ADVERTISEMENT

Teacher-remedial education collaboration: detecting delays at the start of the year

As we can imagine, the confinement of last spring had consequences on the progress of the learning of some students. Here is an idea of collaboration for screening and the establishment of recovery strategies, to put forward now!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Catherine Turcotte, professor in the Department of Specialized Education and Training at the University of Quebec at Montreal (UQAM) suggests a collaboration between teachers and remedial teachers that could be achieved quite simply in the current context.

Despite the fact that school professionals are already overwhelmed, she recalls that it is important to work together to identify students who may have accumulated "small delays" due to the spring confinement.

Here is his recommendation. If a teacher suspects or observes particular difficulties in a student, he can validate the situation by having him undergo small screening tests. "For example, the teacher can prepare reading tests with reading comprehension exercises, or have short texts written to detect specific gaps while respecting the level where the pupil should be", he indicates. it.

With the results in hand, the teacher will then consult the school remedial teacher so that he or she can guide him or her on the actions to be taken quickly. Very targeted activities may be offered to the student, without necessarily having to be an official consultation. In the context where the lists tend to lengthen to consult a specialist, this collaboration becomes essential. Indeed, it could allow some students to catch up with "minor delays" and prevent them from getting worse. 

“If the same type of difficulty is detected in several students, why not organize a few recovery sessions in small groups? It could be during lunch hour or after class when possible, ”she suggests.

Ms. Turcotte is convinced that, for students who do not have learning disabilities, but who simply have to catch up because of the context, this way of doing things can give them a solid helping hand.

Without too much pressure

Isabelle Gadbois, president of the Association des orthopédagogues du Québec, very favorably welcomes Ms. Turcotte's proposal. “The collaboration between teachers and remedial teachers is even more decisive at the moment. "

She adds that teachers from previous levels, who worked with students last year, can also become good allies to validate certain observations. Were there any difficulties already present? Have new ones been added or even absorbed?

Without minimizing the need for some students to catch up, the president nevertheless wishes to remind professionals not to put too much pressure on themselves with screening. “You always have to ask yourself: 'late compared to what? ". The Quebec school program is a learning continuum, there is a way to reorganize the content to ensure that students can arrive at the end of the year with the same learning baggage ”.

Madame Gadbois also uses a metaphor to illustrate her point: “If you have been sick this week and have not eaten, will you eat 21 meals on Saturday? Of course not! You will start to eat again gradually to replenish your nutrients. It should be exactly the same with school learning. "

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La collaboration enseignant-orthopédagogue : dépister les retards en début d’année

Comme on se doute bien, le confinement du printemps dernier a eu des conséquences sur l'avancement des apprentissages de certains élèves. Voici une idée de collaboration pour le dépistage et l'établissement de stratégies de rattrapage, à mettre de l'avant dès maintenant!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Catherine Turcotte, professeure au Département d’éducation et formation spécialisées de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) suggère une collaboration entre enseignants et orthopédagogues qui pourrait se concrétiser assez simplement dans le contexte actuel.

Malgré le fait que les professionnels en milieu scolaire soient déjà débordés, elle rappelle qu’il est important de travailler de pair afin de repérer les élèves qui ont pu accumuler de « petits retards » en raison du confinement printanier.

Voici sa recommandation. Si un enseignant soupçonne ou observe des difficultés particulières chez un élève, il peut valider la situation en lui faisant passer de petits tests de dépistage. « Par exemple, l’enseignant peut préparer des tests de lecture avec des exercices de compréhension de l’écrit, ou faire rédiger de courts textes pour déceler des lacunes spécifiques en respectant le niveau où l’élève devrait être », indique-t-elle.

Avec les résultats en main, l’enseignant va ensuite consulter l’orthopédagogue de l’école pour que celui-ci l’oriente sur les actions à prendre rapidement. Des activités très ciblées pourront être proposées à l’élève, sans qu’il y ait nécessairement de consultation officielle. Dans le contexte où les listes tendent à s’allonger pour consulter un spécialiste, cette collaboration devient essentielle. En effet, elle pourrait permettre à certains élèves de rattraper les « petits retards » et éviter que ceux-ci ne s’aggravent. 

« Si le même type de difficultés est décelé chez plusieurs élèves, pourquoi ne pas organiser quelques séances de récupération en petits groupes? Cela pourrait être pendant l’heure du dîner ou après la classe lorsque c’est possible », propose-t-elle.

Mme Turcotte est convaincue que, pour les élèves qui n’ont pas de troubles d’apprentissage, mais qui ont simplement un rattrapage à faire en raison du contexte, cette façon de faire pourra leur donner un solide coup de main.

Sans trop de pression

Isabelle Gadbois, présidente de l’Association des orthopédagogues du Québec, accueille très favorablement la proposition de Mme Turcotte. « La collaboration entre enseignants et orthopédagogues est encore plus déterminante en ce moment. »

Elle ajoute que les enseignants des niveaux précédents, qui ont côtoyé les élèves l’année dernière, peuvent aussi devenir de bons alliés pour valider certaines observations. Certaines difficultés étaient-elles déjà présentes? Est-ce que de nouvelles se sont ajoutées ou même résorbées?

Sans minimiser la nécessité pour certains élèves de faire du rattrapage, la présidente tient cependant à rappeler aux professionnels de ne pas se mettre trop de pression avec le dépistage . « Il faut toujours se demander : « en retard par rapport à quoi? ». Le programme de l’école québécoise est un continuum d’apprentissage, il y a une façon de réorganiser les contenus pour s’assurer que les élèves puissent arriver à la fin de l’année avec le même bagage d’apprentissage ».

Madame Gadbois utilise d’ailleurs une métaphore pour illustrer son propos : « Si vous avez été malade cette semaine et que n’avez pas mangé, allez-vous manger 21 repas samedi? Bien sûr que non! Vous allez recommencer à vous nourrir progressivement pour refaire le plein de nutriments. Cela devrait être exactement la même chose avec l’apprentissage scolaire. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!