The school system must educate digitally

As the pandemic stretches out, school staff are adapting to the new reality of teaching that can switch to distance at any time and is acquiring many skills. This experience will influence the perception of digital tools in the long term. Aware of the difficulties currently experienced in this direction, the Higher Education Council shares in this article its vision of digital in education.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

by Nadine Forget-Dubois
Research and transfer agent
Higher Education Council

Unveiled in May 2018, the Digital Action Plan in Education and Higher Education (PAN) wanted to make the Quebec education system "an agent of change and innovation". Two years later, digital tools suddenly turn into lifelines in order to continue teaching despite the closure of establishments. Suddenly, the pandemic has highlighted the concrete obstacles to the integration of digital technology in education: lack of devices, insufficient training in their use, inadequate Internet connections. In addition, teachers had to take up the challenge of transforming their usual practices in a very short time to adapt them to distance education. As the pandemic stretches out, school staff are adapting to the new reality of teaching that can switch to distance at any time and is acquiring many skills. 

This experience will influence the perception of digital tools in the long term. Aware of the difficulties currently experienced in the education system, the Higher Education Council shares a vision of digital education for the present and for the future.

This concern is not new. Twenty years ago, the Council saw the use of technology as a means of foster desired changes in education, or the shift from the teaching paradigm to that of learning. Since then, digital technology has crept into all areas of our existence, raising new issues. If education through digital tools is more and more anchored in practices and will be more so in the future, the Conseil believes that the school system must now educate in digital. He lays the groundwork for this change of perspective in his most recent report on the state and needs of education. 

New responsibilities for the education system

Digital education means providing the means to live and thrive in a digital world. The education system now has the responsibility of training enlightened people in the use of media and technologies, in order to go beyond the mere consumption of digital. This education first of all includes a set of skills to be developed in young people from the start of schooling to prepare them to learn and exercise their digital citizenship with discernment. For teachers, this means using digital tools to achieve learning goals, teaching digital literacy across disciplines and, finally, assessing this new literacy. To achieve this, they must be able to appropriate digital resources to use in class without constraints. Students should also have access to common tools, such as word processing and language correction software.

Risks to prevent and benefits to cultivate

In addition, the use of digital tools involves certain risks, in particular those of an ecological and social nature. The production of rapidly obsolete devices comes at the expense of the environment and the poor workers who make them. Other risks can be reduced by education in good lifestyle habits. It is about instilling in students ethical values in their use of digital technology and preventing unhealthy uses that lead to neglecting physical and social activities. Finally, digital technology can accentuate social inequalities. The education system must create fair conditions of access, but also of use. It must also create an inclusive culture, especially so that girls feel welcome in the IT field.

Despite everything, digital remains essential to adapt to the reality of the 21e century. In particular, it offers greater flexibility to the education system in crisis situations, as we have seen since last spring. Digital tools can also make it easier to meet the needs of students with difficulties. With time and the development of artificial intelligence, these tools will come to be modulated at the rate of each student.

Voltage values

The Conseil also stresses that values are attached to digital technology and that those of teaching staff do not always align with those conveyed by official speeches. The PAN, for example, presents digital tools as implicitly carriers of educational innovation. The concepts of innovation and efficiency have a commercial sounding that can run counter to humanist values. Different values influence the deployment of digital technology in education and the way in which teachers take ownership of it. Reconciling visions and gaining the support of the school community will be necessary for the integration of digital technology into programs. 

Succeed in digital education

To begin the transition to digital education, the Conseil is proposing three major orientations that can be adapted to the reality of each level of education. First, it is imperative to set up the material and administrative conditions necessary for the smooth use of digital tools. Bandwidth, the capacity of the electrical system and the lack of devices should no longer be obstacles. Beyond the basic needs, the school teams would benefit from carrying out a common reflection on the place of digital in education and on the roles of each in digital education. Finally, better collaboration between technical and educational services would achieve a judicious balance between network security and educational needs.

The second orientation proposes a better alignment of curriculum, learning and assessment. The essential character of digital competence should be embedded in curricula, taught across academic disciplines, and assessed in an authentic context. This orientation involves defining what students must master in order to move on to the next stage of their education. After compulsory schooling, students should be equipped to continue learning throughout their lives.

The third orientation proposes toupdate teacher training programs and meet continuing education and support needs teaching staff. This orientation is based on the proposal to rethink education as a collaborative task, in which the teacher acts in concert with other professionals to support the students in their learning. At the same time, initial training programs must make more room for digital technologies, ideally by becoming models of a collaborative approach and the integration of digital into learning. Practicing teachers also need training and time to experiment. They must also be supported to develop their professional skills, including digital ones.

The rapid migration to distance education due to the pandemic has exacerbated both the negative and positive sides of digital in education: frustrations linked to the lack of resources and training on the one hand, opportunities for educational innovations in education. somewhere else. In the turmoil and after, let's not lose sight of the role that digital technology should play in education: developing skills. Educating digitally is necessary, but insufficient. Digital education will help ensure that today's students become responsible, critical citizens aware of the pitfalls of technologies and the benefits they bring. This responsibility of the education system cannot be exercised without winning the support of teaching staff and all stakeholders.

References
Higher Education Council (2020).  Digital education, Report on the state and needs of education 2018-2020, Quebec.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Le système scolaire doit éduquer au numérique

Alors que la pandémie s’étire, le personnel scolaire s’adapte à la nouvelle réalité d’un enseignement qui peut basculer à distance à tout moment et acquiert de nombreuses compétences. Cette expérience influencera à long terme la perception des outils numériques. Conscient des difficultés vécues actuellement en ce sens, le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation partage dans cet article sa vision du numérique en éducation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

par Nadine Forget-Dubois
Agente de recherche et de transfert
Conseil supérieur de l’éducation

Dévoilé en mai 2018, le Plan d’action numérique en éducation et en enseignement supérieur (PAN) voulait faire du système éducatif québécois « un agent de changement et d’innovation ». Deux ans plus tard, les outils numériques se transforment soudainement en bouées de sauvetage afin de poursuivre l’enseignement malgré la fermeture des établissements. Du coup, la pandémie a mis en évidence les obstacles concrets à l’intégration du numérique en éducation : manque d’appareils, formation insuffisante à leur utilisation, connexions Internet inadéquates. De plus, les enseignants ont dû relever le défi de transformer en très peu de temps leurs pratiques habituelles pour les adapter à l’enseignement à distance. Alors que la pandémie s’étire, le personnel scolaire s’adapte à la nouvelle réalité d’un enseignement qui peut basculer à distance à tout moment et acquiert de nombreuses compétences. 

Cette expérience influencera à long terme la perception des outils numériques. Conscient des difficultés vécues actuellement dans le système éducatif, le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation partage une vision du numérique en éducation pour le présent et pour l’avenir.

Cette préoccupation n’est pas nouvelle. Il y a 20 ans, le Conseil voyait dans l’utilisation des technologies un moyen de favoriser des changements souhaités en éducation, soit le passage du paradigme de l’enseignement à celui de l’apprentissage. Depuis, le numérique s’est insinué dans tous les domaines de notre existence, soulevant de nouveaux enjeux. Si l’éducation par des outils numériques est de plus en plus ancrée dans les pratiques et qu’elle le sera davantage dans l’avenir, le Conseil est d’avis que le système scolaire doit maintenant éduquer au numérique. Il jette les bases de ce changement de perspective dans son plus récent rapport sur l’état et les besoins de l’éducation. 

De nouvelles responsabilités pour le système éducatif

Éduquer au numérique signifie donner les moyens de vivre et de s’épanouir dans un monde numérique. Le système d’éducation a maintenant la responsabilité de former des personnes éclairées à l’utilisation des médias et des technologies, afin de dépasser la simple consommation du numérique. Cette éducation comprend d’abord un ensemble de compétences à développer chez les jeunes dès le début de la scolarisation pour les préparer à apprendre et à exercer avec discernement leur citoyenneté numérique. Pour le personnel enseignant, cela implique d’utiliser les outils numériques pour atteindre des objectifs d’apprentissage, d’enseigner la littératie numérique à travers les disciplines et, enfin, d’évaluer cette nouvelle littératie. Pour y arriver, il doit pouvoir s’approprier des ressources numériques à utiliser en classe sans contraintes. Les élèves doivent aussi avoir accès aux outils courants, comme les logiciels de traitement de texte et de correction linguistique.

Des risques à prévenir et des avantages à cultiver

Par ailleurs, l’usage des outils numériques comporte certains risques, notamment ceux de nature écologique et sociale. La production d’appareils rapidement obsolètes se fait au détriment de l’environnement et des travailleurs pauvres qui les fabriquent. D’autres risques peuvent être réduits par l’éducation aux bonnes habitudes de vie. Il s’agit d’inculquer aux élèves des valeurs éthiques dans leur utilisation du numérique et de prévenir les usages malsains qui amènent à négliger les activités physiques et sociales. Enfin, le numérique peut accentuer les inégalités sociales. Le système éducatif se doit de créer des conditions équitables d’accès, mais aussi d’usage. Il doit également créer une culture inclusive, notamment pour que les filles se sentent bienvenues dans le domaine de l’informatique.

Le numérique demeure malgré tout incontournable pour s’adapter à la réalité du 21e siècle. Il offre notamment une plus grande flexibilité au système éducatif en situation de crise, comme nous avons pu le constater depuis le printemps dernier. Les outils numériques peuvent également faciliter la réponse aux besoins des élèves présentant des difficultés. Avec le temps et le développement de l’intelligence artificielle, ces outils en viendront à se moduler au rythme de chaque élève.

Des valeurs en tension

Le Conseil souligne aussi que des valeurs s’attachent au numérique et que celles du personnel enseignant ne s’alignent pas toujours sur celles qui sont véhiculées par les discours officiels. Le PAN, par exemple, présente les outils numériques comme implicitement porteurs d’innovation pédagogique. Les notions d’innovation et d’efficacité ont une consonance commerciale qui peut heurter les valeurs humanistes. Des valeurs différentes influencent le déploiement du numérique en éducation et la manière dont le personnel enseignant se l’approprie. Réconcilier les visions et gagner le soutien du milieu scolaire seront nécessaire à l’intégration du numérique dans les programmes. 

Réussir l’éducation au numérique

Pour commencer la transition vers l’éducation au numérique, le Conseil propose trois grandes orientations qui peuvent s’adapter à la réalité de chaque ordre d’enseignement. D’abord, il est impératif de mettre en place les conditions matérielles et administratives nécessaires pour une utilisation fluide des outils numériques. La bande passante, la capacité du système électrique et le manque d’appareils ne doivent plus être des obstacles. Au-delà des besoins de base, les équipes-écoles auraient avantage à mener une réflexion commune sur la place du numérique en éducation et sur les rôles de chacun dans l’éducation au numérique. Enfin, une meilleure collaboration entre les services techniques et éducatifs permettrait d’atteindre un équilibre judicieux entre la sécurité des réseaux et les besoins éducatifs.

La deuxième orientation propose un meilleur alignement du curriculum, des apprentissages et de l’évaluation. Le caractère essentiel de la compétence numérique devrait être enchâssé dans les programmes, enseigné à travers les disciplines scolaires et évalué dans un contexte authentique. Cette orientation implique de définir ce que les élèves doivent maîtriser pour passer à l’étape suivante de leur scolarisation. Après la scolarité obligatoire, les élèves devraient être outillés pour continuer à apprendre tout au long de leur vie.

La troisième orientation propose d’actualiser les programmes de formation à l’enseignement et de répondre aux besoins de formation continue et d’accompagnement du personnel enseignant. Cette orientation se fonde sur la proposition de repenser l’éducation comme une tâche collaborative, dans laquelle l’enseignante ou l’enseignant agit de concert avec d’autres professionnels pour accompagner les élèves dans leurs apprentissages. En parallèle, les programmes de formation initiale doivent faire plus de place aux technologies numériques, idéalement en devenant des modèles d’approche collaborative et d’intégration du numérique dans l’apprentissage. Le personnel enseignant en exercice a également besoin de formation et de temps pour expérimenter. Il doit aussi être accompagné pour développer ses compétences professionnelles, y compris numériques.

La migration rapide vers l’enseignement à distance en raison de la pandémie a exacerbé à la fois les côtés négatifs et positifs du numérique en éducation : frustrations liées au manque de ressources et de formation d’une part, occasions d’innovations pédagogiques d’autre part. Dans la tourmente et après, ne perdons pas de vue le rôle que devrait jouer le numérique en éducation : développer des compétences. Éduquer par le numérique est nécessaire, mais insuffisant. L’éducation au numérique contribuera à faire en sorte que les élèves d’aujourd’hui deviennent des citoyens responsables, dotés d’un sens critique, conscients des pièges que tendent les technologies et des avantages qu’elles apportent. Cette responsabilité du système éducatif ne saurait s’exercer sans gagner l’adhésion du personnel enseignant et de toutes les parties prenantes.

Références
Conseil supérieur de l’éducation (2020).  Éduquer au numérique, Rapport sur l’état et les besoins de l’éducation 2018-2020, Québec.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!