Co-education, crossed views of teachers and parents

Editions Nathan unveiled the results of a major survey conducted in France on coeducation. It emerges that the definition of parent-teacher co-education is not the same on both sides. Nevertheless, a consensus emerges: "We must find ways of doing things together". 

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Editions Nathan unveiled the results of a major survey conducted in France on coeducation. It emerges that the definition of parent-teacher co-education is not the same on both sides. Nevertheless, a consensus emerges: "We must find ways of doing things together". 

The survey, conducted among 2002 teachers from kindergarten to college (secondary) and 1002 parents, was carried out in collaboration with Pierre Périer, sociologist and teacher-researcher at the Department of Educational Sciences of the University of Rennes 2 , Lea.fr and the Junior City study institute.

Although the term coeducation has been officially used in France since 2013 by the Ministry of National Education, the results of the survey bear witness to the fact that the very concept is still poorly understood. Two thirds (⅔) of parents do not recognize the term de facto, even if they are able to name gestures and actions that refer to co-education. 

What is coeducation? It is the sharing between the parents and the school of the responsibility and the success of the children.

Not the same vision

In addition, parents and teachers do not necessarily have the same definition of co-education. According to the survey results, parents see it as a shared responsibility in school instruction while teachers "expect more parents to prepare their children to be good students." 

“Expectations are different on both sides. We feel that teachers are still on the defensive, because they do not know how to act in addition to acting in an emergency. Some even maintain a closed door culture and do not open their classroom doors to parents. Moreover, in France, the majority of schools are closed and parents cannot even enter the courtyard, ”remarked Pierre Périer when launching the results of the survey in a webinar.

This state of affairs has undoubtedly slowed down many parents, which means that they are often hesitant in their approach to communicating with teachers. They don't always know how far to go. However, more than 40 % believe that setting up a digital application could greatly facilitate exchanges between parents and teachers.

“It must be said, the school was slow to build bridges with parents (and even with other actors in the community). Today, there are benchmarks to create, links to forge and everyone must find their place. The parent / teacher relationship must be made explicit. Always, we must avoid confrontation, keep an open mind in order to promote the success and well-being of children, ”said the researcher.

Pandemic factor

According to Mr. Périer, "the confinement has shown how much we have to do together". The pandemic has definitely proven positive effects of co-education. She revealed parents committed to the success of their children and teachers dedicated to their work, who did not hesitate to take the phone to keep in touch with students. 

“The lockdown period took co-education to the next level. There will be no turning back. However, if the principle of "doing together" now seems to be established, the question of the forms, contents and modalities of co-education remains to be defined. And there will be no single recipe. Each environment is different and will have to find the formula that suits it, ”concluded the researcher.

In short, co-education can take several forms: welcoming parents into the school for different activities (sports, cultural, etc.), constant communication between parents and teachers, informal exchanges in the schoolyard, etc. But this type of activity is largely insufficient, according to Mr. Périer. “Each school should have a project that is jointly developed by parents and the teaching team,” he says. This project should take into account the interests of young people and give them a voice.

The important thing is that the dynamic remains resolutely human, that the relationship takes place in a climate of trust and that everyone (parent and teacher) remembers that this relationship exists for what the researcher calls the global education of children.

The recording of the presentation is available online on Nathan's website.

In addition : The École branchée offers you columns on school-family co-education. Watch the section Trendy family and consult the page of École branchée on the family.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Coéducation, regards croisés d’enseignants et de parents

Les éditions Nathan ont dévoilé les résultats d’une grande enquête menée en France sur la coéducation. Il en ressort que la définition de la coéducation parents-enseignants n’est pas la même de part et d’autre. Néanmoins, un consensus se pointe : « Il faut trouver des façons de faire ensemble ». 

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Les éditions Nathan ont dévoilé les résultats d’une grande enquête menée en France sur la coéducation. Il en ressort que la définition de la coéducation parents-enseignants n’est pas la même de part et d’autre. Néanmoins, un consensus se pointe : « Il faut trouver des façons de faire ensemble ». 

L’enquête, menée auprès de 2002 enseignants de la maternelle au collège (secondaire) et de 1002 parents, a été réalisée en collaboration avec Pierre Périer, sociologue et enseignant-chercheur au Département des Sciences de l’Education de l’Université Rennes 2, Lea.fr et l’institut d’études Junior City.

Bien que le terme coéducation soit utilisé officiellement en France depuis 2013 par le ministère de l’Éducation nationale, les résultats de l’enquête témoignent du fait que le concept même est encore mal compris. Les deux tiers (⅔) des parents ne reconnaissent d’ailleurs pas le terme de facto, même s’ils sont capables de nommer des gestes et actions qui font référence à la coéducation. 

Qu’est-ce que la coéducation? C’est le partage entre les parents et l’école de la responsabilité et de la réussite des enfants.

Pas la même vision

De plus, parents et enseignants n’ont pas nécessairement la même définition de la coéducation. Selon les résultats de l’enquête, les parents la perçoivent comme une responsabilité partagée dans l’instruction scolaire alors que les enseignants « s’attendent davantage à ce que les parents préparent leurs enfants à être de bons élèves ». 

« Les attentes sont différentes de part et d’autre. On sent que les enseignants sont encore sur la défensive, du fait qu’ils ne savent pas comment agir en plus d’agir dans l’urgence. Certains entretiennent même une culture de la porte fermée et n’ouvrent pas la porte de leur classe aux parents. D’ailleurs, en France, la majorité des écoles sont clôturées et les parents ne peuvent même pas entrer dans la cour », a fait remarquer Pierre Périer lors du lancement des résultats de l’enquête dans un webinaire.

Cet état de fait a sans doute freiné plusieurs parents, ce qui fait en sorte qu’ils sont souvent hésitants dans leurs démarches de communication vers les enseignants. Ils ne savent pas toujours jusqu’où aller. Néanmoins, ils sont plus de 40 % à croire que la mise en place d’une application numérique pourrait grandement faciliter les échanges entre parents et enseignants.

« Il faut le dire, l’école a tardé à jeter des ponts avec les parents (et même avec d’autres acteurs de la communauté). Aujourd’hui, il y a des repères à créer, des liens à tisser et chacun doit trouver sa place. La relation parent/enseignant se doit d’être explicitée. Toujours, il faut éviter la confrontation, garder l’esprit ouvert afin de favoriser la réussite et le bien-être des enfants », a indiqué le chercheur.

Facteur pandémie

Selon M. Périer, « le confinement a montré à quel point il faut faire ensemble ». La pandémie a définitivement prouvé des retombées positives de la coéducation. Elle a révélé des parents engagés dans la réussite de leurs enfants et des enseignants dédiés à leur travail, qui n’ont pas hésité à prendre le téléphone pour garder le lien avec des élèves. 

« La période de confinement a poussé la coéducation à un niveau supérieur. Il n’y aura pas de retour en arrière. Toutefois, si le principe de « faire ensemble » semble désormais acquis, la question des formes, contenus et modalités de la coéducation reste à définir. Et il n’y aura pas de recette unique. Chaque milieu est différent et devra trouver la formule qui lui conviendra », a conclu le chercheur.

Bref, la coéducation peut prendre plusieurs formes : accueil des parents dans l’école pour différentes activités (sportives, culturelles, etc.), communication constante entre les parents et les enseignants, échanges informels dans la cour d’école, etc. Mais ce type d’activités est largement insuffisant, d’après M. Périer. « Chaque école devrait porter un projet qui est élaboré conjointement par les parents et l’équipe pédagogique », dit-il. Ce projet devrait prendre en compte les intérêts des jeunes et leur donner une voix.

L’important est que la dynamique demeure résolument humaine, que la relation se déroule dans un climat de confiance et que chacun (parent et enseignant) se rappelle que cette relation existe pour ce que le chercheur nomme l’éducation globale des enfants.

L’enregistrement de la présentation est disponible en ligne sur le site de Nathan.

En complément : L’École branchée vous offre des chroniques sur la coéducation école-famille. Surveillez la section Famille branchée et consultez la page de École branchée sur la famille.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct