Using archives to imagine the future

In partnership with the Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), Saguenay students and their teachers were able to immerse themselves in the institution's archives before looking to the future to imagine an ideal living environment.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

If it is better to know where we come from to know where we are going, the co-construction process undertaken in recent months by two teachers from Saguenay, Pascale Tremblay and Julie Turcotte, is probably on target. . In partnership with National Library and Archives of Quebec (BAnQ), their project allowed students to immerse themselves in the institution's archives before looking to the future to imagine an ideal living environment.

This project, which was presented during the 2021 transfer session of the École en Réseau (ÉER), included two main stages. 

  1. First, through the BAnQ archives, introduce the students to two cities built specifically to meet the needs of two large companies and their workers: Arvida for Alcan and Chicoutimi for Compagnie de Pulpe. 
  2. Secondly, allow students to imagine their ideal living environment by drawing it, after being inspired by the works of the painter Arthur Villeneuve.

An invaluable resource

When they started the project, “the students were fascinated to discover the archives,” recalls Pascale Tremblay, a teacher at the Rives-du-Saguenay School Services Center.

Fact, BAnQ has a well-stocked digital collection. The cultural and educational mediation project manager at this great Quebec cultural institution, Élise Casavant, explains that you can find various objects there such as newspaper articles, soundtracks, photographs as well as several video clips. “We want these cultural objects to be used not only as triggers, but throughout the project in order to bring out their full potential,” she explains. In short, we do not want them to dust themselves off and fall into oblivion.

BAnQ even produces educational sheets to help teachers in their educational process.

Draw your dreams

Well aware of what was the daily life of their great-great-grandparents, the students were able to take the second step. Julie Turcotte, also a teacher at the CSS des Rives-du-Saguenay, explains that the students imagined their ideal living environment through paintings that they then created, inspired by the works by Arthur Villeneuve. Accommodation, entertainment, landscaping, here are some examples of what they represented.

This educational activity enabled elementary school students to discover important cultural tools. It also led them to develop their critical sense both with regard to the canvases of a renowned painter, but also with respect to sectors of their region that have been developed according to the needs of large companies.

Ultimately, the students of Pascale Tremblay and Julie Turcotte will have learned to better understand their territory and to imagine ways of rethinking it.

Main image source : Arvida aluminum bridge, Arvida, 1950, BAnQ Québec, Fonds Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, (03Q, E6, S7, SS1, P78612), Jones, IW

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Se servir des archives pour imaginer le futur

En partenariat avec Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), des élèves du Saguenay et leurs enseignants ont pu se plonger dans les archives de l’institution avant de regarder vers l’avenir pour imaginer un milieu de vie idéal.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

S’il vaut mieux savoir d’où l’on vient pour savoir où l’on va, la démarche de co-construction entreprise au cours des derniers mois par deux enseignantes du Saguenay, Pascale Tremblay et Julie Turcotte, vise vraisemblablement dans le mille. En partenariat avec Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec (BAnQ), leur projet a permis à des élèves de se plonger dans les archives de l’institution avant de regarder vers l’avenir pour imaginer un milieu de vie idéal.

Ce projet, qui a été présenté au cours de la session de transfert 2021 de l’École en réseau (ÉER), comprenait deux grandes étapes. 

  1. Dans un premier temps, faire découvrir aux élèves, à travers les archives de BAnQ, deux villes construites dans le but de répondre spécifiquement aux besoins de deux grandes entreprises et de leurs travailleurs : Arvida pour l’Alcan et Chicoutimi pour la Compagnie de Pulpe. 
  2. Dans un deuxième temps, permettre aux élèves d’imaginer leur milieu de vie idéal en le dessinant, après s’être inspirés des œuvres du peintre Arthur Villeneuve.

Une ressource inestimable

Lorsqu’ils ont commencé le projet, « les élèves étaient fascinés de découvrir les archives », se rappelle Pascale Tremblay, enseignante au Centre de services scolaires des Rives-du-Saguenay.

De fait, BAnQ possède une collection numérique bien garnie. La chargée de projets en médiation culturelle et pédagogique au sein de cette grande institution culturelle québécoise, Élise Casavant, explique qu’on peut y trouver divers objets comme des articles de journaux, des bandes sonores, des photographies ainsi que plusieurs capsules vidéo. « On veut que ces objets culturels soient utilisés pas uniquement comme éléments déclencheurs, mais tout au long du projet afin d’en faire ressortir tout leur potentiel », précise-t-elle. Bref, on ne souhaite pas qu’ils s’empoussièrent et tombent dans l’oubli.

BAnQ produit même des fiches pédagogiques pour aider les enseignants dans leur démarche pédagogique.

Dessiner ses rêves

Bien sensibilisés à ce qui fut le quotidien de leurs arrière-arrière-grands-parents, les élèves ont pu passer à la seconde étape. Julie Turcotte, également enseignante au CSS des Rives-du-Saguenay, explique que les élèves ont imaginé leur milieu de vie idéal à travers des peintures qu’ils ont ensuite créées, inspirées des œuvres d’Arthur Villeneuve. Se loger, se divertir, aménager des espaces paysagers, voici des exemples de ce qu’ils ont représenté.

Cette activité pédagogique a permis à des élèves du primaire de découvrir des outils culturels d’importance. Elle les a aussi amenés à développer leur sens critique à la fois à l’égard des toiles d’un peintre réputé, mais aussi face à des secteurs de leur région ayant été développés en fonction des besoins de grandes compagnies.

Au bout du compte, les élèves de Pascale Tremblay et Julie Turcotte auront appris à mieux connaître leur territoire et à imaginer des façons de le repenser.

Source de l’image principale : Arvida aluminium bridge, Arvida, 1950, BAnQ Québec, Fonds Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, (03Q,E6,S7,SS1,P78612), Jones, I. W.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!