Mutual aid and well-being at the heart of the Back-to-School Symposium

With the return to face-to-face classes, primary and secondary students were asked what should be kept from distance education. Reflection from their wishes.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Never has the notion of well-being taken so much place in schools. Students recently expressed their views on the measures that should be put forward in their school environment in order to promote their success. The Quebec Ministry of Education (MEQ) presented their testimonies during a Back-to-School Symposium.

Our Back to school symposium 2021-2022, presented by the MEQ on August 25, allowed several education specialists to express themselves on the theme of well-being at school. The ministry took the opportunity to launch its new web page of resources and tools to support the actions of school stakeholders. This contains a variety of references.

A human school

Beyond the discussions between adults that took place during the day, it was the testimonies of the young people, presented in the form of video clips, that caught the attention. With the return to face-to-face class, they were asked what should be kept from distance education. 

Flexibility in the production of assignments and their submission, the possibility of doing the class outside, the reduction in the number of exams appeared to be interesting elements for them. Human contact, having teachers who understand and listen to their needs, who give them "leeway", also emerged as a priority for them. “How to do things is more important than what knowledge to learn. If they are good, the rest will go without saying ”, summarized the host.

In response to these requests from young people, Garine Papazian-Zohrabian, a professor at the Faculty of Education at the University of Montreal, gave the teachers some ideas. “Educational differentiation becomes a key to better meet the needs of students,” she said.

She called on stakeholders from the school world to continue to show flexibility with students and school principals to focus on coordinated actions within their team. “Flexible systems are more capable of absorbing shocks”. 

In conclusion, Tina Montreuil, professor of education at McGill University, invited each teacher to survey their students at the start of the school year in order to take the pulse of each other's state of mind and better understand their expectations in relation to the unfolding of the new school year. 

All the exchanges of the Back-to-School Symposium will soon be available on the MEQ YouTube page. This activity is part of the Strategy for mutual educational assistance and well-being at school at the Ministry of Education

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’entraide et le bien-être au coeur du Symposium de la rentrée scolaire

Avec le retour en classe en présentiel, on a demandé à des élèves du primaire et du secondaire ce qui devrait être conservé de l’enseignement à distance. Réflexion à partir de leurs souhaits.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Jamais la notion de bien-être n’aura pris autant de place dans les écoles. Des élèves se sont récemment prononcés sur les dispositions qui devraient être mises de l’avant dans leur milieu scolaire afin de favoriser leur réussite. Le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec (MEQ) a présenté leurs témoignages lors d’un Symposium de la rentrée scolaire.

Le Symposium de la rentrée scolaire 2021-2022, présenté par le MEQ le 25 août dernier, a permis à plusieurs spécialistes de l’éducation de s’exprimer sur le thème du bien-être à l’école. Le ministère a profité de l’occasion pour lancer sa nouvelle page Web de ressources et outils pour soutenir les actions des intervenants scolaires. Celle-ci contient une panoplie de références.

Une école humaine

Au-delà des discussions entre adultes qui se sont déroulées pendant la journée, ce sont les témoignages des jeunes, présentés sous forme de capsules vidéo, qui ont retenu l’attention. Avec le retour en classe en présentiel, on leur avait demandé ce qui devrait être conservé de l’enseignement à distance. 

La flexibilité dans la production de travaux et la remise de ceux-ci, la possibilité de faire la classe à l’extérieur, la diminution du nombre d’examens sont apparus comme des éléments intéressants pour eux. Le contact humain, le fait d’avoir des enseignants compréhensifs et à l’écoute de leurs besoins, qui leur donnent « une marge de manœuvre », est aussi ressorti comme une priorité pour eux. « La façon de faire les choses est plus importante que les connaissances à apprendre. S’ils sont bien, le reste ira de soi », a résumé l’animatrice.

En réponse à ces demandes des jeunes, Garine Papazian-Zohrabian, professeure à la Faculté des sciences de l’éducation de l’Université de Montréal, a donné quelques pistes aux enseignants. « La différenciation pédagogique devient une clé pour mieux répondre aux besoins des élèves », a-t-elle dit.

Elle a appelé les intervenants du monde scolaire à continuer de faire preuve de flexibilité avec les élèves et les directions d’école à miser sur des actions coordonnées au sein de leur équipe. « Les systèmes flexibles sont davantages capables d’absorber les chocs ». 

En conclusion, Tina Montreuil, professeure en sciences de l’éducation à l’Université McGill , a invité chaque enseignant à sonder ses élèves en début d’année scolaire afin de prendre le pouls de l’état d’esprit de chacun et mieux connaître leurs attentes par rapport au déroulement de la nouvelle année scolaire. 

L’ensemble des échanges du Symposium de la rentrée scolaire sera bientôt disponible sur la page YouTube du MEQ. Cette activité fait partie de la Stratégie d’entraide éducative et de bien-être à l’école au ministère de l’Éducation

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct