ADVERTISEMENT

Robotics festival: young geniuses at work

About 1,800 students took part in the first Robotics Festival in Quebec which took place in an electrifying atmosphere on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at Uniprix Stadium. Organizers estimate that the event drew 3,000 spectators.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

About 1,800 students participated in the first Robotics festival in Quebec which took place in an electrifying atmosphere, Thursday, Friday and Saturday at the Uniprix Stadium. Organizers estimate that the event drew 3,000 spectators.

To the sound of loud music and encouragement from supporters proudly wearing their team's colors, robots competed in an adapted “basketball” match. The enthusiastic description of the adventures by the commentator had nothing to envy to sports matches. The “Stanley Cup” for robots was aimed at young people aged 14 to 18. Each school had six weeks to build a functional robot capable of "playing basketball", but the robotics apprenticeships for young people started in September. They worked with teachers, university experts and engineers.

The Régina Assumpta College and the schools of the Commission scolaire de Montréal Louis-Joseph-Papineau and the Vitrail won the final. In addition, the Séminaire de Sherbrooke and the Loyola school have won the "President's distinction" and "inspiration in engineering" respectively. These five teams will face other robots at the international championship which will be held in St. Louis, Missouri, April 26-28.

The youngest

Participants aged 9 to 13 were invited to develop much less sophisticated robots under the themes of food security and extinct civilizations. The mood on their side was a little calmer, but they were able to demonstrate how much they could compete in imagination and ingenuity.

In total, young people from 67 Quebec schools, one Ontario school and four American schools took part in the event, which was made possible thanks to the commitment of many partners. Indeed, more than a million dollars have been invested for the organization of the festival, but also to finance robotics programs in schools.

Read also :

Scientific exploration in the classroom

The Fab Labs

A competition that pinches

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Festival de robotique : de jeunes génies à l’œuvre

Environ 1800 élèves ont participé au premier Festival de robotique au Québec qui a eu lieu dans une ambiance électrisante, jeudi, vendredi et samedi dernier au Stade Uniprix. Les organisateurs estiment que l’événement a attiré 3000 spectateurs.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Environ 1800 élèves ont participé au premier Festival de robotique au Québec qui a eu lieu dans une ambiance électrisante, jeudi, vendredi et samedi dernier au Stade Uniprix. Les organisateurs estiment que l’événement a attiré 3000 spectateurs.

Au son d’une musique tapageuse et des encouragements des supporters portant fièrement les couleurs de leur équipe, des robots s’affrontaient dans un match de « basketball » adapté. La description enthousiaste des péripéties par le commentateur n’avait d’ailleurs rien à envier aux matchs sportifs. La « Coupe Stanley » des robots était destinée aux jeunes de 14 à 18 ans. Chaque école a eu six semaines pour construire un robot fonctionnel capable de « jouer au basketball », mais les apprentissages en robotique des jeunes ont débuté dès septembre. Ils ont travaillé avec des enseignants, des experts universitaires et des ingénieurs.

Le Collège Régina Assumpta  et les écoles de la Commission scolaire de Montréal Louis-Joseph-Papineau et le Vitrail ont remporté la finale. Par ailleurs, le Séminaire de Sherbrooke et l’école Loyola ont gagné respectivement la « distinction du président » et l’« inspiration en génie ». Ces cinq équipes affronteront d’autres robots lors du championnat international qui aura lieu à Saint-Louis, au Missouri, du 26 au 28 avril.

Les plus jeunes

Les participants de 9 à 13 ans étaient quant à eux invités à développer des robots beaucoup moins sophistiqués sous les thèmes de la sécurité alimentaire et des civilisations disparues. L’ambiance de leur côté était un peu plus calme, mais ils ont pu démontrer à quel point ils étaient en mesure de rivaliser d’imagination et d’ingéniosité.

Au total, des jeunes de 67 écoles québécoises, d’une école ontarienne et de quatre écoles américaines ont participé à l’événement qui a été rendu possible grâce à l’engagement de nombreux partenaires. En effet, plus d’un million de dollars ont été investis pour l’organisation du festival, mais aussi pour financer les programmes de robotique dans les écoles.

À lire aussi :

L’exploration scientifique en classe

Les Fab Labs

Un concours qui pince

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :