ADVERTISEMENT

Technovation Montreal announces the winning teams of its 8th edition

Press Release - On May 14th, Technovation Montreal held its 8th annual Pitch Demo Day. The teenagers presented their application and business plan responding to a problem in their community. The topics are important; environment, women's rights, anxiety, school success, the applications of the young girls are promising. In total, four prizes were awarded, in addition to the jury's "coup de coeur".

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Press Release - On May 14, as part of the 8th edition of its annual competitionTechnovation Montreal's Pitch Demo Day took place. The teenagers presented their application and business plan responding to a problem in their community. The topics are important; environment, women's rights, anxiety, school success, the applications of the young girls are promising. In total, four prizes were awarded, in addition to the jury's "coup de coeur".

First positions: Kram and Enigma to facilitate mutual aid

The Generation K team won first place in the junior division. Their application Kram is a tool to make the study's effectiveness among teenagers more profitable. Indeed, the girls have noticed that since the pandemic, the majority of exchanges between students are done on Instagram, which brings its share of distractions. Kram is intended to be a platform that promotes organization, focus and mutual support. 

In the senior division, Team Cola with their Riddle application came in first place. RiddleIt is a platform for students to collaborate and ask each other questions about their academic subjects, which will be organized by topic.

Jury's favourite: Get Cheesy to fight domestic violence

The Hyacinth team (senior division), which received the jury's "coup de coeur", targeted the issue of domestic violence and harassment with its application Get Cheesy. Its interface seems to simply sell pizzas, but in reality, each pizza commands a different interaction: call the police, send your location to an emergency contact, create an incoming call, etc. So it's a discreet way to help denounce violence and get out of uncomfortable situations without having to explain yourself.

A jury of professionals and technology entrepreneurs analyzed the teams' proposals. They are:

In order to support the next generation of women in the field of technology, the Caisse Desjardins des employés en télécommunication awarded bursaries worth $500,000 to four teams in the senior division!

Technovation Montréal, a contribution to the next generation of women in technology

"I am proud to see the quality of the projects presented by the participants. By making girls aware, from a young age, of the importance of science and technology in tomorrow's world and by exposing them to new concepts and ideas that foster the development of important qualities such as self-confidence, leadership and creativity, they will be more encouraged to choose studies and careers related to the various technology professions," says Stéphanie Jecrois, co-founder and executive director of Technovation Montréal.

To see the teams in action:


Discover projects carried out by participants from previous Technovation cohorts in the Spring 2022 magazine of École branchée : Girls coding to improve society.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Technovation Montréal annonce les équipes gagnantes de sa 8e édition

Communiqué - Le 14 mai dernier, dans le cadre de la 8e édition de sa compétition annuelle, avait lieu la Journée Pitch Démo de Technovation Montréal. Les adolescentes ont présenté leur application et plan d’affaires répondant à un problème dans leur communauté. Les sujets sont importants ; environnement, droit de la femme, anxiété, réussite scolaire, les applications des jeunes filles sont prometteuses. Au total, quatre prix ont été décernés, en plus du coup de cœur du jury.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Communiqué – Le 14 mai dernier, dans le cadre de la 8e édition de sa compétition annuelle, avait lieu la Journée Pitch Démo de Technovation Montréal. Les adolescentes ont présenté leur application et plan d’affaires répondant à un problème dans leur communauté. Les sujets sont importants ; environnement, droit de la femme, anxiété, réussite scolaire, les applications des jeunes filles sont prometteuses. Au total, quatre prix ont été décernés, en plus du coup de cœur du jury.

Premières positions : Kram et Énigme pour faciliter l’entraide scolaire

C’est l’équipe Génération K qui a remporté la première place de la division junior. Leur application Kram est un outil pour rentabiliser l’efficacité de l’étude chez les adolescents. En effet, les jeunes filles ont remarqué que depuis la pandémie, les échanges entre élèves se font majoritairement sur Instagram, ce qui amène son lot de distractions. Kram se veut une plateforme favorisant l’organisation, la concentration et d’entraide. 

Pour la division senior, c’est l’équipe Cola avec leur application Énigme qui est arrivée en première position. Énigme, c’est une plateforme permettant aux étudiants de collaborer et de se poser des questions sur leurs matières scolaires, qui seront organisées par sujet.

Coup de cœur du jury : Get Cheesy pour contrer la violence conjugale

L’équipe Hyacinth (division senior), ayant reçu le coup de cœur du jury, a ciblé comme problématique la violence conjugale ainsi que le harcèlement avec son application Get Cheesy. Son interface semble tout simplement vendre des pizzas, mais en réalité, chaque pizza commande une interaction différente : appeler la police, envoyer sa position à un contact d’urgence, créer un appel entrant, etc. C’est donc un moyen discret pour aider à dénoncer la violence et se sortir de situations inconfortables sans devoir s’expliquer.

Un jury composé de professionnels et d’entrepreneurs en technologie ont analysé les propositions des équipes. Il s’agit de :

Désireuse de soutenir la relève féminine dans le domaine des technologies, la Caisse Desjardins des employés en télécommunication a remis   bourses d’une valeur de 500$ à quatre équipes de la division senior!

Technovation Montréal, une contribution à la relève féminine en technologie

« Je suis fière de voir la qualité des projets présentés par les participantes. En sensibilisant les filles, dès un jeune âge, à l’importance de la science et des technologies dans le monde de demain et en les exposant à de nouveaux concepts et idées qui favorisent le développement de qualités importantes au niveau de la confiance en soi, du leadership et de la créativité, celles-ci seront davantage encouragées à faire un choix d’étude et de carrière liés aux différents métiers en technologie. », indique Stéphanie Jecrois, cofondatrice et directrice générale de Technovation Montréal.

Pour voir les équipes en action :


Découvrez des projets réalisés par des participantes des cohortes précédentes de Technovation dans le magazine du printemps 2022 de l’École branchée : Des filles qui codent pour améliorer la société.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :