Project CAR: Collaborate, Learn, Succeed!

The CAR project aims to support the culture of collaboration in education and to strengthen the pedagogical leadership of actors in school organizations. Through communities of practice, it supports school administrators and staff in developing collaborative approaches to promote the success of all students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Alain Poirier, education consultant and CAR coach, and Amélie Roy, transfer and innovation advisor at the Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ).

In school settings, the need to collaborate to innovate pedagogically and enable all students to learn is becoming evident. Learn about the CAR: Collaborate, Learn, Succeed project, a collaborative movement focused on the success of all students in Quebec.

Over the past few decades, our societies have undergone major transformations that have led them to deal with increasingly complex and changing realities: a more knowledge-based economy, increasing technological advances, greater social diversity, etc. The demands and high performance expectations resulting from these transformations are pushing organizations in all sectors to review their operations and move towards new work models. In this context, collaboration has emerged as a true strategic skill and a lever for innovation in companies and service institutions. The school is no exception.

In the education environment, the task of school practitioners is becoming increasingly complex. They must implement an inclusive pedagogy to help all learners succeed and develop their full potential. It is clear that this responsibility cannot be met within a siloed working model and that individual expertise, however great, is no longer sufficient (5). We are therefore seeing a growing number of school teams change the way they work and gradually develop collaborative approaches that rely on interdependence and the union of each individual's strengths for the benefit of students. Faced with the current pedagogical challenges in education, it is clear that collaboration is the only solution.

Born in the spring of 2015, the CAR: Collaborate, Learn, Succeed project is an initiative of the Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon and the Association des directeurs généraux des commissions scolaires du Québec (ADIGECS). Carried out in collaboration with the Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), it is under the direction of the Fédération des centers de services scolaires du Québec (FCSSQ) since July 2021. 

The CAR project aims to support the culture of collaboration in education, to strengthen the pedagogical leadership of actors in school organizations and to promote the adoption of organizational and pedagogical practices that contribute to the improvement of learning, success and graduation of youth. More concretely, the CAR project consists of supporting school administrators and staff members in developing collaborative approaches to promote the success of all students.

The CAR project is :

  • More than sixty school service centers (CSS) in Quebec.
  • Nine communities of practice (CoPs) composed of branches and deputy branches from different HSCs who are thinking together to develop collaborative approaches in their organizations.
  • More than 150 Communities of Practice (CoPs) composed of school administrators, managers and supported professionals who are learning together to become a true Professional Learning Community (PLC).
  • Professional Learning Communities (PLCs) comprised of teachers, professionals, and principals who work together to implement the practices that have the greatest impact on the learning and success of all students in their schools.
  • A website providing access to multiple resources (popularized texts, reproducible tools, inspiring videos) and reference schools to support collaborative work. 

To learn more, visit the CAR website.

The contribution of collaboration in schools

Many researchers argue that collaboration among school personnel promotes professional development and the implementation of collaborative and coherent interventions that have a greater impact on student learning and achievement (4,6). 

In his analysis of successful school systems, Michael Fullan identifies collaborative leadership as one of the characteristics of effective schools (3). Furthermore, a meta-analysis by John Hattie (2) suggests that teachers' collective efficacy is one of the most influential factors on student achievement. In other words, teachers' belief in their ability to act collectively to promote student success is critical, which is why it is important to develop effective collaborative practices. 

Although it is difficult to establish a direct relationship between collaboration and academic success, several studies show that a collaborative climate positively influences students' attitudes towards school and motivation, which in turn are factors in success (1).

References

  1. Beaumont, C., Lavoie, J., & Couture, C. (2011). Collaborative practices in schools: A framework to support training. Center de recherche et d'intervention sur la réussite scolaire (CRIRES), Université Laval. https://crires.ulaval.ca/sites/default/files/guide_sec_nouvelle_version.pdf 
  2. Donohoo, J., Hattie, J., & Eells, R. (2018). The power of collective efficacy. Educational Leadership, 75, 40-44.
  3. Fullan, M., & Quinn, J. (2016). Coherence: The right drivers in action for schools, districts, and systems. Corwin.
  4. Hargreaves, A. (2019). Teacher collaboration: 30 years of research on its nature, forms, limitations, and effects. Teachers and Teaching, 25, 603-621.
  5. Rousseau, N. (2015). The pedagogy of inclusive education (3e ed.). Presses de l'Université du Québec.
  6. Vangrieken, K., Dochy, P., Raes, E., & Kyndt, E. (2015). Teacher collaboration: A systematic review. Educational Research Review, 15, 17-40.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Projet CAR : collaborer, apprendre, réussir!

Le projet CAR vise à soutenir la culture de collaboration en éducation, à renforcer le leadership pédagogique des acteurs dans les organisations scolaires. Il soutient, via des communautés de pratique, les gestionnaires et les membres du personnel scolaire afin qu’ils développent des approches collaboratives pour favoriser la réussite de tous les élèves.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Alain Poirier, consultant en éducation et accompagnateur CAR, et Amélie Roy, conseillère en transfert et innovation en éducation au Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ).

Dans les milieux scolaires, la nécessité de collaborer pour innover sur le plan pédagogique et permettre à tous les élèves d’apprendre devient évidente. Découvrez le projet CAR : collaborer, apprendre, réussir, un mouvement de collaboration centré sur la réussite de tous les élèves au Québec.

Depuis quelques décennies, nos sociétés ont subi d’importantes transformations qui les amènent à composer avec des réalités de plus en plus complexes et changeantes : une économie davantage basée sur le savoir, des avancées technologiques qui se multiplient, une plus grande mixité sociale, etc. Les exigences et les attentes de performance élevées qui découlent de ces transformations poussent les organisations de tous les secteurs d’activité à revoir leur fonctionnement et à s’orienter vers de nouveaux modèles de travail. Dans cette foulée, la collaboration est apparue comme une véritable compétence stratégique et un levier à l’innovation dans les entreprises et les institutions de service. L’école ne fait pas exception.

Dans le milieu de l’éducation, les intervenants scolaires voient leur tâche se complexifier. Ils doivent mettre en œuvre une pédagogie inclusive pour aider tous les apprenants à réussir et à développer leur plein potentiel. Un constat s’impose : il est impossible d’assumer cette responsabilité dans un modèle de travail dit en silo et l’expertise individuelle, même grande, ne suffit plus (5). On voit donc un nombre grandissant d’équipes-écoles changer leur façon de travailler et développer progressivement des approches collaboratives qui misent sur l’interdépendance et l’union des forces de chaque individu au profit des élèves. Devant les défis pédagogiques actuels en éducation, force est de constater que la collaboration est la seule solution.

Né au printemps 2015, le projet CAR : collaborer, apprendre, réussir est une initiative de la Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon et de l’Association des directeurs généraux des commissions scolaires du Québec (ADIGECS). Réalisé en collaboration avec le Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), il est sous la direction de la Fédération des centres de services scolaires du Québec (FCSSQ) depuis juillet 2021. 

Le projet CAR vise à soutenir la culture de collaboration en éducation, à renforcer le leadership pédagogique des acteurs dans les organisations scolaires et à favoriser l’adoption de pratiques organisationnelles et pédagogiques qui contribuent à l’amélioration des apprentissages, de la réussite et de la diplomation des jeunes. De façon plus concrète, le projet CAR consiste à soutenir les gestionnaires et les membres du personnel scolaire afin qu’ils développent des approches collaboratives pour favoriser la réussite de tous les élèves.

Le projet CAR, c’est :

  • Plus d’une soixantaine de centres de services scolaires (CSS) au Québec.
  • Neuf communautés de pratique (CoP) composées de directions générales et de directions générales adjointes de différents CSS qui réfléchissent ensemble pour développer des approches collaboratives dans leurs organisations.
  • Plus de 150 communautés de pratique (CoP) composées de directions d’établissements, de cadres et de professionnels accompagnés qui apprennent ensemble à se transformer en véritable communauté d’apprentissage professionnelle (CAP).
  • Des communautés d’apprentissage professionnelles (CAP) formées d’enseignants, de professionnels et de directions d’établissement qui travaillent ensemble pour mettre en œuvre les pratiques qui ont le plus d’impact sur l’apprentissage et la réussite de tous les élèves dans leur établissement.
  • Un site Web donnant accès à de multiples ressources (des textes vulgarisés, des outils reproductibles, des vidéos inspirantes) et des écoles de référence pour soutenir le travail collaboratif. 

Pour en savoir plus, visitez le site Web CAR.

L’apport de la collaboration en milieu scolaire

De nombreux chercheurs soutiennent que la collaboration entre les membres du personnel scolaire favorise le développement professionnel ainsi que la mise en œuvre d’interventions concertées et cohérentes qui ont davantage d’impact sur l’apprentissage et la réussite des élèves (4,6). 

Dans son analyse des systèmes scolaires performants, Michael Fullan identifie le leadership collaboratif comme l’une des caractéristiques des écoles efficaces (3). Par ailleurs, une méta-analyse réalisée par John Hattie (2) suggère que l’efficacité collective des enseignants constitue l’un des facteurs ayant le plus d’influence sur la réussite des élèves. Autrement dit, la croyance qu’ont les enseignants en leur capacité d’agir collectivement pour favoriser la réussite des élèves est déterminante, d’où l’importance de développer des pratiques collaboratives efficaces. 

Bien qu’il soit difficile d’établir une relation directe entre la collaboration et la réussite scolaire, plusieurs études démontrent que le climat de collaboration influence positivement l’attitude face à l’école et la motivation des élèves qui eux, sont des facteurs de réussite (1).

Références

  1. Beaumont, C., Lavoie, J. et Couture, C. (2011). Les pratiques collaboratives en milieu scolaire : Cadre de référence pour soutenir la formation. Centre de recherche et d’intervention sur la réussite scolaire (CRIRES), Université Laval. https://crires.ulaval.ca/sites/default/files/guide_sec_nouvelle_version.pdf 
  2. Donohoo, J., Hattie, J. et Eells, R. (2018). The power of collective efficacy. Educational Leadership, 75, 40-44.
  3. Fullan, M. et Quinn, J. (2016). Coherence: The right drivers in action for schools, districts, and systems. Corwin.
  4. Hargreaves, A. (2019). Teacher collaboration: 30 years of research on its nature, forms, limitations, and effects. Teachers and Teaching, 25, 603-621.
  5. Rousseau, N. (2015). La pédagogie de l’inclusion scolaire (3e éd.). Presses de l’Université du Québec.
  6. Vangrieken, K., Dochy, P., Raes, E. et Kyndt, E. (2015). Teacher collaboration: A systematic review. Educational Research Review, 15, 17-40.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :