Computer programming: A support program for teachers

Some 640 teachers from 250 schools across Quebec will participate in the Projet particulier d'accompagnement (PPA) for the pedagogical use of computer programming as part of a program set up by the Quebec Ministry of Education. This program will allow more than 12,000 students to be introduced to programming.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Some 640 teachers from 250 schools across Quebec will participate in the Projet particulier d'accompagnement (PPA) for the pedagogical use of computer programming as part of a program set up by the Quebec Ministry of Education. This program will allow more than 12,000 students to be introduced to programming.

Nonprofit organization founded in 2017, valued is the service provider retained by the Ministère de l'Éducation du Québec to deploy a support program to support the teaching of computer programming in schools. The organization, headed by Christine Jost, was already offering support in schools in this sense.

The intention behind the project is to increase teachers' understanding of computer programming as a new form of language to be learned. Consequently, this language teaches the student to communicate, create and solve problems with a computer or a robot. Christine Jost, former principal of an elementary school in the Montreal area, is convinced that "knowing how to program is the basis for both scientific and digital thinking.

Participating teachers in the PPA come from some 25 different school service centers. Over the course of 10 weeks, each teacher will have the opportunity to participate in five 90-minute activities with his or her class and learn about programming. RÉCIT is collaborating with eSTIMe in the delivery of the activities.

Talking to a robot

To understand how a robot works, to be able to use it to its full potential, one must learn to talk to it. The director of eSTIMe believes that teachers must first become familiar with the learning opportunities for students, which are across all disciplines. They can then make connections to competency development and the Quebec Education Program (QEP).

Christine Jost gives the example of writing a story. In order for it to be coherent, it must respect certain sequences such as introducing the characters, situating the action in a given time or place, etc. Programming is the same thing. She draws a parallel between the cognitive processes of writing and programming. There are sequences to respect. 

In addition, the former school principal specifies that learning programming develops all the dimensions of digital competence in children, including problem solving, collaboration, technological skills, content production, innovation and creativity.

All can program

According to Jost, just 15 % of the population between the ages of 15 and 24 can program. "If we don't want to create a society of digital programming illiterates, we need to develop a taste for scientific thinking in children." And this development is good for everyone. For girls in particular, children from disadvantaged backgrounds as well as young people with autism spectrum disorders (ASD), believes Christine Jost.

The APP took off in 2021 with its first cohort of teachers. The experience appears to be successful, according to some of the numbers revealed in a survey of participants. According to Ms. Jost, 91 % of participants were satisfied or very satisfied with the clarity of the challenges, while 85 % of teachers felt they understood the programming concepts and 96 % found their students engaged during the activities.

Participating school service centers have already been selected for 2022. In these SSCs, interested parties may express their desire to participate in the APP.

In addition :

Get the Spring 2022 issue of École branchée magazine: Computer Programming - How to develop this skill?


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
2- Develop and mobilize your technological skills
9 - Adopt a personal and professional development perspective with digital technology in a posture of empowerment

To see the Framework.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Programmation informatique : Un programme d’accompagnement pour les enseignants

Quelque 640 enseignants provenant de 250 écoles sur le territoire québécois participeront au Projet particulier d’accompagnement (PPA) pour l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique dans le cadre d’un programme mis en place par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. Celui-ci permettra ainsi à plus de 12 000 élèves d’être aussi initiés à la programmation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Quelque 640 enseignants provenant de 250 écoles sur le territoire québécois participeront au Projet particulier d’accompagnement (PPA) pour l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique dans le cadre d’un programme mis en place par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec. Celui-ci permettra ainsi à plus de 12 000 élèves d’être aussi initiés à la programmation.

Organisme à but non lucratif fondé en 2017, eSTIMe est le prestataire de services retenu par le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec pour déployer un programme d’accompagnement en soutien à l’enseignement de la programmation informatique dans les écoles. L’organisation, dirigée par Christine Jost, offrait déjà de l’accompagnement dans les établissements scolaires en ce sens.

L’intention derrière le projet est de parfaire la compréhension des enseignants en leur permettant de comprendre que la programmation informatique est tout simplement une nouvelle forme de langage à apprendre. Conséquemment, ce langage apprend à l’élève à communiquer, créer et résoudre des problèmes avec un ordinateur ou un robot. Christine Jost, autrefois directrice d’une école primaire de la région de Montréal, en est convaincue : « savoir programmer, c’est la base à la fois d’une pensée scientifique et d’une pensée numérique ».

Les enseignants participants au PPA proviennent de quelque 25 centres de services scolaires différents. En 10 semaines, chacun aura l’opportunité de participer à cinq activités de 90 minutes avec sa classe et d’acquérir des notions en lien avec la programmation. Le RÉCIT collabore avec eSTIMe dans la réalisation des activités.

Parler à un robot

Pour comprendre comment fonctionne un robot, pour être en mesure de l’utiliser à son plein potentiel, il faut apprendre à lui parler. La directrice d’eSTIMe est d’avis que les enseignants doivent d’abord se familiariser avec les apprentissages possibles pour les élèves, qui sont dans toutes les disciplines. Ils peuvent alors faire des liens avec le développement des compétences et le Programme de formation de l’école québécoise (PFEQ).

Christine Jost donne l’exemple de l’écriture d’un récit. Afin que celui-ci soit cohérent, il doit respecter certaines séquences comme présenter les personnages, situer l’action dans un temps ou un lieu donné, etc. Programmer, c’est la même chose. Elle trace un parallèle entre les processus cognitifs d’écrire et la programmation. Il y a des séquences à respecter. 

Par ailleurs, l’ex-directrice d’école précise que l’apprentissage de la programmation développe auprès des enfants toutes les dimensions de la compétence numérique, notamment la résolution de problèmes, la collaboration, les habiletés technologiques, la production de contenu, l’innovation et la créativité.

Tous peuvent programmer

Selon Mme Jost, à peine 15 % de la population âgée de 15 et 24 ans sait programmer. « Si on ne veut pas créer une société d’analphabètes en matière de programmation numérique, il faut développer chez l’enfant le goût de la pensée scientifique. » Et ce développement est bon pour tous. Chez les filles en particulier, les enfants en milieu défavorisé ainsi que les jeunes atteints d’un trouble du spectre de l’autisme (TSA), estime Christine Jost.

Le PPA a pris son envol en 2021 avec une première cohorte d’enseignants. L’expérience vécue semble être concluante selon certains chiffres dévoilés lors d’un sondage mené auprès des participants. En effet, selon Mme Jost, 91 % de ceux-ci se sont dit sont satisfaits ou très satisfaits de la clarté des défis, alors que 85 % des enseignants considèrent avoir compris les concepts de programmation et que 96 % ont trouvé leurs élèves engagés durant les animations.

Les centres de services scolaires participants ont déjà été choisis pour 2022. Dans ces CSS, les intéressés peuvent manifester leur désir de prendre part au PPA.

En complément :

Procurez-vous le numéro du printemps 2022 du magazine École branchée : La programmation informatique – Comment développer cette habileté?


Dimension(s) de la compétence numérique en lien avec cet article
2- Développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques
9 – Adopter une perspective de développement personnel et professionnel avec le numérique dans une posture d’autonomisation

Voir le Cadre de référence.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :