally, they participated in a World Café type workshop. This means that in teams, they had to formulate proposals and, in turn, build on the ideas put forward by others on various themes. Seven themes were discussed: 1) time; 2) money; 3) continuing education and support; 4) access to resources; 5) the training program and its cross-cutting nature; 6) initial training and researcher-practitioner collaboration; and 7) learning assessment. A prioritization exercise of the proposals was carried out afterwards.

The need to innovate

At the end of the process, three recommendations were made by Ms. Barma and her team. They are introduced as follows in the report: "These recommendations are in line with the need for us, as actors in the world of education, to put forward the necessary audacity, creativity and spirit of innovation that we need to develop in our young people a strong digital identity with a view to collective emancipation. There is no doubt that learning and practicing computer programming fosters the development of broader skills in all school subjects as well as in learning areas such as problem solving, creative thinking and critical thinking."

It is also specified that: "Learning to program must be considered in a broader context and not be limited to coding for coding's sake. Throughout the days of reflection on the teaching of computer programming, a consensus among participants (teachers, researchers, educational advisors, administrators, representatives of organizations) was established around the importance of taking into account ethical aspects, a broader understanding of issues related to digital technology, social and identity issues, knowledge of relevant criteria for information retrieval, as well as the underlying elements of AI algorithms and social networks so important in the lives of young Quebecers.

The 3 recommendations


Thus, the 3 recommendations are as follows:

1. Integrate the development and evaluation of digital competency in all school subjects of the Quebec Education Program from preschool to the end of high school

It is recommended that each program be revisited and formalized with requirements to guide the teaching and assessment of digital competence in :

- creating a learning progression (PDA) for the 12 dimensions of digital competence;

- Implementing pilot projects in primary and secondary schools to identify and validate indicators of digital literacy and computer programming development;

- Assigning a percentage of 10 % of the assessment to account for the integration of digital competence in each academic subject.

2. Establish and maintain partnerships between the Ministry of Education, universities, organizations and schools.

This may result in :

- Forcing the sharing of knowledge developed by organizations working in the field in the digital world with the research world and opening communication channels with ministerial bodies.

- To document good practices and not lose sight of the rapid changes in society and their impact on young people, by allocating a recurring (non-political) budget to document the impact of digital technology on young Quebecers from preschool to the end of high school.

3. Respond to the needs of schools for digital literacy learning and assessment and recognize the commitment of teachers.

This can be done in the following way:

- Support teachers' professional development to maintain a self-efficacy attitude toward digital competence.

- Recognize the commitment of teachers when they participate in pilot projects or other activities on the pedagogical use of computer programming, in the form of academic credit or release time in their schedule.

The full report is available online on the Quebec Ministry of Education website. 

In addition :

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

3 recommandations pour l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique au Québec

Le rapport découlant des journées de réflexion sur l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique dans les écoles primaires et secondaires au Québec a été publié au début de l'été. Nous vous présentons les trois recommandations principales.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Au cours de la dernière année, plus de 70 acteurs du milieu scolaire ont participé à quatre demi-journées de réflexion au sujet de l’usage pédagogique de la programmation. Ensemble, ils ont discuté des meilleures pratiques et des conditions gagnantes pour l’intégrer dans les écoles primaires et secondaires du Québec. Leur rapport propose trois recommandations concrètes.

La démarche menant à la tenue de ces quatre demi-journées de réflexion a débuté lorsque Sylvie Barma, professeure titulaire à la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université Laval, s’est vu confié le mandat de réfléchir à la question par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. Elle a alors choisi de réunir des chercheurs, conseillers pédagogiques, enseignants du primaire et du secondaire, directions d’établissement, membres d’organismes communautaires (dont la directrice de l’École branchée) et représentants du ministère afin de discuter du sujet pour en venir à un constat partagé par le plus grand nombre.

« Considérant les visions divergentes des différents acteurs scolaires quant à l’intégration de la programmation informatique, il est nécessaire de déployer des conditions favorables pour engager un dialogue constructif sur la programmation informatique dans les classes », lit-on dans l’énoncé du mandat.

Le RAPPORT Journées de réflexion sur l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique : Constats sur l’intégration de la compétence numérique a été publié en juin dernier.

Une définition commune

Les quelque 70 participants ont d’abord eu à échanger sur ce que représente la programmation informatique pour eux. Ils ont dégagé une définition commune.

« La programmation, c’est le développement de la pensée algorithmique, de la créativité informatique et des compétences numériques des élèves. Elle doit être là pour résoudre des problèmes de façon créative, méthodologique et coopérative. Cela permet aux élèves de rester motivés et d’être valorisés. Pour être efficace, elle doit être au service des apprentissages, elle doit être transversale et concrète. De plus, un changement de posture de la part des enseignants doit avoir lieu. Ils doivent développer une plus grande tolérance au risque et à l’erreur. Les enseignants ont donc besoin de formation continue, de matériel et de collaboration dans leur communauté afin de rendre cette vision de la programmation possible. »

Les travaux

Par la suite, ils ont eu l’occasion d’entendre des chercheurs internationaux au sujet des études menées sur l’intégration de la programmation dans les écoles ailleurs dans le monde, ils ont assisté à des présentations de projets en cours dans les écoles québécoises.

Finalement, ils ont participé à un atelier de type World Café. Cela signifie qu’en équipe, ils devaient formuler des propositions et, à tour de rôle, construire sur les idées énoncées par les autres sur divers thèmes. Sept thèmes ont été discutés : 1) le temps; 2) l’argent; 3) la formation continue et l’accompagnement; 4) l’accès aux ressources; 5) le programme de formation et sa transversalité; 6) la formation initiale et la collaboration chercheurs-praticiens; et 7) l’évaluation des apprentissages. Un exercice de priorisation des propositions a été réalisé à postériori.

La nécessité d’innover

Au terme de la démarche, 3 recommandations ont été formulées par Mme Barma et son équipe. Elles sont introduites comme suit dans le rapport : « Ces recommandations s’inscrivent dans la nécessité que nous avons, en tant qu’acteurs du monde de l’éducation, de mettre de l’avant l’audace, la créativité et l’esprit d’innovation nécessaires dont nous avons besoin pour développer chez nos jeunes une identité numérique forte dans une visée d’émancipation collective. Il ne fait nul doute que l’apprentissage et la pratique de la programmation informatique favorisent le développement de compétences plus larges dans toutes les matières scolaires ainsi que dans les domaines d’apprentissage tels que la résolution de problèmes, la pensée créative et l’esprit critique. »

Il est aussi précisé que : « Apprendre à programmer doit être envisagé dans un ensemble plus large et ne pas se limiter à coder pour coder. Tout au long des journées de réflexion sur l’enseignement de la programmation informatique, un consensus entre les participants (enseignants, chercheurs, conseillers pédagogiques, directions, représentants d’organismes) s’est établi autour de l’importance de tenir compte des aspects éthiques, d’une compréhension plus large des enjeux liés au numérique, des questions sociales et identitaires, de la connaissance de critères pertinents pour la recherche d’informations, tout comme des éléments sous-jacents aux algorithmes de l’IA et aux réseaux sociaux si importants dans la vie des jeunes Québécois. ».

Les 3 recommandations


Ainsi, les 3 recommandations sont les suivantes :

1. Intégrer le développement et l’évaluation de la compétence numérique dans toutes les matières scolaires du Programme de formation de l’école québécoise du préscolaire-primaire jusqu’à la fin du secondaire

Il est recommandé de réexaminer chaque programme et d’y inscrire des exigences formelles pour orienter l’enseignement et l’évaluation de la compétence numérique en :

–   créant une progression des apprentissages (PDA) pour les 12 dimensions de la compétence numérique;

–   mettant en place des projets pilotes dans les écoles primaires et secondaires pour identifier et valider les indicateurs de développement de la compétence numérique et de la programmation informatique;

–   attribuant un pourcentage de 10 % de l’évaluation pour rendre compte de l’intégration de la compétence numérique dans chacune des matières scolaires.

2. Mettre en place et pérenniser des partenariats entre le ministère de l’Éducation, les universités, les organismes et les milieux scolaires.

Cela pourra se traduire par :

–   Forcer le partage des connaissances développées par les organismes qui œuvrent sur le terrain dans le monde du numérique avec le monde de la recherche et ouvrir des canaux de communication avec les instances ministérielles.

–   Documenter les bonnes pratiques et ne pas perdre de vue les changements rapides de la société et leurs impacts sur les jeunes, en allouant une enveloppe budgétaire récurrente (apolitique) pour documenter l’impact du numérique sur les jeunes Québécois du préscolaire à la fin du secondaire.

3. Répondre aux besoins des milieux scolaires quant à l’apprentissage et à l’évaluation de la compétence numérique et reconnaître l’engagement des enseignants.

Cela pourra se décliner ainsi :

–   Soutenir le développement professionnel du personnel enseignant afin qu’il maintienne une attitude d’auto-efficacité quant à la compétence numérique.

–   Reconnaître l’engagement des enseignants lorsqu’ils participent à des projets pilotes ou à toute autre activité sur l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique, sous la forme de crédits universitaires ou de temps de dégagement dans leur grille-horaire.

Le rapport complet est disponible en ligne sur le site Web du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. 

En complément :

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :