ADVERTISEMENT

Winners of the friendly programming and robotics competition rewarded

Last February, we told you about the 2022 edition of the educational services computer programming contest of the Centre de services scolaires (CSS) de la Capitale. Just before the end of classes, we had the opportunity to participate in an activity with the winning teams.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Last February, we announced you that it was time to register for the 2022 edition of the Educational Services Computer Programming Contest at the Centre de services scolaires (CSS) de la Capitale. Just before classes ended, we had the opportunity to participate in an activity with the winning teams.

Since the first competition in 2018, nearly 200 elementary students and about 40 teachers have been introduced to programming and robotics. Participating teachers receive coaching from CSS educational consultants.

Although most of the competition's editions have been experienced differently (due to the pandemic), the essence remains the same. Martin Baril, pedagogical advisor at the CSS, proposes a course to the teams. The goal is then to build a robot and make it travel as fast as possible along this path.

In this year's context, teachers had to film the teams and send the best time video sequence to the contest organizers. Two teams were then declared winners, one for the programming component and one for the robotics component.

As luck would have it (or was it their teacher's magic?), the two winning teams of the contest were in the class of Félix-Antoine Sauvageau, from the CSS de la Capitale's L'Odyssée school.

Reward activity

On June 14, 2022, the two winning teams were invited to visit the NorLAB research laboratory, which specializes in robotics, at Université Laval. The students were able to manipulate a giant robot outside, follow its statistical data on a screen, discuss with students and take a tour of the laboratory facilities.  

Throughout the event, the young (and not so young) enjoyed the students' energy and exploring the facilities. (Psstt! We are told that a snow shoveling robot is under construction and will be tested next winter. Interesting, isn't it?)

What better way to keep track of the activity than with pictures!

The programming and robotics contest will be back for 2023. Even though it is initiated by pedagogical advisors of the Centre de services scolaires de la Capitale, classes from all over Quebec are invited to participate.

Watch the contest website.

To (re)read the article that presented the contest : A friendly programming and robotics competition

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les gagnants du concours amical de programmation et de robotique récompensés

En février dernier, nous vous avions parlé de l’édition 2022 du concours de programmation informatique des services éducatifs du Centre de services scolaire (CSS) de la Capitale. Juste avant la fin des classes, nous avons eu l’occasion de participer à une activité avec les équipes gagnantes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

En février dernier, nous vous annoncions qu’il était temps de s’inscrire à l’édition 2022 du concours de programmation informatique des services éducatifs du Centre de services scolaire (CSS) de la Capitale. Juste avant la fin des classes, nous avons eu l’occasion de participer à une activité avec les équipes gagnantes.

Depuis la première édition du concours en 2018, près de 200 élèves du primaire et une quarantaine de membres du personnel enseignant ont été amenés à se familiariser avec la programmation et la robotique. Les enseignants participants reçoivent de l’accompagnement de la part des conseillers pédagogiques du CSS.

Bien que les éditions du concours aient presque toutes été vécues de façon différente (en raison de la pandémie), l’essence demeure la même. Martin Baril, conseiller pédagogique au CSS, propose un parcours aux équipes. Le but est ensuite de fabriquer un robot et de lui faire parcourir le plus rapidement possible ce trajet.

Dans le contexte de cette année, les enseignantes et enseignants devaient filmer les équipes et faire parvenir la séquence vidéo du meilleur temps aux organisateurs du concours. Deux équipes ont ensuite été déclarées vainqueuses, une pour le volet programmation et une pour le volet robotique.

Le hasard (ou bien est-ce que ce serait la magie de leur enseignant?) a fait que les deux équipes gagnantes du concours étaient dans la classe de Félix-Antoine Sauvageau, de l’école L’Odyssée du CSS de la Capitale.

Activité récompense

C’est ainsi que le 14 juin 2022, les deux équipes gagnantes étaient conviées à une visite au laboratoire de recherche NorLAB, spécialisé en robotique, à l’Université Laval. Les élèves ont pu manipuler un robot format géant à l’extérieur, suivre ses données statistiques sur un écran, discuter avec des étudiants et faire le tour des installations du laboratoire.  

Tout au long de l’activité, les jeunes (et les moins jeunes) ont apprécié le dynamisme des étudiants et la découverte des installations. (Psstt! On nous dit qu’un robot pelleteur de neige est en construction et sera testé l’hiver prochain. Intéressant, n’est-ce-pas?)

Quoi de mieux que des images pour garder des traces de l’activité!

Le concours de programmation et de robotique sera de retour pour 2023. Même s’il est initié par des conseillers pédagogiques du Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale, les classes de partout au Québec sont invitées à y participer.

Surveillez le site web du concours.

Pour (re)lire l’article qui présentait le concours : Un concours amical de programmation et de robotique

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :