ADVERTISEMENT

Teach in the other Francophonie

For several years now, ACELF has offered a teaching internship program in Francophone communities. Here are comments from interns who traveled to Ontario, Western Canada and even the Yukon in 2018 and 2019.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

The Canadian Association for French Language Education (ACELF) has been offering a teaching internship program in Francophone communities for several years. A two-month stay for future teachers, who return enriched both pedagogically and in terms of Francophonie in a minority setting.

Here are the comments of the interns who went to Ontario, Western Canada and even the Yukon in 2018 and 2019. These interns were all students at the Lévis campus of the University of Quebec in Rimouski, and were received in schools elementary.

The challenges of a minority environment

All of these apprentice teachers have seen it: the minority environment, what challenges! You have to adapt. Find teaching strategies to help students find their Francophone identity. But we must also be open to the experiences of these young people, who often only have the opportunity to speak French at school.

In elementary school, reading a book in French every day means opening a window on the Francophonie to students. Some were sensitive to this way of doing things like Amélie Drolet-Bouchard, whose internship took place at the Cité Jeunesse in Trenton, Ontario.

Adaptation required

When working in a French and Catholic school board, adapting also means accepting different ways of doing things, such as singing O Canada in class or saying a prayer. Others have also realized that validating a student's understanding is good, but it's even better when our assessment tools are adapted to the right level of the child.

The young apprentices were confronted with behavior management in the classroom. Here too, taking into account the needs of the learners helps to individualize the interventions.

Be inclusive

Île-des-Chênes, Gabrielle-Roy school, 30 minutes from the francophone district of Saint-Boniface in Winnipeg. This is where Chloé Dion did her special education internship. What surprised her was the inclusion of adaptation students in so-called “normal” classes. According to her, there was good respect between the students even if "everyone was included".

Part of his interventions also aimed to restore their confidence. “When they spoke English, they looked other rights in the eye. In French, they were more embarrassed. Yet they were proud of their language ”. Chloe mentions that she has also learned to accept not to do everything in a day.

“Taking the time to be kind to our students and people is also what being inclusive”.

Chloe

Navigate in different spaces

The majority of participants (18 out of 19 girls for 2018 and 2019) greatly appreciated the welcome they received from the associate teachers, as well as the sharing of resources. Charles Boucher, the male element of the two cohorts, made his stay in London, Ontario. He was confronted with a different classroom environment from what he had experienced in Quebec.

“My class was big, there were different sections. That of the carpet was used for socializing, another place was for the masterful part and there was an island with desks for work in dyad or in team. "

Charles

Ditto for Maude Dubé-Laroche, who was delighted to work in a so-called flexible class in the Yukon: “I understood that it is up to us to adapt to the needs of the students and not the other way around”.

It doesn't change the world except ...

Teaching in a minority setting means realizing that we are serving as models for the young francophones who are in front of us. But it also means realizing that the Francophonie is not unidimensional. It is shaped by the experiences of its young people for whom French is sometimes a second or even a third language. Charles Boucher admits it: he is one of those who discovered the Francophonie with this internship! Now a teacher in Montreal, he is resolutely involved in ACELF activities. So much so that he is now part of the Orientation Committee for the Semaine nationale de la Francophonie. Pushed by her associate teacher to surpass herself, it is her turn to "pass on the flame of the Francophonie" to her 4th year students.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Enseigner dans l’autre francophonie

L’ACELF propose depuis quelques années un programme de stages en enseignement dans les communautés francophones. Voici les commentaires des stagiaires qui sont allés en Ontario, dans l’Ouest canadien et même au Yukon en 2018 et 2019.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

L’Association canadienne d’éducation de langue française (ACELF) propose depuis quelques années un programme de stages en enseignement dans les communautés francophones. Un séjour de deux mois pour de futurs enseignants, qui en reviennent enrichis tant sur le plan pédagogique qu’en matière de francophonie en milieu minoritaire.

Voici les commentaires des stagiaires qui sont allés en Ontario, dans l’Ouest canadien et même au Yukon en 2018 et 2019. Ces stagiaires étaient tous étudiants au campus de Lévis de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski, et ont été reçus dans des écoles élémentaires.

Les défis d’un milieu minoritaire

L’ensemble de ces apprentis enseignants l’a constaté : le milieu minoritaire, que de défis! Il faut s’adapter. Trouver des stratégies d’enseignement afin d’aider les élèves à trouver leur identité francophone. Mais il faut aussi être ouvert au vécu de ces jeunes, qui n’ont souvent l’occasion de parler en français qu’à l’école.

À l’élémentaire, faire une lecture quotidienne d’un livre en français, c’est ouvrir aux élèves une fenêtre sur la francophonie. Certains ont été sensibles à cette façon de faire comme Amélie Drolet-Bouchard, dont le stage s’est passé à la Cité Jeunesse de Trenton, en Ontario.

Adaptation nécessaire

Lorsqu’on travaille au sein d’un conseil scolaire francophone et catholique, s’adapter signifie aussi accepter des façons de faire différentes, comme chanter l’Ô Canada en classe ou dire une prière. D’autres ont aussi pris conscience que valider la compréhension d’un élève, c’est bien, mais c’est encore mieux quand nos outils d’évaluation sont adaptés au bon niveau de l’enfant.

Les jeunes apprentis ont été confrontés à la gestion des comportements en classe. Là aussi, tenir compte des besoins des apprenants aide à individualiser les interventions.

Être inclusif

Île-des-Chênes, école Gabrielle-Roy, à 30 minutes du quartier francophone de Saint-Boniface à Winnipeg. C’est là que Chloé Dion a fait son stage en adaptation scolaire. Ce qui l’a surprise, c’est l’inclusion des élèves en adaptation dans les classes dites « normales ». Selon elle, il y avait un bon respect entre les élèves même si « tout le monde était intégré ».

Une partie de ses interventions visait aussi à leur redonner confiance. « Quand ils parlaient anglais, ils regardaient les autres droits dans les yeux. En français, ils étaient plus gênés. Pourtant, ils étaient fiers de leur langue ». Chloé mentionne qu’elle a aussi appris à accepter de ne pas tout faire dans une journée.

« Prendre le temps d’être bienveillant avec nos élèves, les gens, c’est aussi ça être inclusif ».

Chloé

Naviguer dans des espaces différents

La majorité des participantes (18 filles sur 19 pour 2018 et 2019) ont grandement aimé l’accueil qu’elles ont reçu de la part des enseignantes associées, ainsi que le partage des ressources. Charles Boucher, l’élément masculin des deux cohortes, a fait son séjour à London en Ontario. Il a été confronté à un environnement de classe différent de ce qu’il avait connu au Québec.

« Ma classe était grande, il y avait différentes sections. Celle du tapis servait à socialiser, un autre endroit était pour la partie magistrale et il y avait un îlot avec des pupitres pour du travail en dyade ou en équipe. »

Charles

Idem pour Maude Dubé-Laroche, qui a été ravie de travailler dans une classe dite flexible au Yukon : « J’ai compris que c’est à nous de nous adapter aux besoins des élèves et non l’inverse ».

Ça ne change pas le monde sauf que…

Enseigner en milieu minoritaire, c’est prendre conscience qu’on sert de modèles aux jeunes francophones qui sont devant nous. Mais c’est aussi prendre conscience que la francophonie n’est pas unidimensionnelle. Elle est façonnée par le vécu de ses jeunes pour qui le français est parfois une deuxième, voire une troisième langue. Charles Boucher l’avoue : il est l’un de ceux qui ont découvert la francophonie avec ce stage! Maintenant enseignant à Montréal, il est résolument engagé dans les activités de l’ACELF. À tel point qu’il fait maintenant partie du Comité d’orientation de la Semaine nationale de la Francophonie. Poussé par son enseignante associée à se dépasser, c’est à son tour « de faire passer la flamme de la francophonie » à ses élèves de 4e année.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct