ADVERTISEMENT

From victim to superhero against bullying

Last April, young Maxime Collard, 12, and his mother, Isabelle Marchand, organized a big march in Sorel-Tracy in order to denounce bullying at school. Today, they will both receive the Paul Gérin-Lajoie Tolerance Prize, awarded by the Tolerance Foundation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Last April, the young Maxime Collard, 12, and his mother, Isabelle Marchand, organized a big step in Sorel-Tracy in order to denounce bullying at school. Today, they will both receive the Paul Gérin-Lajoie Tolerance Prize, awarded by the Tolerance Foundation.

In various media, including the popular show Everybody talks about it, young Maxime denounced violence at school. He himself began to be bullied in kindergarten. It has never stopped since. During the interview, he even admits to having considered ending his life.

After making an appeal on Facebook, Maxime organized a big walk with his mother. Education Minister Line Beauchamp and actor Jasmin Roy, whose foundation the fight against bullying in schools, in particular took part. They also started a petition.

"Maxime Collard and Isabelle Marchand showed us last spring what can be done to fight exclusion and intimidation," said the director of the Tolerance Foundation, Anne Lagacé Dowson, in a press release. Previous recipients of this award are Father Emmett “Pops” Johns and Dr. Gilles Julien.

The Tolerance Foundation offers workshops in schools to raise awareness among young people to respect differences. Since 1995, she has visited 550 schools and offered 6,800 workshops.

A book to counter bullying

In addition, life coach and specialized educator Nancy Doyon has just launched a book entitled No to bullying. It aims to give young people aged 7 to 12 the tools to defend themselves effectively against bullying. “Bullies rarely prey on young people who are assertive and have an attitude that reflects self-confidence. These are the attitudes to develop to counter bullying, ”the press release mentions.



Read also :

Getting the tools to fight cyberbullying

Prevent bullying from preschool

Cyberbullying: a real scourge on the web

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

De victime à superhéros contre l’intimidation

En avril dernier, le jeune Maxime Collard, 12 ans, et sa mère, Isabelle Marchand, ont organisé une grande marche à Sorel-Tracy dans le but de dénoncer l’intimidation à l’école. Aujourd’hui, ils recevront tous les deux le prix de la tolérance Paul Gérin-Lajoie, remis par la Fondation de la tolérance.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

En avril dernier, le jeune Maxime Collard, 12 ans, et sa mère, Isabelle Marchand, ont organisé une grande marche à Sorel-Tracy dans le but de dénoncer l’intimidation à l’école. Aujourd’hui, ils recevront tous les deux le prix de la tolérance Paul Gérin-Lajoie, remis par la Fondation de la tolérance.

Dans différents médias, notamment la populaire émission Tout le monde en parle, le jeune Maxime a dénoncé la violence à l’école. Lui-même a commencé à être victime d’intimidation à la maternelle. Cela ne s’est jamais arrêté depuis. Durant l’entrevue, il avoue même avoir envisagé de mettre fin à ses jours.

Après avoir lancé un appel sur Facebook, Maxime a organisé une grande marche avec sa mère. La ministre de l’Éducation, Line Beauchamp, et le comédien Jasmin Roy, dont la fondation lutte contre l’intimidation en milieu scolaire, y ont notamment participé. Ils ont aussi lancé une pétition.

« Maxime Collard et Isabelle Marchand nous ont démontré au printemps dernier ce qui peut être fait afin de lutter contre l’exclusion et l’intimidation », a mentionné la directrice de la Fondation de la tolérance, Anne Lagacé Dowson, dans un communiqué. Les récipiendaires précédents de ce prix sont le Père Emmett « Pops » Johns et le Dr Gilles Julien.

La Fondation de la tolérance offre des ateliers dans les écoles afin d’éveiller la conscience des jeunes au respect des différences. Depuis 1995, elle a visité 550 écoles et offert 6800 ateliers.

Un livre pour contrer l’intimidation

Par ailleurs, la coach de vie et éducatrice spécialisée Nancy Doyon vient de lancer un livre intitulé Non à l’intimidation. Il vise à donner aux jeunes de 7 à 12 ans des outils pour se défendre efficacement contre l’intimidation. « Les intimidateurs s’en prennent rarement aux jeunes qui font preuve d’affirmation de soi et qui ont une attitude qui reflète la confiance en soi. Voilà donc les attitudes à développer pour contrer l’intimidation », mentionne-t-on dans le communiqué.



À lire aussi :

S’outiller pour combattre la cyberintimidation

Prévenir l’intimidation dès le préscolaire

La cyberintimidation : véritable fléau sur le Web

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :