Distance education: the gateway to the integration of digital in the classroom

In 2010, Ruben Puentedura presented a model, called SAMR, to facilitate the choice, integration and evaluation of technological tools in the classroom in order to engage students in their learning. By superimposing on it another model, that of Bloom, things take on their full meaning to facilitate the creation of meaningful tasks, allowing the attainment of higher cognitive levels. Let's take a closer look!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In 2010, Ruben Puentedura presented a model, called SAMR, to facilitate the choice, integration and evaluation of technological tools in the classroom in order to engage students in their learning. By superimposing on it another model, that of Bloom, things take on their full meaning to facilitate the creation of meaningful tasks, allowing the attainment of higher cognitive levels. Let's take a closer look!

Who could predict that the world of education would go digital, everyone at the same time? Since the possibility of continuing distance education next September is not excluded, why not think about the integration of distance digital technology, but also when returning to class?

In an emergency, teachers went digital to communicate with their students, to provide access to content and to assess learning. For some teachers, adaptation has proven difficult. It must be said that the enabling conditions are not always met. However, some are discovering new possibilities, new applications. Others appreciate efficiency or rejoice in access to 1: 1 ratio technology. While we are discussing a possible return to normal, what will remain of these few months of all digital?

When Bloom meets Puentedura (SAMR)

In 2010, Ruben Puentedura presented a model, called SAMR, to facilitate the choice, integration and evaluation of technological tools in the classroom in order to engage students in their learning. For a more detailed explanation of the model, see this other article. Basically, this four-tier model offers a gradation of student use of technology. But it is by superimposing Bloom's model to Puentedura's model that things take on their full meaning, as shown in the diagram below. Thus, the use of digital in the classroom would facilitate the creation of engaging, meaningful and authentic tasks, thus allowing the attainment of higher cognitive levels. Let's see how this model can support distance education.

Substitution

Since March, the teaching staff has been busy finding technological means to communicate with students and provide access to course content. Students switched to digital workbooks. The tablet serves as a pencil, notebook and TNI. Cloud storage services are replacing photocopies and the good old binder. This is therefore a substitution (1st step of the SAMR model) where the student performs the same tasks as before, but using digital tools. These tasks generally lead to the first levels of Bloom's taxonomy, i.e. to memorize and of understand.

Increase

Teachers gradually familiarize themselves with new digital tools or discover new features. Self-correction of quizzes promotes autonomy. Collaborative documents allow students to critique the work of others. So there is here a increase (2nd step of the SAMR model) of the proposed tasks, a little more, compared to the tasks carried out without technology. These learning activities generally allow the student to understand and D'apply.

Thus, these first two levels of the SAMR model correspond to an enhancement of learning activities compared to the initial situation. These are the stages that are reached quite naturally in distance training. This does not mean that it can be done without difficulty. But substitution and augmentation alone do not allow the attainment of higher cognitive levels. 

Modification

At this level, technology is an integral part of the task. The latter generally uses multimedia (eg video can support writing in a blog). The productions are differentiated, unique and are not addressed only to the teacher, but to a wider or smaller audience. When you leave the classroom, the task becomes more authentic. In this way, the proposed tasks make it possible to reach higher cognitive levels, such asanalysis and theEvaluation.

Redefinition

At the last level of the SAMR model, the achievement of the requested task is inconceivable without the contribution of technology. The creation lies at the heart of this type of task. For example, a student could create a virtual reality exhibit on a specific theme to provide public access to the art. To prepare for his exhibition, he could communicate with the artists by videoconference or collaborate with young people from another class, from another country or in another language in order to compare cultural perspectives. All of this can be done without leaving your classroom ... or your living room. 

These last two levels require a transformation of the initial task through the use of technology. The task becomes more open, complex, authentic and inclusive. It also requires a transformation of the role of the teacher. From content broker, he becomes an accompanist. At this level, a learning community is usually set up to create a synergy between the learners. Thus, these last two steps of the SAMR model facilitate the achievement of higher cognitive activities. Another interesting advantage: this type of more differentiated task makes it possible to avoid plagiarism, one of the major challenges of remote evaluation. 

Some avenues for reflection

The model presented makes it possible to understand the role of digital tools in learning, whether at a distance or in the classroom. Here are some food for thought. For best results, Puentedura indicates two conditions essential to its model. First, the teacher must be motivated by improving their learning activities and not by integrating the technology for themselves. In this forced shift towards distance learning, it will therefore quickly be necessary to focus on engaging learning activities rather than on digital tools. Then, a gradual shift towards easy-to-use digital tools is necessary while avoiding needlessly complicated tools, for both the student and the teacher. 

For his part, Rhein presents a practical decision tree that allows you to situate yourself in the SAMR model. The teacher could also use this diagram to identify what is missing in their learning activity to move to the next level. 

Finally, Youki Terada, offers three simple questions to guide the choice of digital tools: 

  • How can my teaching be enhanced by the use of technology?
  • How can I stimulate the engagement of my students through the use of technology?
  • How does technology allow me to offer authentic tasks that resemble those encountered outside of school?

Of course, it is possible for the student to learn without necessarily going through the top of the Puentedura or Bloom models. Some concepts or techniques may require less complex tasks. It is up to the teacher to develop the task according to the learning targets. Ideally, the student should be able to choose the most appropriate tools to perform the proposed task. But in primary as in secondary, this choice must be skilfully guided. In addition, depending on the age and degree of autonomy of the student, tasks at higher levels may require constant support, especially at a distance. Going back already seems inconceivable. When they return to class, the students and teachers will have radically changed their practices. Since necessity creates need, isn't this compulsory passage through distance education an opportunity to be seized to really integrate digital technology into the classroom? This is a great opportunity to think about it and the SAMR model constitutes a complementary tool to the Reference framework for digital competence to reflect on the place of digital in learning.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

L’enseignement à distance : porte d’entrée vers l’intégration du numérique en classe

En 2010, Ruben Puentedura a présenté un modèle, appelé SAMR, pour faciliter le choix, l’intégration et l’évaluation des outils technologiques en classe afin d’engager les élèves dans leurs apprentissages. En y superposant un autre modèle, celui de Bloom, les choses prennent tout leur sens pour faciliter la création de tâches signifiantes, permettant l’atteinte de niveaux cognitifs supérieurs. Voyons de plus près!

Qui pouvait prédire que le monde de l’éducation prendrait le virage numérique, tout le monde en même temps? Puisque la possibilité de poursuivre l’enseignement à distance en septembre prochain n’est pas exclue, pourquoi ne pas réfléchir à l’intégration du numérique à distance, mais également lors du retour en classe?

Dans l’urgence, les enseignants se sont mis au numérique pour communiquer avec leurs élèves, pour donner accès à du contenu et pour évaluer les apprentissages. Pour certains enseignants, l’adaptation s’est avérée difficile. Il faut dire que les conditions facilitantes ne sont pas toujours réunies. Pourtant, certains découvrent de nouvelles possibilités, de nouvelles applications. D’autres apprécient l’efficacité ou se réjouissent de l’accès à la technologie au ratio 1:1. Alors qu’on discute d’un éventuel retour à la normale, que restera-t-il de ces quelques mois de tout numérique?

Quand Bloom rencontre Puentedura (SAMR)

En 2010, Ruben Puentedura a présenté un modèle, appelé SAMR, pour faciliter le choix, l’intégration et l’évaluation des outils technologiques en classe afin d’engager les élèves dans leurs apprentissages. Pour une explication plus détaillée du modèle, consultez cet autre article. En gros, ce modèle à quatre niveaux propose une gradation de l’utilisation de la technologie par les élèves. Mais c’est en superposant le modèle de Bloom au modèle de Puentedura que les choses prennent tout leur sens, comme le démontre le schéma ci-dessous. Ainsi, l’utilisation du numérique en classe faciliterait la création de tâches engageantes, signifiantes et authentiques, permettant ainsi l’atteinte de niveaux cognitifs supérieurs. Voyons comment ce modèle peut soutenir l’enseignement à distance.

Substitution

Depuis le mois de mars, le personnel enseignant s’affaire à trouver des moyens technologiques qui permettent de communiquer avec les élèves et de donner accès aux contenus de cours. Les élèves sont passés aux cahiers d’exercices numériques. La tablette sert de crayon, de cahier de notes et de TNI. Les services de stockage infonuagiques remplacent les photocopies et le bon vieux cartable. Il s’agit donc ici d’une substitution (1re étape du modèle SAMR) où l’élève effectue les mêmes tâches qu’avant, mais à l’aide d’outils numériques. Ces tâches permettent généralement d’atteindre les premiers niveaux de la taxonomie de Bloom, soit de mémoriser et de comprendre.

Augmentation

Les enseignants se familiarisent graduellement avec de nouveaux outils numériques ou découvrent de nouvelles fonctionnalités. L’autocorrection des quiz favorise l’autonomie. Les documents collaboratifs permettent aux élèves de critiquer le travail des autres. Il y a donc ici une augmentation (2e étape du modèle SAMR) des tâches proposées, un petit plus, par rapport aux tâches réalisées sans technologie. Ces activités d’apprentissage permettent généralement à l’élève de comprendre et d’appliquer.

Ainsi, ces deux premiers échelons du modèle SAMR correspondent à un rehaussement des activités d’apprentissage par rapport à la situation de départ. Ce sont les étapes qui sont atteintes assez naturellement en formation à distance. Cela ne signifie pas que cela puisse se faire sans difficulté. Mais la substitution et l’augmentation seules ne permettent pas l’atteinte des niveaux cognitifs supérieurs. 

Modification

À ce niveau, la technologie fait partie intégrante de la tâche. Cette dernière fait généralement appel au multimédia (ex. : la vidéo peut supporter l’écrit dans un blogue). Les productions sont différenciées, uniques et ne s’adressent pas seulement à l’enseignant, mais à un public, plus ou moins large. En sortant de la classe, la tâche gagne en authenticité. De cette manière, les tâches proposées permettent d’atteindre les niveaux cognitifs supérieurs, comme l’analyse et l’évaluation.

Redéfinition

Au dernier niveau du modèle SAMR, la réalisation de la tâche demandée est inconcevable sans l’apport de la technologie. La création se trouve au coeur de ce type de tâche. Par exemple, un élève pourrait créer une exposition en réalité virtuelle sur un thème précis afin de donner un accès public à l’art. Pour préparer son exposition, il pourrait communiquer avec les artistes par vidéoconférence ou collaborer avec des jeunes d’une autre classe, d’un autre pays ou dans une autre langue afin de comparer les perspectives culturelles. Tout cela peut se faire sans quitter sa classe… ou son salon. 

Ces deux derniers échelons exigent une transformation de la tâche initiale par l’usage de la technologie. La tâche devient plus ouverte, complexe, authentique et intégratrice. Cela demande aussi une transformation du rôle de l’enseignant. De passeur de contenu, il devient un accompagnateur. À ce niveau, une communauté d’apprentissage est généralement mise en place pour créer une synergie entre les apprenants. Ainsi, ces deux derniers échelons du modèle SAMR facilitent la réalisation d’activités cognitives supérieures. Autre avantage intéressant : ce type de tâche plus différenciée permet d’éviter le plagiat, un des enjeux majeurs de l’évaluation à distance. 

Quelques pistes de réflexion

Le modèle présenté permet de comprendre le rôle des outils numériques dans l’apprentissage, que ce soit à distance ou en classe. Voici quelques pistes de réflexion. Pour de meilleurs résultats, Puentedura indique deux conditions essentielles à son modèle. D’abord, l’enseignant doit être motivé par l’amélioration de ses activités d’apprentissage et non par l’intégration de la technologie pour elle-même. Dans ce passage forcé vers l’enseignement à distance, il faudra donc rapidement se concentrer sur les activités d’apprentissages engageantes plutôt que sur les outils numériques. Ensuite, un passage graduel vers des outils numériques simples d’utilisation est nécessaire tout en évitant les outils inutilement compliqués, pour l’élève comme pour l’enseignant. 

De son côté, Rhein présente un arbre décisionnel pratique qui permet de se situer dans le modèle SAMR. L’enseignant pourrait aussi utiliser ce schéma pour identifier ce qu’il manque à son activité d’apprentissage pour passer au prochain niveau. 

Finalement, Youki Terada, propose trois questions simples pour guider le choix des outils numériques : 

  • Comment mon enseignement peut-il être bonifié par l’utilisation de la technologie?
  • Comment puis-je stimuler l’engagement de mes élèves par l’utilisation de la technologie?
  • Comment la technologie me permet-elle de proposer des tâches authentiques qui ressemblent à celles rencontrées en dehors de l’école?

Bien sûr, il est possible pour l’élève de faire des apprentissages sans nécessairement passer par le sommet des modèles de Puentedura ou de Bloom. Certains concepts ou techniques peuvent nécessiter des tâches moins complexes. Il revient à l’enseignant d’élaborer la tâche en fonction des cibles d’apprentissage. Idéalement, l’élève devrait pouvoir choisir les outils les plus appropriés pour effectuer la tâche proposée. Mais au primaire comme au secondaire, ce choix doit être habilement guidé. De plus, en fonction de l’âge et du degré d’autonomie de l’élève, les tâches des niveaux supérieurs peuvent nécessiter un soutien constant, particulièrement à distance. Le retour en arrière semble déjà inconcevable. Au retour en classe, les élèves et les enseignants auront modifié radicalement leurs pratiques. Puisque la nécessité crée le besoin, ce passage obligé par l’enseignement à distance n’est-il pas une occasion à saisir pour intégrer réellement le numérique dans la classe? L’occasion est belle d’y réfléchir et le modèle SAMR constitue un outil complémentaire au Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique pour réfléchir sur la place du numérique dans les apprentissage.



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et conseiller en évaluation des apprentissages a cumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Maintenant édimestre à Carrefour éducation, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion dans l’exploration et le partage de ressources numériques à l’ensemble du réseau scolaire québécois.