ADVERTISEMENT

The links that unite children, parents, grandparents and teachers in the context of a pandemic

Since 2009, the provincial government has recognized the importance of close collaboration between the school, parents and the community in order to promote optimal child development. Grandparents are more and more integrated into this scenario.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Caroline Todari, master's student in education at the University of Quebec in Outaouais.
Dany Boulanger, PhD in education, lecturer at the University of Quebec in Outaouais and at the University of Quebec in Rimouski.

Relations between school and family have evolved a lot through the crises of society and, in particular, of the education system. Before the 1980s, children were more intermediaries between school and parents. Today, this is no longer the case. Since 2009, the provincial government recognizes the importance of close collaboration between the school, parents and the community in order to promote the optimal development of the child. In this sense, certain initiatives, such as the “Family, school, community, success together” program have made it possible to create educational communities rallying the various actors around the educational success of the child, in particular in underprivileged areas. 

It takes a whole village to raise a child

Although the importance of a concerted effort between the different actors involved with the child is recognized, grandparents are poorly represented in the portrait drawn up to date. However, these are indeed part of the systems that directly influence the child, or the family. However, let us specify that it is not essential to be biologically linked to a child to open up to the current generation. In this sense, Kornhaber and Woodward argue that one can be the grandparents of many children, provided that society institutionalizes this role in some way. Today, this process of legitimizing the educational role of the elderly is underway, considering for example the activities of the Maisons des Grands-Parents (MGP) in Quebec. From this perspective, grandparents are also part of another system that influences the child, namely the community. A few initiatives put in place make it possible to identify the function of generativity which is attributed to grandparents, namely to pass on a cultural background to children. The grandparents participating in the activities of the MGP in Quebec are a good example of this function carried out by actors having no filial link with the child. In this sense, whether or not they have a blood tie with the child, grandparents play, closely with the school and the parents, a function of socializing the child, particularly in the school context. 

Grandparenthood in a time of pandemic

The school sphere has recently integrated the family sphere with distance education. At the same time, parents' teleworking also occurred, making the role of parents more difficult in monitoring their child's school. How to ensure these two roles at the same time? Due to the distance restrictions to maintain, it is not so easy to involve the grandparents. An exploration of the exchange content on public Facebook pages linked to education in times of pandemic revealed these issues.

A second exploration of the content concerning grandparenthood and the relationship with the elderly and discussions on three public Facebook education pages made it possible to bring out a general portrait of the meaning given to grandparenting by teachers and other school stakeholders. 

On the one hand, the babysitting function attributed to the elderly bears witness to their role as an agent of socialization for the child. In the current societal context, this function is an important resource for parents to work at home. So how do you see yourself more than two meters away? A grandmother shared her way of doing things: reading stories to her grandchildren about Zoom, nightly. Contact is essential, hence the need to use some digital resources, but what about the accessibility of these resources for seniors?

To the teachers' workload, which has increased, there is the addition of obligations concerning the reconciliation of intergenerational contacts. How can the bridges between school and family be facilitated when some teachers, who are also parents of children attending school, must become more involved in the education of their own children? The forced reconciliation of all spheres of life of the parent / teacher in the family space makes it essential to find innovative ways to reconcile everything. While it is impossible to keep a distance of more than two meters between all these spheres of life (work, family and school), roles are reconfiguring in the way in which the workload is reorganized.

Conclusion
Ultimately, the way in which the collaboration between school, family and community is articulated has changed a lot in recent years. We cannot ignore the role of the grandparent in the socialization of the child, especially in the school context. With the distance, difficult to find an intermediate zone, a happy medium… ethically fair for everyone.

References
Kornhaber, A. and Woodward, K. (1981). Grandparents grandchildren, the vital link. Paris: Editions Robert Laffont.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les liens qui unissent enfants, parents, grands-parents et enseignants en contexte de pandémie

Depuis 2009, le gouvernement provincial reconnaît l’importance d’une collaboration étroite entre l’école, les parents et la communauté dans le but de promouvoir le développement optimal de l’enfant. Les grands-parents sont d'ailleurs de plus en plus intégrés à ce scénario.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Caroline Todari, étudiante à la maîtrise en éducation à l’Université du Québec en Outaouais.
Dany Boulanger, PhD en éducation, chargé de cours à l’Université du Québec en Outaouais et à l’Université du Québec à Rimouski.

Les relations entre l’école et la famille ont beaucoup évolué à travers les crises de la société et, en particulier, du système d’éducation. Avant les années 1980, les enfants étaient davantage des intermédiaires entre l’école et les parents. Aujourd’hui, ce n’est plus le cas. Depuis 2009, le gouvernement provincial reconnaît l’importance d’une collaboration étroite entre l’école, les parents et la communauté dans le but de promouvoir le développement optimal de l’enfant. En ce sens, certaines initiatives, comme le programme « Famille, école, communauté, réussir ensemble » ont permis de créer des communautés éducatives ralliant les différents acteurs autour de la réussite éducative de l’enfant, en particulier en milieu défavorisé. 

Il faut tout un village pour élever un enfant

Bien que l’importance d’un travail de concertation entre les différents acteurs s’impliquant auprès de l’enfant soit reconnue, les grands-parents sont peu représentés dans le portrait dressé jusqu’à présent. Ceux-ci font pourtant bien partie des systèmes qui influencent directement l’enfant, soit la famille. Toutefois, précisons qu’il n’est pas indispensable d’être biologiquement lié à un enfant pour s’ouvrir à la génération actuelle. En ce sens, Kornhaber et Woodward soutiennent que l’on peut être les grands-parents de beaucoup d’enfants, à condition que la société institutionnalise ce rôle d’une quelconque manière. Aujourd’hui, ce processus de légitimation du rôle éducatif des aînés est en cours, considérant par exemple les activités des Maisons des Grands-Parents (MGP) au Québec. Dans cette optique, les grands-parents font aussi partie d’un autre système qui influence l’enfant, soit la communauté. Quelques initiatives mises en place permettent de dégager la fonction de générativité qui est attribuée aux grands-parents, soit de transmettre un bagage culturel aux enfants. Les grands-parents participant aux activités des MGP au Québec sont un bel exemple de cette fonction réalisée par des acteurs n’ayant pas de lien filial avec l’enfant. En ce sens, qu’ils aient ou pas un lien de sang avec l’enfant, les grands-parents occupent, de près, avec l’école et les parents, une fonction de socialisation de l’enfant, en contexte scolaire notamment. 

La grand-parentalité en temps de pandémie

La sphère scolaire a dernièrement intégré la sphère familiale avec l’enseignement à distance. Au même moment, le télétravail des parents est aussi survenu, rendant le rôle des parents plus difficile dans le suivi scolaire de leur enfant. Comment assurer ces deux rôles à la fois? Dû aux restrictions de distance à maintenir, il n’est pas si simple d’impliquer les grands-parents. Une exploration des contenus d’échange sur des pages Facebook publiques liées à l’enseignement en temps de pandémie a permis de révéler ces enjeux.

Une seconde exploration du contenu concernant la grand-parentalité et la relation avec les aînés et des échanges sur trois pages Facebook publiques en éducation ont permis de faire ressortir un portrait général du sens donné à la grand-parentalité par les enseignants et autres intervenants scolaires. 

D’une part, la fonction de gardiennage attribuée aux aînés témoigne de leur rôle comme agent de socialisation de l’enfant. Dans le contexte sociétal actuel, cette fonction est une ressource importante pour permettre aux parents de travailler à la maison. Alors, comment se voir à plus de deux mètres? Une grand-mère a partagé sa façon de faire : lire des histoires à ses petits-enfants sur Zoom, chaque soir. Le contact est essentiel, d’où la nécessité d’utiliser certaines ressources numériques, mais qu’en est-il de l’accessibilité de ces ressources en ce qui concerne les aînés?

À la charge de travail des enseignants, qui a augmenté, il y a l’ajout d’obligations concernant la conciliation des contacts intergénérationnels. Comment faciliter les ponts entre l’école et la famille alors que certains enseignants, qui sont aussi parents d’enfants fréquentant l’école, doivent s’impliquer davantage en ce qui concerne l’éducation de leurs propres enfants? Le rapprochement forcé de toutes les sphères de vie du parent/enseignant dans l’espace familial rend essentiel la recherche de façons innovatrices de concilier le tout. Alors qu’il est impossible de garder une distance de plus de deux mètres entre toutes ces sphères de vie (le travail, la famille et l’école), les rôles se reconfigurent quant à la façon dont se réorganise la charge de travail.

Conclusion
En définitive, la manière dont s’articule la collaboration entre l’école, la famille et la communauté a beaucoup évolué dans les dernières années. On ne peut ignorer le rôle du grand-parent dans la socialisation de l’enfant, surtout en contexte scolaire. Avec la distanciation, difficile de trouver une zone intermédiaire, un juste milieu… éthiquement juste pour tout le monde.

Références
Kornhaber, A. et Woodward, K. (1981). Grands-parents petits-enfants, le lien vital. Paris : Éditions Robert Laffont.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct