A friendly programming and robotics competition

Since 2018, the educational services of the Center de services scolaire de la Capitale have offered teachers a computer programming contest that targets the deployment of a digital culture in its establishments. It's time to register for the 2022 edition.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Martin Baril, Pedagogical Advisor for Mathematics
Capital School Service Center (CSS)
with the collaboration of Sonya Fiset, educational advisor
National service of RÉCIT, field of mathematics, science and technology and Martine Bélanger, educational advisor of RÉCIT, CSS de la Capitale.

Since 2018, the educational services of the Center de services scolaire de la Capitale have offered teachers a computer programming contest that targets the deployment of a digital culture in its establishments. More specifically, the competition is intended to be an important lever for the development of programming skills, both among students and teachers.

The deployment of the annual competition is divided into four stages: registration, support, final and recognition. The solicitation for registration is done by targeted emails and through a website. The latter offers some explanations, the challenge to be carried out and the prizes. 

Scan the code to access the contest site.

To promote adherence, examples are provided. The languages used are of the block programming type. Discover the website of the 2020-2021 and 2021-2022 editions.

The accompaniment by educational advisers remains an essential element to promote the adherence and participation of teachers. Thus, two or three meetings are planned to present the programming platform and introduce participants to basic concepts such as sequential and parallel programming, iterative and decisive structures, the use of variables, troubleshooting and management. sensors in the case of robotics. 

Teachers are encouraged to identify expert students in their class who have the potential to become resources for their peers. Some students quickly become better than the teacher. It can be destabilizing, but we must focus on all the help that can be given!  

Courtesy Martin Baril

action research

For the 2021-2022 and 2022-2023 editions, the support that prepares for the CSS de la Capitale competition is part, among other things, of a research-action carried out in collaboration with the University of Quebec in Montreal. (UQAM) and led by Professor Fabienne Venant, from the Mathematics Department. 

This association makes it possible to work on programming/robotics in connection with the concepts and processes of the Quebec School Education Program (PFÉQ) in the field of mathematics, science and technology. It broadens and enriches the professional expertise as well as the financial support of the competition through the professional development of teachers, the main benefit of this association. 

In this sense, action research promotes the updating of effective practices in the integration of computer programming in the classroom and the exploration of new modes of continuing education around these practices.

Courtesy Martin Baril

Model evolution

The final is the third stage of the deployment. Due to the pandemic, the completion of this step had to be redesigned to ensure it is safe for everyone. It is in this context that the 3e edition of the programming competition (2019-2020) was canceled in March 2020. At that time, respect for class bubbles did not allow gatherings as for the 2017-2018 and 2018-2019 editions. For this year, we have reviewed the organization of the final, and it can now be held, respecting the pandemic reality and ensuring the safety of the participants.   

In this perspective, the challenge of the friendly contest does not require a major infrastructure, it is measured in time and takes place entirely at the participants' school. To determine the best time, each teacher must plan, with the organization of the competition, the moment (date and time) when the participating students perform.

The teacher plays the role of referee by filming the participants while ensuring that the date and time of the moment are illustrated and that the execution time is rigorously measured. The teacher then sends the organization the video sequence of the best time so that the winner is proclaimed among all the participants. This adjustment also made it possible to open up the friendly competition to classes outside the CSS de la Capitale.

Recognition is the fourth and final stage of the competition. The class of the winner(s) is entitled to a visit to the NorLAB research laboratory, specialized in robotics, at Laval University. During this visit, the students attend demonstrations, and certain handling privileges are granted to the winners. Participation prizes are also offered to finalists and teachers who participate with their students.

Courtesy Martin Baril

Since the 1st edition, more than 150 students took part in the competition. More than 40 teachers got involved, several of them repeated the experience. For the CSS de la Capitale, it is reasonable to believe that the event is an excellent lever for developing programming skills. It is in this perspective that the organization envisions a promising future.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un concours amical de programmation et de robotique

Depuis 2018, les services éducatifs du Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale proposent aux enseignants un concours de programmation informatique qui cible le déploiement d’une culture du numérique dans ses établissements. Il est temps de s'inscrire pour l'édition 2022.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par Martin Baril, conseiller pédagogique pour la mathématique
Centre de services scolaire (CSS) de la Capitale
avec la collaboration de Sonya Fiset, conseillère pédagogique
Service national du RÉCIT, domaine de la mathématique, de la science et technologie et Martine Bélanger, conseillère pédagogique du RÉCIT, CSS de la Capitale.

Depuis 2018, les services éducatifs du Centre de services scolaire de la Capitale proposent aux enseignants un concours de programmation informatique qui cible le déploiement d’une culture du numérique dans ses établissements. Plus particulièrement, le concours se veut un levier important pour le développement de la compétence à programmer, tant chez les élèves que chez les enseignants.

Le déploiement du concours annuel se décline en quatre étapes : l’inscription, l’accompagnement, la finale et la reconnaissance. La sollicitation pour l’inscription se fait par courriels ciblés et par l’entremise d’un site Web. Ce dernier propose quelques explications, le défi à réaliser et les prix. 

Balayez le code pour accéder au site du concours.

Pour favoriser l’adhésion, des exemples sont proposés. Les langages utilisés sont du type programmation par blocs. Découvrez le site web des éditions 2020-2021 et 2021-2022.

L’accompagnement par des conseillers pédagogiques demeure un élément incontournable pour favoriser l’adhésion et la participation des enseignants. C’est ainsi que deux ou trois rencontres sont planifiées pour présenter la plateforme de programmation et initier les participants aux concepts de base tels que la programmation séquentielle et parallèle, les structures itérative et décisive, l’utilisation des variables, le dépannage et la gestion des capteurs dans le cas de la robotique. 

Les enseignants sont amenés à identifier dans leur classe les élèves experts qui ont le potentiel de devenir des ressources pour leurs pairs. Certains élèves deviennent d’ailleurs rapidement meilleurs que l’enseignant. Cela peut être déstabilisant, mais il faut se concentrer sur toute l’aide qui pourra être apportée!  

Courtoisie Martin Baril

Une recherche-action

Pour les éditions 2021-2022 et 2022-2023, l’accompagnement qui prépare au concours du CSS de la Capitale s’inscrit, entre autres, dans le cadre d’une recherche-action réalisée en collaboration avec l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) et dirigée par la professeure Fabienne Venant, du département de mathématiques. 

Cette association permet de travailler la programmation/robotique en lien avec des concepts et des processus du Programme de formation de l’école québécoise (PFÉQ) dans le domaine de la mathématique, de la science et de la technologie. Elle élargit et enrichit l’expertise professionnelle ainsi que le soutien financier du concours par le biais du développement professionnel des enseignants, principale retombée de cette association. 

En ce sens, la recherche-action favorise la mise à jour des pratiques efficaces dans l’intégration de la programmation informatique en classe et l’exploration de nouveaux modes de formation continue autour de ces pratiques.

Courtoisie Martin Baril

Évolution du modèle

La finale constitue la troisième étape du déploiement. En raison de la pandémie, la réalisation de cette étape a dû être repensée pour s’assurer qu’elle est sécuritaire pour tous. C’est dans ce contexte que la 3e édition du concours de programmation (2019-2020) a été annulée en mars 2020. À ce moment, le respect des bulles-classes ne permettait pas les rassemblements comme pour les éditions 2017-2018 et 2018-2019. Pour cette année, nous avons revu l’organisation de la finale, et elle peut maintenant se tenir, en respectant la réalité pandémique et en assurant la sécurité des participants.   

Dans cette perspective, le défi du concours amical ne nécessite pas d’infrastructure importante, il se mesure en temps et se déroule entièrement à l’école des participants. Pour déterminer le meilleur temps, chaque enseignant doit planifier, avec l’organisation du concours, le moment (date et heure) où les élèves participants s’exécutent.

L’enseignant joue le rôle d’arbitre en filmant les participants tout en s’assurant que la date et l’heure du moment sont illustrées et que le temps d’exécution est mesuré avec rigueur. L’enseignant fait ensuite parvenir à l’organisation la séquence vidéo du meilleur temps pour que le gagnant soit proclamé parmi tous les participants. Cet ajustement a permis également d’ouvrir le concours amical à des classes extérieures au CSS de la Capitale.

La reconnaissance constitue la quatrième et dernière étape du concours. La classe du ou des gagnants a droit à une visite au laboratoire de recherche NorLAB, spécialisé en robotique,à l’Université Laval. Durant cette visite, les élèves assistent à des démonstrations, et certains privilèges de manipulation sont accordés aux gagnants. Des prix de participation sont également offerts aux finalistes et aux enseignants qui participent avec leurs élèves.

Courtoisie Martin Baril

Depuis la 1re édition, plus de 150 élèves ont participé au concours. Au-delà de 40 enseignants s’y sont impliqués, plusieurs d’entre eux ont renouvelé l’expérience. Pour le CSS de la Capitale, il est permis de croire que l’événement constitue un excellent levier pour développer la compétence à programmer. C’est dans cette perspective que l’organisation envisage un avenir prometteur.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :