ADVERTISEMENT

Academic motivation: teachers play a more important role than parents

Based on the results of their most recent study, Julien Bureau and Frédéric Guay of Laval University reaffirm the teaching effect to mobilize the motivation of young people and guide them towards success. “The teacher has a privileged learning context,” they write.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Through Julien Office, Laval University and Frederic Guay, Laval University

What should be done when a student is demotivated towards his studies?

Our meta-analysis on the consequences of academic motivation paints a general portrait of the positive and negative aspects that students can experience when they are strongly or weakly motivated. The resulting results, obtained by listing nearly 350 studies from different countries, are unequivocal: a pupil who attends school for pleasure, for interest or even because he values what he does there will have better grades, greater perseverance, better well-being, and fewer intentions to quit. However, the people involved with students know very well that motivating them to learn can sometimes be quite a challenge.

Researcher in education, I am trained in social psychology and I am interested in the elements of the school context that promote the development of students in their educational path.

Student motivation, a shared responsibility

The most desirable academic motivations are those referred to as self-determined. When Alice has fun doing an exercise in class with her friend, or when Xavier engages in an activity on the environment, which is close to his heart, they do not feel like simple pawns, but rather like active learners. They are then self-determined. However, being self-determined does not mean that they are solely responsible for their motivation.

We know that school and family environments play an important role in motivating young people. Both the teacher and the parent can create a more conducive environment for student growth. In order to achieve this, they must support the self-determination of young people. By seeing young people as people in their own right, with their own interests and values, it is possible to support their self-determined motivations.

Concretely, this means that the teacher and the parent, when interacting with a young person, must do so with empathy, that is to say, recognize that their thoughts and emotions are valid and important. The student will thus have a space to express his preferences so that they can be used to motivate him to continue his studies.

Next, the teacher and parent should explain the reasons behind their requests, such as justifying the importance of homework or exam preparation. This aspect is important, because if those who require young people to carry out work and lessons are not able to find good reasons for carrying them out, how can the young person be expected to be engaged in these activities ?

Finally, the teacher and the parent must support the active participation of young people. When they are active in their learning and, above all, when they can make choices that influence their school project, students feel that they are in control of their academic destiny.

The parent or the teacher, who has the most decisive role?

Our other meta-analysis, the one on the predictors of academic motivation, lists nearly 150 studies surveying more than 79,000 pupils and students from all over the world. It targets studies that assess teacher and parent behaviors and their potential effects on student motivation. It shows that the teacher predicts more strongly, and in a systematic way, the self-determined motivations of the students.

Concretely, this means that the teacher plays a key role in the development of these motivations, and that a parent, however well intentioned, could not completely compensate for a teacher who, by his practices, would harm the motivation. of the pupil. Why is that ? There are two main answers: formation and context.

The teacher has the power to further mobilize the motivation of young people, because it is he, as a professional, who best manages to detect the difficulties of these pupils, to help them to recognize and identify these difficulties and to propose strategies to remediate. While parents know their children more than anyone, they aren't always up to speed on math reading or problem-solving strategies.

To develop self-determined motivations, students need to know that they are capable of overcoming their difficulties by putting learning strategies into practice and observing their beneficial effects. Although parental support is important, professional monitoring by the teacher is crucial for the student to adopt the right learning strategies that will help him feel more competent.

In addition, the teacher is the figure most present with the student when he carries out school activities. Not only is the parent not present in the classroom, where the majority of learning takes place, but once their child arrives home after school, a multitude of challenges and daily activities present themselves to them. Helping him with school activities is only part of the parent's responsibility towards his child.

The teacher, on the contrary, has a privileged learning context, that is, a place and a time which are reserved for that. This asymmetry is therefore reflected in each person's ability to motivate the student.

Three Nutrients of a Motivating School Environment

Our results indicate that students can, in their school environment, have three types of experiences that will help them feel self-determined. It is about satisfying their three basic psychological needs of competence, autonomy and social affiliation.

Students who feel competent feel that their actions have an impact on the environment. Those who feel empowered feel like they fully endorse the tasks in which they participate. Those who feel a social affiliation with those close to them (friends, teachers, parents) feel that they can count on the people who are important to them.

When doing school activities, students who have their basic psychological needs met are much more likely to develop and maintain self-determined motivations. Although our results demonstrate that teachers play a key role in stimulating students' self-determined motivations, some people can contribute by increasing the student's overall experience of competence, autonomy and social affiliation, whether friend, relative, management or stakeholders.

By Julien Office, Associate Professor in Educational Sciences, Laval University and Frederic Guay, Laval University

This article is republished from The Conversation under a Creative Commons license. Read theoriginal article.

In addition: (re)read our file Academic motivation: why do we persevere?, with the participation of Frédéric Guay from Université Laval.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Motivation scolaire : les enseignants jouent un rôle plus important que les parents

À partir des résultats de leur plus récente étude, Julien Bureau et Frédéric Guay de l'Université Laval réaffirment l'effet enseignant pour mobiliser la motivation des jeunes et les guider vers la réussite. « L'enseignant dispose d'un contexte d'apprentissage privilégié », écrivent-ils.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Par Julien Bureau, Université Laval et Frédéric Guay, Université Laval

Que doit-on faire lorsqu’un élève est démotivé envers ses études ?

Notre méta-analyse sur les conséquences de la motivation scolaire dresse un portrait général des aspects positifs et négatifs que les étudiants peuvent vivre lorsqu’ils sont fortement ou faiblement motivés. Les résultats qui en découlent, obtenus en recensant près de 350 études provenant de différents pays, sont sans équivoque : un élève qui fréquente l’école par plaisir, par intérêt ou encore parce qu’il valorise ce qu’il y fait aura de meilleures notes, une plus grande persévérance, un meilleur bien-être et moins d’intentions d’abandonner. Or, les personnes engagées auprès des élèves savent très bien que de les motiver à apprendre représente parfois tout un défi.

Chercheur en éducation, je suis formé en psychologie sociale et je m’intéresse aux éléments du contexte scolaire qui favorisent l’épanouissement des élèves dans leur parcours éducatif.

La motivation des élèves, une responsabilité partagée

Les motivations scolaires les plus souhaitables sont celles que l’on appelle autodéterminées. Lorsqu’Alice s’amuse à faire un exercice en classe avec son ami, ou lorsque Xavier s’engage dans une activité sur l’environnement, qui lui tient à cœur, ils ne se sentent pas comme de simples pions, mais plutôt comme des apprenants actifs. Ils sont alors autodéterminés. Toutefois, être autodéterminé ne signifie pas qu’ils sont les seuls responsables de leur motivation.

Nous savons que les environnements scolaire et familial jouent un rôle important dans la motivation des jeunes. L’enseignant et le parent peuvent tous deux créer un contexte plus propice à l’épanouissement de l’élève. Afin d’y parvenir, il faut que ceux-ci soutiennent l’autodétermination des jeunes. En considérant les jeunes comme des personnes à part entière, qui ont des intérêts et des valeurs qui leur sont propres, il est possible de soutenir leurs motivations autodéterminées.

Concrètement, cela signifie que l’enseignant et le parent, lorsqu’ils interagissent avec un jeune, doivent le faire avec empathie, c’est-à-dire reconnaître que ses réflexions et ses émotions sont valides et importantes. L’élève aura ainsi un espace pour exprimer ses préférences afin qu’elles puissent être mises à profit pour le motiver à poursuivre ses études.

Ensuite, l’enseignant et le parent devraient expliquer les raisons qui sous-tendent leurs demandes, par exemple en justifiant l’importance des devoirs ou de la préparation aux examens. Cet aspect est important, car si les personnes qui exigent des jeunes qu’ils effectuent travaux et leçons ne sont pas à même de trouver de bonnes raisons pour les réaliser, comment peut-on s’attendre à ce que le jeune soit engagé dans ces activités ?

Finalement, l’enseignant et le parent doivent soutenir la participation active des jeunes. Lorsqu’ils sont actifs dans leurs apprentissages et, surtout, lorsqu’ils peuvent faire des choix qui influencent leur projet scolaire, les élèves sentent qu’ils sont en contrôle de leur destin scolaire.

Le parent ou l’enseignant, à qui revient le rôle le plus décisif ?

Notre autre méta-analyse, soit celle sur les prédicteurs de la motivation scolaire, recense près de 150 études sondant plus de 79 000 élèves et étudiants de partout dans le monde. Elle cible des études qui évaluent les comportements des enseignants et des parents et leurs effets potentiels sur la motivation des élèves. Elle démontre que l’enseignant prédit plus fortement, et de façon systématique, les motivations autodéterminées des élèves.

Concrètement, cela signifie que l’enseignant joue un rôle clé dans le développement de ces motivations, et qu’un parent, aussi bien intentionné soit-il, ne pourrait pas complètement compenser pour un enseignant qui, par ses pratiques, nuirait à la motivation de l’élève. Pourquoi donc ? Il y a deux réponses principales : la formation et le contexte.

L’enseignant a le pouvoir de mobiliser davantage la motivation des jeunes, car c’est lui, comme professionnel, qui arrive le mieux à déceler les difficultés de ces élèves, à les aider à reconnaître et identifier ces difficultés et à proposer des stratégies pour y remédier. Alors que les parents connaissent leurs enfants plus que quiconque, ils ne sont pas toujours au fait des stratégies de lecture ou de résolution de problèmes en mathématiques.

Pour développer les motivations autodéterminées, l’élève a besoin de se savoir capable de surmonter ses difficultés en mettant en pratique des stratégies d’apprentissages et en constatant leurs effets bénéfiques. Bien que l’accompagnement du parent soit important, le suivi professionnel de l’enseignant est crucial pour que l’élève adopte les bonnes stratégies d’apprentissage qui l’aideront à se sentir plus compétent.

De plus, l’enseignant est la figure la plus présente auprès de l’élève lorsqu’il réalise des activités scolaires. Non seulement le parent n’est pas présent dans la classe, où la majorité des apprentissages surviennent, mais une fois son enfant arrivé à la maison après l’école, une multitude de défis et d’activités du quotidien se présente à lui. L’aider dans les activités scolaires ne représente alors qu’une partie des responsabilités du parent envers son enfant.

L’enseignant, au contraire, dispose d’un contexte d’apprentissage privilégié, soit un lieu et un moment qui sont réservés à cela. Cette asymétrie se reflète donc dans la capacité de chacun à motiver l’élève.

Trois nutriments d’un environnement scolaire motivant

Nos résultats indiquent que les élèves peuvent, dans leur environnement scolaire, vivre trois types d’expérience qui les aideront à se sentir autodéterminés. Il s’agit de la satisfaction de leurs trois besoins psychologiques fondamentaux de compétence, d’autonomie et d’affiliation sociale.

Les élèves qui se sentent compétents ont l’impression que leurs actions ont un impact sur l’environnement. Ceux qui se sentent autonomes ont l’impression d’endosser pleinement les tâches auxquelles ils participent. Ceux qui ressentent une affiliation sociale auprès des proches (amis, enseignants, parents) ont l’impression de pouvoir compter sur les personnes qui sont importantes pour eux.

Lorsqu’ils font des activités scolaires, les élèves qui voient leurs besoins psychologiques fondamentaux satisfaits auront beaucoup plus de chance de développer et d’entretenir des motivations autodéterminées. Bien que nos résultats démontrent que les enseignants jouent un rôle prépondérant pour stimuler les motivations autodéterminées des élèves, certaines personnes peuvent y contribuer en augmentant l’expérience générale de compétence, d’autonomie et d’affiliation sociale de l’élève, que ce soit un ami, un parent, la direction ou les intervenants.

Par Julien Bureau, Professeur agrégé en sciences de l’éducation, Université Laval et Frédéric Guay, Université Laval

Cet article est republié à partir de The Conversation sous licence Creative Commons. Lire l’article original.

En complément : (re)lisez notre dossier La motivation scolaire : pourquoi persévère-t-on?, avec la participation de Frédéric Guay de l’Université Laval.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :