ADVERTISEMENT

The "sandwich" method for the first meeting of parents

Parents' meetings take many forms depending on the school, level and subjects. This is particularly true this year, when many will be done virtually, by phone, or two meters away. Here is a teacher's advice to make these meetings as effective and friendly as possible.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Parents' meetings take many forms depending on the school, level and subjects. This is particularly true this year, when many will be done virtually, by phone, or two meters away.

Teachers in primary or special education usually have time to meet with all the parents. However, primary school specialists and secondary school teachers do not have this option due to the large number of students they teach. For them, whatever form the meeting takes, it is unlikely that they will be able to meet all the targeted parents.

Here are some tips to make these meetings as efficient and user-friendly as possible.

Preparation of the meeting

Here is a list of things to plan for these meetings, regardless of their format.

  • Having the students' photos in hand will allow you to quickly identify the student in question.
  • Also bring the notebook, to be able to give more precise information on the progress of the student, his particular difficulties, the tangent taken by the student until now.
  • The diary can also be useful for answering questions about missed assessments or upcoming work.
  • A sheet and a pencil can make a big difference! Some parents will ask you questions that you will not immediately have the answers to. In these cases, all you have to do is write down the question and the parent's email address and send them the answer later. The sheet will also allow special requests from parents to be taken down. For example, some will ask you to warn them at the slightest glitch or to follow up next month. Your notes will keep you in mind, and the parent will be reassured that you take their requests seriously.
  • A few copies of work in progress or to come can also be useful in meetings. If the students are in the middle of a project, it is useful to show the parents who will ask them what the students are currently working on. Upcoming assignments and projects can also be useful for parents who want to know how to proactively help their child. The same goes for the workbook, if you are using one. Demonstrating the explanatory pages at the end of the workbook is an easy way to equip parents to help their children.
  • Don't forget the bottle of water and the snack. These are intense evenings in discussion, it is better to have the energy and saliva you need to get to the end!
  • Finally, your best ally: your smile. You won't have two chances to make a first impression. As the meetings last an average of 10 minutes, the first impression is all the more important to facilitate the next step. 

The course

There are usually three types of parenting meetings.

  • The report type, where the parent inquires about his child's progress.
  • The specific question type, where the parent wants information on a particular event or job.
  • The convocation type, where it is the teacher who asks the parent to attend the meeting in order to address a particular element.

No matter the type of meeting, a few basic principles can help make it go smoothly. As these are short meetings, you have to stay focused on the essentials. It is better to target one item for improvement rather than making a list of everything that is not working. 

The "sandwich" method is a proven method that is worth using, either to start and end with positive elements (the breads of the sandwich) and to insert in the middle the problematic element and its possible solutions. 

  • Beginning by identifying a positive element about the student will make the parent more receptive. He will see that you not only pay attention to the negative, but that you also see the positive in the child. “Joachim always has a beautiful smile and he is always in a good mood. "
  • Follow up with the parent's question or the difficulty you want to address. “Joachim doesn't revise his exams. He hurries to finish so he can rest his head on his desk. Its errors are therefore due to a lack of revision. "
  • Once the problem has been exposed, it is time to identify the solutions put in place, and those to come: “I have already spoken to him about it and I invite you to do the same. I will try to give him clearer instructions by asking him to check his verbs. I will give you some news after the next exam, but I am confident it will work ”.
  • The last piece of the sandwich is another positive. “During the stage, we had a group discussion and Joachim stood out significantly by his participation and his listening! It was beautiful to see! "

If the child is present

The “sandwich” method should be recommended whether the student is present or absent. The presence of the student can however enrich the meeting by asking the questions directly. For example, when a parent asks "How are things going in class?" ", remember to return the question to the student. "Joachim, how are you doing in class?" " so that he himself speaks about the problematic situation. You will be able to discuss solutions and come to an agreement with the student in order to implement them. Then give a positive comment about the student to the parent. “You know, I'm confident it's going to work because Joachim is a young man who only has one word. When he says something, he does it, so it can only go well. "

Delicate situations

It is not advisable to discuss other students when meeting parents. Some parents may compare their child's results with those of another or want to discuss the behavior of other students in the classroom. You may respond that you are not able to discuss it with them in order to maintain confidentiality, just as you do not discuss their child with other parents.

This confidentiality does not mean that the problem will not be addressed. If it is an outcome question, we can base our explanation on the assessment criteria used rather than comparing students. A behavioral question can be addressed by offering a change of place or a different pairing as a team. A reference to TES may also be relevant (and written on the grade sheet).

Parents' evenings are often a great source of information for teachers as well, since they allow them to learn a little more about the family realities of young people. They are energy intensive, of course, but they have a positive influence on our classes, if only because the students know that the teacher and their parents are talking to each other. Good encounters!

Read also :

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Mrs Prof
Mrs Prof
She holds a bachelor's degree in education and is currently a candidate for a master's degree in education. She is involved with various organizations in order to equip teachers and improve the various facets of teaching and learning in Quebec.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La méthode « sandwich » pour la première rencontre de parents

Les rencontres de parents prennent plusieurs formes selon l’école, le niveau et les matières. Ceci est particulièrement vrai cette année, alors que plusieurs se feront de façon virtuelle, par téléphone, ou à deux mètres de distance. Voici les conseils d'une enseignante pour faire en sorte ces rencontres soient les plus efficaces et conviviales possibles.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Les rencontres de parents prennent plusieurs formes selon l’école, le niveau et les matières. Ceci est particulièrement vrai cette année, alors que plusieurs se feront de façon virtuelle, par téléphone, ou à deux mètres de distance.

Les enseignants titulaires du primaire ou de l’adaptation scolaire ont habituellement le temps de rencontrer tous les parents. Cependant, les spécialistes au primaire et les enseignants du secondaire n’ont pas cette possibilité, dû au grand nombre d’élèves à qui ils enseignent. Pour eux, quelle que soit la forme que prendra la rencontre, il est peu probable qu’ils soient en mesure de rencontrer tous les parents ciblés.

Voici des conseils pour faire en sorte ces rencontres soient les plus efficaces et conviviales possibles.

Préparation de la rencontre

Voici une liste de choses à prévoir pour ces rencontres, peu importe leur format.

  • Avoir en main les photos des élèves, cela vous permettra d’identifier rapidement l’élève dont il est question.
  • Apporter aussi le cahier de notes, pour être en mesure de donner de l’information plus précise sur le cheminement de l’élève, ses difficultés particulières, la tangente prise par l’élève jusqu’à maintenant.
  • L’agenda peut aussi être utile pour répondre aux questions au sujet d’évaluations manquées ou des prochains travaux.
  • Une feuille et un crayon peuvent faire une grande différence! Certains parents vous poseront des questions auxquelles vous n’aurez pas immédiatement les réponses. Dans ces cas, il suffit de prendre la question et l’adresse courriel du parent en note pour lui transmettre la réponse plus tard. La feuille permettra aussi de prendre en notes les demandes particulières des parents. Par exemple, certains vous demanderont de les avertir au moindre pépin ou de faire un suivi le mois prochain. Vos notes vous permettront de ne pas oublier, et le parent sera rassuré que vous preniez ses demandes au sérieux.
  • Quelques exemplaires des travaux en cours ou à venir peuvent aussi être utiles en rencontre. Si les élèves sont au milieu d’un projet, il est pertinent de montrer aux parents qui le demanderont sur quoi les élèves travaillent présentement. Les travaux et projets à venir peuvent aussi servir pour les parents qui veulent savoir comment aider leur enfant de façon proactive. Il en va de même pour le cahier d’exercices, si vous en utilisez un. Démontrer les pages d’explications à la fin du cahier est un moyen facile d’outiller les parents pour qu’ils aident leurs enfants.
  • Il ne faut pas oublier la bouteille d’eau et la collation. Ce sont des soirées intenses en discussion, vaut mieux avoir l’énergie et la salive qu’il faut pour se rendre jusqu’au bout!
  • Finalement, votre meilleur allié : votre sourire. Vous n’aurez pas deux chances de faire une première impression. Comme les rencontres sont d’une durée moyenne de 10 minutes, la première impression est d’autant plus importante pour faciliter la suite des choses. 

Le déroulement

Il y a habituellement trois types de rencontres de parents.

  • Le type compte-rendu, où le parent s’informe du cheminement de son enfant.
  • Le type question précise, où le parent veut de l’information sur un événement ou un travail en particulier.
  • Le type convocation, où c’est l’enseignant qui demande au parent d’assister à la rencontre afin d’adresser un élément particulier.

Peu importe le type de rencontre, quelques principes de base peuvent aider au bon déroulement. Comme ce sont des rencontres courtes, il faut garder le cap sur l’essentiel. Il est préférable de cibler un élément à améliorer plutôt que de faire une liste de tout ce qui ne fonctionne pas. 

La méthode « sandwich » est une méthode éprouvée qui gagne à être utilisée, soit de débuter et de terminer avec des éléments positifs (les pains du sandwich) et d’y insérer au milieu l’élément problématique et ses pistes de solution. 

  • Débuter par identifier un élément positif sur l’élève rendra le parent plus réceptif. Il verra que vous ne portez pas seulement attention au négatif, mais que vous voyez aussi du positif chez l’enfant. « Joachim a toujours un beau sourire et il est toujours de bonne humeur. »
  • Enchaîner avec la question du parent ou la difficulté que vous voulez aborder. « Joachim ne révise pas ses examens. Il se dépêche pour finir afin de pouvoir reposer sa tête sur son bureau. Ses erreurs sont donc dues à un manque de révision. »
  • Une fois le problème exposé, c’est le temps d’identifier les solutions mises en place, et celles à venir : « Je lui en ai déjà parlé et je vous invite à faire de même. Je vais tenter de lui donner des instructions plus claires en lui demandant de vérifier ses verbes.Je vous en redonne des nouvelles après le prochain examen, mais je suis confiant que ça va fonctionner ».
  • Le dernier morceau du sandwich est un autre élément positif. « Au cours de l’étape, nous avons fait une discussion de groupe et Joachim s’est démarqué significativement par sa participation et son écoute! C’était beau à voir! »

Si l’enfant est présent

La méthode « sandwich » est à préconiser que l’élève soit présent ou absent. La présence de l’élève peut cependant enrichir la rencontre en lui posant les questions directement. Par exemple, quand un parent demande « Comment ça va dans le cours? », pensez à retourner la question à l’élève. « Joachim, comment ça va dans le cours? » afin qu’il parle lui-même de la situation problématique. Vous pourrez ainsi discuter des solutions et prendre entente avec l’élève afin de la mettre en œuvre. Ensuite, donnez  un commentaire positif sur l’élève au parent. « Vous savez, je suis confiant que ça va fonctionner parce que Joachim est un jeune homme qui n’a qu’une seule parole. Quand il dit quelque chose, il le fait, alors ça ne peut que bien aller. »

Les situations délicates

Il n’est pas souhaitable de discuter des autres élèves en rencontre de parents. Certains parents peuvent comparer les résultats de leur enfant avec ceux d’un autre ou veulent discuter du comportement d’autres élèves dans la classe. Vous pouvez répondre que vous n’êtes pas en mesure d’en discuter avec eux afin maintenir la confidentialité, tout comme vous ne discutez pas de leur enfant avec d’autres parents.

Cette confidentialité ne veut pas dire que le problème ne sera pas abordé. S’il s’agit d’une question sur les résultats, on peut baser notre explication sur les critères d’évaluation utilisés plutôt que de comparer les élèves. Une question comportementale peut être adressée en offrant un changement de place ou un pairage différent en équipe. Une référence aux TES peut aussi être pertinente (et inscrite sur la feuille de notes).

Les soirées de parents sont souvent une grande source d’informations pour les enseignants aussi puisqu’elles permettent d’en connaître un peu plus sur les réalités familiales des jeunes. Elles sont énergivores, certes, mais elles ont une influence positive sur nos classes, ne serait-ce que parce que les élèves savent que l’enseignant et leurs parents se parlent. Bonnes rencontres!

À lire aussi :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Mrs Prof
Détentrice d’un baccalauréat en enseignement, elle est présentement candidate à la maîtrise en éducation. Elle s’implique auprès de diverses organisations afin d’outiller les enseignants et d’améliorer les diverses facettes de l’enseignement et de l’apprentissage au Québec.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!