ADVERTISEMENT

Innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship at CréaCamp Ottawa: part 5

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the CEPEO. In this last article of the series, we introduce you to Nathalie and Stéphany, facilitators of the Google tools workshop.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

On February 27, the CréaCamp Ottawa was held, organized in collaboration with the ICE (innovation, creativity, entrepreneurship) team of the Eastern Ontario Public School Board. More than 50 education professionals of all levels from Quebec and Ontario came together to reflect, explore and deepen new pedagogical approaches.

As with all CréaCamps of the École branchée, at the start of the day, participants had to make a heartbreaking choice among the five workshops offered by the team of facilitators. This was mainly made up of pedagogical advisers and dynamic teachers from CEPEO with whom the École branchée had the opportunity to meet in order to share their vision of pedagogy, digital technology and innovation!

In this series of articles, we present to you the craftsmen of this CréaCamp.

Google tools

This workshop was led by Nathalie Turgeon, Lead teacher at Nouvel Horizon public elementary school and by Stephany Bertrand, educational advisor in the field of innovation, creativity and entrepreneurship. Adept at technological efficiency, Nathalie loves to find new solutions supported by technology.

What prompted you to lead this workshop?

Nathalie: the animation of this workshop is a happy coincidence; nice colleagues thought of me to replace the colleague who was to host with Stéphany. It was a real pleasure for me to work with Stéphany and the team! Immersing myself in this world of animation allowed me to relive moments when I was an educational advisor with the TacTIC team at CFORP.

Stéphany: The desire to lead this workshop was to take up the various challenges I face with Google tools. Facilitating with Nathalie, I had no doubt that the workshop would be great and meet the needs of the participants. I had knowledge of Google tools, but Nathalie made me discover so many possibilities. I was also living a CréaCamp.

What's the first thing teachers need to know about Google Tools?

Nathalie and Stéphany: it's accessibility to tools and simplicity.

What do you think are the biggest advantages of Google tools?

Nathalie: For me, the biggest advantages are access, innovation and collaboration. The biggest advantage is that all of my Google Account content can be accessed from any device. When I hear people say " ah no, I forgot my key! », Je answer them " I have a solution for you! ". On the other hand, with any advantage comes a disadvantage, if the internet connection is not accessible, you have to think about it in advance. Which also brings me to my next advantage: innovation! Google tools are constantly changing; they are improving day by day. For some I can understand that this is unsettling, but I see it as a huge advantage. This forces me to stay alert and I quickly realized that improvements are sometimes unsettling, but always beneficial. Like the EXPLORE button for example: I feel like I have a personal assistant with me at all times! Isn't it amazing?

What did you take away from your experience as a facilitator at CréaCamp?

Nathalie: a word that sums up my experience as a facilitator at CréaCamp is EFFICIENCY. As a facilitator, I felt over-efficient, but I would say that what's even better is the appreciation of the workshop participants. They had an incredible sense of personal self-efficacy!

Stéphany: I would add that the flexibility of the facilitators ensures that each participant has the opportunity to come out of the workshop with something concrete that can put into practice in his reality after the CréaCamp

What is your educational crush?

Nathalie: For my part, the dynamic of the day is my favorite. The place encouraged discussion and the format of the day allowed for networking. Everyone was there with the desire to learn and create.

Learn more about Google tools with these two virtual trainings:

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane Saint-Amant-Ringuette
Alexane is the editor of the École branchée online news feed. She has a bachelor's degree in international relations from the University of British Columbia as well as a master's degree in intercultural mediation from the University of Sherbrooke. She also acts as a communications advisor for the organization Idée Éducation entrepreneuriale.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Innovation, créativité et entrepreneuriat au CréaCamp Ottawa : partie 5

27 février dernier se tenait le CréaCamp Ottawa organisé en collaboration avec l’équipe ICE (innovation, créativité, entrepreneuriat) du Conseil des écoles publiques de l’Est-ontarien. Plus de 50 professionnels de l’éducation de tous les niveaux provenant du Québec et de l’Ontario se sont réunis pour réfléchir, explorer et approfondir de nouvelles approches pédagogiques.

Comme à tous les CréaCamps de l’École branchée, les participants devaient en début de journée faire un choix déchirant parmi les cinq ateliers proposés par l’équipe de facilitateurs. Celle-ci était majoritairement constituée de conseillers pédagogiques et d’enseignants dynamiques du CEPEO avec qui l’École branchée a eu l’opportunité de s’entretenir afin de vous partager leur vision de la pédagogie, du numérique et de l’innovation!

Dans cette série d’articles, nous vous présentons les artisans de ce CréaCamp.

Les outils Google

Cet atelier était animé par Nathalie Turgeon, enseignante Lead à l’école élémentaire publique Nouvel Horizon et par Stephany Bertrand, conseillère pédagogique dans le domaine de l’innovation, la créativité et l’entrepreneuriat. Adepte d’efficacité technologique, Nathalie adore trouver de nouvelles solutions appuyées de la technologie.

Qu’est-ce qui vous a menées à animer cet atelier?

Nathalie : l’animation de cet atelier est un heureux hasard; de gentils collègues ont pensé à moi pour remplacer la collègue qui devait animer avec Stéphany. Ce fut pour moi, un réel plaisir de travailler avec Stéphany et l’équipe! Me replonger dans ce monde de l’animation m’a permis de revivre des moments du temps où j’étais conseillère pédagogique avec l’équipe TacTIC du CFORP.

Stéphany : Le désir d’animer cet atelier fut de relever les divers défis auxquels je suis confrontée avec les outils Google. Animer avec Nathalie, je n’avais aucun doute que l’atelier serait génial et répondrait au besoin des participants. J’avais des connaissances avec les outils Google, mais Nathalie m’a fait découvrir tellement de possibilités. Je vivais moi aussi un CréaCamp.

Quelle est la première chose que les enseignants doivent connaître à propos des Outils Google?

Nathalie et Stéphany : c’est l’accessibilité des outils et la simplicité.

Quels sont les plus grands avantages à votre avis des outils Google?

Nathalie : Pour moi, les plus grands avantages sont l’accès, l’innovation et la collaboration. Le fait que tout le contenu de mon compte Google est accessible à partir de n’importe quel appareil est le plus grand avantage. Quand j’entends des gens dire « ah non, j’ai oublié ma clé! », je leur réponds « j’ai une solution pour toi! ». Par contre, avec tout avantage vient un désavantage, si la connexion internet n’est pas accessible, il faut y penser d’avance. Ce qui m’apporte aussi à mon prochain avantage : l’innovation! Les outils Google sont constamment en changement; ils s’améliorent de jour en jour. Pour certains je peux comprendre que c’est déstabilisant, mais je le vois comme un énorme avantage. Cela me force à rester alerte et j’ai vite compris que les améliorations sont parfois déstabilisantes, mais toujours avantageuses. Comme le bouton EXPLORER par exemple : j’ai l’impression d’avoir un assistant personnel avec moi en tout temps! C’est incroyable non?

Qu’est-ce que vous retenez de votre expérience de facilitateur au CréaCamp?

Nathalie : un mot qui résume bien mon expérience de facilitatrice au CréaCamp est EFFICACITÉ. En tant qu’animatrice, je me suis sentie hyperefficace, mais je dirais que ce qui est encore mieux, c’est l’appréciation des participantes à l’atelier. Elles avaient un sentiment d’auto-efficacité personnelle incroyable!

Stéphany : J’ajouterais que la flexibilité des facilitateurs fait en sorte que chaque participant a l’occasion de ressortir de l’atelier avec quelque chose de concret qui pourra mettre en pratique dans sa réalité après le CréaCamp

Quel est votre coup de cœur pédagogique?

Nathalie : Pour ma part, la dynamique de la journée est mon coup de cœur. L’endroit favorisait les échanges et le format de la journée permettait le réseautage. Tout le monde était là avec le goût d’apprendre et créer.

Apprenez-en plus sur les outils Google avec ces deux formations virtuelles :


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :