ADVERTISEMENT

Ethical issues related to the use of digital technology for evaluation

Some ethical issues arise when it comes to assessment using digital tools in education. The topic recently made headlines when students were allowed to use the Usito dictionary on the Secondary 5 writing exam. "What if we started by deconstructing the concept of assessment?" is the question a group of researchers is asking. They recently discussed it at the Acfas conference.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (1)
ADVERTISEMENT

Some ethical issues arise when it comes to assessment using digital tools in education. The topic recently made headlines when students were allowed to use the Usito dictionary on the 5e secondary. "What if we started by deconstructing the concept of evaluation?" is the question a group of researchers is asking. They recently discussed it at the Acfas conference.

Nicole Monney, a professor at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, is categorical: "Today, we have to think about evaluation differently. Think about having students produce collective work rather than having them take tests where they can easily cheat. Question the students about their work process rather than looking at the final result. In short, we need to deconstruct the concept of evaluation. We have to start with that.

This principle is true for evaluation in general, but the use of digital technology is forcing an acceleration of the thinking about evaluation otherwise that has already begun in some quarters. "It is not the use of digital technology for evaluation that has introduced ethical issues. They were already there," says Audrey Raynault, a professor at Université Laval.

She encourages teachers to think of assessments as interactive and authentic, "so that students can develop a variety of behaviors and skills that will be useful later on." Similarly, in a learning sequence, she says students should have at least three opportunities for feedback before an assessment and should always have access to the rubric in advance.

The challenges of digital tools

The use of digital assessment has introduced new challenges, both in distance assessment and in the provision of digital tools in the classroom (such as electronic dictionaries).

"Assessment with digital presupposes mastery of the digital tool or device being used, but is this really always the case? Students should not be penalized for this," asks Aristide Sorelle Tsayem Tchoupou, a doctoral student at Laval University who conducted a literature review for the project Screen. He also thinks about issues of accessibility to certain digital materials for students. For example, watch out for moving images on the screen if you have students with epilepsy.

On the other hand, he acknowledges that the use of digital tools on some assessments might give some students an advantage. "Are special needs students, who use technology aids on a daily basis, at an advantage or not over others if they use their tools on assessments?"

For Ms. Monney, "the way in which digital work is thought of by the teacher should make it possible to overcome the ethical issues. However, she acknowledges that there is still a long way to go to get there.

"In all cases, evaluation must be designed with justice, inclusion, equity and equal opportunity in mind," says Raynault.

In addition : Single French test: students at an advantage with the digital dictionary?

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les enjeux éthiques liés à l’utilisation du numérique pour l’évaluation

Certains enjeux éthiques surgissent lorsqu’il est question d’évaluation à l’aide d’outils numériques en éducation. Le sujet a récemment fait les manchettes alors que des élèves ont pu utiliser le dictionnaire Usito lors de l’examen d’écriture de 5e secondaire. « Et si on commençait par déconstruire le concept d’évaluation? », c’est la question que pose un groupe de chercheurs. Ils en ont récemment discuté dans le cadre du congrès de l’Acfas.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Certains enjeux éthiques surgissent lorsqu’il est question d’évaluation à l’aide d’outils numériques en éducation. Le sujet a récemment fait les manchettes alors que des élèves ont pu utiliser le dictionnaire Usito lors de l’examen d’écriture de 5e secondaire. « Et si on commençait par déconstruire le concept d’évaluation? », c’est la question que pose un groupe de chercheurs. Ils en ont récemment discuté dans le cadre du congrès de l’Acfas.

Nicole Monney, professeure à l’Université du Québec à Chicoutimi, est catégorique : « Il faut aujourd’hui réfléchir à l’évaluation autrement. Penser à faire réaliser des productions collectives aux élèves plutôt que de leur faire passer des tests où ils peuvent facilement tricher. Questionner les élèves sur leur démarche de travail plutôt que de jeter un regard sur un résultat final. Bref, il faut déconstruire le concept d’évaluation. Il faut commencer par cela ».

Ce principe est vrai pour l’évaluation en général, mais l’utilisation du numérique force à accélérer la réflexion sur l’évaluation autrement qui est déjà entamée dans certains milieux. « Ce n’est pas l’utilisation du numérique pour l’évaluation qui a introduit des enjeux éthiques. Ceux-ci étaient déjà là », souligne Audrey Raynault, professeure à l’Université Laval.

Elle encourage les enseignants à penser les évaluations pour qu’elles soient interactives et authentiques, « afin de permettre aux élèves de développer des comportements et compétences variés qui leur seront utiles par la suite ». De même, dans une séquence d’apprentissage, elle indique que les élèves devraient avoir au moins trois opportunités de rétroaction avant une évaluation et qu’ils devraient toujours avoir accès à la grille d’évaluation à l’avance.

Les enjeux des outils numériques

L’utilisation du numérique pour l’évaluation a introduit de nouveaux enjeux, autant dans l’évaluation à distance que dans la mise à disposition d’outils numérique en classe (comme les dictionnaires électroniques).

« L’évaluation avec le numérique présuppose la maîtrise de l’outil ou de l’appareil numérique utilisé, mais est-ce toujours vraiment le cas? Les élèves ne doivent pas être pénalisés pour cela », questionne Aristide Sorelle Tsayem Tchoupou, étudiant au doctorat à l’Université Laval qui a effectué une recension d’écrits pour le projet Écran. Il pense aussi à des enjeux d’accessibilité à certains matériels numériques pour des élèves. Par exemple, attention aux images qui bougent à l’écran si vous avez des élèves épileptiques.

D’un autre côté, il reconnaît que l’utilisation d’outils numériques lors de certaines évaluations pourrait donner un avantage à certains élèves. « Les élèves à besoins particuliers, qui utilisent des aides technologiques au quotidien, sont-ils avantagés ou non par rapport aux autres s’ils utilisent leurs outils pour les évaluations? »

Pour Mme Monney, « la façon dont le travail numérique est pensé par l’enseignant devrait permettre de passer par-dessus les enjeux éthiques ». Elle reconnaît néanmoins qu’il reste encore du chemin à parcourir pour y arriver.

« Dans tous les cas, l’évaluation doit être pensée dans un souci de justice, d’inclusion, d’équité, d’égalité des chances », fait valoir Mme Raynault.

En complément : Épreuve unique de français : des élèves avantagés par le dictionnaire numérique?

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :