Cognition, motivation and emotions: theoretical considerations for increasing the impact of teaching

Motivation ... a subject that worries many teachers, especially during the pandemic. Today we have a document dating back a few years which allows us to dive back into the heart of the principles of academic motivation, particularly in relation to emotions.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Motivation… a subject that preoccupies many teachers, especially during the pandemic. Today we have a document dating back a few years which allows us to dive back into the heart of the principles of academic motivation, particularly in relation to emotions.

According to the cognitivist approach and for many teachers, motivation is one of the components of learner success. As can be read in the Teaching guide: little guide for great teachers (2010), academic motivation is essentially defined as the commitment, participation and persistence of the student in a task. Emotions can also be closely linked to motivation.

In the preface of Teaching guide: short guide for great teachers, the book is presented as "aimed at people who wish to increase the impact of their teaching on students." To achieve this, the two authors, Mario Dubé and Jacinthe Tardif, from the University of Quebec at Rimouski, rely on scientific foundations explaining the learning process. 

A chapter is devoted to motivation. “As with the construction of knowledge, the learner shapes academic motivation as a result of his past experiences, his successes and his failures,” we can read. In addition, the authors recall that motivation is "a dynamic state which has its origins in the perceptions that a pupil has of himself and his environment and which encourages him to choose an activity, to engage in it and to persevere in its accomplishment in order to achieve a goal. " 

So how do you cultivate motivation in a distance education situation? The theoretical considerations recalled in this book will certainly inspire, even if they do not directly examine this form of learning. 

Three basic principles

According to St-Onge (1990), cited in the Memento, “A study relationship can only be established when a teaching situation meets three essential conditions:

  • The teacher is a motivator who knows how to capture and keep the attention of the learner 
  • Content is presented in a way that makes sense for the learner
  • The learner's emotions are associated with the learning activity ”

To better understand them, the authors of Memento retained “the six specific characteristics of academic motivation presented by Bennett and Rolheiser (2006): success, pressure, meaning, favorable climate, interest and knowledge of results”. We summarize some of them.

Success

“If the student clearly sees himself in a successful situation, he will have more confidence and the greater will be his motivation to accomplish the task. By the same token, he will succeed more easily. As a teacher, affirming and demonstrating confidence in student success is a good strategy. Another way of allowing students to see for themselves the progress made with the help of a summary at the end of the online session. 

Meaning

“The more the learner sees the different links between the concepts presented, the more he will be inclined to invest in his studies and, by the same token, in a position to carry out in-depth learning. »Contextualization is a good way to make learning concrete and give it meaning. It may be to use the current situation to present examples and counter-examples from the student's daily life at home.

Previous knowledge

“The moment when new information enters short-term memory to be processed and transformed into new knowledge has to be linked to others in long-term memory. »Starting the online session by checking your students' cognitive prerequisites is a good way to do this. This time thus devoted to recalling previous knowledge will serve as a solid anchor point for the new information. Interested in this topic? Discover the Teaching guide: little guide for great teachers to deepen it and find proposals for pedagogical strategies. You might also be interested in listening to this video from the series of Educational meetings of École branchée which presents the Testimonial from teacher Danis Michaud, about student motivation and engagement.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Maryline Barrette Dubé
A graduate of a bachelor's degree in public communication, a “marketer” for more than 15 years, Maryline has been working to promote École branchée's activities and to publicize the organization's mandate since 2018. She is a devoted mother, an assumed epicurean. and IPA lover who, in her spare time, enjoys blog.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Cognition, motivation et émotions : considérations théoriques pour accroître l’impact de l’enseignement

La motivation... un sujet qui préoccupe plusieurs enseignants, particulièrement pendant la pandémie. On ressort aujourd'hui un document datant de quelques années qui permet de se replonger au coeur des principes de la motivation scolaire, en lien notamment avec les émotions.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

La motivation… un sujet qui préoccupe plusieurs enseignants, particulièrement pendant la pandémie. On ressort aujourd’hui un document datant de quelques années qui permet de se replonger au coeur des principes de la motivation scolaire, en lien notamment avec les émotions.

Selon l’approche cognitiviste et pour bon nombre d’enseignants, la motivation fait partie des composantes du succès de l’apprenant. Comme on peut le lire dans le Mémento pédagogique : petit guide pour grands enseignants (2010), la motivation scolaire est essentiellement définie comme l’engagement, la participation et la persistance de l’élève dans une tâche. Les émotions peuvent également être étroitement liées à la motivation.

Dans la préface du Mémento pédagogique : petit guide pour grands enseignants, on présente l’ouvrage comme s’adressant « aux personnes désireuses d’accroître l’impact de leur enseignement auprès des étudiantes et des étudiants. » Pour y arriver, les deux auteurs, Mario Dubé et Jacinthe Tardif, de l’Université du Québec à Rimouski, s’appuient sur des fondements scientifiques expliquant le processus d’apprentissage. 

Un chapitre est consacré à la motivation. « Comme pour la construction du savoir, l’apprenant façonne la motivation scolaire en conséquence de ses expériences passées, de ses réussites comme de ses échecs », peut-on y lire. De plus, les auteurs rappellent que la motivation est « un état dynamique qui a ses origines dans les perceptions qu’un élève a de lui-même et de son environnement et qui l’incite à choisir une activité, à s’y engager et à persévérer dans son accomplissement afin d’atteindre un but. » 

Alors, comment cultiver la motivation en situation d’enseignement à distance? Les considérations théoriques rappelées dans cet ouvrage sauront certainement inspirer, même si elles n’examinent pas directement cette forme d’apprentissage. 

Trois principes de base

Selon St-Onge (1990), cité dans le Mémento, « une relation d’étude ne peut être établie que lorsqu’une situation d’enseignement répond à trois conditions essentielles :

  • L’enseignant est un motivateur qui sait capter et conserver l’attention de l’apprenant 
  • Le contenu est présenté de façon à donner du sens pour l’apprenant
  • Les émotions de l’apprenant sont associées à l’activité d’apprentissage »

Pour mieux les comprendre, les auteurs du Mémento ont retenu « les six caractéristiques spécifiques de la motivation scolaire présentées par Bennett et Rolheiser (2006) : le succès, la pression, le sens, le climat favorable, l’intérêt et la connaissance des résultats ». On en résume quelques-unes.

Le succès

« Si l’étudiant se perçoit clairement en situation de réussite, il aura davantage confiance et plus grande sera sa motivation à accomplir la tâche. Par le fait même, il réussira plus facilement. » En tant qu’enseignant, affirmer et démontrer la confiance envers le succès des élèves est une bonne stratégie. Un autre moyen des de permettre aux élèves de constater par eux-mêmes le chemin parcouru à l’aide d’un récapitulatif à la fin de la séance en ligne. 

Le sens

« Plus l’apprenant voit les différents liens entre les notions présentées, plus il sera porté à s’investir dans ses études et, par le fait même, en mesure de réaliser des apprentissages en profondeur. » La mise en contexte est une bonne façon de rendre l’apprentissage concret pour lui donner du sens. Ce peut être d’utiliser  la situation actuelle pour présenter des exemples et des contres-exemples à partir du quotidien de l’élève à la maison.

Les connaissances antérieures

« Le moment où la nouvelle information entre dans la mémoire à court terme pour être traitée et transformée en nouvelles connaissances doit être reliée à d’autres dans la mémoire à long terme. » Commencer la séance en ligne par une vérification des préacquis cognitifs de vos élèves est une bonne façon d’y parvenir. Ce temps ainsi consacré au rappel des connaissances antérieures servira de point d’ancrage solide à la nouvelle information. Ce sujet vous intéresse? Découvrez le Mémento pédagogique : petit guide pour grands enseignants pour l’approfondir et trouver des propositions de stratégies pédagogiques. Vous pourriez aussi être intéressé à écouter cette vidéo de la série des Rendez-vous pédagogiques de l’École branchée qui présente le témoignage de l’enseignante Danis Michaud, à propos de motivation et d’engagement des élèves.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Maryline Barrette Dubé
Diplômée d’un baccalauréat en communication publique, « marketer » depuis plus de 15 ans, Maryline oeuvre au rayonnement des activités de l’École branchée et à faire connaître le mandat de l’organisation depuis 2018. C'est une maman dévouée, épicurienne assumée et amateure de IPA qui, dans ses temps libres, aime bloguer.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!