ADVERTISEMENT

Cybersecurity: avenues and resources to understand and explain it

October is Cyber Security Awareness Month. This is a great opportunity to demystify the theme in order to be able to tackle it in class with the students. As a teacher, you first have to grasp the subtleties before you can explain it. We discussed it with educational advisor Julie April, from RÉCIT. 

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

October is Cyber Security Awareness Month. This is a great opportunity to demystify the theme in order to be able to tackle it in class with the students. As a teacher, you first have to grasp the subtleties before you can explain it. We discussed it with educational advisor Julie April, from RÉCIT. 

“When it comes to cybersecurity, it can be tempting to think that it's only the responsibility of the IT teams at the school service center. However, each Internet user should feel concerned, ”argues Julie April, educational advisor at the RÉCIT national service, in the field of personal development.

She has also created a training course for teachers to help them better understand what it is about when it comes to cybersecurity. It will also offer this support live during the CréaCamp SPRINT of October 22, 2021.

His training takes the form of a meeting in a support group for victims of cybercrime. “After all, all teachers in Quebec were victims of the data theft at the Ministry of Education [which occurred a few years ago],” she says.

There are therefore events over which Internet users have no control; this data theft is an example. And, as computer attacks become more and more sophisticated, it becomes nearly impossible not to fall victim to them one day or another.

Adopt vigilant behavior

Fortunately, there are also events over which internet users can have control. This is where cybersecurity awareness comes into play, because it is everyone's behaviors and digital reflexes that are affected.

“We immediately think of passwords when we talk about cybersecurity. Yet this is only one element among many. In fact, for young people, sharing their password with friends is a sign of trust. Yes, we have to be interested in passwords, but the traces we leave on the Web also put us at risk, ”indicates Julie April.

Have you visited a website and found yourself with ads from that site in your Facebook feed? Have you visited a place with your cell phone that was geolocation enabled and are now receiving announcements about nearby places? Start typing a search in Google and the search engine fills in the phrase for you?

These are examples that are made possible by the traces we leave online. “Be careful, we must not fall into paranoia,” warns Julie April. “It's about being aware of it. Thus, it is possible to regain control and be more vigilant before sharing information about oneself on the Web ”.

Have you ever answered this kind of question on social media? This is a way imagined by fraudsters to get you to reveal information about yourself without realizing it.

Cultivate doubt

Who has never received this type of text message? You have to know how to recognize the clues before responding.

Some computer attacks can also reach us. In this case, we must then become aware of the cognitive biases that could make us fall into a trap.

"Cultivating doubt, sharpening your critical thinking, doing research, being in the nuance, taking a step back from the information that you receive or see scrolling on social networks, here are reflexes which can act as a protective agent and which must be developed, ”says the educational advisor.

If these tips are valid for adults, they are all the more relevant for young people who take their first steps on the Web without being aware of all the impacts of the traces they leave there. “It is possible to find ideas for activities to be carried out with the students for all levels of elementary and secondary as well as for all disciplines,” says Julie, who also gives several examples during her training.

Resources for teachers

If the topics interest you, here are some ways to go further:

In addition :


Dimension (s) of digital competence related to this article
2- Develop and mobilize your technological skills

To see the Framework.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

La cybersécurité : pistes et ressources pour la comprendre et l’expliquer

Octobre est le mois de la sensibilisation à la cybersécurité. Il s’agit d’une belle occasion de démystifier la thématique afin de pouvoir l’aborder en classe avec les élèves. Comme enseignant, il faut d’abord en saisir les subtilités avant de pouvoir l’expliquer. Nous en avons discuté avec la conseillère pédagogique Julie April, du RÉCIT. 

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Octobre est le mois de la sensibilisation à la cybersécurité. Il s’agit d’une belle occasion de démystifier la thématique afin de pouvoir l’aborder en classe avec les élèves. Comme enseignant, il faut d’abord en saisir les subtilités avant de pouvoir l’expliquer. Nous en avons discuté avec la conseillère pédagogique Julie April, du RÉCIT. 

« Lorsqu’il est question de cybersécurité, il peut être tentant de se dire que c’est uniquement l’affaire des équipes du service informatique du centre de services scolaire. Pourtant, chaque internaute devrait se sentir concerné », fait valoir Julie April, conseillère pédagogique au Service national du RÉCIT, domaine du développement de la personne.

Elle a d’ailleurs créé une formation à l’intention des enseignants afin de les amener à mieux comprendre de quoi il est question lorsqu’on parle de cybersécurité. Elle offrira d’ailleurs cet accompagnement en direct lors du CréaCamp SPRINT du 22 octobre 2021.

Sa formation se présente sous la forme d’une rencontre dans un groupe de soutien des victimes de la cybercriminalité. « Après tout, tous les enseignants du Québec ont été victimes du vol de données au ministère de l’Éducation [survenu il y a quelques années] », dit-elle.

Il y a donc des événements sur lesquels les internautes n’ont pas de contrôle; ce vol de données en est un exemple. Et, comme les attaques informatiques sont de plus en plus sophistiquées, il devient pratiquement impossible de ne pas en être victime un jour ou l’autre.

Adopter des comportements vigilants

Heureusement, il y a aussi des événements sur lesquels les internautes peuvent avoir le contrôle. C’est ici que la sensibilisation à la cybersécurité entre en jeu, car ce sont les comportements et les réflexes numériques de chacun qui sont alors concernés.

« On pense immédiatement aux mots de passe lorsqu’on parle de cybersécurité. Pourtant, ce n’est qu’un élément parmi tant d’autres. D’ailleurs, pour les jeunes, le fait de partager son mot de passe avec des amis représente un signe de confiance. Oui, il faut s’intéresser aux mots de passe, mais les traces qu’on laisse sur le Web nous mettent aussi à risque », indique Julie April.

Vous avez visité un site Web et vous vous retrouvez avec des publicités en provenance de ce site dans votre fil d’actualités sur Facebook? Vous avez visité un lieu avec votre téléphone cellulaire dont la fonction de géolocalisation était en fonction et vous recevez maintenant des annonces à propos d’endroits situés à proximité? Vous commencez à taper une recherche dans Google et le moteur de recherche complète la phrase pour vous?

Ce sont des exemples qui sont rendus possibles en raison des traces que nous laissons en ligne. « Attention, il ne faut pas tomber dans la paranoïa », met toutefois en garde Julie April. « Il s’agit d’en être conscient. Ainsi, il est possible de reprendre le contrôle et d’être plus vigilant avant de partager des informations sur soi sur le Web ».

Avez-vous déjà répondu à ce genre de question sur les réseaux sociaux. Il s’agit d’un moyen imaginé par les fraudeurs pour vous amener à dévoiler de l’information sur vous-mêmes sans vous en rendre compte.

Cultiver le doute

Qui n’a jamais reçu ce type de texto? Il faut savoir reconnaître les indices avant de répondre.

Certaines attaques informatiques peuvent aussi se rendre jusqu’à nous. Dans ce cas, il faut alors prendre conscience des biais cognitifs qui pourraient nous faire tomber dans un piège.

« Cultiver le doute, aiguiser sa pensée critique, faire des recherches, être dans la nuance, prendre du recul face aux informations que l’on reçoit ou voit défiler sur les réseaux sociaux, voici des réflexes qui peuvent agir comme agent protecteur et qui doivent être développés », affirme la conseillère pédagogique.

Si ces conseils valent pour les adultes, ils sont d’autant plus pertinents pour les jeunes qui font leurs premiers pas sur le Web sans être conscients de tous les impacts des traces qu’ils y laissent. « Il est possible de trouver des idées d’activités à réaliser avec les élèves pour tous les niveaux du primaire et du secondaire ainsi que pour toutes les disciplines », assure Julie, qui donne d’ailleurs plusieurs exemples au cours de sa formation.

Des ressources pour les enseignants

Si les sujets vous intéresse, voici quelques pistes pour aller plus loin :

En complément :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!