Artificial intelligence in education: issues of justice

In this text, Simon Collin and Emmanuelle Marceau discuss the integration of AI in education. According to them, it is becoming necessary to support teaching staff in proactively taking into account the ethical and critical issues raised by AI.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Simon Collin, University of Quebec at Montreal (Canada) and Emmanuelle Marceau, Cégep du Vieux Montréal-CRDP (Canada)

Introduction: potential of artificial intelligence for education

Artificial intelligence (AI) has aroused increasing educational and scientific interest over the past thirty years, which has accelerated recently following the improvement in the technical performance of AI (Becker, 2018).

In their systematic review of the literature, Zawacki-Richter et al. (2019) identify four main applications of AI in higher education:

1 / profiling and prediction (eg admission to a study program, dropping out of school);

2 / intelligent tutoring systems (eg teaching of educational content, feedback);

3 / measurement and evaluation (eg, automatic grading, school engagement);

4 / and adaptive and personalized systems (eg, recommendation and selection of personalized content).

On the other hand, the ethical and critical issues raised by AI are little studied in higher education (Zawacki-Richter et al., 2019), and in education more broadly (Krutka, 2021). Wishing to contribute to this emerging reflection, we propose to address some ethical and critical issues of AI, without however claiming to be exhaustive, as well as to formulate some courses of action allowing them to be better taken into account, both from the point of view both in terms of design and use.

In doing so, it is important to keep in mind that the issues listed below are not, for the most part, specific to AI as they also arise for other technologies. What is more, they are found in other areas of society where AI is used. However, these issues tend to be amplified by current developments in AI and to be applied in a unique way in education, which in our view justifies the relevance of a reflection limited to AI in education.

Some ethical and critical issues of AI in education

The ethical and critical issues raised by AI in education are multiple and have diverse origins. A first type of issue is linked to the massive data that AI requires, which can induce possible biases and raise the question of respect for the privacy of students and school personnel (Andrejevic et al., 2020; Perrotta et al. ., 2020). Krutka (2021) takes the example of Google's education suite, which collects data without the free and informed consent of students and school staff (at odds with their own policies and those of provinces and states) and uses it in ways opaque. The data of students and school staff are therefore used without their knowledge, thus causing a breach of their privacy.

In addition, AI is mainly produced by private companies rather than by educational bodies (Williamson et al., 2020; Selwyn et al., 2020), and mainly studied by researchers in computer science or science, technology , engineering and mathematics rather than by researchers in educational sciences (Zawacki-Richter et al., 2019). This situation generates a second type of ethical and critical issue relating to the expertise and educational representations mobilized by the design teams.

Apart from education, several studies have already highlighted the lack of diversity within design teams, which results in representativeness biases ranging from the under-representation of certain social groups to their discrimination, stigmatization or exclusion. In 2015, the Google photos algorithm associated a photo of two black American people with the tag “gorillas”, for lack of sufficient training in identifying dark-skinned faces (Plenke, 2015). .

Finally, the increasing automation of AI means that the latter is able to take charge of an increasing share of the educational actions that usually fall to students and school staff (Selwyn, 2019). Another type of ethical and critical issue then arises relating to the autonomy and professional judgment of teachers, as well as to the agency of students according to the distribution of tasks between them and the AI.

As an example, let us cite the case of behavior management systems reported by Livingtsone and Sefton-Green (2016). Behavior management systems allow teachers to document harmful student behavior, which is then compiled and automatically reported to school administration for proportional consequences.

Due to a lack of time in the classroom, some teachers document behavior after class, sometimes without informing the students concerned. they do not remember, which undermines the very principles of consistency and justice in education.

Preventing ethical and critical issues in AI: from design to use

From these types of ethical and critical issues, it is possible to outline some avenues for reflection and action. First of all, these issues should be taken into account from the design phase, in order to prevent possible negative consequences during use as much as possible. We can then ask the following question: to what extent do design teams integrate expertise and educational representations when they develop technologies involving AI? And to what extent are these educational expertise and representations representative of the diversity and uniqueness of Quebec school environments?

A first step in ensuring this is for design teams to opt for “user-centric” models (eg, Labarthe, 210) in order to maximize the consideration of expertise and educational representations. and to preserve the educational purpose of the economic and technical ones. A complementary step is to adopt and respect ethical design principles, such as systematically and explicitly informing users when they are interacting with an artificial intelligence system.

In terms of use, making students and school staff aware of the challenges of AI in education involves integrating an explicit ethical and critical dimension into technology training. To be complete, this dimension would benefit from not being limited to the “good uses” of AI, but by focusing on understanding the interactions between the design and use of AI on the one hand, and between uses and their educational and social implications on the other hand.

For example, the technoethical model of Krutka et al. (2019) opens an interesting path in initial and in-service teacher training: to determine whether a given technology is ethical, it offers an analysis of the ethical, legal, democratic, economic, technological and educational dimensions, guided by questions, as well as elements to consider and practical applications to integrate into teacher training.

Not to conclude

The integration of AI in education is relatively recent, so the operationalization of its potential remains largely to come. To guide it, it seems necessary to us to accompany it with a proactive taking into account of the ethical and critical issues raised by AI, by anchoring the latter within the framework of a reflection on justice. As such, ethics training for school personnel deserves to be put forward in order to best equip them to intervene and interact in a rapidly changing world.

Bibliography

  • Andrejevic, M., and Selwyn, N. (2020). Facial recognition technology in schools: critical questions and concerns. Learning, Media and Technology, 45 (2), 115–128. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1686014
  • Becker, Brett. (2018). Artificial Intelligence in Education: What is it, Where is it Now, Where is it Going? In B. Mooney. Ireland's Yearbook of Education (pp. 42-46). Dublin: Education Matters.
  • Krutka, DG, Heath, MK, and Staudt Willet, KB (2019). Foregrounding technoethics: Toward critical perspectives in technology and teacher education. Journal of Technology and Teacher Education, 27 (4), 555–574
  • Krutka, DG, Smits, RM and Willhelm, TA (2021) Don't Be Evil: Should We Use Google in Schools ?. TechTrends. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11528-021-00599-4
  • Labarthe, Fabien, 2010, “Design and SHS in the user-centric innovation process: what reciprocal contributions? Escapes, 2, 14–25.
  • Perrotta, C., and Selwyn, N. (2020). Deep learning goes to school: toward a relational understanding of AI in education. Learning, Media and Technology, 45 (3), 251–269. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1686017
  • Plenke, M. (2015). Google just misidentified 2 African-Americans in the most racist way possible. Mic. Retrieved April 8, 2021 from: https://www.mic.com/articles/121555/google-photos-misidentifies-african-americans-as-gorillas
  • Selwyn, N. (2019). Should Robots Replace Teachers? AI and the Future of Education. Cambridge: Polity Press.
  • Selwyn, N., and Ga ević, D. (2020). The datafication of higher education: discussing the promises and problems. Teaching in Higher Education, 25 (4), 527–540. https://doi.org/10.1080/13562517.2019.1689388
  • Williamson, B., and Eynon, R. (2020). Historical threads, missing links, and future directions in AI in education. Learning, Media and Technology, 45 (3), 223–235. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1798995
  • Zawacki-Richter, O., Marín, VI, Bond, M., and Gouverneur, F. (2019). Systematic review of research on artificial intelligence applications in higher education - where are the educators? International Journal of Educational Technology in Higher Education, 16 (1), 1-27. https://doi.org/10.1186/s41239-019-0171-0

To cite this article

© Authors. This work, available at
http://dx.doi.org/10.18162/fp.2021.a230, is distributed
licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International license http://creativecommons.org/licences/by/4.0/deed.fr

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’intelligence artificielle en éducation : enjeux de justice

Dans ce texte, Simon Collin et Emmanuelle Marceau aborde l'intégration de l'IA en éducation. Selon eux, il devient nécessaire d'accompagner le personnel enseignant dans une prise en compte proactive des enjeux éthiques et critiques que l'IA soulève.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Par Simon Collin, Université du Québec à Montréal (Canada) et Emmanuelle Marceau, Cégep du Vieux Montréal-CRDP (Canada)

Introduction : potentiel del’intelligence artificielle pour l’éducation

L’intelligence artificielle (IA) suscite un intérêt pédagogique et scientifique croissant depuis une trentaine d’années, qui s’est accéléré récemment à la suite de l’amélioration de la performance technique de l’IA (Becker, 2018).

Dans leur revue systématique de la littérature, Zawacki-Richter et al. (2019) identifient quatre applications principales de l’IA en enseignement supérieur :

1/le profilage et la prédiction (p. ex., admission à un programme d’études, décrochage scolaire);

2/les systèmes de tutorat intelligent (p. ex., enseignement de contenus pédagogiques, rétroactions);

3/la mesure et l’évaluation (p. ex., notation automatique, engagement scolaire);

4/et les systèmes adaptatifs et personnalisés (p. ex., recommandation et sélection de contenus personnalisés).

En revanche, les enjeux éthiques et critiques que soulève l’IA sont peu étudiés en enseignement supérieur (Zawacki-Richter et al., 2019), et en éducation plus largement (Krutka, 2021). Souhaitant contribuer à cette réflexion émergente, nous proposons d’aborder quelques enjeux éthiques et critiques de l’IA, sans toutefois prétendre à l’exhaustivité, ainsi que de formuler quelques pistes d’action permettant de mieux les prendre en compte, tant du point de vue de la conception que de l’usage.

Ce faisant, il importe de garder en tête que les enjeux énumérés ci-dessous ne sont pas, pour la plupart, spécifiques à l’IA dans la mesure où ils se posent aussi pour d’autres technologies. Qui plus est, on les retrouve dans d’autres sphères de la société où l’IA est utilisée. Ces enjeux tendent toutefois à être amplifiés par les développements actuels de l’IA et à se décliner de manière singulière en éducation, ce qui justifie à notre sens la pertinence d’une réflexion circonscrite à l’IA en éducation.

Quelques enjeux éthiques et critiques de l’IA en éducation

Les enjeux éthiques et critiques que soulève l’IA en éducation sont multiples et ont des origines diverses. Un premier type d’enjeux est lié aux données massives que nécessite l’IA, lesquelles peuvent induire des biais éventuels et posent la question du respect de la vie privée des élèves et du personnel scolaire (Andrejevic et al., 2020 ; Perrotta et al., 2020). Krutka (2021) prend l’exemple de la suite éducative de Google, qui collecte des données sans consentement libre et éclairé des élèves et du personnel scolaire (en contradiction avec leurs propres politiques et celles des provinces et des états) et les exploite de manière opaque. Les données des élèves et du personnel scolaire sont donc utilisées à leur insu, causant ainsi un manquement au respect de leur vie privée.

Par ailleurs, l’IA est principalement produite par des entreprises privées plutôt que par des instances scolaires (Williamson et al., 2020 ; Selwyn et al., 2020), et principalement étudiée par des chercheur.e.s en informatique ou en sciences, technologies, ingénierie et mathématiques plutôt que par des chercheur.e.s en sciences de l’éducation (Zawacki-Richter et al., 2019). Cette situation génère un deuxième type d’enjeux éthiques et critiques relatif aux expertises et aux représentations éducatives mobilisées par les équipes de conception.

En dehors de l’éducation, plusieurs études ont déjà souligné le manque de diversité au sein des équipes de conception, ce qui se traduit par des biais de représentativité allant de la sous-représentation de certains groupes sociaux à leur discrimination, stigmatisation ou exclusion. C’est ainsi qu’en 2015, l’algorithme de Google photos a associé une photo de deux personnes noires américaines au tag « gorilles », faute d’avoir été suffisamment entraîné à identifier des visages à la peau foncée (Plenke, 2015).

Finalement, l’automatisation croissante de l’IA implique que cette dernière est en mesure de prendre en charge une part croissante des actions pédagogiques qui reviennent habituellement aux élèves et au personnel scolaire (Selwyn, 2019). Se pose alors un autre type d’enjeux éthiques et critiques relatifs à l’autonomie et au jugement professionnels des enseignantes et enseignants, ainsi qu’à l’agentivité des élèves en fonction de la distribution des tâches entre eux et l’IA.

À titre d’exemple, citons le cas des systèmes de gestion des comportements rapporté par Livingtsone et Sefton-Green (2016). Les systèmes de gestion des comportements permettent aux enseignant.e.s de documenter les comportements nuisibles des élèves, qui sont ensuite compilés et signalés automatiquement à l’administration scolaire en vue d’appliquer des conséquences proportionnelles.

Faute de temps en salle de classe, certain.e.s enseignant.e.s documentent les comportements après les cours, parfois sans en avoir informé les élèves concerné.e.s. Les élèves peuvent donc être mis.es en retrait pour une suite de comportements nuisibles dont elles ou ils n’ont pas souvenir, ce qui met à mal les principes mêmes de cohérence et de justice, en éducation.

Prévenir les enjeux éthiques et critiques de l’IA : de la conception à l’usage

De ces types d’enjeux éthiques et critiques, il est possible d’esquisser quelques pistes de réflexion et d’action. En premier lieu, ces enjeux gagnent à être pris en compte dès la phase de conception, afin de prévenir autant que possible des retombées négatives éventuelles lors de l’usage. On peut alors se poser la question suivante : dans quelle mesure les équipes de conception intègrent-elles des expertises et des représentations éducatives lorsqu’elles développent des technologies impliquant l’IA? Et dans quelle mesure ces expertises et représentations éducatives sont-elles représentatives de la diversité et de la singularité des milieux scolaires québécois?

Un premier pas pour s’en assurer consiste, pour les équipes de conception, à opter pour des modèles « centrés usager» (p. ex., Labarthe, 210) dans le but de maximiser la prise en compte des expertises et des représentations éducatives et de préserver la finalité éducative des finalités économiques et techniques. Un pas complémentaire consiste à adopter et respecter des principes éthiques de conception, comme le fait d’informer systématiquement et explicitement les usager.e.s lorsqu’elles ou ils sont en interaction avec un système d’intelligence artificielle.

Sur le plan de l’usage, sensibiliser les élèves et le personnel scolaire aux enjeux de l’IA en éducation implique d’intégrer une dimension éthique et critique explicite à la formation aux technologies. Pour être complète, cette dimension gagnerait à ne pas se limiter aux « bons usages » de l’IA, mais à s’articuler autour de la compréhension des interactions entre la conception et l’usage de l’IA d’une part, et entre les usages et leurs implications éducatives et sociales d’autre part.

Par exemple, le modèle technoéthique de Krutka et al. (2019) ouvre une voie intéressante en formation initiale et continue des enseignants : pour déterminer si une technologie donnée est éthique, il propose une analyse des dimensions éthique, légale, démocratique, économique, technologique et pédagogique, guidée par des questions, ainsi que des éléments à considérer et des applications pratiques à intégrer à la formation des enseignants.

Pour ne pas conclure

L’intégration de l’IA en éducation est relativement récente de sorte que l’opérationnalisation de son potentiel reste en grande partie à venir. Pour l’orienter, il nous semble nécessaire de l’accompagner d’une prise en compte proactive des enjeux éthiques et critiques que l’IA soulève, en ancrant cette dernière dans le cadre d’une réflexion sur la justice. À ce titre, une formation à l’éthique du personnel scolaire mérite d’être mise de l’avant afin de l’outiller au mieux pour intervenir et interagir dans un monde en pleine mouvance.

Bibliographie

  • Andrejevic, M., et Selwyn, N. (2020). Facial recognition technology in schools: critical questions and concerns. Learning,Media and Technology, 45(2), 115–128. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1686014
  • Becker, Brett. (2018). Artificial Intelligence in Education: What is it, Where is it Now, Where is it Going? In B. Mooney. Ireland’s Yearbook of Education (pp. 42-46). Dublin : Education Matters.
  • Krutka, D. G., Heath, M. K., et Staudt Willet, K. B. (2019). Foregrounding technoethics: Toward critical perspectives in technology and teacher education. Journal of Technology and Teacher Education, 27(4), 555–574
  • Krutka, D.G., Smits, R.M. et Willhelm, T.A. (2021) Don’t Be Evil : Should We Use Google in Schools?. TechTrends. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11528-021-00599-4
  • Labarthe, Fabien, 2010, « Design et SHS dans le processus d’innovation centrée-usager : quels apports réciproques? » Échappées, 2, 14–25.
  • Perrotta, C., et Selwyn, N. (2020). Deep learning goes to school: toward a relational understanding of AI in education. Learning, Media and Technology, 45(3), 251–269. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1686017
  • Plenke, M. (2015). Google just misidentified 2 African-Americans in the most racist way possible. Mic. Consulté le 8 avril 2021 à : https://www.mic.com/articles/121555/google-photos-misidentifies-african-americans-as-gorillas
  • Selwyn, N. (2019). Should Robots Replace Teachers? AI and the Future of Education. Cambridge : Polity Press.
  • Selwyn, N., et Ga ević, D. (2020). The datafication of higher education: discussing the promises and problems. Teaching in Higher Education, 25(4), 527–540. https://doi.org/10.1080/13562517.2019.1689388
  • Williamson, B., et Eynon, R. (2020). Historical threads, missing links, and future directions in AI in education. Learning, Media and Technology, 45(3), 223–235. https://doi.org/10.1080/17439884.2020.1798995
  • Zawacki-Richter, O., Marín, V. I., Bond, M., et Gouverneur, F. (2019). Systematic review of research on artificial intelligence applications in higher education – where are the educators? International Journal of Educational Technology in Higher Education, 16(1), 1-27. https://doi.org/10.1186/s41239-019-0171-0

Pour citer cet article

©Auteurs(es). Cette œuvre, disponible à
http://dx.doi.org/10.18162/fp.2021.a230, est distribuée
sous licence Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International http://creativecommons.org/licences/by/4.0/deed.fr

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!