Posted in:

A mathematical story in three stages

Two educational advisers, one in secondary school and the other in elementary school, set off together to discover the world of the other. Colorful feedback on the GRMS and AQEP congresses!
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:



Add to favorites (0)

Our friendly special envoys discovered together the world of one, a secondary education advisor, and the other, a primary education advisor, by participating in the congresses of the GRMS (Group of officials in high school mathematics) andAQEP (Quebec Association of Elementary Teachers) in the fall of 2019. Here is the funny story of their discoveries, which probably did not fail to inspire them for the future! Good reading! 

by Mélanie Boucher and Catherine Verret
Mathematics educational advisor
Capital school board

The primary-secondary linkage is on everyone's lips, at least on our own as mathematics pedagogical advisers in the same school board. We are an unlikely duo, each proud representative of their order. Mélanie is the tall brunette in high school. Catherine is the little blonde who takes care of elementary school. 

This fall, we traveled the roads of Quebec together for the convention season. So grab yourself a coffee, open Google Maps and follow us! 

First stop: Victoriaville - GRMS Congress (Group of mathematics managers in high school)

In October, the tall brunette from high school invited me, a little blonde from elementary school, to take a tour of her world, that of BIG numbers. Imagine the angst I felt at the thought of finding myself with mathematics specialists who make cosines in rectangles and calculate cubic roots in circles. 

Arrived there, the anguish gave way to the feeling felt when one entered a bar in a remote area, where you did not know a cat. Everyone seems to know each other, so you reassure yourself that you at least know the doorman. Clearly, in this congress, we are in family: 

  • Don't you have your cockade? No problem!
  • You are late? There is nothing there!
  • Did you forget the evening dress you requested? It's okay, you won't be the only one!
  • Do you want to change your choice of workshop? Go ahead! 
  • Can't connect to the network? Oops, that, we do not get out of it! 

As primary-school-teacher-who-loves-stickers (as my dear colleague would say!), I surprisingly found my account in most of the workshops I had chosen. In fact, I realized that we would really benefit from talking to each other more, elementary and secondary. Indeed, several quality workshops presented manipulation activities or mathematical game sites used in elementary school and just as relevant for secondary school and the FGA. 

To tell the truth, I had the feeling to be in my remote area bar and catch a glimpse of the kick of my best friend while she was busy elsewhere. Like a missed meeting, a sharing that would be rich. As if we put a border where there shouldn't be. 

I'm not saying that all primary school teachers should attend the secondary school convention, but that it would certainly be interesting to see other pedagogical advisers come to draw and share ideas. After all, it was just about doing math. In addition, it was great fun to see the amazed mines in front of the activities of mosaic blocks and rods that we have been doing for decades in elementary school! 

This led me to another observation: are we open to sharing with our high school colleagues? Let's say it to ourselves: there are many of us from the primary sector on the Facebook group Math differently and yet we never publish. However, we could count around a hundred people from secondary school interested in these activities. And 100, in elementary school, it's a brochure… it's a famous day… it's a celebration… In short, IT'S A VERY BIG NUMBER! 

This foray into the world of high school made me want to go back there, both literally and figuratively. So I say to you: see you next year!

. . .

Second stop: Saint-Hyacinthe - AQEP Congress (Quebec Association of Elementary Teachers) 

A few weeks later, a little further on Highway 20 according to the brunette, or the "two sticks", according to the blonde ...

At the end of November, I, the tall brunette, went on a mission to primary school, like Joan of Arc with a flag in her hand and a bottle of wine under her arm. My colleague compared the GRMS to a country bar ... for my part, it is not the feeling that I had. 

First of all, I was a bit shocked to find that I was the only one with my laptop in the workshops. When you arrive with your cell phone full of Desmos, Scratch and YouCubed stickers, you kinda have the impression of being disguised as pin up at a party of accountants. 

On the other hand, do not panic! The organization, obviously used to troubleshooting in equipment, made sure that I would miss nothing thanks to the contents of the promotional bag: a notebook of lined sheets printed in color, a ruler, pencils, discounts, magazines and ... a children's book for participants who are members of the Association.

We laughed well, but I quickly understood why my colleague compared my convention to a country bar. AQEP is BIG. It is an association that represents thousands of holders, so she obviously cannot manage her world in the same way:

  • Do you want to change workshops? Hmmm… is that all the others are complete.
  • Do you want to line up with your friends to enter the cocktail party? Hmmm… the line of non-members is over there, to give themselves a logistical chance! 
  • Do you want to bribe someone for a drink too much after 6pm? Hmmm… not possible, everything has been meticulously counted (casually, it is really expensive, congress wine!).
  • Are you looking for the official congress party? Phew, this is really your first time, eh? But there must be a few unofficial ones not too far away ...

I too have attended math workshops. And, as my blonde colleague pointed out, they could all very well be presented in secondary 1. Let's face it, the students don't change that much during the summer, between the sixth year and the secondary: a little buttons, a little flabby mustache maybe… but on the math side, it's pretty similar. 

For example, in high school, we really think we have to work on the basics of fractions and decimals. But they are so seen in elementary school, I never stopped to realize it. In a certain workshop I attended, elementary school teachers were 100 times better (because they are almost all women!) Than me at manipulation. The supposed secondary-specialist was made clench not nearly. 

In addition, I even learned a new word: su-bi-ti-sa-tion. The blonde told me a thousand times for me to remember it. In fact, no, it's more because she participated in the workshops on neuroscience for learning. So, she applied what she had just learned by repeating it to me with expanded intervals to promote my retention (imagine, I spend my days with her!). 

In the end, it was a really formative experience and the AQEP will certainly see the brunette again at a future congress for new adventures to discover elementary school!

Third stop: Somewhere between Victo and Saint-Hyacinthe

After these experiences (and many others) of anchoring, it is clear that each congress has its color, and each order, its personality. Looks like two beings trying to " date »For 10 years, but none has taken the first steps. We really need a quiet corner to talk to and share more often.

Sometimes our improbable CP duo thinks we should open a bar somewhere between Victo and Saint-Hyacinthe. You could come by yourself and play pool sipping an aperitif spritz dressed in your prettiest kit, and you would have a lovely evening. The worst part about it is that our boss would not even be surprised! 

The blonde and the brunette raise their glass of vino to your health and wish you a year 2020 filled with wonderful fortuitous encounters that will allow you to become the teacher you dream of being. Who knows? We may meet next fall, around a bag of crimps worse a good coffee!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Un récit mathématique en trois temps

Nos sympathiques envoyées spéciales ont découvert ensemble le monde de l’une, conseillère pédagogique au secondaire, et de l’autre, conseillère pédagogique primaire, en participant aux congrès du GRMS (Groupe des responsables en mathématiques au secondaire) et de l’AQEP (Association québécoise des enseignants du primaire) à l’automne 2019. Voici le récit amusant de leurs découvertes, qui n’ont vraisemblablement pas manqué de les inspirer pour la suite! Bonne lecture! 

par Mélanie Boucher et Catherine Verret
Conseillère pédagogiques en mathématiques
Commission scolaire de la Capitale

L’arrimage primaire-secondaire est sur toutes les lèvres, du moins sur les nôtres en tant que conseillères pédagogiques en mathématiques dans la même commission scolaire. Nous sommes un duo improbable, chacune étant fière représentante de son ordre. Mélanie, c’est la grande brune du secondaire. Catherine, c’est la petite blonde qui s’occupe du primaire. 

Cet automne, nous avons, sillonné les routes du Québec ensemble pour la saison des congrès. Alors, prenez-vous un café, ouvrez Google Maps et suivez-nous! 

Premier arrêt : Victoriaville – Congrès du GRMS (Groupe des responsables en mathématique au secondaire)

En octobre, la grande brune du secondaire m’a invitée moi, petite blonde du primaire, à aller faire un tour dans son monde, celui des GROS chiffres. Imaginez l’angoisse que j’ai ressentie à l’idée de me retrouver avec des spécialistes de la mathématique qui font des cosinus dans des rectangles et qui calculent des racines cubiques dans des cercles. 

Arrivée là, l’angoisse a fait place au sentiment ressenti lorsqu’on entre dans un bar de région éloignée, où tu ne connais pas un chat. Tout le monde semble se connaître, alors tu te rassures en te disant que tu connais au moins le doorman. Clairement, dans ce congrès, on est en famille : 

  • T’as pas ta cocarde? Pas de problème!
  • T’es en retard? Y’a rien là!
  • T’as oublié la tenue de soirée demandée? C’est pas grave, tu ne seras pas la seule!
  • Tu veux changer ton choix d’atelier? Vas-y! 
  • T’arrives pas à te connecter au réseau? Oups, ça, on ne s’en sort pas! 

En tant que prof-du-primaire-qui-aime-les-autocollants (comme dirait ma chère collègue!), j’ai étonnamment trouvé mon compte dans la plupart des ateliers que j’avais choisis. En fait, j’ai réalisé qu’on gagnerait vraiment à se parler davantage, le primaire et le secondaire. En effet, plusieurs ateliers de qualité présentaient des activités de manipulation ou des sites de jeux mathématiques utilisés au primaire et tout aussi pertinents pour le secondaire et la FGA. 

À vrai dire, j’ai eu le feeling d’être dans mon bar de région éloignée et d’y apercevoir le kick de ma meilleure amie pendant qu’elle était occupée ailleurs. Comme un rendez-vous manqué, un partage qui serait riche. Comme si on mettait une frontière là où il ne devrait pas y en avoir. 

Je ne dis pas que tous les profs du primaire devraient participer au congrès du secondaire, mais que ce serait certainement intéressant d’y voir d’autres conseillers pédagogiques venir puiser et partager des idées. Après tout, il s’agissait juste de faire des maths. En plus, c’était très amusant de voir les mines ébahies devant des activités de blocs mosaïques et de réglettes que nous faisons depuis des dizaines d’années au primaire! 

Ceci m’a amenée à un autre constat : sommes-nous ouverts au partage avec nos collègues du secondaire? On va se le dire : nous sommes nombreux du secteur primaire sur le groupe Facebook Les maths autrement et pourtant, nous ne publions jamais. Pourtant, on pouvait compter autour d’une centaine de personnes du secondaire intéressées par ces activités. Et 100, au primaire, c’est une plaquette… c’est un jour célèbre… c’est une fête… Bref, C’EST UN TRÈS GROS NOMBRE! 

Cette incursion dans le monde du secondaire m’a donné envie d’y retourner, au sens propre comme au sens figuré. Je vous dis donc : à l’an prochain!

. . .

Deuxième arrêt : Saint-Hyacinthe – Congrès de l’AQEP (Association québécoise des enseignantes et enseignants du primaire) 

Quelques semaines plus tard, un peu plus loin sur l’autoroute 20 selon la brune, ou la « deux bâtonnets », selon la blonde…

Fin novembre, moi, la grande brune, je suis partie en mission au primaire, telle Jeanne d’Arc avec un drapeau à la main et une bouteille de vin sous le bras. Ma collègue a comparé le GRMS à un bar de campagne… pour ma part, ce n’est pas le feeling que j’ai eu. 

Tout d’abord, j’ai été un peu sous le choc de constater que j’étais la seule à avoir mon ordinateur portable dans les ateliers. Quand t’arrives avec ton portable plein d’autocollants Desmos, Scratch et YouCubed, t’as un peu l’impression d’être déguisée en pin-up dans un party de comptables. 

Par contre, pas de panique! L’organisation, visiblement habituée à dépanner en matériel, s’est assurée que je ne manquerais de rien grâce au contenu du sac promotionnel : un cahier de feuilles lignées imprimé en couleur, une règle, des crayons, des rabais, des revues et… un livre jeunesse pour les participants membres de l’Association.

On rit bien, mais j’ai rapidement compris pourquoi ma collègue comparait mon congrès à un bar de campagne. L’AQEP, c’est GROS. C’est une association qui représente des milliers de titulaires, donc elle ne peut évidemment pas gérer son monde de la même façon :

  • Tu veux changer d’atelier? Hummm… c’est que tous les autres sont complets.
  • Tu veux faire la file avec tes amis pour entrer au coquetel? Hummm… la file des non-membres est là-bas, pour se donner une chance côté logistique! 
  • Tu veux soudoyer quelqu’un pour prendre un verre de trop passé 18h? Hummm… pas possible, tout a été minutieusement compté (mine de rien, ça coûte drôlement cher, du vin de congrès!).
  • Tu cherches le party officiel du congrès? Ouf, c’est vraiment la première fois que tu viens, hein? Mais il doit y en avoir quelques-uns non-officiels pas trop loin…

Moi aussi, j’ai assisté à des ateliers mathématiques. Et, comme ma blonde collègue le faisait remarquer, ils pourraient tous très bien être présentés en secondaire 1. On va se le dire, les élèves ne changent pas tant que ça pendant l’été, entre la sixième année et le secondaire : un peu de boutons, une petite moustache molle peut-être… mais côté math, c’est assez semblable. 

Par exemple, au secondaire, on pense vraiment qu’on doit travailler les bases de la fraction et des nombres décimaux. Mais elles sont tellement vues au primaire, je ne m’étais jamais arrêtée à le réaliser. Dans un certain atelier auquel j’ai assisté, les profs du primaire étaient 100 fois meilleures (parce que ce sont presque toutes des femmes!) que moi en manipulation. La supposée spécialiste-du-secondaire s’est faite clancher pas à peu près. 

En plus, j’ai même appris un nouveau mot : la su-bi-ti-sa-tion. La blonde me l’a répété mille fois pour que je le retienne. En fait non, c’est plutôt parce qu’elle a participé aux ateliers sur la neuroscience au service de l’apprentissage. Donc, elle a appliqué ce qu’elle venait d’apprendre en me le répétant avec des intervalles expansés pour favoriser ma rétention (imaginez, je passe mes journées avec elle!). 

Au final, c’était une expérience vraiment formatrice et l’AQEP reverra certainement la brune dans un prochain congrès pour de nouvelles aventures à la découverte du primaire!

Troisième arrêt : Quelque part entre Victo et Saint-Hyacinthe

Après ces expériences (et bien d’autres) d’arrimage, force est de constater que chaque congrès a sa couleur, et chaque ordre, sa personnalité. On dirait deux êtres qui essaient de se « dater » depuis 10 ans, mais aucun ne fait les premiers pas. On aurait vraiment besoin  d’un petit coin tranquille pour se parler et partager plus souvent.

Parfois, notre duo improbable de CP se dit qu’il faudrait ouvrir un bar, à quelque part entre Victo et Saint-Hyacinthe. Tu pourrais y venir tout seul et jouer au pool en sirotant un apérol spritz vêtu de ton plus beau kit, et tu passerais une saprée belle soirée. Le pire là dedans, c’est que notre patron serait même pas étonné! 

La blonde et la brune lèvent leur verre de vino à votre santé et vous souhaitent une année 2020 remplie de belles rencontres fortuites qui vous permettront de devenir l’enseignant que vous rêvez d’être. Qui sait? Nous nous croiserons peut-être à l’automne prochain, autour d’un sac de réglettes pis d’un bon café!