From the seed to the plate

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

It's great to eat a good pasta with basil pesto, a bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwich or a fresh vegetable gratin. It is even more pleasant to be able to enjoy these dishes using food grown by oneself. SCOOP! helps you plan the creation of a garden, from the seed to the plate!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)


How good it is to eat good pasta with basil pesto, a bacon, lettuce, tomato sandwich or a fresh vegetable gratin. It is even nicer to be able to taste these dishes using food grown yourself. 

From March, you can start growing several plants indoors. Sowing the seedlings indoors allows the plant to start growing earlier in order to give it time to produce enough fruit before the temperature cools down in October.

Gardeners in every region of the globe have created calendars that let us know when to plant indoors and directly in the garden, when to move them outdoors, and when to harvest. For example, according to the experience of gardeners, the right time to plant tomato seeds is between the end of March and mid-April, or 6 weeks before putting them outside. For carrots, plant them directly in the garden in mid-May. Several calendars exist online, however it is necessary to choose one that represents your region. The site Space for Life at the Montreal Botanical Garden offers an interesting schedule.

Of course, it is also possible to get ready-to-plant seedlings in the garden.

When you want to create a garden, you have to plan it according to your needs, according to the space available and not to forget the time and energy that you can devote to it. The apprentice gardener chooses his seeds based on what he likes to eat or the flowers he finds pretty. Then, you have to find out if it is possible to grow the foods you choose in your environment. Several gardeners and garden centers share their gardening experiences on the internet or in books. We can read that it is difficult to grow a corn plant in a pot on a balcony for example. In addition, knowing that a corn plant generally produces two ears, it is a lot of energy to devote for little yield. A cherry tomato plant may be more interesting to grow on your balcony since it produces a lot of tomatoes. If you are away for a vacation during the summer, you must provide the help of someone who will take care of the garden.

If you have more space in the field, you may want to try more than one type of seed. It is therefore interesting to organize the environment where we will grow our plants. The plants have different heights. They must be avoided by hiding themselves from the sun, for example.

Preparing the soil by making sure it will be healthy enough to accommodate the plants is something to consider. 🌱

It is important to be well informed before starting. The success of a garden depends on several elements and the attention given to it (The checklist table below will be useful if you are tempted by the experience). Despite all the efforts made, nature is very capricious. Taking notes and experimenting will improve the garden from year to year. Nevertheless, the pride one feels when tasting a vegetable that has been grown gives almost every bite the desire to sow the next spring.

Happy gardening!

Memory aid
1. Choose the plants you want to grow. 🌶🥦🍓🥒
2. Consider the space and time available for plant care.
3. Learn about the plants chosen.
4. Get the materials: tools, seeds and soil. 👩🌾
5. Plant at the right time seedlings and plants. 🌱
6. Observe, water, weed, note changes.
7. Harvest and taste. 🪴

Challenge 💥

Cooking with your crops is the ultimate goal of gardening. Have your students search the web for recipes that contain the foods they would like to grow. Why not create a small cookbook with Book CreatorGoogle Slides or Apple Pages, or organize a directory of links containing your favorite recipes?


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

Elementary cycle 2 and 3:

Science and technology

  • Connect various tools, objects or technological processes to their contexts and uses
  • Evaluate the impact of various tools, instruments or processes 
    • Use of simple measuring instruments
    • Conventions and modes of representation specific to the concepts under study (tables for example)
    • Seasons
    • plant reproduction
    • Plant growth

Mathematical

  • Mobilize mathematical concepts and processes appropriate to the situation
    • Geometry (Track in a plane)
    • Measurement (conventional units of length, area, time and temperature)

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Producing content with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Creation of tables: Microsoft (Word, PowerPoint, Excel…), Apple (Pages, Keynote, Numbers…), Google Drive (Spreadsheet, Presentation, Document…)
  • Plan creation: Tinkercad, Mindcraft, SketchUp 
  • Gardener's notebook: Comic Life, BDnF, slideshow (Power Point style), Padlet

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of the readings and activities, students will be able to experiment with gardening from seed to harvest, whether at school or at home.

Objectives of the activities

  • Understand that planning and organization help garden success.
  • Get informed to have the necessary knowledge to operate a garden.
  • Discover the growth process of the plant.
  • Appreciate nature.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

De la semence jusqu’à l’assiette

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Qu’il est bon de manger de bonnes pâtes au pesto de basilic, un sandwich bacon, laitue, tomate ou un gratin de légumes frais. Il est encore plus agréable de pouvoir déguster ces plats en utilisant des aliments cultivés soi-même. SCOOP! vous aide à planifier la création d'un jardin, de la semence jusqu'à l'assiette!

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)


Qu’il est bon de manger de bonnes pâtes au pesto de basilic, un sandwich bacon, laitue, tomate ou un gratin de légumes frais. Il est encore plus agréable de pouvoir déguster ces plats en utilisant des aliments cultivés soi-même. 

Dès le mois de mars, on peut débuter la culture de plusieurs végétaux à l’intérieur. Faire les semis à l’intérieur permet à la plante de commencer sa croissance plus tôt afin de lui donner le temps de produire assez de fruits avant que la température refroidisse en octobre.

Les jardiniers de chaque région du globe ont créé des calendriers nous permettant de savoir quand effectuer les semis à l’intérieur et directement dans le jardin, quand les déplacer vers l’extérieur et quand les récolter. Par exemple, selon l’expérience des jardiniers, le bon moment pour planter les semences de tomates est entre la fin de mars et la mi-avril, soit 6 semaines avant de les mettre dehors. Pour les carottes, on les plantera directement dans le jardin à la mi-mai. Plusieurs calendriers existent en ligne, il est cependant nécessaire d’en choisir un qui représente votre région. Le site Espace pour la vie du Jardin botanique de Montréal propose un calendrier intéressant.

Bien sûr, il est aussi possible de se procurer des plants prêts à être mis en terre dans le jardin.

Lorsqu’on veut se créer un jardin, il faut le planifier selon nos besoins, selon l’espace dont on dispose et ne pas oublier le temps et l’énergie qu’on pourra y accorder. L’apprenti jardinier choisit ses semences en fonction de ce qu’il aime manger ou des fleurs qu’il trouve jolies. Ensuite, il faut s’informer pour savoir s’il est possible de faire pousser les aliments choisis dans son environnement. Plusieurs jardiniers et centres de jardin partagent sur internet ou dans des livres leurs expériences de jardinage. On pourra lire qu’il est difficile de faire pousser un plant de maïs dans un pot sur un balcon par exemple. De plus, sachant qu’un plant de maïs produit en général deux épis, c’est beaucoup d’énergie à consacrer pour peu de rendement. Un plant de tomates cerises sera peut-être plus intéressant à cultiver sur son balcon puisqu’il produit beaucoup de tomates. Si on s’absente pour des vacances durant l’été, il faut prévoir l’aide de quelqu’un qui voudra bien s’occuper du jardin.

Si on dispose d’un espace plus grand sur le terrain, on voudra peut-être essayer plusieurs types de semences. Il est intéressant alors d’organiser l’environnement où on cultivera nos plants. Les plantes ont différentes hauteurs. Il faut éviter qu’elles se gênent en se cachant du soleil par exemple.

La préparation de la terre en s’assurant qu’elle sera assez en santé pour accueillir les plantes est à considérer. 🌱

Il est important de bien se renseigner avant de se lancer. Le succès d’un jardin dépend de plusieurs éléments et de l’attention qu’on y accorde (Le tableau aide-mémoire ci-dessous vous sera utile si l’expérience vous tente). Malgré tous les efforts fournis, la nature est bien capricieuse. Prendre des notes et expérimenter permettent de bonifier le jardin d’année en année. Néanmoins, la fierté qu’on ressent en dégustant un légume qu’on a fait pousser donne presque à chaque bouchée l’envie de semer dès le prochain printemps.

Bon jardinage!

Aide mémoire
1. Choisir les plantes qu’on veut cultiver. 🌶🥦🍓🥒
2. Réfléchir à l’espace dont on dispose et au temps qu’on peut accorder aux soins des plantes.
3. Se renseigner sur les végétaux choisis.
4. Se procurer le matériel : outils, semences et terreau. 👩‍🌾
5. Planter au bon moment semis et plants. 🌱
6. Observer, arroser, désherber, noter les changements.
7. Récolter et déguster. 🪴

Défi 💥

Cuisiner avec ses récoltes demeure le but ultime du jardinage. Invitez vos élèves à chercher sur le Web des recettes qui contiennent les aliments qu’ils aimeraient faire pousser. Pourquoi ne pas créer un petit livre de recettes avec Book Creator, Google Slides ou Pages de Apple, ou bien organiser un répertoire de liens contenant vos recettes préférées?


 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Disciplines et niveaux visés

2e et 3e cycle du primaire :

– Science et technologie

  • Relier divers outils, objets ou procédés technologiques à leurs contextes et à leurs usages
  • Évaluer l’impact de divers outils, instruments ou procédés 
    • Utilisation d’instruments de mesure simples
    • Conventions et modes de représentation propre aux concepts à l’étude (tableaux par exemple)
    • Les saisons
    • La reproduction des végétaux
    • La croissance des végétaux

– Mathématique

  • Mobiliser des concepts et des processus mathématiques appropriés à la situation
    • Géométrie (Repérage dans un plan)
    • Mesure (unités conventionnelles de longueur, de surface, de temps et de température)

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Création de tableaux: Microsoft (Word, PowerPoint, Excel…), Apple (Pages, Keynote, Numbers…), Google Drive (Feuille de calcul, Présentation, Document…)
  • Création de plans: Tinkercad, Mindcraft, SketchUp 
  • Carnet du jardinier: Comic Life, BDnF, diaporama (style Power Point), Padlet

Intention pédagogique du guide

Au terme des lectures et activités, les élèves seront en mesure d’expérimenter le jardinage des semis jusqu’à la récolte, que ce soit à l’école ou à la maison.

Objectifs des activités

  • Comprendre que la planification et l’organisation aident au succès du jardin.
  • S’informer pour avoir les connaissances nécessaires à l’exploitation d’un jardin.
  • Découvrir le processus de croissance de la plante.
  • Apprécier la nature.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir