ADVERTISEMENT

Operation #MonOrdiAuLycée: French high school students receive laptops

As part of Operation #MonOrdiAuLycée, 50,000 French second year students (4th year of secondary school in Quebec) attending public and private regional high schools in the Pays de la Loire region received a brand new laptop computer during the fall.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

As part of Operation #MonOrdiAuLycée, 50,000 French second year students (4th year of secondary school in Quebec) attending public and private regional high schools in the Pays de la Loire region received a brand new laptop computer during the fall. This is an initiative of the region, which thus wishes to promote equity in terms of access to IT equipment.

“Over the past year, we have learned that many high school students can only attend classes remotely from their cell phones. Imagine the challenge for them! The pandemic has highlighted the inequalities between families. We have chosen to help reduce this digital divide, ”Constance Nebbula told us when the École branchée met her in Angers as part of the Connected Week. She is a municipal councilor responsible for digital in Angers and also vice-president of the Regional Council. She herself participated in the distribution of computers in schools, in schools, with many colleagues and the president of the Regional Council.

The implementation of the measure represents a financial investment of some 24 million euros for the Pays de la Loire. In addition, it is planned that the operation will be repeated every year, so that in 3 years, all high school students in this region will be equipped with a computer. Students in the 1st year of the Vocational Aptitude Certificate are also concerned. As the devices belong to the pupils, they will be able to follow them throughout their schooling, and even afterwards.

In fact, the initiative of the Pays de la Loire Region follows the provision of budgetary envelopes intended for the implementation of digital infrastructure projects on the European Union side (a program that had started before pandemic). The Region proposed its project which was selected. Other French regions had already implemented similar measures, including Île-de-France and Brittany. 

Note that in France, the regions are responsible for providing resources to high school students. For Quebec, it is a little as if a regional Table of municipal officials chose to buy computers for secondary school students, but we do not have the same administrative structures.

Devices, technical support and resources 

Constance Nebbula explains that each computer has been identified with a bar code that is unique to it in order to avoid the resale of the devices. “Obviously, there will always be smart kids trying to do it, but we can spot some on Marketplace or other online platforms. "

More interesting, according to her, a regional technical support service has been set up to support young people and parents in the use of computers. In case of problems, they can communicate with the technicians. Particular attention is paid to the prevention of cybersecurity among families. A usage charter is also signed by the young person and his parents.

In addition, the computers (HP ProBook 440 G8, 14-inch screen, supplied with power cable and protective cover) were equipped with software (including Microsoft's Office suite) and certain educational applications (Audacity, EduPython, GeoGebra, Scratch, Stellarium, etc.). Shortcuts are also available to access a space dedicated to guidance, which includes direct access to the site. Choisirmonstage.fr

“For us, it was important that these devices contain relevant resources for young people, which will support them in their studies and may become a springboard for some. For example, direct access to educational guidance resources could lead young people to discover new professional possibilities, ”explains Ms. Nebbula.

While the computers were first distributed in an effort to equip families, it is not excluded that students could bring the devices to school. However, for the moment, no measures are planned for teachers or for their use in the classroom. “Such a project should be initiated by the Ministry of National Education. For our part, we make sure that young people can complete their schoolwork from home or attend classes online, as needed. In doing so, we offer better chances of success for young people in the region, ”concludes Ms. Nebbula.

Learn more about the measurement: 

A laptop computer provided by the Region to second and first year CAP students

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Opération #MonOrdiAuLycée : Des lycéens français reçoivent des ordinateurs portables

Dans le cadre de l’Opération #MonOrdiAuLycée, 50 000 élèves français de Seconde (4e année du secondaire au Québec) fréquentant des lycées régionaux publics et privés de la région des Pays de la Loire ont reçu un ordinateur portable tout neuf au cours de l’automne.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Dans le cadre de l’Opération #MonOrdiAuLycée, 50 000 élèves français de Seconde (4e année du secondaire au Québec) fréquentant des lycées régionaux publics et privés de la région des Pays de la Loire ont reçu un ordinateur portable tout neuf au cours de l’automne. Il s’agit d’une initiative de la région, qui souhaite ainsi favoriser l’équité en matière d’accès aux équipements informatiques.

« Au cours de la dernière année, nous avons été informés que de nombreux lycéens ne pouvaient assister à leurs cours à distance qu’à partir de leur téléphone portable. Imaginez le défi pour eux! La pandémie a mis en évidence les inégalités entre les familles. Nous avons choisi de contribuer à réduire cette fracture numérique », nous a indiqué Constance Nebbula lorsque l’École branchée l’a rencontrée à Angers dans le cadre de la Connected Week. Elle est conseillère municipale responsable du numérique à Angers et également vice-présidente du Conseil régional. Elle a elle-même participé à la distribution des ordinateurs dans les écoles, dans les écoles, avec de nombreux collègues et la présidente du Conseil régional.

La mise en œuvre de la mesure représente un investissement financier de quelque 24 millions d’euros pour les Pays de la Loire. De plus, il est prévu que l’opération soit reconduite chaque année, de sorte qu’en 3 ans, tous les lycéens de cette région seront équipés d’un ordinateur. Les élèves de 1re année du Certificat d’aptitude professionnelle sont aussi concernés. Comme les appareils appartiennent aux élèves, ceux-ci pourront les suivre tout au long de leur scolarité, et même après.

En fait, l’initiative de la Région des Pays de la Loire fait suite à la mise à disposition d’enveloppes budgétaires destinées à la mise en place de projet d’infrastructures numériques du côté de l’Union européenne (programme qui avait débuté avant la pandémie). La Région a proposé son projet qui a été retenu. D’autres régions françaises avaient déjà mis en place des mesures semblables, dont l’Île-de-France et la Bretagne. 

Précisons qu’en France, ce sont les régions qui sont responsables de fournir des ressources aux lycéens. Pour le Québec, c’est un peu comme si une Table régionale d’élus municipaux choisissait d’acheter des ordinateurs pour les élèves du secondaire, mais nous n’avons pas les mêmes structures administratives.

Des appareils, du soutien technique et des ressources 

Constance Nebbula explique que chaque ordinateur a été identifié d’un code barre qui lui est unique afin d’éviter la revente des appareils. « Évidemment, il y aura toujours des petits malins qui tenteront de le faire, mais nous pourrons en repérer certains sur Marketplace ou autres plateformes en ligne. »

Plus intéressant, selon elle, un service de soutien technique régional a été mis en place afin d’accompagner les jeunes et les parents dans l’utilisation des ordinateurs. En cas de problèmes, ils peuvent communiquer avec les techniciens. Une attention particulière est portée à la prévention de la cybersécurité auprès des familles. Une charte d’usage est aussi signée par le jeune et ses parents.

Par ailleurs, les ordinateurs (HP ProBook 440 G8, écran 14 pouces, fournis avec câble d’alimentation et housse de protection) ont été équipés de logiciels (dont la suite Office de Microsoft) et certaines applications pédagogiques (Audacity, EduPython, GeoGebra, Scratch, Stellarium, etc.). Des raccourcis sont aussi disponibles pour accéder à un espace dédié à l’orientation, qui comprend notamment un accès direct au site Choisirmonstage.fr

« Pour nous, c’était important que ces appareils contiennent des ressources pertinentes pour les jeunes, qui les accompagneront dans leurs études et pourront devenir un tremplin pour certains. Par exemple, l’accès direct à des ressources d’orientation scolaire pourrait amener des jeunes à découvrir de nouvelles possibilités professionnelles », explique Mme Nebbula.

Si les ordinateurs ont d’abord été distribués dans un effort visant à équiper les familles, il n’est pas exclu que les élèves puissent apporter les appareils à l’école. Par contre, pour le moment, aucune mesure n’est prévue à l’intention des enseignants ou pour leur  utilisation en classe. « Un tel projet devrait être initié par le ministère de l’Éducation nationale. Pour notre part, nous nous assurons que les jeunes puissent compléter leurs travaux scolaires de la maison ou assister à des cours en ligne, au besoin. Ce faisant, nous offrons de meilleures chances de réussite aux jeunes de la région », conclut Mme Nebbula.

En savoir plus sur le mesure : 

Un ordinateur portable fourni par la Région aux élèves de seconde et de 1ère année de CAP

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :