For the love of the game: roundtable on gamification

During REFER 2019, the opening panel allowed experts to share the game's success factors: the narrative, collaboration, game culture, objectification and progression.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

The Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau is an annual event where the sharing of practices and activities carried out in class is in the spotlight. It is under the theme of The school in play (x) that the 2019 edition of the REFER allowed participants to be inspired to develop their practice.

The very first panel of the event Different perspectives on play in learning allowed expert panelists to share what they consider to be the success factors of a game. After a presentation of their experience and what led them to this game world, Stéphanie Dionne, from École branchée, presented invited each of the participants to share the winning conditions so that the game comes to life and is fun and effective in terms of learning.

The panelists

Coming from different backgrounds and disciplines, each of the panelists brought their own flavor to the discussion thanks to their career, expertise and achievements, each more varied than the next.

David Bertrand, secondary school teacher and founder of Science bunker offers a place where participants must complete several missions in a post-apocalyptic context in order to rebuild humanity through science.

Christelle Quesnel and Émilie Lebret are teachers and designers of educational escape games. In a philosophy of mutualisation, the site Escape 'n games was created in September 2018 and is fed by several collaborators.

While he was a student, Benjamin Lille wondered a lot about educational innovation in history. He worked in order to involve the students in the construction of the story using the game Minecraft and, on the other hand, in order to get them to develop their skill in design thinking in creating their own game.

Shawn Young, high school science teacher, founder of the classroom and learning management environment Classcraft, a modular platform for teachers to enable students to experience educational situations such as “adventure in which you are the hero”.

The success factors of the game

During their discussions, the experts noted several factors that promote the success of a fun learning experience:

Narrative frame

From the outset, David Bertrand argues that the script is a very important element that allows the student to enter the game. Positioning the student in an unknown situation where he is deprived of instructions promotes the development of its tolerance for ambiguity.

Collaboration and coopetition

According to experts, a model of non-competitiveness should be favored. By promoting the establishment of a meaningful and meaningful collaboration, everyone plays their role in order to succeed in the mission at hand.

Game culture

Thanks to play, the fact of experiencing the relationship to error differently allows the student to accept it better, and even to play down failure. The latter is accepted more easily since it is expected.

“To learn is to take risks and go wrong. "- Benjamin Lille

Debriefing, objectification and reinvestment

Feedback on the playing period is essential, it is at this point that we consolidate the learning, that we take a step back to position ourselves. It is even possible to lengthen the life, the playful "momentum" even if the game situation is over by looking back on the lived experience.

Progression

According to Shawn Young, constant progression is a metaphor for learning. Some types of games allow you to evolve continuously, without losing points. Thus, the student is invited to adopt a growth mentality and a position of lifelong learner.

Finally, it is important to point out that the game has an indisputable impact on the players. Research on the subject has made it possible to identify effects, in particular on motivation, commitment, inclusion, academic results, and the use of technology in the classroom. What is more, the experts present noticed the effects on the person in terms of leadership, risk taking, change of perspective, taking charge by the student actor, pleasure, collaboration as well as culture change at the classroom and even school level.  

“Just because you're having fun doesn't mean you're not learning. "- Benjamin Lille

To watch the full panel, visit REFER's YouTube channel.

To find out more, several resources are available on the subject:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Former teacher and mother of a military family of 4 boys, Julie R-Bordeleau is an alternative learning guide and author. She loves discovering new educational and holistic resources and approaches that allow her clients to learn and develop in different ways, depending on their needs. Its website julierbordeleau.com, its newsletter and its services are dedicated to adults who are changing the world in their own way, whether they are parents-educators, parents or professionals.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Par amour pour le jeu : table ronde sur la ludification

Le Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau est un événement annuel où le partage des pratiques et des activités réalisées en classe est à l’honneur. C’est sous le thème de L’école en jeu(x) que l’édition 2019 du REFER a permis aux participants de s’inspirer pour faire évoluer leur pratique.

Le tout premier panel de l’événement Regards croisés sur le jeu dans l’apprentissage a permis aux panélistes experts de partager ce qu’ils considèrent être les facteurs de succès d’un jeu. Après une présentation de leur expérience et de ce qui les a menés dans cet univers du jeu, Stéphanie Dionne, de l’École branchée, a invité chacun des participants à partager les conditions gagnantes pour que le jeu prenne vie et qu’il soit plaisant et efficace au niveau des apprentissages.

Les panélistes

Venant de différents milieux et disciplines, chacun des panélistes a apporté sa propre couleur à la discussion grâce à leur parcours, expertises et réalisations plus variées les unes que les autres.

David Bertrand, enseignant au secondaire et fondateur du Bunker de la science propose un endroit où les participants doivent réaliser plusieurs missions en contexte post-apocalyptique afin de reconstruire l’humanité grâce à la science.

Christelle Quesnel et Émilie Lebret sont enseignantes conceptrices de jeux d’évasion pédagogique. Dans une philosophie de mutualisation, le site Escape ‘n games a vu le jour en septembre 2018 et il est alimenté par plusieurs collaborateurs.

Alors qu’il était étudiant, Benjamin Lille s’est beaucoup questionné sur l’innovation pédagogique en histoire. Il a travaillé afin d’impliquer les élèves dans la construction de l’histoire à l’aide du jeu Minecraft et, d’un autre côté, afin de les amener à développer leur habileté en design thinking dans la création de leur propre jeu.

Shawn Young, enseignant de sciences au secondaire, est fondateur de l’environnement de gestion de classe et des apprentissages Classcraft, une plateforme modulable par les enseignants afin de faire vivre aux élèves des situations éducatives du type « aventure dont tu es le héros ».

Les facteurs de succès du jeu

Lors de leurs échanges, les experts ont relevé plusieurs facteurs qui favorisent la réussite d’une expérience d’apprentissage ludique :

Trame narrative

D’entrée de jeu, David Bertrand avance que la scénarisation est un élément très important qui permet à l’élève d’entrer dans le jeu. Le positionnement de l’élève dans une situation inconnue où il est démuni de consignes favorise le développement de sa tolérance à l’ambiguïté.

Collaboration et coopétition

Selon les experts, un modèle de non-compétitivité est à privilégier. En favorisant la mise en place d’une collaboration signifiante et significative, chacun joue son rôle afin de réussir la mission à accomplir.

Culture du jeu

Grâce au jeu, le fait de vivre différemment le rapport à l’erreur permet à l’élève de mieux l’accepter, voire même de dédramatiser l’échec. Ce dernier est accepté plus facilement puisqu’il est attendu.

« Apprendre, c’est prendre des risques et se planter. » – Benjamin Lille

Débreffage, objectivation et réinvestissement

Le retour sur la période de jeu est essentiel, c’est à ce moment que l’on consolide les apprentissages, qu’on prend du recul pour se positionner. Il est même possible d’allonger la vie, le « momentum » ludique même si la situation de jeu est terminée en revenant sur l’expérience vécue.

Progression

Selon Shawn Young, une constante progression est une métaphore pour l’apprentissage. Certains types de jeux permettent d’évoluer continuellement, sans perte de points. Ainsi, on invite l’élève à adopter une mentalité de croissance et une position d’apprenant à vie.

Enfin, il est important de souligner que le jeu a un impact incontestable sur les joueurs. Des recherches sur le sujet ont permis de relever des retombées notamment sur la motivation, l’engagement, l’inclusion, les résultats scolaires, l’utilisation des technologies en classe. Qui plus est, les experts présents ont remarqué des effets sur la personne au niveau du leadership, de la prise de risques, du changement de perspective, de la prise en charge par l’élève acteur, du plaisir, de la collaboration ainsi que du changement de culture au niveau de la classe et même de l’école.  

« Ce n’est pas parce que tu as du fun que tu n’apprends pas. » – Benjamin Lille

Pour regarder l’intégrale du panel, visitez la chaîne YouTube du REFER.

Pour en savoir davantage, plusieurs ressources sont disponibles sur le sujet :


Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Julie R-Bordeleau est enseignante de formation et maintenant maman à la maison. Elle est aussi auteure, blogueuse, conférencière et pigiste en éducation. Elle collabore notamment avec l’École branchée, Carrefour éducation et Alloprof Parents. Elle adore découvrir de nouvelles ressources et approches éducatives. Apprenante à vie, elle est une passionnée d’éducation hors de la boîte, d'apprentissage libre et d'utilisation du numérique pour apprendre. Par ses multiples activités professionnelles et le blogzine Apprendre , elle inspire et aide les acteurs de changement en éducation qu'ils soient parents, éducateurs, enseignants ou professionnels dans le milieu à oser être le changement qu'ils désirent voir dans le monde. Son mantra: Apprendre de tout, partout, de toutes les façons!