ADVERTISEMENT

What are the characteristics of good educational software?

According to the doctoral thesis of a Swedish student, 90 % of online applications identified as educational are in fact simply exercises and assessments. So, what characteristics are we looking for to promote learning?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

According to the doctoral thesis of a Swedish student, 90 % of online applications identified as educational are in fact simply exercises and assessments. So, what characteristics are we looking for to promote learning?

As part of his doctoral thesis entitled " What are the characteristics of good educational software? », Björn Sjödénun, student in the cognitive science from Lund University, in Sweden, wanted to identify and analyze the characteristics that allow educational software to constitute effective learning tools. To do this, it relied, among other things, on current knowledge in cognitive science, in particular that relating to learning.

Thus, 100 applications identified as educational were analyzed by the researcher. According to its analysis and evaluation criteria, barely half of them could actually be considered as learning tools. Of these, only 17 provided some form of feedback to learners. Sjödénun believes that approximately 90 % online applications identified as educational are in fact simply exercises and assessments.

What, according to Sjödénun, are the essential characteristics of software that are likely to make it relevant educational software?

Feedback

First: effective and relevant feedback. An application intended to be educational should be able to make it possible to comment on learners' responses, guide them and propose, if necessary, alternatives to bring them to the learning aimed at. As mentioned earlier, Sjödénun is of the opinion that several apps are in fact just online reviews.

Determined learning

Then, aim for a well-defined learning. According to him, educational tools must not only aim to evaluate, but also to teach people. For the researcher, a relevant educational software is that which brings a plus compared to an existing support or teaching. He gives the example of an application that can simulate and visually represent an explosion, which a science book cannot.

Complex task, simple interface

We must, still according to Sjödénun, avoid confusing technical complexity and relevance of learning. In his view, software can be relevant from an educational point of view while remaining very simple from a technical point of view. Conversely, a state-of-the-art application or platform may have very low educational potential. He therefore recommends focusing on applications, software and platforms that allow significant and complex tasks to be carried out.

 

At the end of his work, Sjödénun believes that genuinely educational software has enormous educational potential, provided it meets certain characteristics. However, it calls for the thoughtful use and development of educational applications. Because while well-developed software that meets specific characteristics can improve learning, in other cases, such as when they ask learners to perform tasks that are too simple or do not give meaningful feedback, they may, depending on the situation. him, decrease it.

 

You can also consult the article " The characteristics to look for and those to avoid in order to find truly educational ICTs », Published last May, which related another study aimed at analyzing the characteristics that give an application a real educational impact.

 

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Quelles sont les caractéristiques d’un bon logiciel éducatif?

D’après la thèse doctorale d’un étudiant suédois, 90 % des applications en ligne identifiées comme éducatives sont en fait simplement des exercices et des évaluations. Alors, quelles caractéristiques recherche pour favoriser l’apprentissage?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

D’après la thèse doctorale d’un étudiant suédois, 90 % des applications en ligne identifiées comme éducatives sont en fait simplement des exercices et des évaluations. Alors, quelles caractéristiques recherche pour favoriser l’apprentissage?

Dans le cadre de sa thèse doctorale intitulé « Quelles sont les caractéristiques d’un bon logiciel éducatif? », Björn Sjödénun, étudiant au département des sciences cognitives de l’Université Lund, en Suède, a voulu identifier et analyser les caractéristiques qui permettent aux logiciels éducatifs de constituer des outils d’apprentissage efficaces. Pour ce faire, il s’est entre autres appuyé sur les connaissances actuelles en sciences cognitives, en particulier celles relatives à l’apprentissage.

Ainsi, 100 applications identifiées comme éducatives ont été analysées par le chercheur. Selon ses critères d’analyse et d’évaluation, à peine la moitié d’entre elles ont pu effectivement être considérées comme des outils d’apprentissage. De ce nombre, seulement 17 fournissaient une forme de rétroaction aux apprenants. Sjödénun croit qu’environ 90 % des applications en ligne identifiées comme éducatives sont en fait simplement des exercices et des évaluations.

Quelles sont, selon Sjödénun, les caractéristiques essentielles des logiciels qui sont susceptibles d’en faire des logiciels éducatifs pertinents?

Une rétroaction

Premièrement : une rétroaction efficace et pertinente. Une application se voulant éducative devrait pouvoir permettre de commenter les réponses des apprenants, les guider et proposer, le cas échéant, des alternatives pour les amener à l’apprentissage visé. Tel que mentionné précédemment, Sjödénun est d’avis que plusieurs applications ne sont en fait que des examens en ligne.

Un apprentissage déterminé

Ensuite, viser un apprentissage bien déterminé. Il faut selon lui que les outils éducatifs ne visent pas seulement à évaluer, mais bien à faire apprendre. Pour le chercheur, un logiciel éducatif pertinent est celui qui amène un plus par rapport à un support ou à un enseignement existant. Il donne l’exemple d’une application qui peut simuler et représenter visuellement une explosion, ce que ne permet pas un livre de science.

Tâche complexe, interface simple

Il faut, toujours selon Sjödénun, éviter de confondre complexité technique et pertinence des apprentissages. À ses yeux, un logiciel peut être pertinent sur le plan pédagogique en demeurant très simple sur le plan technique. À l’inverse, une application ou une plateforme à la fine pointe de la technologie peut revêtir un potentiel éducatif très faible. Il préconise donc de miser sur les applications, logiciels et plateformes qui permettent de réaliser des tâches significatives et complexes.

 

Au terme de ses travaux, Sjödénun est d’avis que les logiciels réellement éducatifs revêtent un énorme potentiel pédagogique, à condition de répondre à certaines caractéristiques. Il appelle toutefois à l’utilisation et au développement réfléchis des applications éducatives. Car si des logiciels bien élaborés et répondant à des caractéristiques précises peuvent bonifier l’apprentissage, dans d’autres cas, comme lorsqu’ils demandent aux apprenants d’effectuer des tâches trop simples ou ne donnent pas de rétroaction significative, ils peuvent, selon lui, le diminuer.

 

On peut aussi consulter l’article « Les caractéristiques à chercher et celles à fuir pour trouver des TIC réellement pédagogiques », publié en mai dernier, qui relatait une autre étude visant à analyser les caractéristiques donnant à une application un réel impact pédagogique.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :