ADVERTISEMENT

Report of the expert group on the ventilation and transmission of COVID-19 in schools and healthcare settings

The Quebec Ministry of Health and Social Services announces that the report of the expert group on the ventilation and transmission of COVID-19 in schools and in care settings has just been filed. Here is the official press release issued, which offers general recommendations.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

QUÉBEC, Jan. 8, 2021 / CNW Telbec / - The Minister of Health and Social Services announces that the report of the expert group concerning the ventilation and transmission of COVID-19 in schools and in health care settings has just come to be deposited. This report takes stock of the scientific knowledge surrounding the mode of transmission of COVID-19 in relation to ventilation. It aims to support the authorities' decision-making to prevent the spread of the virus, particularly with regard to establishments in the health and social services and education networks.

The work carried out by the expert group was based on scientific documentation provided by the National Institute of Public Health of Quebec (INSPQ). It is currently recognized that:

  • the virus is transmitted by aerosols, mainly near or within two meters of an infected person;
  • transmission a few meters further may also occur;
  • the risk of transmission is increased in confined spaces, inadequately ventilated, densely populated and with prolonged exposure.

The report also recalls the effectiveness of the preventive and protective measures implemented to contain the spread of the virus. It formulates several general recommendations for the establishments of the two networks:

  • compliance with the air renewal requirements per hour specified in the Act respecting occupational health and safety;
  • inspections of ventilation systems, as well as taking CO measurements2 and other settings in the premises on an annual basis;
  • quick fixes when ventilation is inadequate (eg: insufficient number of air changes) in certain rooms and systematic monitoring thereafter;
  • the creation of an accessible provincial register of equipment in place for research and evaluation purposes;
  • the information collected, updated and validated accessible to carry out assessments and inform the population.

Other recommendations apply more specifically to the school environment, in particular that of regularly ventilating occupied rooms by opening the windows twice a day, from 10 to 15 minutes, and opening the doors and windows 30 minutes before and after. after class. In schools, the installation of mobile air purifiers is not recommended in classrooms. As for the health network, we recommend, for places that do not meet ventilation requirements, a temporary mitigation plan implemented in the short and medium term. This may include, for example, the installation of a mobile air extraction device or an air exchanger.

Other recommendations apply more specifically to the school environment, in particular that of regularly ventilating occupied rooms by opening the windows twice a day, from 10 to 15 minutes, and opening the doors and windows 30 minutes before and after. after class. In schools, the installation of mobile air purifiers is not recommended in classrooms.

Some recommendations concern the coordination of actions to be implemented. We therefore propose, among other things, the creation of an interministerial committee bringing together the main partners and actors in the field in order to examine the issues and propose actions to be undertaken; improvement of the air quality component of the government health prevention policy; and the establishment of a research program.

It should be remembered that last November, teams were mobilized to check the frequency of air changes in various facilities of establishments in the health and social services network. Thus, between November 19 and 23, 2020, more than 70 measurements of the carbon dioxide level were carried out in several CHSLD-type facilities. The test results were considered satisfactory pending the recommendations contained in this report.

SOURCE Ministry of Health and Social Services

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Rapport du groupe d’experts concernant la ventilation et la transmission de la COVID-19 en milieu scolaire et en milieu de soins

Publié le :

Le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux du Québec annonce que le rapport du groupe d'experts concernant la ventilation et la transmission de la COVID-19 en milieu scolaire et en milieu de soins vient d'être déposé. Voici le communiqué officiel émis, qui propose des recommandations générales.
Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

QUÉBEC, le 8 janv. 2021 /CNW Telbec/ – Le ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux annonce que le rapport du groupe d’experts concernant la ventilation et la transmission de la COVID-19 en milieu scolaire et en milieu de soins vient d’être déposé. Ce rapport fait le point sur les connaissances scientifiques entourant le mode de transmission de la COVID-19 en lien avec la ventilation. Il vise à soutenir la prise de décision des autorités afin de prévenir la propagation du virus, tout particulièrement en ce qui a trait aux établissements des réseaux de la santé et des services sociaux et de l’éducation.

Les travaux menés par le groupe d’experts ont été basés sur la documentation scientifique fournie par l’Institut national de santé publique du Québec (INSPQ). Il est actuellement reconnu que :

  • le virus se transmet par des aérosols, principalement à proximité, soit à moins de deux mètres, d’une personne infectée;
  • une transmission à quelques mètres de plus peut aussi survenir;
  • le risque de transmission est augmenté dans des espaces restreints, ventilés de façon inadéquate, à forte densité d’occupants et lors d’une exposition prolongée.

Le rapport rappelle également l’efficacité des mesures de prévention et de protection mises en œuvre pour contenir la propagation du virus. Il formule plusieurs recommandations générales pour les établissements des deux réseaux :

  • le respect des exigences de renouvellement d’air par heure spécifié dans la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité du travail;
  • des inspections des systèmes de ventilation, de même que la prise de mesures de CO2 et d’autres paramètres dans les locaux sur une base annuelle;
  • des correctifs rapides lorsque la ventilation est inadéquate (ex. : nombre de changements d’air insuffisant) dans certains locaux et un monitorage systématique par la suite;
  • la création d’un registre provincial des équipements en place qui soit accessible, à des fins de recherche et d’évaluation;
  • l’information colligée, mise à jour et validée accessible pour réaliser des bilans et informer la population.

D’autres recommandations s’appliquent plus spécifiquement au milieu scolaire, notamment celle d’aérer régulièrement les pièces occupées en ouvrant les fenêtres deux fois par jour, de 10 à 15 minutes, et d’ouvrir les portes et les fenêtres 30 minutes avant et après les classes. En milieu scolaire, l’installation de purificateurs d’air mobiles n’est pas recommandée dans les classes. Du côté du réseau de la santé, on recommande, pour les lieux qui ne répondent pas aux exigences de ventilation, un plan de mitigation temporaire mis en œuvre à court et à moyen terme. Celui-ci peut inclure, par exemple, l’installation d’un appareil mobile d’extraction d’air ou d’un échangeur d’air.

D’autres recommandations s’appliquent plus spécifiquement au milieu scolaire, notamment celle d’aérer régulièrement les pièces occupées en ouvrant les fenêtres deux fois par jour, de 10 à 15 minutes, et d’ouvrir les portes et les fenêtres 30 minutes avant et après les classes. En milieu scolaire, l’installation de purificateurs d’air mobiles n’est pas recommandée dans les classes.

Certaines recommandations concernent la coordination des actions à mettre en œuvre. On propose ainsi, entre autres, la création d’un comité interministériel réunissant les principaux partenaires et acteurs du domaine afin d’examiner les enjeux et proposer des actions à entreprendre; la bonification du volet sur la qualité de l’air de la Politique gouvernementale de prévention en santé; et l’instauration d’un programme de recherche.

Rappelons qu’en novembre dernier, des équipes ont été mobilisées afin de vérifier la fréquence de changement d’air dans différentes installations des établissements du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux. Ainsi, entre le 19 et le 23 novembre 2020, plus de 70 mesures du taux de dioxyde de carbone ont été effectuées dans plusieurs installations de type CHSLD. Les résultats des tests ont été considérés comme satisfaisants en attendant les recommandations contenues dans le présent rapport.

SOURCE Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!