Day 6 of the Quebec - Finland Expedition: the eight Sami seasons

A small new Lappish school, half Finnish, half Sami. Story of an extraordinary school adventure, on the 70th degree of north latitude, 450 km from the Arctic Circle.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Our collaborator Marc-André Girard is on an educational expedition to Finland and document it here!

We come to school Utsjokisuun koulu. It is dark as it has been dark for almost three weeks and it will be dark for more than a month. Indeed, it is polar night, the " kaamos And the sun stays down for about two full months. We are in Utsjoki, the northernmost municipality in Finland, in the middle of Lapland. A river separates Finland from Norway and we are about fifty kilometers from the northeast of Russia. It's the 70e north latitude and we are 450 km north of the Arctic Circle, just 60 km from the Barents Sea.

Utsjoki is both small and grandiose: a small town in itself, but the administrative capital of a county of about 1,400 inhabitants spread over more than 5,000 km2. To give an idea, Utsjoki is almost thirteen times the island of Montreal for 1400 times fewer inhabitants.

That morning, we arrive at school around 8:15 am. The weather is mild: -3 ° C, which is much better than the -30 ° C last week. It seems that we arrived at the right time! It is winter, one of the eight Sami seasons. For this indigenous people of northern Europe, there are indeed eight seasons: the four we know and the transition to next season. The Sami, living very close to nature, they observe changes, when, for example, the winter is not over, but the buds are already growing. At this time when spring and winter intermingle to give way, slowly, to a warmer season. It's the same between spring and summer, summer and fall, and ultimately fall and winter.

Young people arrive at school by bicycle, because the cycle paths are cleared of snow, or on foot, each dragging their big, heavy school bag, an inevitable fate of each student, whether Finnish or Quebecker.

We are greeted by music teacher Perttu Hiltunen, possibly one of the most northerly music specialists in the world! We then meet Pasi Oikarinen, director of the small school of 100 students distributed from kindergarten to 12e year. The school is new because roof insulation defects caused air quality problems and the old building had to close quickly to be rebuilt on the side of a fjeld, a small hill carved out by the passage glacier and indefinitely eroded by the elements. Obviously, the students smelled the good deal and they set up a running slide in a bare space on the hill. They certainly take a good 10 minute climb for a quick descent that leads to a large outdoor ice rink, well maintained by the city.

Today, it is Santa Lucia (or Saint Lucia), a Christian feast which marks the beginning of the Christmas holidays where light is in the spotlight, in this time of eternal twilight. According to the Christian calendar at the time, it would appear that December 13 is the day when the sun begins to set again later than the day before. This is purely traditional, because here the Sun neither sets nor rises earlier or later than the day before. The music begins, a song follows and a young blonde arrives on the stage with a procession of singers. The girl has a crown of candles, a symbol of the festival of light in the countries of northern Europe. Sounding like an incantation, the song will last about ten minutes and the ceremony will end like this, after a procession of Santa Lucia in the great hall. The school day can finally begin.

The school looks like a big house with dozens of small rooms that act as classrooms. Classes are small, barely 40m2, because there are very few students in these classes. In kindergarten, two little ones had fun together while another made gingerbread men in the adjacent room. In the other classes, they were less than ten students. In grade 12, a class was attended by only one student who spends the entire year in private with their teacher. As the principal said with a laugh, “Classes take place as long as there is not less than one student. Otherwise, it's not worth it ”! This house of education is also that of the Finns like that of the Sami, an indigenous people who have lived in Lapland for at least 10,000 years before our era. At school, half of the students are Sami. They are taught the Finnish curriculum in their mother tongue, which is Finland's third official language. Young Finns also choose to learn the Sami language as a third language, after English or Swedish. A ministerial test of mastery of the Sami language exists for graduates and, moreover, during our visit, two students were preparing for it. the sami flag is everywhere and pictures of the vastness of the Lappish nature are displayed everywhere on the walls. It's hard to forget that we are in Lapland, Sami land!

Given the vastness of the territory, the students come from all over the place. Some may take the bus, but the oldest, aged between 16 and 19, can, if they wish and if they come from far away, live in a residence across the street. It is the beginning of the high life for them and it is a practice for those who aspire to continue their studies at the university. The closest is that of Lapland, in Rovaniemi. There is, however, a project for a Sami University in northern Norway, which would specialize in studies related to Sami interests and traditions: tourism, management, forestry, education, etc. Eventually, if this project comes to an end, it will facilitate the university course of a good number of students.

In this large house, all the classes communicate with another class and they have large windows. Flexible furniture furnishes the classes to allow a variation in pedagogical approaches and give the student the choice of his working posture. Moreover, the premises lead Also on small common areas where students can gather. In the school, a small household is located in the same large room which also serves as a cafeteria. Students looking for peace and quiet can use it. The walls are insulated, but the two doors are glazed.

Teachers have multiple subjects on the schedule and they teach in multi-level groups, as is the case with all schools in remote communities no matter where they are in the world. They demonstrate both flexibility and creativity. They can also count on the support of some teaching assistants, in particular some of Sami origin.

Although we are far from the other schools that we visited, the Finnish culture in education is very present: benevolence, warmth, collaboration and mutual assistance, while the atmosphere is family and everyone walks “downhill”. Mutual aid, we have experienced it. After a three hour morning tour, we began our journey back south. Unfortunately, the school exit was cleared too much of the snow and the vehicle's right wheels got stuck in a ditch. In the blink of an eye, ten students came to push us out of our precarious position. Although the car moved, it was the snow plow with his tractor that got us out of this predicament. It seems that we are not the first and that we will not be the last to be caught. Everyone laughed at us heartily and we were able to take the road to continue our educational adventures.

It is quite unusual to drive a car in the dark, in broad daylight. In front, the headlights illuminate the road and allow us to stay on it, even if sometimes the span crosses a lake and it is nothingness left, right and behind. The rearview mirror does not return any image to us. It is probably nothingness ahead too, but the headlights, constantly "on the high" reveal to us the vegetation which is stunted and snowy, as we try to avoid the twenty or so reindeer crossing the icy road or taking it. them too to go elsewhere. This is Lapland!

To track the shipment:

Facebook page : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter: https://twitter.com/magirard
Youtube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok: https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

You can also contribute to the financing of the Expedition (until December 22): https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(Editor's note: The École branchée is happy to be a media partner of this expedition! Note that we are not, however, associated with the fundraising campaign.)

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard holds a bachelor's degree in humanities education (1999), a master's degree in history teaching (2003) and a master's degree in educational management (2013). He is currently a doctoral student in school administration. He specializes in change management in schools as well as in educational leadership. He is also interested in 21st century skills to be developed in education. He holds a managerial position in a public primary school and gives lectures on educational leadership, pedagogical approaches, change in the school environment as well as on the professionalization of teaching. He took part in educational expeditions to France, Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Morocco. In September 2014, he published the book “Le change en milieu scolaire québécois” with Éditions Reynald Goulet and, in 2019, he published a trilogy on the school of the 21st century with the same publisher. He frequently collaborates with L'École branchée on educational issues. He is very involved in everything that surrounds the professional development of teachers and school administrators as well as the integration of ICT in education. In March 2016, he received a CHAPO award from AQUOPS for his overall involvement.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Jour 6 de l’Expédition Québec – Finlande : les huit saisons samies

Une petite école laponne neuve, moitié finlandaise, moitié samie. Récit d'une aventure scolaire hors du commun, sur le 70e degré de latitude nord, à 450 km du Cercle polaire arctique.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Notre collaborateur Marc-André Girard effectue une expédition pédagogique en Finlande et la documente ici!

Nous arrivons à l’école Utsjokisuun koulu. Il fait nuit comme il fait nuit depuis presque trois semaines et comme il fera nuit encore plus d’un mois. En effet, c’est la nuit polaire, le « kaamos » et le soleil reste couché environ deux mois complets. Nous sommes à Utsjoki, la municipalité la plus septentrionale de Finlande, en pleine Laponie. Un fleuve sépare la Finlande de la Norvège et nous sommes à une cinquantaine de kilomètres du nord-est de la Russie. C’est le 70e degré de latitude nord et nous sommes à 450 km au nord du Cercle polaire arctique, à peine à 60 km de la mer de Barents.

Utsjoki, c’est à la fois petit et grandiose : une petite bourgade en soi, mais le chef-lieu administratif d’un comté d’environ 1400 habitants répartis sur plus de 5000 km2. Pour donner une idée, Utsjoki, c’est près de treize fois l’île de Montréal pour 1400 fois moins d’habitants.

Ce matin-là, nous arrivons à l’école vers 8h15. Il fait doux : -3°C, ce qui est beaucoup mieux que le -30°C de la semaine dernière. Parait-il que nous sommes arrivés au bon moment! C’est l’hiver, une des huit saisons samies. Pour ce peuple autochtone du nord de l’Europe, il existe bel et bien huit saisons : les quatre que nous connaissons et la transition vers la saison prochaine. Les Samis, vivant très près de la nature, ils observent des changements, quand, par exemple, l’hiver n’est pas terminé, mais que les bourgeons poussent déjà. À ce moment où le printemps et l’hiver s’entremêlent pour céder, lentement, le pas à une saison plus chaude. C’est la même chose entre le printemps et l’été, l’été et l’automne et, finalement, l’automne et l’hiver.

Les jeunes arrivent à l’école à vélo, car les pistes cyclables sont déneigées, ou à pied, chacun trainant son gros sac d’école lourd, destin inéluctable de chaque élève, qu’il soit Finlandais ou Québécois.

Nous sommes accueillis par l’enseignant de musique, Perttu Hiltunen, probablement l’un des spécialistes de musique des plus septentrionaux au monde! Nous rencontrons ensuite Pasi Oikarinen, directeur de la petite école de 100 élèves répartis de la maternelle à la 12e année. L’école est neuve, car des vices d’isolation du toit ont causé des problèmes de qualité de l’air et l’ancien bâtiment a dû fermer rapidement pour être reconstruit au flanc d’un fjeld, une petite colline creusée par le passage d’un glacier et érodée indéfiniment par les éléments. Évidemment, les élèves ont flairé la bonne affaire et ils ont aménagé une glissade de course dans un espace dégarni de la colline. Ils prennent certainement un bon 10 minutes de montée pour une descente rapide qui mène jusqu’à une grande patinoire extérieure, bien entretenue par la ville.

Aujourd’hui, c’est la Santa Lucia (ou Sainte-Lucie), une fête chrétienne qui marque le début des Fêtes de Noël où la lumière est à l’honneur, en ce temps de pénombre éternelle. Selon le calendrier chrétien de l’époque, il semblerait que le 13 décembre soit la journée qui marque le moment où le soleil recommence à se coucher plus tard que la veille. C’est purement traditionnel, car, ici, le Soleil ne se couche ni se lève plus tôt ou plus tard que la veille. La musique débute, un chant suit et une jeune blonde arrive sur la scène avec un cortège de chanteurs. La jeune fille a une couronne de chandelles, symbole de la fête de la lumière dans les pays du nord de l’Europe. Sonnant comme une incantation, la chanson durera une dizaine de minutes et la cérémonie se terminera ainsi, après une procession de Santa Lucia dans la grande salle. La journée d’école peut enfin commencer.

L’école ressemble à une grande maison avec des dizaines de petites pièces qui font office de classes. Les classes sont petites, à peine 40m2, car il y a bien peu d’élèves dans ces classes. En maternelle, deux petites s’amusaient ensemble pendant qu’une autre faisait des bonshommes en pain d’épices dans la pièce adjacente. Dans les autres classes, ils étaient moins d’une dizaine d’élèves. En 12e année, une classe n’était fréquentée que par un seul élève qui passe l’année complète en privé avec son enseignant. Comme le disait le directeur en riant, « les cours ont lieu tant qu’il n’y a pas moins d’un élève. Sinon, ça ne vaut pas la peine »! Cette maison d’éducation, c’est aussi celle des Finlandais comme celle des Samis, un peuple autochtone qui habite la Laponie depuis au moins 10 000 ans avant notre ère. À l’école, la moitié des élèves sont samis. Le cursus finlandais leur est enseigné dans leur langue maternelle qui est la troisième langue officielle de la Finlande. Des jeunes finlandais choisissent aussi d’apprendre la langue samie comme langue tierce, après l’anglais ou le suédois. Une épreuve ministérielle de maîtrise de la langue samie existe pour les finissants et, d’ailleurs, lors de notre passage, deux élèves s’y préparaient. Le drapeau sami y est omniprésent et des photos de la vastitude de la nature lapone sont affichés partout aux murs. Difficile d’oublier que nous sommes en Laponie, terre samie!

Vu l’immensité du territoire, les élèves viennent d’un peu partout. Certains peuvent prendre l’autobus, mais les plus vieux, âgés entre 16 et 19 ans peuvent, s’ils le souhaitent et s’ils viennent de loin, habiter en résidence de l’autre côté de la rue. C’est le début de la grande vie pour eux et c’est une pratique pour ceux qui aspirent à poursuivre leurs études à l’université. La plus proche est celle de Laponie, à Rovaniemi. Il y a toutefois un projet d’Université samie au nord de la Norvège, laquelle se spécialiserait dans des études en lien avec les intérêts et traditions samies : tourisme, gestion, foresterie, éducation, etc. Éventuellement, si ce projet vient à terme, cela facilitera le parcours universitaire de bon nombre d’élèves.

Dans cette grande maison, toutes les classes communiquent avec une autre classe et elles sont dotées de grandes fenêtres. Du mobilier flexible meuble les classes pour permettre une variation des approches pédagogiques et donner à l’élève le choix de sa posture de travail. D’ailleurs, les locaux débouchent aussi sur de petites aires communes où les élèves peuvent se rassembler. Dans l’école, une petite maisonnée est sise à même la grande salle qui sert aussi de cafétéria. Les élèves en quête de tranquillité peuvent l’utiliser. Les murs sont isolés, mais les deux portes sont vitrées.

Les enseignants ont plusieurs matières à l’horaire et ils enseignent des groupes multiniveaux, comme c’est le cas pour toutes les écoles dans les communautés éloignées peu importe où elles se trouvent dans le monde. Ils font preuve à la fois de flexibilité et de créativité. Ils peuvent aussi compter sur le soutien de quelques aides-enseignants, notamment quelques-uns d’origine samie.

Malgré que nous soyons loin des autres écoles que nous avons visitées, la culture finlandaise en éducation est bien présente : bienveillance, chaleur, collaboration et entraide, alors que l’ambiance est familiale et que tous se promènent en « pied de bas ». L’entraide, nous l’avons vécue. Après trois heures de visite matinale, nous avons amorcé notre voyage de retour vers le sud. Malheureusement, la sortie de l’école était déneigée trop largement et les roues de droite du véhicule se sont enlisées dans un fossé. En un clin d’oeil, une dizaine d’élèves sont venus pousser pour nous sortir de notre position précaire. Bien que la voiture ait bougé, c’est le déneigeur avec son tracteur qui nous a sortis de cette fâcheuse situation. Parait-il que nous ne sommes pas les premiers et que nous ne serons pas les derniers à nous faire prendre. Tous riaient de nous de bon coeur et nous avons pu prendre la route vers la poursuite de nos aventures pédagogiques.

C’est assez singulier de conduire une voiture dans le noir, en plein jour. Devant, les phares éclairent la route et nous permettent de rester dessus, même si parfois la travée traverse un lac et que c’est le néant à gauche, à droite et derrière. Le rétroviseur ne nous renvoie aucune image. C’est probablement le néant devant aussi, mais les phares, constamment « sur les hautes » nous révèlent la végétation qui est rabougrie et enneigée, alors que nous tentons d’éviter la vingtaine de rennes qui traversent la route glacée ou qui l’empruntent eux aussi pour aller ailleurs. C’est ça la Laponie!

Pour suivre l’expédition :

Page Facebook : http://t.ly/kkgE
Twitter : https://twitter.com/magirard
YouTube : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCxHRXb4TqoPP_lyO0GNEh7g
TikTok : https://vm.tiktok.com/ZM8pPbFAk/

Il vous est aussi possible de contribuer au financement de l’Expédition (jusqu’au 22 décembre) : https://gofund.me/4cafa552

(NDLR : L’École branchée est heureuse d’être partenaire média de cette expédition! Notez que nous ne sommes toutefois pas associés à la campagne de financement.)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Marc-André Girard
Marc-André Girard est détenteur d’un baccalauréat en enseignement des sciences humaines (1999), d’une maitrise en didactique de l’histoire (2003) et d’une maitrise en gestion de l’éducation (2013). Il est actuellement doctorant en administration scolaire. Il s’est spécialisé en gestion du changement en milieu scolaire ainsi qu’en leadership pédagogique. Il s’intéresse également aux compétences du 21e siècle à développer en éducation. Il occupe un poste de direction dans une école primaire publique et donne des conférences sur le leadership en éducation, les approches pédagonumériques, le changement en milieu scolaire ainsi que sur la professionnalisation de l’enseignement. Il a participé à des expéditions pédagogiques en France, en Finlande, en Suède, au Danemark et au Maroc. En septembre 2014, il a publié le livre « Le changement en milieu scolaire québécois » aux Éditions Reynald Goulet et, en 2019, il a publié une trilogie portant sur l'école du 21e siècle chez le même éditeur. Il collabore fréquemment à L’École branchée sur les questions relatives à l’éducation. Il est très impliqué dans tout ce qui entoure le développement professionnel des enseignants et des directions d'école ainsi que l’intégration des TIC à l’éducation. En mars 2016, il a reçu un prix CHAPO de l’AQUOPS pour l’ensemble de son implication.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :