A tool that allows students to express themselves orally

Whether it is to keep diverse traces of student learning or to assess oral communication differently, more and more teachers are discovering the Flipgrid application. Jean-Sébastien Reid, Deputy Director General at Idée Éducation Entrepreneuriale, had the opportunity to present it during the IDÉE 2021 Congress.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Whether it is to keep diverse traces of student learning or to assess oral communication differently, more and more teachers are discovering the Flipgrid application. Jean-Sébastien Reid, Deputy Director General at Idée Éducation Entrepreneuriale, had the opportunity to present it during the IDÉE 2021 Congress.

At the start of the workshop, Jean-Sebastien Reid submitted a survey to participants. The majority did not know Flipgrid. None used it on a regular basis. The workshop therefore became an opportunity to explore the platform and how it works. 

Flipgrid is a digital application that (literally) gives students a voice through audio and video. The teacher creates activities, in the form of Topics, and students can then perform them by recording their responses orally. An activity bank is already available in the application, but it is possible to create new ones. 

“This application is useful in the classroom to allow students to express themselves differently and interact with each other. In schools, we are still very much in writing, whereas the skill Writing is not always what one seeks to observe, says Mr. Reid.

Thus, Flipgrid can be used for:

  • collect traces of learning on different subjects;
  • follow the development of students' projects;
  • work on oral communication in authentic contexts (and different from the traditional oral presentation in front of the class). 

All students need to do is consult the task at hand, prepare their content and record an answer. The instructions will benefit from being clear on what is sought in terms of content, length, etc. The teacher can then give written or oral feedback, which helps to provide more complete, more personalized and emotional feedback. Students can also interact with each other, commenting on each other's recordings. Everything remains private on the platform.

“Some students will feel more comfortable expressing themselves on subjects orally rather than in writing. Likewise, in the privacy of communication within the platform, they will be less embarrassed to give their opinion on topics, ”says Mr. Reid.

A teacher who took part in the workshop immediately saw a new way of interacting in a more private way with her students, of allowing them to express themselves without filter. For example, some students are embarrassed to say that they like to read or that they liked a particular reading. Other students with motor skills may also find it an ally to communicate.

Our Virtual Congress in Conscious Entrepreneurial Education (IDEA 2021), which was held on October 27, 28 and 29, 2021, is the only gathering in innovative entrepreneurial pedagogy open to all in Quebec.

In addition :

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Un outil qui permet aux élèves de s’exprimer oralement

Que ce soit pour garder des traces diversifiées des apprentissages des élèves ou évaluer la communication orale différemment, de plus en plus d’enseignants découvrent l’application Flipgrid. Jean-Sébastien Reid, directeur général adjoint chez Idée éducation entrepreneuriale, a eu l’occasion de la présenter au cours du Congrès IDÉE 2021.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Que ce soit pour garder des traces diversifiées des apprentissages des élèves ou évaluer la communication orale différemment, de plus en plus d’enseignants découvrent l’application Flipgrid. Jean-Sébastien Reid, directeur général adjoint chez Idée éducation entrepreneuriale, a eu l’occasion de la présenter au cours du Congrès IDÉE 2021.

Au début de l’atelier, Jean-Sébastien Reid a soumis un sondage aux participants. La majorité ne connaissait pas Flipgrid. Aucun ne l’utilisait de façon régulière. L’atelier est donc devenu l’occasion pour explorer la plateforme et son fonctionnement. 

Flipgrid est une application numérique qui donne (littéralement] une voix aux élèves par le biais de l’audio et de la vidéo. L’enseignant crée des activités, sous forme de Topics, et les élèves peuvent ensuite les réaliser en enregistrant leurs réponses oralement. Une banque d’activités est déjà disponible dans l’application, mais il est possible d’en créer de nouvelles. 

« Cette application a son utilité dans la classe pour permettre aux élèves de s’exprimer autrement et d’interagir les uns avec les autres. Dans les écoles, nous sommes encore beaucoup dans l’écriture, alors que la compétence Écrire n’est pas toujours celle que l’on cherche à observer », indique M. Reid.

Ainsi, Flipgrid peut être utilisé pour :

  • recueillir des traces d’apprentissage sur différents sujets;
  • suivre le développement des projets des élèves;
  • travailler la communication orale dans des contextes authentiques (et différents de la traditionnelle présentation orale devant la classe). 

Les élèves n’ont qu’à consulter la tâche à réaliser, à préparer leur contenu et à enregistrer une réponse. Les consignes gagneront à être claires sur ce qui est recherché comme contenu, longueur, etc. L’enseignant peut par la suite donner de la rétroaction écrite ou de façon orale, ce qui permet de fournir une rétroaction plus complète, plus personnalisée et empreinte d’émotions. Les élèves peuvent aussi interagir entre eux, en commentant les enregistrements des autres. Tout demeure privé sur la plateforme.

« Certains élèves vont se sentir plus à l’aise pour s’exprimer sur des sujets à l’oral plutôt qu’à l’écrit. De même, dans l’intimité de la communication à l’intérieur de la plateforme, ils seront moins gênés de donner leur avis sur des thématiques », dit M. Reid.

Une enseignante qui participait à l’atelier y a tout de suite vu une nouvelle façon d’interagir de façon plus privée avec ses élèves, de leur permettre de s’exprimer sans filtre. Par exemple, certains élèves sont gênés de dire qu’ils aiment lire ou qu’ils ont aimé une lecture en particulier. D’autres élèves qui ont des problèmes de motricité pourraient également y trouver un allié pour communiquer.

Le Congrès virtuel en éducation entrepreneuriale consciente (IDÉE 2021), qui s’est tenu les 27, 28 et 29 octobre 2021, est le seul rassemblement en pédagogie entrepreneuriale innovante ouvert à tous au Québec.

En complément :

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :