ADVERTISEMENT

The wheel of educational innovation

At the last ACCPQ convention, there was talk of innovation in schools and the role of educational advisers in supporting everything. Our collaborator Laurie tells us about the stages and the process of commitment towards this state of innovation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

During the ACCPQ congress on october 29th, it was a question of pedagogical innovation in schools and the role of pedagogical advisers. So what is the role of each stakeholder in this process? For the teacher, it is certainly a question of entering a gear: the wheel of innovation! 

To innovate is to do things differently, to dare to change things to offer something new, unheard of in a specific context. In a classroom setting, innovation is different for everyone: no one is at the same point on the long road that is teaching practice. Each small step is evidence of development that leads to new skills or competencies in the person who commits. 

First step: open the door

In the proper sense, opening the door amounts to allowing specialists, educational advisers and colleagues to enter the classroom (physically or otherwise) so that they can bear witness to what is being done there. On the other hand, before opening this door, we must open the door in our head, the one that lets in new ideas, the one that puts us in a vulnerable position. Vulnerability is not approached here in a pejorative sense, but in a sense of openness and progression. Opening the door to our professional development puts us in a learning position. Sometimes uncomfortable at first, we should not underestimate the importance of daring to push our limits.

Concretely, it is possible to open up to strategies such as the flipped classroom for example for the use of unknown applications, the application of impact techniques with certain students, etc. Sky's the limit! The important thing is to recognize the great value of help and to accept it in a benevolent way. Opening the door does not mean that teaching practice is faulty or inappropriate, on the contrary. Someone who wants to add strings to their bow demonstrates professionalism.  

Step 2: Continue with the process and provide follow-up

After opening and collecting comments and ideas, we must continue to engage. The beginning of the innovation process is the time to test, make mistakes, start over and go further in what you want to implement. Therefore, it will be important and interesting to call in specialists. With digital technology, a host of resources are available remotely, we can continue our progress towards innovation with the help of online self-study platforms, videos, articles, etc. 

To take an example cited in the first step of the educational innovation process, a teacher who wishes to apply the inverted classroom principle can invite an educational advisor to observe him and discuss a concept to be addressed with this practice. Once the content has been chosen and the process initiated, the teacher undertakes to follow up on the difficulties encountered. For his part, the pedagogical advisor must take news and suggest interesting resources to support the process of his learner. This is where the trust in the educational innovation process takes on.  

Third step: shine 

With colleagues, on social networks, or in any other way, it is important to promote the results of the educational innovation process. Why? To infect others! After seeing the success of the process, other teachers will probably decide to try the same thing. How? 'Or' What? By publishing the documents created, by testifying to your approach, by offering images (authorized, of course) or by telling their colleagues about your experience. Or? Facebook, Twitter, the dining room, in short, where you will be comfortable. This is how the wheel operates: the radiation of some will open the door to others. The world of education can then become a huge wheel of sharing, development and benevolence. Let's innovate!


Our team can support you in your professional development thanks to CréaCamp trainings, which will allow you to discover tools and strategies that will make you want to innovate!

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Laurie Couture
Laurie Couture
A high school French teacher and contributor to various blogs, Laurie Couture is passionate about writing and for the innovative aspect of education: how can you change your ways of doing things to improve your method? She loves to discover, discuss and develop about convincing practices related to technologies. Using digital technology, she aspires to set up projects and documents responding to current trends and proposing new approaches.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La roue de l’innovation pédagogique

Lors du dernier congrès de l’ACCPQ, il fut question d’innovation dans les milieux scolaires et du rôle des conseillers pédagogiques pour soutenir le tout. Notre collaboratrice Laurie nous parle des étapes et de la démarche d'engagement vers cet état d'innovation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Lors du congrès de l’ACCPQ le 29 octobre dernier, il fut question d’innovation pédagogique dans les milieux scolaires et du rôle des conseillers pédagogiques. Quel est donc le rôle de chaque intervenant dans ce processus? Pour l’enseignant, il s’agit certainement d’entrer dans un engrenage : la roue de l’innovation! 

Innover, c’est faire autrement, oser changer les choses pour offrir du nouveau, du jamais vu dans un contexte précis. Dans un contexte de classe, l’innovation est différente pour chacun : personne n’est au même point sur le long chemin qu’est la pratique pédagogique. Chaque petit pas fait preuve de développement qui mène à de nouvelles habiletés ou compétences chez la personne qui s’engage. 

Première étape : ouvrir la porte

Au sens propre, ouvrir la porte revient à laisser entrer dans la classe (physiquement ou non) des spécialistes, des conseillers pédagogiques, des collègues afin que ceux-ci puissent témoigner de ce que s’y fait. Par contre, avant d’ouvrir cette porte, il faut ouvrir la porte dans notre tête, celle qui laisse entrer les nouvelles idées, celle qui nous place dans une position vulnérable. La vulnérabilité n’est pas abordée ici dans un sens péjoratif, mais dans un sens d’ouverture d’esprit et de progression. Ouvrir la porte de notre développement professionnel nous place dans une position d’apprenant. Parfois inconfortable au début, il ne faut pas sous-estimer l’importance d’oser repousser nos limites.

Concrètement, il est possible de s’ouvrir à des stratégies telles que la classe inversée par exemple pour l’utilisation d’applications méconnues, l’application de techniques d’impact avec certains élèves, etc. Sky’s the limit! L’important c’est de reconnaître la grande valeur de l’aide et de l’accepter de façon bienveillante. Ouvrir la porte ne signifie pas que la pratique enseignante est défaillante ou inappropriée, au contraire. Quelqu’un qui désire ajouter des cordes à son arc fait preuve de professionnalisme.  

Deuxième étape : continuer dans cette voie

Après l’ouverture et le recueil des commentaires et des idées, il faut continuer à s’engager. Le début du processus d’innovation est le moment de tester, de se tromper, de recommencer et d’aller plus loin dans ce que l’on désire implanter. De ce fait, il sera important et intéressant de faire appel à des spécialistes. Avec le numérique, une foule de ressources sont disponibles à distance, on peut continuer notre progression vers l’innovation à l’aide de plateformes d’autoformation en ligne, des vidéos, des articles, etc. 

Pour reprendre un exemple cité dans la première étape du processus d’innovation pédagogique, un enseignant qui désire appliquer le principe de classe inversée peut inviter un conseiller pédagogique pour l’observer et échanger sur une notion à aborder avec cette pratique. Une fois le contenu choisi et la démarche enclenchée, l’enseignant s’engage à faire un suivi sur ses difficultés rencontrées. De son côté, le conseiller pédagogique doit prendre des nouvelles et proposer des ressources intéressantes pour appuyer la démarche de son apprenant. C’est ici que prend tout le sens de la confiance en la démarche d’innovation pédagogique.  

Troisième étape : rayonner 

Auprès de ses collègues, sur les réseaux sociaux, ou de toute autre façon, il importe de faire rayonner le résultat de la démarche d’innovation pédagogique. Pourquoi? Pour contaminer les autres! Après avoir vu le succès de la démarche, d’autres enseignants décideront probablement d’essayer la même chose. Comment? En publiant les documents créés, en témoignant de votre démarche, en proposant des images (autorisées, bien sûr) ou encore en racontant à leurs collègues votre expérience. Où? Facebook, Twitter, la salle à dîner, bref, là où vous serez à l’aise. C’est ainsi que la roue opère : le rayonnement des uns ouvrira la porte aux autres. Le monde de l’éducation pourra alors devenir une immense roue de partage, de développement et de bienveillance. Innovons!


Notre équipe peut vous accompagner dans votre développement professionnel grâce aux formations CréaCamp, qui vous permettront de découvrir des outils et stratégies qui vous donneront le goût d’innover!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Laurie Couture
Enseignante de français au secondaire et collaboratrice sur divers blogues, Laurie Couture se passionne pour l’écriture et pour l’aspect novateur en éducation : comment peut-on modifier ses façons de faire pour améliorer sa méthode? Elle adore découvrir, discuter et développer au sujet des pratiques probantes en lien avec les technologies. À l’aide du numérique, elle aspire à mettre sur pieds des projets et des documents répondant aux tendances actuelles et proposant des approches nouvelles.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!