The museum class: the very first student exhibition in augmented reality and 3D virtual reality

Jean-Philippe Payer is a social universe teacher at the Odyssée high school. He has just been recognized by the Ken Spencer Prize for Innovation in Teaching for his 3D augmented reality and virtual reality classroom-museum project.

You might also like:

Add to favorites (0)

Jean-Philippe Payer is a social universe teacher at Odyssée high school and we met him during the 37th AQUOPS conference. He has just been recognized by the Ken Spencer Prize for Innovation in Teaching for his 3D augmented reality and virtual reality classroom-museum project.

Text by Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

Jean-Philippe's intention with this project was to motivate his students and integrate knowledge and skills in history interactively. Following a first class-museum experience in 2005-2006, Jean-Philippe enriched the concept by integrating technologies. Students had to choose a historical element and transform it into augmented reality: choosing an image, writing descriptive text, recording audio and audio-video editing using HP Reveal software.  

A meaningful learning context

By embarking on this project with his students, Jean-Philippe was far from suspecting that his museum-class would be reproduced at the Musée de la civilization as part of the very first student exhibition in augmented and virtual reality. More than 2,000 visitors were able to discover the interactive world map and visit heritage places thanks to the incorporation of 3D technology. The audio-video montages have also been translated into three languages in order to be accessible to as many people as possible.

"It started from an idea of a museum class and it has become a concept that can be produced and exported to the world" - Jean-Philippe Payer

Multiple collaborations

This project gave birth to rich collaborations, in particular with the Félix-Leclerc library (use of the Medialab space for the production of audio-video montages), with the company Best Buy (loan of virtual reality headsets) as well as 'with several museums (loan of artifacts). Following the exhibitions, several educational actors have expressed their interest in the project and today, classes from all over the world are participating in the museum class. In order to share their experience, Jean-Philippe's students came up with the idea of creating a website as well as a start-up educational kit translated into five languages.

We invite you to listen to this interview to learn more about this innovative and mobilizing project. To find out more or to also get started on a museum-class project, we invite you to visit the website created by Jean-Philippe and his students!

Connections :

In connection with the subject, Carrefour education offers:

Produced with the support of Carrefour Éducation
Carrefour éducation

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Stephanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne is director of development and partnerships, facilitator and speaker. It contributes to the influence of players in the education sector and its ecosystem. In addition, it supports parents, teachers and workers in a mentality of co-education in order to allow young people to become fulfilled citizens in the digital age.

La classe musée : la toute première exposition étudiante en réalité augmentée et virtuelle 3D

Jean-Philippe Payer est enseignant d’univers social à l’école secondaire de l’Odyssée. Il vient d’être reconnu par le prix Ken Spencer pour l’innovation en enseignement pour son projet de classe-musée en réalité augmentée et virtuelle 3D.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Jean-Philippe Payer est enseignant d’univers social à l’école secondaire de l’Odyssée et nous l’avons rencontré lors du 37e colloque de l’AQUOPS. Il vient d’être reconnu par le prix Ken Spencer pour l’innovation en enseignement pour son projet de classe-musée en réalité augmentée et virtuelle 3D.

Texte par Alexane St-Amant Ringuette

L’intention de Jean-Philippe avec ce projet était de motiver ses élèves et d’intégrer les connaissances et les compétences en histoire de manière interactive. Suite à une première expérience de classe-musée en 2005-2006, Jean-Philippe enrichi le concept en y intégrant les technologies. Les élèves devaient choisir un élément historique et le transformer en réalité augmentée : choix d’une image, rédaction d’un texte descriptif, enregistrement audio et montage audio-vidéo à l’aide du logiciel HP Reveal.  

Un contexte d’apprentissage signifiant

En se lançant dans ce projet avec ses élèves, Jean-Philippe était loin de se douter que sa classe-musée serait reproduite au Musée de la civilisation dans le cadre de la toute première exposition étudiante en réalité augmentée et virtuelle. Plus de 2 000 visiteurs ont ainsi pu découvrir la carte du monde interactive et visiter des lieux patrimoniaux grâce à l’incorporation de la technologie 3D. Les montages audio-vidéo ont d’ailleurs été traduits dans trois langues afin d’être accessible au plus grand nombre.

« C’est parti d’une idée de classe-musée et c’est devenu un concept réalisable et exportable dans le monde » – Jean-Philippe Payer

Des collaborations multiples

Ce projet a donné naissance à de riches collaborations, notamment avec la bibliothèque Félix-Leclerc (utilisation de l’espace Medialab pour la réalisation de montages audio-vidéo), avec l’entreprise Best Buy (prêt de casques de réalité virtuelle) ainsi qu’avec plusieurs musées (prêt d’artefacts). Suite aux expositions, plusieurs acteurs éducatifs ont manifesté leur intérêt pour le projet et aujourd’hui, ce sont des classes de partout à travers le monde qui participent à la classe-musée. Afin de partager leur expérience, les élèves de Jean-Philippe ont eu l’idée de créer un site Web ainsi qu’une trousse pédagogique de démarrage traduite en cinq langues.

On vous invite à écouter cette entrevue pour en apprendre davantage sur ce projet novateur et mobilisateur. Pour en savoir plus ou pour vous lancer aussi dans une projet de classe musée, on vous invite à visiter le site Web créé par Jean-Philippe et ses élèves!

Liens :

En lien avec le sujet, Carrefour éducation vous propose :

Réalisé avec le soutien de Carrefour Éducation
Carrefour éducation

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!



À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
Stéphanie Dionnehttp://ecolebranchee.com/famille
Stéphanie Dionne est directrice du développement et des partenariats, animatrice et conférencière. Elle contribue au rayonnement des acteurs du milieu de l'Éducation et de son écosystème. De plus, elle accompagnement les parents, les enseignants et les intervenants dans une mentalité de coéducation afin de permettre aux jeunes de devenir des citoyens épanouis à l'ère du numérique.