A day of reflection on the democratization of digital education

Digital inequalities and the importance of digital equity were at the heart of discussions at the second public session of the Consensus Conference on the Use of Digital Education. Organized by CTREQ, this day allowed education experts and practitioners to continue the discussions started in February during the first session. Here is our report.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Digital inequalities and the importance of digital equity were at the heart of discussions at the second public session of the Consensus Conference on the Use of Digital Education. Organized by CTREQ, the day provided an opportunity for education experts and practitioners to continue the discussions begun in February at the first session.

The consensus conference on the use of digital technology, organized by the Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), is a multi-month process. As in the first session, the experts that had produced various preparatory texts had to answer questions from the jury members who wanted to enrich their thinking.

The jury members of the Consensus Conference, composed of actors from the practice and under the chairmanship of Professor Simon Collinsare now charged with making final recommendations by June to policymakers. 

At the conclusion of the day, Stéphane Lehoux, Assistant Deputy Minister of Digital Transformation and Information Resources at the Quebec Ministry of Education, stated that "the conclusions of the Consensus Conference will become a major input for the Ministry as it continues its work on the digital transition of the school network. 

For more information on the process and the first session, we invite you to (re)read our report.

Democratizing the use of digital technology to promote equity

The second day was divided into four blocks of discussions. Despite the different themes of each of the blocks, common statements emerged a few times: the importance of developing digital skills for all, the necessary training of school personnel, the role that school can play in reducing inequalities (or not), the need to offer an up-to-date school that will allow students to become accomplished citizens in tomorrow's society.

Many also expressed the view that while the pandemic has allowed for a leap forward in the uses of digital technology, much more needs to be done to ensure its pedagogical integration, centered on the programs and needs of students. "Inequalities have been put under the microscope with the pandemic. They existed before, but we preferred to ignore them. Now we have no choice," said Jean Gabin Ntebutse, a professor at the University of Sherbrooke. 

Martine Pellerin, a professor at the University of Alberta, went further: "The pandemic showed that teachers were not digitally prepared. In some settings, we hit a wall. In her view, the school community must take some of the blame for the inequities in online service delivery that students received (or did not receive) in distance education settings. She repeated on a few occasions that students should be entitled to the same services whether they are at a distance or in the classroom.

Training, training, training

Thus, the importance of providing teachers with continuing education and professional development related to digital technology was emphasized by several speakers. "The pandemic has forced teachers to adopt digital technology. Now, they must be curious and have the desire to train to go further," said Josée Laprise, a remedial teacher at the Centre de services scolaires du Lac-Saint-Jean.

For many of the day's speakers, there is no doubt that teacher training is crucial to the integration and democratization of digital technology in schools. "We must support and value teachers who develop their digital skills," said Dominic Boudreau, student life advisor at the Centre de démonstration en sciences physiques. His organization welcomes school groups to its premises for scientific culture development activities. 

However, training does not only mean mastering digital tools. "It is also about developing a posture and a critical mindset towards digital technology," says Boudreau. This comment was supported by Mélanie Tremblay, professor at the Université du Québec à Rimouski (Campus de Lévis), later in the day: "Innovation is not in the tools.

Martine Pellerin also agreed: "At all levels of education, we need a renewal of knowledge and practices. We are still too much in the use of the material. We don't talk enough about citizenship in the digital age. She adds that it is normal that not all school stakeholders have the same skills - "we live in a heterogeneous world" - however, there should be a common base for all so that the education of young people in the digital age is more standardized. Currently, she argues, "trainers don't even have the skills to train future teachers.

Thus, the presence of digital in the classroom varies greatly from region to region, school to school, grade to grade, and even teacher to teacher. Students may have a teacher who integrates digital extensively one year and not at all the next. "Not all teachers have the same posture towards digital and this sometimes becomes discriminating for students. They are dependent on the choices their teachers make, which are very different from year to year," noted Josée Laprise.

"Teachers are key enablers in democratizing the use of digital in education. Everyone should be able to do so. We must be of our time," concluded Martine Pellerin on this subject.

What about the young people in all this?

Some in the school world might be tempted to say that young people are already "digital literate" because they are constantly glued to their cell phones. "Let's stop taking for granted that students are comfortable with digital technology, that they are necessarily multitasking. Young people are not a monolithic block when it comes to digital use," said Jean Gabin. 

Moreover, he mentioned that young people simply make intuitive use of the technological tools they have in their hands. "It is up to the schools to give them the opportunity to develop their digital skills, to become aware of the issues behind the techno interfaces. Also, the technology used in schools must meet specific educational needs.

By being slow to teach the uses of digital technology and the necessary critical thinking skills related to them, schools are not fulfilling their mission of forming socially engaged citizens, Gabin believes. "Technology is everywhere!"

Thinking of parents

The pandemic has definitely highlighted the importance of communication between schools and families, between teachers and parents. In the process, another issue has emerged: schools are communicating primarily via email or applications (Mozaik or others) with parents. However, have they asked themselves if parents have the capacity to use these means of communication? Do they offer other means of communication to parents?

Josée Thivierge, educational consultant and researcher at the Centre ÉCOBES of the Cégep de Jonquière, focused on the situation of parents in her remarks. "The school must ensure that it creates a dialogue with parents. It must not only send information. They need to make sure that they can respond. The school has a role to play in developing parents' digital skills." 

She gave two examples, based on research with parents. Some of them have difficulty expressing themselves in writing, make spelling mistakes, etc. If the only way to communicate with the school is to send an email, they simply won't do it. "School puts them in an uncomfortable situation. They don't feel like they're up to par." 

In some environments, parents do not speak either French or English. The children then become interpreters. However, in some contexts, a translation could demonstrate a genuine desire to engage in dialogue with the parent and avoid the child being caught in the middle. 

"The more parents feel heard, the more engaged they become and the more allies they become."

The final word goes to Normand Landry, professor at TÉLUQ University: "From now on, digital inequalities must be treated in the same way as social inequalities. Digital resources could be distributed according to the socio-economic status of schools. Let's leave room for the community to develop solutions based on local priorities. Let's stop wall-to-wall solutions in Quebec schools. School actors are at the heart of the digital response.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Une journée de réflexion sur la démocratisation du numérique en éducation

Les inégalités numériques et l’importance de l’équité numérique ont été au cœur des échanges lors de la deuxième séance publique de la Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique en éducation. Organisée par le CTREQ, cette journée a permis à des experts et praticiens de l’éducation de poursuivre les discussions débutées en février lors de la première séance. Voici notre compte-rendu.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Les inégalités numériques et l’importance de l’équité numérique ont été au cœur des échanges lors de la deuxième séance publique de la Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique en éducation. Organisée par le CTREQ, cette journée a permis à des experts et praticiens de l’éducation de poursuivre les discussions débutées en février lors de la première séance.

La Conférence de consensus sur l’utilisation du numérique, organisée par le Centre de transfert pour la réussite éducative du Québec (CTREQ), est une démarche sur plusieurs mois. Tout comme lors de la première séance, des experts qui avaient produit différents textes préparatoires ont eu à répondre aux questions des membres du jury qui désiraient enrichir leur réflexion.

Les membres du jury de la Conférence de consensus, composé d’acteurs de la pratique et sous la présidence du professeur Simon Collin, sont maintenant chargés de formuler des recommandations finales d’ici juin à l’intention des décideurs publics. 

En conclusion de la journée, Stéphane Lehoux, sous-ministre adjoint à la transformation numérique et aux ressources informationnelles du ministère de l’Éducation du Québec, a pris la parole et indiqué que « les conclusions de la Conférence de consensus deviendront un intrant majeur pour le ministère dans la poursuite des travaux visant la transition numérique du réseau scolaire ». 

Pour plus d’informations sur la démarche et la première séance, nous vous invitons à (re)lire notre compte rendu.

Démocratiser l’utilisation du numérique pour favoriser l’équité

La deuxième journée s’est déroulée à travers quatre blocs d’échanges. Malgré les thématiques différentes de chacun des blocs, des énoncés communs ont émergé à quelques reprises : l’importance du développement des compétences numériques pour tous, la nécessaire formation du personnel scolaire, le rôle que l’école peut jouer pour réduire les inégalités (ou pas), le besoin d’offrir une école actuelle qui permettra aux élèves de devenir des citoyens accomplis dans la société de demain.

Plusieurs se sont aussi montrés d’avis que, si la pandémie a permis de faire un bond en avant dans les usages du numérique, il reste aussi beaucoup à faire pour en assurer une intégration pédagogique, centrée sur les programmes et les besoins des élèves. « Les inégalités ont été mises à la loupe avec la pandémie. Elles existaient avant, mais on préférait ne pas en tenir compte. Aujourd’hui, nous n’avons plus le choix », a soutenu Jean Gabin Ntebutse, professeur à l’Université de Sherbrooke. 

Martine Pellerin, professeure à l’Université de l’Alberta, est allée plus loin : « La pandémie a montré que les enseignants n’étaient pas préparés au numérique. Dans certains milieux, on a frappé un mur ». Selon elle, le milieu scolaire doit prendre une part du blâme pour les inégalités dans la prestation de service en ligne que les élèves ont reçu (ou non) en contexte d’enseignement à distance. Elle a répété à quelques occasions que les élèves devraient avoir droit aux mêmes services qu’ils soient à distance ou en classe.

Formation, formation, formation

Ainsi, l’importance d’offrir aux enseignants de la formation continue et du développement professionnel en lien avec le numérique a été mise de l’avant par plusieurs intervenants. « La pandémie a forcé des enseignants à adopter le numérique. Maintenant, ils doivent être curieux et avoir le désir de se former pour aller plus loin », fait valoir Josée Laprise, orthopédagogue au Centre de services scolaire du Lac-Saint-Jean.

Pour plusieurs intervenants de la journée, il ne fait aucun doute que la formation des enseignants est déterminante pour l’intégration et la démocratisation du numérique dans les écoles. « Il faut soutenir et valoriser les enseignants qui développent leur compétence numérique », dit Dominic Boudreau, conseiller à la vie étudiante du Centre de démonstration en sciences physiques. Son organisation accueille des groupes scolaires dans ses locaux pour la tenue d’activités de développement de la culture scientifique. 

Par contre, se former ne veut pas seulement dire maîtriser des outils numériques. « Il s’agit aussi de développer une posture et un esprit critique face au numérique », précise M. Boudreau. Ce propos a été appuyé par Mélanie Tremblay, professeure à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski (Campus de Lévis), plus tard dans la journée : « L’innovation n’est pas dans les outils ».

Martine Pellerin s’est aussi montrée du même avis : « À tous les niveaux d’enseignement, on a besoin d’un renouvellement des connaissances et des pratiques. On est encore beaucoup trop dans l’utilisation du matériel. On ne parle pas assez de citoyenneté à l’ère du numérique ». Elle ajoute qu’il est normal que tous les intervenants scolaires n’aient pas les mêmes compétences – « on vit dans un monde hétérogène » – cependant, il devrait y avoir des bases communes pour tous afin que l’éducation des jeunes au numérique soit plus uniformisée. Actuellement, avance-t-elle, « les formateurs n’ont même pas les compétences nécessaires pour former les futurs enseignants ».

Ainsi, la présence du numérique en classe est très variable d’une région à l’autre, d’une école à l’autre, d’un niveau à l’autre et même d’un enseignant à l’autre. Les élèves peuvent avoir un enseignant qui intègre abondamment le numérique une année et pas du tout l’année suivante. « Les enseignants n’ont pas tous la même posture face au numérique et cela devient parfois discriminant pour les élèves. Ils sont dépendants des choix que font leurs enseignants, qui sont très différents d’une année à l’autre », a fait remarquer Josée Laprise.

« Les enseignants sont des passeurs déterminants pour démocratiser l’utilisation du numérique en éducation. Tous devraient être en mesure de le faire. Il faut être de son temps! », a conclu Martine Pellerin sur ce sujet.

Et les jeunes dans tout ça?

Certains acteurs du monde scolaire pourraient être tentés d’affirmer que les jeunes maîtrisent déjà « le numérique » puisqu’ils sont continuellement rivés à leur téléphone cellulaire. « Arrêtons de prendre pour acquis que les élèves sont à l’aise avec le numérique, qu’ils sont nécessairement multitâches. Les jeunes ne forment pas un bloc monolithique quant à l’usage du numérique », a indiqué Jean Gabin. 

D’ailleurs, il a mentionné que les jeunes font simplement une utilisation intuitive des outils technologiques qu’ils ont entre les mains. « Il appartient aux écoles de leur donner l’opportunité de développer leurs compétences numériques, de prendre conscience des enjeux qui se cachent derrière les interfaces technos. De même, la technologie utilisée dans les écoles doit répondre à des besoins éducatifs particuliers ».

En tardant à enseigner les usages du numérique et l’esprit critique nécessaire en lien avec ceux-ci, les écoles remplissent mal leur mission de former des citoyens engagés dans la société, estime M. Gabin. « La technologie est partout! »

Penser aux parents

La pandémie a définitivement mis en lumière l’importance de la communication entre l’école et les familles, entre les enseignants et les parents. Ce faisant, un autre enjeu est apparu : les écoles communiquent essentiellement par courriel ou via des applications (Mozaik ou autres) avec les parents. Cependant, se sont-elles demandé si les parents avaient la capacité d’utiliser ces moyens de communication? Offrent-elles d’autres moyens de communication aux parents?

Josée Thivierge, conseillère pédagogique et chercheure au Centre ÉCOBES du Cégep de Jonquière, s’est attardée à la situation des parents dans son propos. « L’école doit veiller à créer un dialogue avec les parents. Elle ne doit pas seulement envoyer de l’information. Elle doit s’assurer que ceux-ci pourront répondre. L’école a un rôle à jouer dans le développement des compétences numériques des parents. » 

Elle a donné deux exemples, basés sur une recherche menée auprès de parents. Certains d’entre eux ont de la difficulté à s’exprimer à l’écrit, font des fautes d’orthographe, etc. Si le seul moyen de communiquer avec l’école est d’envoyer un courriel, ils ne le feront tout simplement pas. « L’école les place dans une situation d’inconfort. Ils ne se sentent pas à la hauteur. » 

Dans certains milieux, les parents ne s’expriment ni en français ni en anglais. Les enfants deviennent alors des interprètes. Par contre, dans certains contextes, une traduction pourrait démontrer d’un véritable désir d’engager le dialogue avec le parent et éviterait à l’enfant de se retrouver entre les deux. 

« Plus les parents se sentent écoutés, plus ils s’engagent et deviennent des alliés. »

Le mot de la fin revient à Normand Landry, professeur à l’Université TÉLUQ : « Désormais, les inégalités numériques doivent être traitées au même titre que les inégalités sociales. Les ressources numériques pourraient être distribuées en fonction du statut socio-économique des écoles. Laissons de la latitude aux milieux pour qu’ils fassent émerger des solutions à partir des priorités locales. Arrêtons les solutions mur à mur dans les écoles au Québec. Les acteurs scolaires sont au cœur de la réponse numérique ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :